DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the amendment filed on July 01, 2026. Claims 1, 3-5, 7, and 8 are amended. Claims 2 and 6 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-5, and 7-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 13-16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (JP 2021190830), and further in view of Yasutake et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0068892).
Regarding claim 1:
Fujii discloses a posture adjustment device (FIGS. 1-8) comprising: a base ((300), [0013]) having a rotation axis (FIG. 8, (301), [0015]) that extends through a center of the base (FIGS. 1, 2, 8); and at least one peripheral camera assembly ((400)/(500)/(600)/(700), [0011]) coupled to the base and configured to revolve around the rotation axis (FIGS. 1, 2, 8, [0015, 0033]), wherein the base comprises a base ring ((330), [0014]) providing a movement path for the at least one peripheral camera assembly ([0015]) and a ring gear ((330a), [0014]), and wherein the at least one peripheral camera assembly comprises a moving body ((441), [0022-0024]) configured to move along the base ring ([0032-0033]), a first power gear ((454), [0025, 0026, 0033]) coupled to the ring gear ([0033]), and a force providing assembly ((452), [0025, 0026]) configured to generate a force to bring the first power gear into contact with the ring gear (when pressing force of (452) is applied, (451) is biased toward (454), [0025, 0026]; thus pressing (454) against (330a)).
Fujii does not specifically disclose a central camera assembly coupled to the base and configured to rotate about the rotation axis.
Yasutake teaches an image capturing apparatus (FIGS. 1-10), comprising: a central camera assembly (FIGS. 5, 6, (15), [0032-0035]) coupled to the base and configured to rotate about the rotation axis (“…rotatable in a pan direction and a tilt direction…”, [0034]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Yasutake’s with the posture adjustment device taught by Fujii since it is well known in the art for a surveillance camera to have an imaging unit positioned at the center and for the purpose of capturing more images with different field of views to further minimize image distortion for 360° images while still enabling miniaturization of the imaging device.
Regarding claim 3:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 1, wherein Fujii further discloses that the at least one peripheral camera assembly comprises a plurality of peripheral camera assemblies (FIGS. 1, 2, 7, 8, (400)/(500)/(600)/(700), [0011]), and wherein each of the plurality of peripheral camera assemblies is configured individually move along the base ring ([0015]).
Regarding claim 4:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 1, wherein Fujii further discloses that the at least one peripheral camera assembly comprises: a peripheral camera (FIG. 4, (410), [0019]) coupled to the moving body (FIG. 4).
Regarding claim 5:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 4, wherein Fujii further discloses that the at least one peripheral camera assembly further comprises: a first power motor (FIGS. 5, 6, (451), [0025, 0026]) configured to generate a rotational force to rotate the first power gear ([0025, 0026, 0033]).
Regarding claim 9:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 4, wherein Fujii further discloses that the base ring comprises: a ring body (FIG. 2, (330), [0014]) having a central axis that corresponds to the rotation axis of the base (FIG. 8, (301), [0015]); and a guide ring ((334d), [0014, 0033]) protruding from an outer surface of the ring body (FIG. 2), and wherein the moving body comprises an engaging portion (FIG. 4, (441b) of (441a), [0033]) configured to engage with the guide ring (FIG. 8, [0033]).
Regarding claim 10:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 9, wherein Fujii further discloses that the engaging portion comprises an engaging protrusion protruding toward a first surface of the guide ring (FIG. 8, wherein (441a) protrudes towards a surface of (334d)).
Regarding claim 13:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 4, wherein Fujii further discloses that the peripheral camera is rotatably coupled to the moving body (FIG. 4, tilt unit (420), pan unit (430), [0018, 0020, 0021]).
Regarding claim 14:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 4, wherein Fujii further discloses that the base further comprises a base cylinder (FIGS. 1, 2, (340), [0013, 0032]) provided at a center of the base ring (FIGS. 1, 2).
Regarding claim 15:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 14, wherein Yasutake further discloses that the central camera assembly is rotatably coupled (“pan-tilt-zoom (PTZ) camera apparatus” (15), [0032-0035]) to the base cylinder (indicated below).
Regarding claim 16:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 14, wherein Fujii further discloses that the base cylinder comprises: a cylinder body (indicated below); and a cylinder ring (indicated below) protruding from an outer surface of the cylinder body (FIG. 1), and wherein the moving body comprises an engaging protrusion ((441a), [0022, 0032, 0033, 0036]) supported by the cylinder ring and protruding toward the cylinder body (FIGS. 1, 2, 8, wherein (441a) is sandwiched between (330) and (340), [0032], and protrudes toward the cylinder body as shown below).
Regarding claim 18:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 1, wherein Yasutake further discloses that the central camera assembly comprises: a central camera (indicated below); and a camera housing accommodating the central camera (indicated below, [0032-0035]).
Regarding claim 19:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 18, wherein Yasutake further discloses that the central camera is rotatable with respect to the camera housing (“pan-tilt-zoom (PTZ) camera apparatus” (15), [0032-0035]).
Regarding claim 20:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 1, wherein Fujii further discloses: a sealing cover (FIG. 2, (200), [0012]) coupled to the base and configured to seal the at least one peripheral camera assembly from an outside environment (FIG. 2, [0012]).
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii (JP 2021190830) and Yasutake et al. (U.S. Publication No.: 2019/0068892) as applied to claims 1, 3-5, 9, 10, 13-16, and 18-20 above.
Regarding claim 12:
Fujii and Yasutake disclose and teach of the posture adjustment device of claim 9.
Fujii and Yasutake do not specifically disclose that the engaging portion is detachable from the moving body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to enable the engaging portion to be detachable from the moving body, since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 8, 11, and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, and 7-20 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection/objection.
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852