DETAILED ACTION Status of the Application This office action is a non-final rejection in response to the filing of the applicant’s “response to election / restriction requirement” filed on 08/22 /2025 . The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Election/Restrictions Applicant’s election without traverse of Species J (claims 1-20) in the reply filed on 08/22/2025 is acknowledged. Claim Objections Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: the claim seams incomplete, is missing period “.” . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 4 . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 5 . The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 6 . Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stingu et al, US Patent Application Publication ( 2022/0360117 A1). Regarding Claim 1, Stingu et al discloses a method of communicating between a receiver of a wireless power transfer system (200) and a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) (see Fig 6, par. [0003]-[0005]) , the receiver (204) (see par. [0041], 204; Fig 2A: 204) comprising a synchronous rectifier (216) (par. [0042]: 216; Fig 2A ) , the method comprising: modifying operation of a synchronous rectifier (216) of a receiver of a wireless power transfer system (200) (see Fig 2A; par. [0049]) ; detecting a parameter change at a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) based on a modification of the operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) (see Fig 2A,6; par. [0090]-[0094]) ; and determining data communicated from the receiver (204) to the transmitter (202) based on the parameter change (see Fig 2A, 6,13,14; par. [0090]-[0094],[0138]-[0144],[0150]) . Regarding Claim 2, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 1, wherein modifying operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) comprises: toggling the synchronous rectifier (216) between synchronous operation and non-synchronous operation (see switches in Fig 2A; par. [0042],[0043],[0049],[0053],[0058]-[0059]). Regarding Claim 3, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 1, wherein modifying operation of the synchronous rectifier comprises: selectively enabling and disabling the synchronous rectifier (see Fig 2A,5A-5B; par. [0042],[0043],[0049],[0053],[0058]-[0059],[0080]) . Regarding Claim 4, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 1, wherein the synchronous rectifier (216) comprises: a rectifier element (216) for rectifying a power signal to direct current (DC) (see Vrx_DC , par. [0042],[0052]) ; a trigger circuit (2 30 ) (see Fig 2A, par. [0042]) ; a gate driver ( 217- 220 ) electrically connected to the trigger circuit ( 230 ) and the rectifier element (216) , the gate driver ( 217-220 ) controlling operation of the rectifier element (216) via a trigger signal output by the trigger circuit ( 230 ) ; and an auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) for powering at least one of the trigger circuit ( 230 ) and gate driver ( 217-220 ) (see Fig 2A disclosing the DC/DC converter electrically connected to controller 230 , par. [0042]-[0053]) . Regarding Claim 5, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 4, wherein modifying operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) comprises: controlling operation of at least one of the trigger circuit (230) , gate driver (217-220) and auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) (see Fig 2A, par. [0042]-[0053]) . Regarding Claim 6, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 5, wherein controlling operation of at least one of the trigger circuit (230) , gate driver (217-220) and auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) comprises at least one of : controlling operation of a comparator of the trigger circuit (230) (see comparator 1804,1814,1820, in par. [0137],[0147],[0173],[0177],[0180],[0181]) ; and selectively enabling and disabling operation of the auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) to selectively power at least one of the trigger circuit (230) and the gate driver (217-220) (see Fig 2A and par. [0044],[0045],[0047]-[0048],[0134],[0154]) . Regarding Claim 7, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 1, wherein detecting the parameter change comprises detecting a voltage or current waveform at the transmitter (see par. [0038],[0158],[0160]) ; and wherein determining data communicated comprises processing the detected voltage or current waveform to determine communicated data (see par. [0038],[0158],[0160]) . Regarding Claim 8, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 7, wherein processing the detected voltage or current waveform comprises: filtering the voltage or current waveform (see par. [0043],[0051],[0055]-[0056]) ; generating logic levels based on the filtered voltage or current waveform (see par. [0036]-[0040],[0055]-[0056],[0090]-[0094]) ; and decoding data based on the generated logic levels (see par. [0036]-[0040],[0055]-[0056],[0090]-[0094]) , wherein decoding data (see par. [0036]-[0040],[0055]-[0056],[0090]-[0094]) comprises: determining time intervals between the logic levels (see par. [0036]-[0040] ; and decoding data based on the time intervals (see par. [0036]-[0040]) . Regarding Claim 9, Stingu et al discloses a method of communicating between a receiver of a wireless power transfer system (200) and a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) (see Fig 6, par. [0003]-[0005]) , the receiver (204) (see par. [0041], 204; Fig 2A: 204) comprising a synchronous rectifier (216) (par. [0042]: 216; Fig 2A) , the method performed by the receiver (204) comprising: modifying operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) of the receiver (204) of the wireless power transfer system (200) (see Fig 2A; par. [0049]) based on input data to change a parameter at the transmitter (202) (see Fig 2A,6; par. [0090]-[0094]) . Regarding Claim 10, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 9, wherein modifying operation comprises: enabling and disabling synchronous operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) based on the input data (see Fig 2A,5A-5B; par. [0042],[0043],[0049],[0053],[0058]-[0059],[0080]) . Regarding Claim 11, Stingu et al discloses a controller (230) for communicating a signal between a receiver (204) of a wireless power transfer system (200) and a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) , the receiver (204) comprising a synchronous rectifier (216) , the controller (230) adapted to modify operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) to alter a parameter detectable at the transmitter (see Fig 2A and par. [0042],[0049],[0066],[0077],[0087],[0142],[0151]-[0152] in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 , furthermore , while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function . In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart , 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly , 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)). Regarding Claim 12, Stingu et al discloses t he controller of claim 11, the controller (230) adapted to selectively enable and disable the synchronous rectifier (216) (see Fig 2A,5A-5B; par. [0042],[0043],[0049],[0053],[0058]-[0059],[0080], in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) . Regarding Claim 13, Stingu et al discloses t he controller of claim 11, wherein the controller (230) is electrically connected to at least one of : a trigger circuit (108) (see Fig 2A, par. [0042]) of the synchronous rectifier (216) ; and a gate driver (217-220) of the synchronous rectifier (216) , the gate driver (217-220) electrically connected to the trigger circuit (108) and a rectifier element of the synchronous rectifier (216) ; and an auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) of the synchronous rectifier (216) , the auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) for powering at least one of the trigger circuit (108) and gate driver (217-220) (see Fig 2A disclosing the DC/DC converter electrically connected to switches 217-220 via controller 230, par. [0042]-[0053]) . Regarding Claim 14, Stingu et al discloses t he controller of claim 13, the controller (230) adapted to at least one of : control operation of a comparator of the trigger circuit (108) (see comparator 1804,1814,1820, in par. [0043],[0137],[0147],[0173],[0177],[0180],[0181] , in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) ; and selectively enable and disable operation of the auxiliary DC/DC converter (214) to selectively power at least one of the trigger circuit (108) and the gate driver (217-220) (see Fig 2A and par. [0044],[0045],[0047]-[0048],[0134],[0154] , in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) . Regarding Claim 15, Stingu et al discloses a method of communicating between a receiver (204) of a wireless power transfer system (200) and a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) , the receiver (204) comprising a synchronous rectifier (216) (see Fig 2A) , the method performed by the transmitter (202) comprising: detecting a parameter change at the transmitter (202) based on a modification to the operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) of the receiver (204) ; and determining data communicated from the receiver (204) to the transmitter (202) based on the parameter change (see Fig 2A,20; par. [0030],[0038],[0042],[0056],[0066],[0080], [0158],[0160]) . Regarding Claim 16, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 15, wherein detecting the parameter change comprises: detecting a voltage or current waveform at the transmitter (202) (see Fig 2A,20; par. [0030],[0038],[0042],[0056],[0066],[0080],[0158],[0160]) . Regarding Claim 17, Stingu et al discloses t he method of claim 15, wherein determining data communicated comprises: processing the detected voltage or current waveform to determine communicated data (see par. [0038],[0158],[0160]) , wherein processing the detected voltage or current waveform comprises: filtering the voltage or current waveform (see par. [0043],[0051],[0055]-[0056]) ; generating logic levels based on the filtered voltage or current waveform (see par. [0036]-[0040],[0055]-[0056],[0090]-[0094]) ; and decoding data based on the generated logic levels (see par. [0036]-[0040],[0055]-[0056],[0090]-[0094]) . Regarding Claim 18, Stingu et al discloses a controller (230) for communicating a signal between a receiver (204) of a wireless power transfer system (200) and a transmitter (202) of the wireless power transfer system (200) , the receiver (204) comprising a synchronous rectifier (216) , the controller (230) adapted to detect a parameter change at the transmitter (202) based on a modification to the operation of the synchronous rectifier (216) of the receiver (204) (see Fig 2A and par. [0042],[0049],[0066],[0077],[0087],[0142],[0151]-[0152], in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 , in addition, while features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, claims directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function . In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477-78, 44 USPQ2d 1429, 1431-32 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (The absence of a disclosure in a prior art reference relating to function did not defeat the Board's finding of anticipation of claimed apparatus because the limitations at issue were found to be inherent in the prior art reference); see also In re Swinehart , 439 F.2d 210, 212-13, 169 USPQ 226, 228-29 (CCPA 1971); In re Danly , 263 F.2d 844, 847, 120 USPQ 528, 531 (CCPA 1959). "Apparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). (see MPEP 2114). Furthermore, it has been held that a claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim. Exparte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1987). (See MPEP 2114)). Regarding Claim 19, Stingu et al discloses t he controller of claim 18, further adapted to determine data communicated from the receiver (204) to the transmitter (202) based on the parameter change (see Fig 2A,20; par. [0030],[0038],[0042],[0056],[0066],[0080], [0158],[0160], in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) . Regarding Claim 20, Stingu et al discloses t he controller of claim 18, further comprising: a detector for detecting a voltage and/or current waveform at the transmitter (202) (see Figs 2A-3B ,16; par. [0158]-[0160] detecting voltage, current, impedance, power ) , wherein the detector comprises at least one of : a demodulator adapted to demodulate a voltage and/or current waveform at the transmitter (202) (see demodulation in par. [0056],[0089],[0093], in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) ; and a filter (212) adapted to filter the demodulated voltage and/or current (see Figs 2A-2B and par. [0043], [0051],[0055]-[0057], in addition, it has been held that the recitation that an element is “adapted to” perform a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform. It does not constitute a limitation in any patentable sense. In re Hutchison, 69 USPQ 138 ) . Examiner Note 7 . The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner. Conclusion 8 . The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the cited prior art in the PTO-892 form attached. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FILLIN "Examiner name" \* MERGEFORMAT ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO whose telephone number is FILLIN "Phone number" \* MERGEFORMAT (571) 270-1714 . The examiner can normally be reached on M-F (9am-4pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rexford Barnie can be reached on (571) 272-7492. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /ALFONSO PEREZ BORROTO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2836