DETAILED ACTION
Applicants’ response of 9/8/26 has been considered and entered in the record. The rejection under 35 USC 112 and the rejection of Claims 17-20 under 35 USC 102 are withdrawn in view of Applicants’ amendments and arguments. The remaining rejections are modified to account for Applicants’ amendments. Applicants’ arguments have been considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. The Examiner notes the amendment in Claim 1 differs from the proposed Claim limitations discussed in interview of 9/8/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Huang et al (US 10,553,489).
With respect to Claim 1, Huang et al discloses a semiconductor die (Figures 2 and 6-7)comprising: a first surface (top surface of die); a second surface opposite to the first surface (bottom surface of die); and a first side surface, a second surface, a third side surface, and a fourth side surface between the first surface and the second surface (side surfaces of rectangular die between top surface and bottom surface), wherein the first side surface faces the third side surface and the second side surface faces the fourth side surface (opposite side surfaces of rectangular die face each other), and wherein a roughness of the second side surface is different between a central area (Claim 19 of Huang discloses the center area is free of saw tooth marks) of the second side surface and end portions of the second side surface (Claim 19 discloses side portions have different roughness) , the end portions being adjacent to first and second surfaces (inherent) and a roughness of at least a portion of the second side surface is greater than that of the first side surface (inherent that an arbitrary portion having saw tooth mark is rougher than an arbitrary portion which doesn’t). See Huang et al Claim 19, and Figures 2 and 6-7 and corresponding text, especially column 9, line 5 to column 10, line 10.
With respect to Claim 6, Huang et al discloses “the first side surface includes a roughness increasing portion having a roughness greater than that of the first side surface at a corner that is in contact with the second side surface”, as all of the side surfaces are in contact. See Claim 19 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 9, the first side surface and the third side surface have shapes corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
With respect to Claim 10, the second side surface and the fourth side surface have shapes corresponding to each other (rectangular). See Figures 2 and 6-7 of Huang et al.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang et al (US 10,553,489).
Huang et al is relied upon as discussed above.
However, Huang et al do not disclose “ at least some areas of the roughness increasing portion has a shape that is more concavely recessed toward a center of the first side surface than adjacent areas” (Claim 7); “each area of the first side surface has a roughness approximately corresponding to each other over an entirety of the first side surface” (Claim 8); “each area of the fourth side surface has a roughness approximately corresponding to each other over an entirety of the fourth side surface” (Claim 11); “the roughness of the first side surface approximately corresponds to that of the fourth side surface” (Claim 12).
With respect to Claims 7-8 and 11-12, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective date of the invention, to arrive at the presently claimed limitations, as changes in shape are prima facie obvious in the absence of unobvious results. See In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 17-20 are allowed.
Claims 2-5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AGG
October 7, 2026
/ALEXANDER G GHYKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2812