DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues in the Remarks at Page 10 that Pedroso does not include the use of natural calcium carbonate from snail shells, oyster shells, and seashells. This argument is unpersuasive since claim 1 recites: “ biocarbonates and/or biominerals obtained from a bioresource comprising avian eggshells, snail shells, oyster shells, or seashells…” and Pedroso is cited for teaching a bioresource comprising avian eggshells.
Applicant also argues in the Remarks at Page 10 even if the ranges for calcium carbonate content, brightness, and particle size that overlaps with the ranges recited in Claim 1, such overlap does not, by itself, render the claimed subject matter obvious. This argument is not persuasive since as set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990). The overlap itself establishes the rebuttable prima facie (presumptive) case of obviousness automatically in contradiction to Applicant’s argument. The burden is on Applicant to rebut the prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.III.
Further regarding Applicant’s argument that the claimed particle characteristic define a specific material having a distinct combination of physical properties that is different from the material described in Pedroso because Pedroso teaches a material comprising the range of calcium carbonate content, brightness, and particle size where he teaches the overlapping ranges.
Furthermore, the argument that Pedroso is directed to a different material having different design considerations is in direct contradiction to the claimed product being “usable for products selected from the group consisting of paints, coatings, papers and/or plastics” when Pedroso also teaches particles used as extenders, mineral fillers, and/or pigments in paints.
Regarding Applicant’s argument that Gisser ‘398 mentions only functional fillers, the argument is unpersuasive since as a Markush grouping claim 6 encompasses a listing of pigments and fillers alternatives “selected from the group consisting of hydrous fillers, anhydrous fillers and functional fillers”. See MPEP 2117. As admitted in the Remarks by Applicant Pedroso teaches functional fillers. Claim 6 is rejected because the prior art Pedroso and Gisser suggest that a biomaterial of claim 5 combined with a functional filler is an obvious product and is a species within claim 6 rendering claim 6 unpatentable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedroso.
Regarding claim 1, Pedroso teaches a calcium carbonate-containing material prepared from an avian eggshell (see Page 1, Ln 40 and Page 7, Ln 14). Pedroso further teaches a paint composition comprising the calcium carbonate-containing material (see Page 2, Ln 8-23). Pedroso further teaches a calcium carbonate-containing material containing calcium carbonate in an amount of at least 95 wt% (see Page 4, Ln 24-26). Pedroso further teaches that the calcium carbonate-containing material retains the intrinsic morphology of the avian eggshell and is distinguishable from known geological calcium carbonate by this morphology (i.e., has a morphological difference from natural resource carbonate) (see Page 6, Ln 28-36). Pedroso also teaches a calcium carbonate material with a brightness of 90 to 100% (see Page 10, Ln 15-16). Pedroso teaches a calcium carbonate-containing material wherein the particle size has a d98 of from 1.0 to 25 µm (see Page 27, Ln 18-26).
Regarding the biomaterial being sterilized and odor-free, Pedroso teaches the product that is treated with a bleaching agent which also has antimicrobial effect (i.e., where the product is sterilized) (see Page 22, Ln 33 to Page 25, Ln 2 and Page 4, Ln 32-34). Pedroso teaches the product that has no odor (see Page 8, Ln 28-37).
Pedroso does not specifically disclose the calcium carbonate in an amount of 95-97% range and brightness from about 88-97 and where the brightness is in the range of 88-97, and particle size of 90% <2 µm.
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed.Cir. 1990). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the calcium carbonate-containing material as taught by Pedroso where the amount of calcium carbonate is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 95 wt% as taught by Pedroso including the claimed range. It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the calcium carbonate-containing material as taught by Pedroso where the brightness is in any workable or optimum range overlapping with 90 to 100 wt% as taught by Pedroso including the claimed range.
Regarding particle size 90% < 2 µm , Pedroso teaches a calcium carbonate-containing material wherein the particle size has a d98 of from 1.0 to 25 µm (see Page 27, Ln 18-26). It also would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the calcium carbonate-containing material as taught by Pedroso where the d98 is any workable or optimum range overlapping with 1.0 to 25 µm including 1.0 to less than 2.0 µm for use as an extender, pigment or filler. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the calcium carbonate-containing material having a d98 of less than 2.0 µm also has a d90 of less than 2.0 µm (90% < 2 µm).
Regarding claims 4-5, Pedroso teaches the calcium carbonate-containing material that is usable for extenders, mineral fillers and/or pigments in paints (see Page 1, Ln 18-35 and Page 2, Ln 8-23).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pedroso as applied to claim 5 and in further view of Gisser et al (US 2013/0084398).
As applied to claim 5, Pedroso teaches a biocarbonate obtained from avian eggshells and a paint composition comprising the biocarbonate.
Regarding claim 6, Pedroso teaches an aqueous paint formulation comprising the calcium carbonate-containing material and further comprise pigment and fillers (see Page 29, Ln 25 to Page 30, Ln 20).
Pedroso does not teach that the filler is a hydrous filler, anhydrous filler, or functional fillers.
Gisser teaches an antimicrobial paint composition where the paint composition comprises combinations of pigments including calcium carbonate as an additional pigment and functional fillers to provide additional functional characteristics to the paint (see [0025]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing of the invention to prepare the paint formulation comprising calcium carbonate-containing material, pigment, and filler as taught by Pedroso where the filler comprises a functional filler as taught by Gisser in order to provide additional functional properties to the paint as suggested by Gisser.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL FORREST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1738