Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on June 3rd, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5 and claims 7-17 are pending in the application. Claim 6 and claims 18-24 have been cancelled.
The rejection of claims 1-5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 6-8, 12-15, and 17 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1) and Wu (CN 112080279 A) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claims 9-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1) and Nakajima (JP 2009212383 A) is withdrawn.
The rejection of claim 16 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1), Wu (CN 112080279 A), and Nakajima (JP 2009212383 A) is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7-8, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1) and further in view of Wu (CN 112080279 A).
With regard to claims 1-5, 7-8, and 15, Mizutani discloses a chemical solution which has an excellent ability to dissolve ruthenium and reduces the amount of remaining ruthenium as well as the amount of remaining sodium (see Abstract). Mizutani further discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further teaches aminopolycarboxylic acid as a suitable chelating agent (see page 5 paragraph 6), for example CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Mizutani further discloses water at 50.0wt% or more (see page 4 paragraph 7) and a pH of 7.0-14.0 (see page 4 paragraph 5). Mizutani further discloses the substrate to be cleaned may be a silicon wafer (see page 12 paragraph 2). The instant specifications disclose silicon as a Low-k material.
However, Mizutani fails to disclose a third agent.
Wu discloses an etching composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide of Wu in the composition of Mizutani as Mizutani discloses amine compounds as arbitrary components and 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound. Further, both Mizutani and Wu disclose a semiconductor cleaning composition and are therefore analogous.
With regard to the weight content of the third agent being greater than the total weight content of the first agent and the second agent, Mizutani discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further discloses CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Wu discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). At maximum, the combined weight percentage of HEPES and CyDTA would be 15wt%. Wu discloses 1-25wt% of 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide.
With regard to claims 12-14, Mizutani discloses 31wt% of hydrogen peroxide (see page 14 paragraph 4). While Mizutani fails to disclose 5-30wt% of hydrogen peroxide, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
With regard to claim 17, Mizutani discloses 31wt% of hydrogen peroxide (see page 14 paragraph 4). While Mizutani fails to disclose 5-30wt% of hydrogen peroxide, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claims 9-11 and claim 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1) and Wu (CN 112080279 A), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima (JP 2009212383 A).
With regard to claims 9-11, Mizutani and Wu disclose all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Mizutani and Wu fail to disclose ethanolamine or methyl monoethanolamine.
Nakajima discloses a cleaner composition for semiconductors (see Abstract). Nakajima further discloses component A as ethanolamine (see page 3 paragraph 2 and page 3 paragraph 5). Nakajima further discloses component A at 0.1-50wt% for the purpose of corrosion prevention (see page 5 paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ethanolamine of Nakajima in the semiconductor composition of Mizutani and Wu for the purpose of corrosion prevention.
With regard to claim 16, Mizutani and Wu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15.
However, Mizutani and Wu fail to disclose ethanolamine or methyl monoethanolamine.
Nakajima discloses a cleaner composition for semiconductors (see Abstract). Nakajima further discloses component A as ethanolamine (see page 3 paragraph 2 and page 3 paragraph 5). Nakajima further discloses component A at 0.1-50wt% for the purpose of corrosion prevention (see page 5 paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ethanolamine of Nakajima in the semiconductor composition of Mizutani for the purpose of corrosion prevention.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and claims 7-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant argues that amended claim 1 discloses "...a third agent which is configured to oxidize objects to be moved on the semiconductor wafer; and...a weight content of the third agent is greater than total weight content of the first agent and the second agent" and Mizutani fails to disclose such a third agent. As stated above, Wu discloses an etching composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide of Wu in the composition of Mizutani as Mizutani discloses amine compounds as arbitrary components and 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound. Further, both Mizutani and Wu disclose a semiconductor cleaning composition and are therefore analogous.
Further, with regard to the weight content of the third agent being greater than the total weight content of the first agent and the second agent, Mizutani discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further discloses CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Wu discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). At maximum, the combined weight percentage of HEPES and CyDTA would be 15wt%. Wu discloses 1-25wt% of 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide.
Applicant further argues that Wu fails to disclose "the weight content of the third agent is greater than total weight content of the first agent and second agent". As stated above, Mizutani discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further discloses CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Wu discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). At maximum, the combined weight percentage of HEPES and CyDTA would be 15wt%. Wu discloses 1-25wt% of 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide.
Applicant further argues that Nakajima fails to disclose a third agent or the weight content of the third agent as greater than total weight content of the first agent and second agent. As stated above, Mizutani discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further discloses CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Wu discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). At maximum, the combined weight percentage of HEPES and CyDTA would be 15wt%. Wu discloses 1-25wt% of 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide. Nakajima discloses a cleaner composition for semiconductors (see Abstract). Nakajima further discloses component A as ethanolamine (see page 3 paragraph 2 and page 3 paragraph 5). Nakajima further discloses component A at 0.1-50wt% for the purpose of corrosion prevention (see page 5 paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ethanolamine of Nakajima in the semiconductor composition of Mizutani for the purpose of corrosion prevention.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.S.H./ Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/ANGELA C BROWN-PETTIGREW/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1761