DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-6, 8-12, 15-21, 27 and 47 are pending.
Claims 7, 13-14, 21-26, 28-46 and 48-81 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10-11, 27 and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Palenske (US 2006/0053695).
Re claim 1, Palenske discloses a fenestration system (Fig. 6) comprising:
a frame assembly (106, 102), the frame assembly (106, 102) comprising
a sill (106), the sill (106) comprising
a bottom surface (bottom of 106), the bottom surface (bottom of 106) comprising
a first edge projection (108);
a second edge projection (334); and
the bottom surface (bottom of 106) defining a cavity (interior to 106 between 108 and 334), wherein a gap (between 108 and 334 opening at the bottom into the cavity therein) between the first edge projection (108) and the second edge (334) projection provides access to (Fig. 6) the cavity (interior to 106 between 108 and 334);
a sill cleat (102), the sill cleat (102) comprising
a first angled surface (left surface of 102, 90 degrees being an angle), wherein the first angled surface (left surface of 102) is configured to engage the first edge projection (108) upon movement of the sill (106) in a first direction (to the right); and
a second angled surface (right surface of 102, 90 degrees being an angle);
wherein the second angled surface (102 on the right) is disposed on an opposite side (Fig. 6) of the sill cleat (102) from the first angled surface (102 on the left);
wherein the second angled surface (102 on the right) is configured to engage (Fig. 6) the second edge projection (334) upon movement of the sill (106) in a second direction (to the left);
wherein the sill cleat (11) extends part way through (Fig. 6, bottom of 102) the gap (between 108 and 334) and a clearance gap (see examiner comments) is defined between at least one of the first angled surface (left surface of 102) and the first edge projection (108) and the second angled surface (right surface of 102) and the second edge projection (334); and
wherein the first direction (to the right) is opposite the second direction (to the left).
Re claim 10, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, wherein the fenestration system (Fig. 6) is a door assembly (Claim 1).
Re claim 11, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, wherein the fenestration system (Fig. 6) is a window assembly (as no distinguishing structure of a window is claimed, Fig. 6 functions as a window).
Re claim 27, Palenske discloses a fenestration system (Fig. 6) comprising:
a frame assembly (106, 102), the frame assembly (106, 102) comprising
a sill (106), the sill (106) comprising
a bottom surface (bottom of 106), the bottom surface (bottom of 11064) comprising
a first edge projection (108), the first edge projection (108) comprising a first angled surface (to the right);
a second edge projection (334), the second edge projection (334) comprising a second angled surface (to the left); and
the bottom surface (bottom of 106) defining a cavity (between 108 and 334, and interior to 106), wherein a gap (between 108 and 334 opening into the cavity) between the first edge projection (108) and the second edge (334) projection provides access to (Fig. 6) the cavity (between 108 and 334, and interior to 106);
a sill cleat (102);
wherein the sill cleat (102) extends part way through (Fig. 6) the gap (between 108 and 334) a clearance gap (see examiner comments) is defined between at least one of the first angled surface (left surface of 102) and the first edge projection (108) and the second angled surface (right surface of 102) and the second edge projection (334);
wherein the first angled surface (of 108) of the first edge projection (108) is configured to engage the sill cleat (102) upon movement of the sill (106) in a first direction (to the right);
wherein the second angled surface (of 334) of the second edge projection (334) is configured to engage (Fig. 6) the sill cleat (102) upon movement of the sill (106) in a second direction (to the left);
wherein the first direction (to the right) is opposite the second direction (to the left).
Re claim 47, Palenske discloses a fenestration system (Fig. 6) comprising:
a frame assembly (102, 106), the frame assembly (102, 106) comprising
a sill (106), the sill (106) comprising
a bottom surface (bottom of 106), the bottom surface (bottom of 106) comprising
a first edge projection (108);
a second edge projection (16334); and
the bottom surface (bottom of 106) defining a cavity (between 108 and 334 and interior to 106), wherein a gap (between 108 and 334 opening into the cavity) between the first edge projection (108) and the second edge (334) projection provides access to (Fig. 6) the cavity (between 108 and 334 and interior to 106);
a sill cleat (102), the sill cleat (102) comprising a first angled surface (left surface of 102; 90 degrees being an angle), wherein the first angled surface (left surface of 102; 90 degrees being an angle) is configured to engage the first edge projection (108) upon movement of the sill (102) in a first direction (to the right);
wherein the first angled surface (left surface of 102) is angled with respect to (left surface of 102; 90 degrees being an angle) a bottom surface (bottom of 102) of the sill (102) such that a top (see examiner comments) of the first angled surface (left surface of 102) is wider than (Fig. 6; due to the notch at 108) a bottom (see examiner comments) of the first angled surface (left surface of 102);
wherein the sill cleat (102) extends part way through (Fig. 6) the gap (108 and 334).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 8-9, 12, 15-16, 18-21 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenske (US 2006/0053695).
