DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
At lines 2 and 4 of claim 17, it is unclear which “rear barrier edge” and “front barrier edge” the claim limitation is referring to. For the purposes of examination, the “rear barrier edge” is the rear barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier and the “front barrier edge” is the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 6, 9, 12-13, 15-16, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mishima (Publication No. US 2002/0077615 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Mishima discloses an absorbent article (diaper 1; Figure 1; Abstract; Paragraph 0018) comprising:
a front waist region having front waist edge (front waist region 20 with a front waist edge; Paragraph 0018; Figure 1), a rear waist region having a rear waist edge (rear waist region 22 with a rear waist edge; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), and a crotch region extending longitudinally between the front waist region and the rear waist region (crotch region 21; Paragraph 0018);
a liquid pervious topsheet on a skin facing side of the absorbent article (topsheet 2; Paragraph 0020; Figure 1);
a liquid impervious backsheet on a garment facing side of the absorbent article (base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0020);
an absorbent core positioned between the topsheet and the backsheet in a thickness direction (panel 4 between fold lines 11 and are positioned between topsheet 2 and base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), the absorbent core having a front core edge a rear core edge (edge of panel 4 touching pleat 8 at fold line 10; Figure 1) and a pair of side core edges extending between the front core edge and the rear core edge (side edges 5; Paragraph 0017; Figure 1); and
an absorbent barrier (front zone 21a of pleat 8; Paragraph 0019; Figure 1), the absorbent barrier having a front barrier edge (edge 4a; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), a rear barrier edge (fold line 10; Paragraph 0020; Figure 1), and a pair of side barrier edges extending between the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge (side edges of front zone 21a; Figure 1),
the front barrier edge positioned longitudinally forward the front core edge (edge 4a is longitudinally forward than fold line 11 of core; Figure 2),
the rear barrier edge positioned longitudinally rearward the front core edge (fold line 10 is longitudinal rearward the fold line 11 of core; Figure 2), and
the rear barrier edge positioned between the absorbent core and the topsheet in the thickness direction (edge of front zone 21a of pleat 8 at fold line 10 is between core and top sheet 2; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses wherein
the front barrier edge is positioned longitudinally between the front core edge and the front waist edge (edge 4a is between fold line 11 of core and front waist 20 edge; Figure 2), and
the rear barrier edge is positioned longitudinally between the front core edge and the rear core edge (edge of front zone 21a at fold line 10 is between the two fold lines 11 of core; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses wherein absorbent barrier directly abuts the absorbent core (front zone 21a directly abuts/touches the core at fold line 11; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses wherein the absorbent barrier is secured to the topsheet and the absorbent core is secured to the backsheet (front zone 21a is secured to topsheet 2 and core is secured to base sheet 3; Figure 2; Paragraph 0017).
Regarding claim 9, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses further comprising a first longitudinally extending barrier leg cuff and a second longitudinally extending barrier leg cuff (leg cuffs 5 are longitudinally extending; Paragraph 0017; Figure 1), the first barrier leg cuff and the second barrier leg cuff laterally spaced apart by a third distance (leg cuffs 5 are spaced apart laterally at a third distance),
wherein the absorbent barrier has a lateral width (pleat 8 has a lateral width; Figure 1); and
the lateral width of the absorbent barrier is greater than the third distance (width of front zone 21a is greater than third distance – border of front zone 21a at edge 4a is wider than the lateral distance of leg cuffs 5; Figure 1).
