Applicant’s filing of claims 1-20 on 12/21/23 is acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending and are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 3/6/24, 7/18/25 and 10/22/25 were acknowledged. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the pressure-fitted automated liquid handler (PF-ALH); a plurality of buffer exchange pipette tips situated in proximity to the PF-ALH; the buffer exchange pipette tips comprise a housing comprising (i) a proximal end comprising a lower opening; (ii) a distal end designed to fit the PF-ALH; and (iii) an inert resin for size exclusion chromatography (SEC) within the housing; the sample on top of the inert resin inside the buffer exchange pipette tip; means for creating a pressure differential; the distal end of the buffer exchange pipette tip (claim 1); plunger (claim 4); frit (claim 7); kit (claim 20) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1-3 are rejected for indefiniteness because each claim merely recites a use, e.g., “using,” without any active, positive steps delimiting how this use is actually practiced. See MPEP 2173.05(q). The Office recommends amending each “using” to active steps reciting how, e.g., the PF-ALH dispenses the sample. What structural feature of the PF-ALH is performing, e.g., the “dispense the sample” step?
Claims 1-4 are rejected because each claim is not clear as to what structure(s) of the PF-ALH is intended to achieve the “means for creating a pressure differential" function.
Claims 8-11, 18 and 19 contain the trademark/trade names IMCStips; Dynamic Devices PF-ALH; and Tecan PF-ALH. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe pipette tip for claims 8-11; and PF-ALH for claims 18 and 19 and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 20 is rejected because the scope of the claim is unclear. The scope of the preamble is unclear. The Office recommends including a colon to clearly indicate the scope of the preamble. The claim language, “designed for use” and “instructions for use,” make the claim indefinite. See MPEP 2173.05(q), as cited above.
Claim Interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f)
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” and is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses the word “means” or “step” that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: apply means for creating a pressure differential in claims 1-4.
Claim Interpretation of the examined claims
The Office asserts that terms and phrases like “designed to” and “wherein” constitute recitations of intended use language for purposes of examination. The Office asserts that in the examined claims reciting such “designed to” language, the claim language that follows such recitations does not necessarily denote structure MPEP 2173.05(g). The functional limitation was evaluated and considered, for what it fairly conveys to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Similarly, a “wherein” clause may have a limiting effect on a claim if the language limits the claim to a particular structure. MPEP 2111.04. The determination of whether a “wherein” clause is a limitation in a claim depends on the specific facts of the case. While all words in each claim are considered in judging the patentability of the claim language, including functional claim limitations, not all limitations provide a patentable distinction.
During patent examination, the examined claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, unless a term has been given a special definition in the specification (“BRI”). See MPEP 2111.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brewer et al. (“Brewer,” US Pub. No. 2022/0184525, cited in IDS).
As to claim 1, Brewer teaches a method of buffer exchange for a sample, the method comprising: providing a pressure-fitted automated liquid handler (PF-ALH) (see robotic liquid handler from Tecan in e.g., [0070]) and a plurality of buffer exchange pipette tips (e.g., [0058] et seq.) situated in proximity to the PF-ALH, wherein the buffer exchange pipette tips comprise a housing comprising (i) a proximal end comprising a lower opening (fig. 1A and [0061] et seq.); (ii) a distal end designed to fit the PF-ALH (fig. 1A and [0061] et seq.); and (iii) an inert resin for size exclusion chromatography (SEC) within the housing (e.g., [0016] et seq.); using the PF-ALH to dispense the sample on top of the inert resin inside the buffer exchange pipette tip (e.g., [0058] et seq.); using the PF-ALH to apply means for creating a pressure differential (e.g., [0017] et seq.); and using the PF-ALH to engage the distal end of the buffer exchange pipette tip to facilitate movement of the sample through the inert resin (e.g., [0058] et seq.); to thereby buffer exchange the sample (e.g., [0005] et seq.).
As to claim 2, Brewer teaches prior to dispensing the sample on top of the inert resin: using the PF-ALH to dispense an equilibrium buffer on top of the inert resin in the buffer exchange pipette tip; using the PF-ALH to apply means for creating a pressure differential; and using the PF-ALH to engage the distal end of the buffer exchange pipette tip to facilitate movement of the equilibrium buffer through the inert resin. See [0018] et seq.
As to claim 3, Brewer teaches after movement of the sample through the inert resin: using the PF-ALH to dispense an elution buffer on top of the inert resin in the buffer exchange pipette tip; using the PL-ALH to apply means for creating a pressure differential; and using the PF-ALH to engage the distal end of the buffer exchange pipette tip to facilitate movement of the elution buffer through the inert resin; to thereby elute the sample from the inert resin into the elution buffer. See [0018] et seq.
As to claim 4, Brewer teaches the PF-ALH comprises a plunger and the means for creating a pressure differential comprises moving the plunger prior to engaging the distal end of the buffer exchange pipette tip. See e.g., [0062] et seq.
As to claims 5 and 6, Brewer teaches the inert resin is comprised of a base material selected from the group consisting of agarose, cellulose, dextran, polystyrene, polyacrylamide, polyacrylate, Sephadex, or Sepharose. See e.g., [0008] et seq.
As to claim 7, Brewer teaches the housing comprises a frit inside the housing positioned above the lower opening and the inert resin is positioned within the housing above the frit. See e.g., [0025] et seq.
As to claims 8-11, see 112 rejection above, but see [0015] et seq.
As to claims 12-17, see e.g., [0073] et seq.
As to claims 18-19, see 112 rejection above, but see [0015] et seq.
As to claim 20, see e.g., [00058] et seq.
/LORE R JARRETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1797
7/25/2026