Re claim 2, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first angled surface is configured to engage the first edge projection upon movement of the sill in the first direction a distance of 0.1 to 0.3 inches.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the first angled surface is configured to engage the first edge projection upon movement of the sill in the first direction a distance of 0.1 to 0.3 inches in order to provide sufficient flexure of 106 such that 106 bends .1-.3 inches allowing for insertion of 102 on both sides. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 3, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the first angled surface is configured to engage the first edge projection upon movement of the sill in the first direction a distance of 0.175 inches.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the first angled surface is configured to engage the first edge projection upon movement of the sill in the first direction a distance of 0.175 inches in order to provide sufficient flexure of 106 such that 106 bends 0.175 inches allowing for insertion of 102 on both sides. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 4, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second angled surface is configured to engage the second edge projection upon movement of the sill in the second direction a distance of 0.1 to 0.3 inches.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the second angled surface is configured to engage the second edge projection upon movement of the sill in the second direction a distance of 0.1 to 0.3 inches in order to provide sufficient flexure of 106 such that 106 bends .1-.3 inches allowing for insertion of 102 on both sides. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In addition, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456.
Re claim 5, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second angled surface is configured to engage the second edge projection upon movement of the sill in the second direction a distance of 0.175 inches.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the second angled surface is configured to engage the second edge projection upon movement of the sill in the second direction a distance of 0.175 inches in order to provide sufficient flexure of 106 such that 106 bends 0.175 inches allowing for insertion of 102 on both sides. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 8, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, wherein a top (top of 102) of the first angled surface (left surface of 102) is wider than (Fig. 6, due to the notch proximate 108) a bottom (bottom of 102) of the first angled surface (left surface of 102), but fails to disclose wherein the first angled surface is angled from 35 to 55 degrees with respect to a bottom surface of the sill.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the second angled surface is angled from 35 to 55 degrees with respect a bottom surface of the sill in order to allow the sill to easily slide over the sill cleat during assembly. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 9, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second angled surface is angled from 35 to 55 degrees with respect to a bottom surface of the sill.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the second angled surface is angled from 35 to 55 degrees with respect to a bottom surface of the sill in order to allow the sill to easily slide over the sill cleat during assembly. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 12, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat has a profile height of about 3/8 inches or less.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat has a profile height of about 3/8 inches or less in order to ensure that sill cleat is not so tall as to prevent a larger tripping hazard, and to use as little material as possible to save costs. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 15, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat is formed of aluminum.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system Palenske wherein the sill cleat is formed of aluminum in order to utilize an inexpensive, durable, weather/water resistant and easily formable material. In addition, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Re claim 16, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat is at least 10 inches long.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat is at least 10 inches long in order to span a significant length of the sill of the door for a better connection thereto. It has been held that a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Re claim 18, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat is divided into a plurality of discrete pieces.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat is divided into a plurality of discrete pieces in order to shorten the overall length allowing for smaller parcels for shipping and/or transportation. It has been held that making seperable is within the level of ordinary skill. In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522.
Re claim 19, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat has a substantially rectangular perimeter.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat has a substantially rectangular perimeter in order to simplify manufacture by eliminating a need for angled, inclined, and/or notched surfaces. In addition, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
Re claim 20, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat has a substantially circular perimeter.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat has a substantially circular perimeter in order to reduce the footprint of the sill cleat and thus material used, as a circular perimeter would utilize a smaller area than that of the rectangle presented. In addition, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
Re claim 21, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the sill cleat has a curvilinear perimeter.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein the sill cleat has a curvilinear perimeter in order to reduce the footprint of the sill cleat and thus material used, as a curvilinear perimeter would utilize a smaller area than that of the rectangle presented. In addition, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
Claim(s) 6 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenske (US 2006/0053695) in view of Salvoni (US 2023/0009152).
Re claim 6, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose further comprising a polymeric composition, wherein the polymeric composition is disposed adjacent to the first angled surface and the second angled surface.
However, Salvoni discloses further comprising a polymeric composition ([0056]; silicone), wherein the polymeric composition ([0056]) is disposed adjacent to the first angled surface (38 on the left) and the second angled surface (38 on the right).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske further comprising a polymeric composition, wherein the polymeric composition is disposed adjacent to the first angled surface and the second angled surface as disclosed by Salvoni in order to secure the angled surfaces to the edge projections ([0056]) and to utilize a cheap, readily available, easily formable material.
Claim(s) 17 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Palenske (US 2006/0053695) in view of Smith (US 5,283,977).
Re claim 17, Palenske discloses the fenestration system of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein a bottom surface of the sill cleat defines one or more feet.
However, Smith discloses wherein a bottom surface (bottom of 16) of the sill cleat (16) defines one or more feet (42, 44, 46).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the fenestration system of Palenske wherein a bottom surface of the sill cleat defines one or more feet by Smith in order to elevate the sill cleat for ventilation or the passage of water.
Examiner Comments
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections 35 USC 102 and/or 103: Applicant’s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are moot as they do not apply to any of the combination of references relied upon in the above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
KYLE WALRAED-SULLIVAN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635