Regarding claim 12, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses further comprising a second absorbent barrier (rear zone 21b; Figure 1-2), the second absorbent barrier having a front barrier edge (edge where fold line 10 of rear zone 21b; Figure 2), a rear barrier edge (edge 4a of rear zone 21b; Figure 2), and a pair of side barrier edges (side edges of rear zone 21b; Figure 1),
the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier positioned longitudinally forward the rear core edge (edge of fold line 10 of rear zone 21b is longitudinally forward from the fold line 11 at the rear edge near the rear waist region 22 of the core; Figure 2),
the rear barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier positioned longitudinally rearward the rear core edge (edge 4a of rear zone 21b is longitudinally rearward the fold line 11 at the rear edge near the rear waist region 22 of the core; Figure 2), and
the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier positioned between the absorbent core and the topsheet in the thickness direction (edge of fold line 10 of rear zone 21b is between the core and topsheet 2; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 13, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 12. Mishima further discloses wherein
the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier is positioned longitudinally between the rear core edge and the front core edge (edge of fold line 10 of rear core edge is between the core edges that extend between fold lines 22; Figure 2), and
the rear barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier is positioned longitudinally between the rear core edge and the rear waist edge (edge 4a of rear zone 21b is between rear core edge and rear waist 22 edge; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 15, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 12. Mishima further discloses wherein the rear barrier edge of the absorbent barrier and the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier are longitudinally spaced apart (rear barrier edge of front zone 21a and front barrier edge of rear zone 21b are longitudinal spaced apart; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 16, Mishima discloses an absorbent article (diaper 1; Figure 1; Abstract; Paragraph 0018) comprising:
a front waist region having front waist edge (front waist region 20 with a front waist edge; Paragraph 0018; Figure 1), a rear waist region having a rear waist edge (rear waist region 22 with a rear waist edge; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), and a crotch region extending longitudinally between the front waist region and the rear waist region (crotch region 21; Paragraph 0018);
a liquid pervious topsheet on a skin facing side of the absorbent article (topsheet 2; Paragraph 0020; Figure 1);
a liquid impervious backsheet on a garment facing side of the absorbent article (base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0020);
an absorbent core positioned between the topsheet and the backsheet in a thickness direction (panel 4 between fold lines 11 and are positioned between topsheet 2 and base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), the absorbent core having a front core edge a rear core edge (edge of panel 4 touching pleat 8 at fold line 10; Figure 1) and a pair of side core edges extending between the front core edge and the rear core edge (side edges 5; Paragraph 0017; Figure 1); and
an absorbent barrier (front zone 21a of pleat 8; Paragraph 0019; Figure 1), the absorbent barrier having a front barrier edge (edge 4a; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), a rear barrier edge (fold line 10; Paragraph 0020; Figure 1), and a pair of side barrier edges extending between the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge (side edges of front zone 21a; Figure 1),
the front barrier edge positioned longitudinally forward the rear core edge (edge of fold line 10 of rear zone 21b is longitudinally forward from the fold line 11 at the rear edge near the rear waist region 22 of the core; Figure 2), the rear barrier edge positioned longitudinally rearward the rear core edge (edge 4a of rear zone 21b is longitudinally rearward the fold line 11 at the rear edge near the rear waist region 22 of the core; Figure 2), and
the front barrier edge positioned between the absorbent core and the topsheet in the thickness direction (edge of fold line 10 of rear zone 21b is between the core and topsheet 2; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Mishima discloses a method of manufacturing an absorbent article (method of diaper 1; Figure 1; Abstract; Paragraph 0018)comprising:
providing a topsheet (topsheet 2; Paragraph 0020; Figure 1), a backsheet (base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0020), an absorbent core (panel 4 between fold lines 11 and are positioned between topsheet 2 and base sheet 3; Figure 1; Paragraph 0018), and an absorbent barrier (front zone 21a of pleat 8; Paragraph 0019; Figure 1);
securing the absorbent barrier to the topsheet (front zone 21a is secured to topsheet 2; Figure 2; Paragraph 0017);
securing the absorbent core to the backsheet (core is secured to base sheet 3; Figure 2; Paragraph 0017);
positioning the absorbent barrier so that a first portion of the absorbent barrier overlaps with the absorbent core in a thickness direction (first portion of front zone 21a near the fold line 10 overlaps with core in a thickness direction; Figure 2) and a second portion of the absorbent barrier does not overlap with the absorbent core in the thickness direction (second portion of a front zone 21a near the front waist 20 edge does not overlap with core in a thickness direction; Figure 2); and
securing the topsheet to the backsheet (Paragraph 0017 and 0022).
