Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I in the reply filed on January 23rd, 2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 23-31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on January 23rd, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1).
With regard to claims 1-5, Mizutani discloses a chemical solution which has an excellent ability to dissolve ruthenium and reduces the amount of remaining ruthenium as well as the amount of remaining sodium (see Abstract). Mizutani further discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further teaches aminopolycarboxylic acid as a suitable chelating agent (see page 5 paragraph 6), for example CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10.0wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5). Mizutani further discloses water at 50.0wt% or more (see page 4 paragraph 7) and a pH of 7.0-14.0 (see page 4 paragraph 5). Mizutani further discloses the substrate to be cleaned may be a silicon wafer (see page 12 paragraph 2). The instant specifications disclose silicon as a Low-k material.
Claims 6-8, 12-15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wu (CN 112080279 A).
With regard to claims 6-8, Mizutani discloses all of the limitations of claim 1. Mizutani further discloses the solution may comprise arbitrary components, including amine compounds (see page 4 paragraph 6).
However, Mizutani fails to disclose a third agent.
Wu discloses an etching composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to utilize the 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide of Wu in the composition of Mizutani as Mizutani discloses amine compounds as arbitrary components and 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound. Further, both Mizutani and Wu disclose a semiconductor cleaning composition and are therefore analogous.
With regard to claims 12-14, Mizutani discloses 31wt% of hydrogen peroxide (see page 14 paragraph 4). While Mizutani fails to disclose 5-30wt% of hydrogen peroxide, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
With regard to claim 15, Mizutani discloses 5wt% or less of a buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 6) and HEPES as a suitable buffering agent (see page 5 paragraph 4). Mizutani further discloses CyDTA (see page 7 paragraph 2) at 0.01-10wt% (see page 9 paragraph 5).
However, Mizutani fails to disclose a third agent.
Wu discloses an etching composition, an analogous art (see Abstract). Wu further discloses 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide as a basic compound (see page 2 paragraph 5) at 1-25wt% (see page 2 paragraph 3). 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide of Wu in the composition of Mizutani as Mizutani discloses amine compounds as arbitrary components and 4-Methylmorpholine N-oxide is an amine compound. Further, both Mizutani and Wu disclose a semiconductor cleaning composition and are therefore analogous.
With regard to claim 17, Mizutani discloses 31wt% of hydrogen peroxide (see page 14 paragraph 4). While Mizutani fails to disclose 5-30wt% of hydrogen peroxide, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties, see Titanium Metals Corp. of America v. Banner, 778F.2d 775,227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985). See MPEP 2144.05 I.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakajima (JP 2009212383 A).
With regard to claims 9-11, Mizutani discloses all of the limitations of claim 1.
However, Mizutani fails to disclose ethanolamine or methyl monoethanolamine.
Nakajima discloses a cleaner composition for semiconductors (see Abstract). Nakajima further discloses component A as ethanolamine (see page 3 paragraph 2 and page 3 paragraph 5). Nakajima further discloses component A at 0.1-50wt% for the purpose of corrosion prevention (see page 5 paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ethanolamine of Nakajima in the semiconductor composition of Mizutani for the purpose of corrosion prevention.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizutani (WO 2022024636 A1), in view of Wu (CN 112080279 A), as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Nakajima (JP 2009212383 A).
With regard to claim 16, Mizutani and Wu disclose all of the limitations of claim 15.
However, Mizutani and Wu fail to disclose ethanolamine or methyl monoethanolamine.
Nakajima discloses a cleaner composition for semiconductors (see Abstract). Nakajima further discloses component A as ethanolamine (see page 3 paragraph 2 and page 3 paragraph 5). Nakajima further discloses component A at 0.1-50wt% for the purpose of corrosion prevention (see page 5 paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to utilize the ethanolamine of Nakajima in the semiconductor composition of Mizutani for the purpose of corrosion prevention.
Conclusion
/GREGORY R DELCOTTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761
/B.S.H./Examiner, Art Unit 1761