DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 10 2(a)(2) as being unpatentable over Falkenstein et al. US 2017/0284447 A1 (hereinafter Falkenstein ) . Regarding claim 1, Falkenstein teaches a screw (Screw, 10) comprising: a head (Head end , 12); a tip (Tapered end, 16); and a shank (Shank, 14) extending between the head and the tip, the head including: a top portion (Face, spec [0033]) and a frustoconical portion (Frustoconical portion , 70 ) arranged between the top portion and the shank, wherein the frustoconical portion includes a step (Step, 81) defining an annular recess towards the shank, and at least one radial rib (Nib 80) in the annular recess and extending towards the shank. Regarding claim 2, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 1, wherein the frustoconical portion includes a circumferential surface (Circumferential surface , see annotated figure ) facing the shank and the tip. Regarding claim 3, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 2, wherein the circumferential s urface is substantially perpendicular to an axis of the screw. The plane of the surface runs perpendicular to the longitudinal axis as seen in the figures. Regarding claim 4, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 1, wherein the step (81) segments the frustoconical portion into a (First frustoconical part 70) extending fro m the top portion to the step, and a second frustoconical part (Second frustoconical part 72) extending from the step towards the shank. Regarding claim 5, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 4, wherein a diameter of the first frustoconical part (Fig. 10, 70) is greater than a diameter of the second frustoconical part (72) . Regarding claim 6, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 1, wherein the head (12) includes a plurality of ribs (Plurality of nibs, Spec [003 4 ]) evenly distributed around the head. Regarding claim 7, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 6, wherein each rib (80) has a radial dimension that decreases towards the shank (Fig. 10, Spec [0034]) . Regarding claim 8, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 6, wherein each rib (80) comprises an axial edge (Axial edge) , and each rib is symmetrical with respect to an axial plane containing the axial edge (Fig’s 9, 10, & 11) . Regarding claim 9, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 1, wherein the shank (14) includes a first portion having a first thread (Spiral flute threads, 52) , and a second portion ( Primary thread, 22 ) between the first portion and the tip (16) , the second portion having a second thread ( Helical notched & notch-free portions, 32/42 ) . Regarding claim 11, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 10, wherein the second thread has a thread angl e that is larger than a thread angle of the first thread (Spec [0027], [0028]) . Regarding claim 12, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 9, wherein the second thread has a thread angle that is larger than a thread angle of the first thread ( as applied above to claim 11 ). Regarding claim 13 , Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 1, wherein the shank includes a thread including a first part ( 42 ) , and a second part ( 32 ) arranged between the first part and the tip ( 16 ) . Regarding claim 14, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 13, wherein a thread angle (Phi3) of the thread increases continuously from the first part to the second part ( Figs. 13 & 14 ). Regarding claim 15, Falkenstein teaches the screw of claim 13, wherein a thread angle (Phi3) of the thread (22) is constant along the first part and/or the second part. Regarding claim 16, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 13, wherein a length of the second part (32) and the tip (16) is at least twice the diameter of the shank (Figs. 5 & 6) . Regarding claim 17, Falkenstein teaches t he screw of claim 13, wherein a length of the second part (32) and the tip (16) is between two and four times the diameter of the shank (Figs. 5 & 6) . The examiner is interpreting 17 as applied to 16 above where between 2-4 includes 2 (twice). T he following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Falkenstein et al. US 2017/0284447 A1 (hereinafter Falkenstein ) in view of Lajeward i US 11,572,915 B2 (hereinafter Lajewardi ). Regarding claim 10 , Falkenstein fails to teach the opposing threads of the first and second threads. Lajewardi teaches the screw of claim 9, wherein the first thread ( Counter threads, 80 ) and the second thread ( High thread, 30 ) are orientated in opposing turning directions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wood screw threads of Falkenstein as taught by Lajewardi in order to provide a screw with improved pull-out resistance and improved fixation and to prevent loosening once inserted. Conclusion The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Brian Fournet whose telephone number is 571-272-9129. The examiner can normally be reached FILLIN "Work Schedule?" \* MERGEFORMAT M-F 8-5 ET . Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, FILLIN "SPE Name?" \* MERGEFORMAT Kristina Fulton can be reached on FILLIN "SPE Phone?" \* MERGEFORMAT (571)272-7376 . The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /B.P.F./ Examiner, Art Unit 3675 /KRISTINA R FULTON/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3675