Regarding claim 20, Mishima discloses the method of claim 19. Mishima further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
providing an elastic waist band (elastic member 14 at front waist region 20; Figure 1-2); and
securing the elastic waistband to at least one of the topsheet and the backsheet (Paragraph 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 21, Mishima discloses the method of claim 19. Mishima further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
providing a second absorbent barrier (rear zone 21b; Figure 1-2);
securing the second absorbent barrier to the topsheet (rear zone 21b is secured to topsheet 2; Figure 2; Paragraph 0017); and
positioning the second absorbent barrier so that a first portion of the second absorbent barrier overlaps with the absorbent core in a thickness direction (first portion of rear zone 21b near the fold line 10 overlaps with core in a thickness direction; Figure 2) and a second portion of the second absorbent barrier does not overlap with the absorbent core in the thickness direction (second portion of a rear zone 21b near the rear waist 22 edge does not overlap with core in a thickness direction; Figure 2),
wherein the absorbent core has a first distal end and a second distal end and the absorbent barrier is positioned at the first distal end of the absorbent core and the second absorbent barrier is positioned at the second distal end of the absorbent core (front zone 21a is at first distal end/fold line 11 near front waist region 20 of absorbent core and a rear zone 21b is at a second distal end/fold line 11 near rear waist region 22; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 22, Mishima discloses the method of claim 19. Mishima further discloses wherein the method further comprises:
providing a second elastic waist band (elastic member 14 at rear waist region 22; Figure 1-2); and
securing the second elastic waist band to at least one of the topsheet and the backsheet (Paragraph 0024-0025);
wherein the absorbent article has a front waist region (front waist region 20; Figure 1-2) and a rear waist region (rear waist region 22; Figure 1-2) and the elastic waist band is secured to the at least one of the topsheet and the backsheet in the front waist region (elastic member 14 at front waist region 20; Figure 1-2; Paragraph 0024-0025) and the second elastic waist band is secured to the at least one of the topsheet and the backsheet in the rear waist region (elastic member 14 at rear waist region 22; Figure 1-2; Paragraph 0024-0025).
Regarding claim 23, Mishima discloses the method of claim 19. Mishima further discloses wherein the method further comprises directly abutting the absorbent barrier with the absorbent core (front zone 21a directly abuts/touches the core at fold line 11; Figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 7-8, 14, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (Publication No. US 2002/0077615 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima further discloses wherein
the front core edge is longitudinally spaced from the front waist edge by a first distance (fold 11 touching front waist region 20 is at a first distance from front waist 20 edge; Figure 2),
the rear core edge is longitudinally spaced from the rear waist edge by a second distance (fold 11 touching front waist region 20 is at a first distance from front waist 22 edge; Figure 2). Mishima does not expressly teach the first distance is greater than the second distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first distance to be greater than the second distance since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the first and the second distance and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the first distance being greater than the second distance claimed, since the applicant recites that the first distance “may be” greater than the second distance (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 4, Mishima teaches absorbent article of claim 3. Mishima does not expressly teach wherein the first distance is at least 20 mm greater than the second distance.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first distance is at least 20 mm greater than the second distance since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the first and the second distance and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the first distance being greater than the second distance claimed, since the applicant recites that the first distance “may be” and “optionally” greater than the second distance with the claimed range (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0071).
Regarding claim 7, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima does not expressly teach wherein the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge are longitudinally equally spaced from the front core edge.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge are longitudinally equally spaced from the front core edge since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the equal spacing of the front and rear barrier edge and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge claimed, since the applicant recites that the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge “may be” equally spaced (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 8, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima does not expressly teach wherein the front barrier edge is longitudinally spaced between 20mm and 30mm from front waist edge.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front barrier edge is longitudinally spaced between 20mm and 30mm from front waist edge since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the claimed spacing of the front barrier edge from the front waist edge and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the spacing of the front barrier edge from the front waist edge claimed, since the applicant recites that the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge “may be” and “optionally” equally spaced (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0064).
Regarding claim 14, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 12. Mishima does not expressly teach wherein the front barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier and the rear barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier are longitudinally equally spaced from the rear core edge.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge of the second absorbent barrier are longitudinally equally spaced from the front core edge since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the equal spacing of the front and rear barrier edge and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge claimed, since the applicant recites that the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge “may be” equally spaced (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 17, Mishima teaches the absorbent article of claim 14. Mishima further teaches wherein the rear barrier edge is positioned longitudinally between the rear core edge and the rear waist edge (edge 4a of rear zone 21b is between rear core edge and rear waist 22 edge; Figure 2), and the front barrier edge is positioned longitudinally between the front core edge and the rear core edge (edge of fold line 10 of rear zone 21b is between the core edges that extend between fold lines 22; Figure 2).
Regarding claim 18, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 16. Mishima does not expressly teach wherein the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge are longitudinally equally spaced from the rear core edge.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front barrier edge and the rear barrier edge are longitudinally equally spaced from the rear core edge since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984)(MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A). In the instant case, the absorbent article would not operate differently with the equal spacing of the front and rear barrier edge and the absorbent article of Mishima has similar components and structure resembling the claimed invention and is intended to collect bodily fluids from the user. Further, applicant places no criticality on the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge claimed, since the applicant recites that the spacing of the front and rear barrier edge “may be” equally spaced (specification of instant application; Paragraph 0022 and 0070).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (Publication No. US 2002/0077615 A1) in view of Coles et al. (Patent No. US 5,868,725 A).
Regarding claim 10, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima does not teach further comprising an acquisition layer positioned between the topsheet and the absorbent core in the thickness direction, the acquisition layer having a front acquisition edge and a rear acquisition edge, each of the front acquisition edge and the rear acquisition edge positioned longitudinally rearward rear barrier edge.
However, Coles teaches further comprising an acquisition layer positioned between the topsheet and the absorbent core in the thickness direction (acquisition layer 69 is between topsheet 24 and the core layer 64; Figure 1 and 16; Column 13, line 6 to Column 14, line 21), the acquisition layer having a front acquisition edge and a rear acquisition edge (acquisition layer 69 has a front edge and rear edge; Figure 16).
Mishima and Coles are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of absorbent article. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishima to incorporate the teachings of Coles and have the acquisition layer of Coles between the absorbent core and topsheet of Mishima. This allows for the acquisition layer to absorb a sufficient volume of liquid (Coles; Column 13, line 6 to Column 14, line 21).
The combination of Mishima in view of Coles does not teach each of the front acquisition edge and the rear acquisition edge positioned longitudinally rearward rear barrier edge.
However, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the front and rear acquisition edge to be placed longitudinally rearward the rear barrier edge, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art since the device would not perform differently than the prior art device, whether located longitudinally forward or rearward, with the common function at either locations of collecting bodily fluid of the user, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (MPEP 2144.04 VI.C.).
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mishima (Publication No. US 2002/0077615 A1) in view of Ryu et al. (Publication No. US 2017/0246047 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Mishima discloses the absorbent article of claim 1. Mishima does not teach wherein the absorbent barrier is formed from an airlaid material.
However, Ryu teaches wherein the absorbent core is formed from an airlaid material (Paragraph 0123). Furthermore, the absorbent barrier and core of Mishima is made of the same material (Paragraph 0038-0039).
Mishima and Ryu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of absorbent article. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Mishima to incorporate the teachings of Ryu and have the absorbent core and absorbent material of Mishima be made of the airlaid material, as taught by Ryu. This allows for the absorption of the bodily fluid from the user and into the absorbent article (Ryu; Paragraph 0123).
Conclusion
/KATHERINE-PH MINH PHAM/Examiner, Art Unit 3781
/KAI H WENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3781