Response to Amendment
This is a final Office action in response to Applicant's remarks and amendments filed on 12/24/2025. Claims 1, 19, and 20 are currently amended. Claim 13 remains withdrawn. Claim 9 remains cancelled. Claims 1-8, 10-12, 14-21 are pending review in this action.
The amendments to drawings and specification filed 12/24/2025 are accepted. Examiner affirms that no new matter is introduced with the amendment.
The 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections in the previous Office Action are withdrawn.
New grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendments are presented below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata et al. (JP 2013/127906 A, cited with the IDS of 12/21/2023, machine translation provided 05/20/2024) in view of Okada et al. (US 6045944 A, cited on the IDS of 12/21/2023), Fujimoto et al. US20170008124A1, and NPL Hazemi et al. “The HAZ in Aluminum Welding Revisited” (copy provided 09/25/2025)
Regarding claim 1, Kawata teaches an end cover assembly (3b) for an energy-storage apparatus (“secondary battery”, [0009] to [0011], fig. 1) comprising:
a top cover 3b having a first surface 3c, wherein the top cover 3b further defines a liquid-injection hole (“port”) 7 extending through the first surface 3c ([0014], figs. 1-3);
and the first surface 3c comprises a first sub-surface (“heat input portion” 8) and a second sub-surface connected to the first sub-surface 8, the first sub-surface 8 is around the liquid-injection hole 7, the second sub-surface is around a periphery of the first sub-surface 8, and roughness of the first sub-surface 8 is greater than roughness of the second sub-surface ([0015] to [0017], figs. 3-5; fig. 3 in particular shows that the first sub-surface is grooved and thus has a greater roughness than the smooth surrounding second sub-surface portions of first/top surface 3c);
a sealing cap 9 sealing the liquid-injection hole 7 and connected to the top cover 3b ([0021], figs. 1-3);
and an annular welding portion 10 located at a junction between the sealing cap 9 and the top cover 3b ([0022], figs. 2 and 5).
Kawata’s battery comprising the end cover assembly further comprises an electrode terminal 5 which Kawata keeps electrically insulated from the top cover 3b using an insulating material ([0012]); however, Kawata does explicitly specify disclose a top patch closely attached to the first surface 3c of the top cover 3b disposed on the sealing cap 9 for this purpose.
Okada is directed to an analogous end cover assembly for a secondary battery 1 comprising a top cover 3 having a first/top surface with a liquid-injection hole 11, a sealing cap 15 ([col. 3, line 56 to col. 3, line 32; figs. 1-2), and similarly insulates an electrode terminal 12 from the top cover 3 using an insulating member 13 (col. 4 ln. 63-67). Okada teaches providing a top patch 20 (“insulating sheet”) covering the first surface (“outer surface”) of the top cover 3 and disposed on (i.e., provided covering) the sealing cap 15 (col. 4 ln. 32-33, FIG. 1), and closely attaches the top patch 20 to the first surface (“surface”) of the top cover 3 by shrinking a heat-shrink outer tube 24 around the battery (col. 5 ln. 24-37). Given the close proximities of terminal 12 and top patch 20 on top cover 3 (FIG. 1), it is recognized that Okada’s top patch 20 being an insulating sheet (col. 4 ln. 32-33) functions to further insulate Okada’s terminal 12 from the top cover 3.
Thus, in seeking to further insulate Kawata’s electrical terminal 5 from the top cover 3 (Kawata FIG. 1), it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a top patch (i.e., insulating sheet) closely attached to the first surface of the top cover and disposed on the sealing cap as taught by Okada. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Kawata envisions the use of insulating materials to insulate the electrical terminal from the top cover, Okada’s insulating top patch being appreciably similar in scope to this consideration.
While Kawata discloses a desirability to prevent welding defects to improve weld quality and battery reliability ([0042]) and envisions optimizing welding parameters such as weld depth and heat input during manufacture ([0022]), modified Kawata does not explicitly disclose a top cover provided with a first welding mark at the first sub-surface (8) comprising a first end portion and second end portion opposite the first, the first end portion being connected to the welding portion (10) and the second end portion located outside a periphery of the welding portion and spaced apart from the welding portion, or a top cover further provided with a second welding mark at the first sub-surface (8) with a third end portion and a fourth end portion opposite the third, the third end portion connected to the welding portion (10) and the fourth end portion located outside the periphery of the welding portion and spaced apart from the welding portion.
Okada, directed to an end cover assembly comprising a top cover 3 having a first surface with a liquid-injection hole 11, a sealing cap 15, and an annular welding portion 18 ([col. 3, line 56 to col. 3, line 32; figs. 1-2), teaches positioning the start point 16 and end point 17 of the weld portion 18 outside the closed loop of the weld portion 18 so as to form a first welding mark (from P1 to P2 in fig. 5) comprising a first end portion (at P2) connected to the welding portion and a second end portion P1 outside and apart from the welding portion, and a second welding mark (from P8 to P2) comprising a third end portion (at P2) connected to the welding portion and a fourth end portion P8 outside and apart from the welding portion (col. 4, lines 26-32, figs. 3 and 5).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a first welding mark comprising a first end portion connected to the welding portion and a second end portion opposite to the first end portion and outside of and spaced apart from the welding portion; and a second welding mark comprising a third end portion connected to the welding portion and a fourth end portion opposite to the third end portion and outside of and spaced apart from the welding portion, as taught by Okada, to the end cover assembly of Kawata. Such a person would have reasonably expected these welding marks of Okada to be compatible with the welding portion and end cover of Kawata. Further, such a person would have been motivated to add these welding portions such that the start and end points of the welding portion are located outside the closed loop for an improved seal (col. 7, lines 19-44, Okada). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
While Kawata and Okada do not explicitly indicate a preferred range of length L2 and L3 within the claimed range of 1.5 mm ≤ L2 ≤ √(R12-R42), Okada teaches the welding marks must be long enough to be adequately located outside the closed loop of the welding portion in order to improve the seal (col. 7, lines 19-44, Okada), as the welding state tends to become unstable at the start and end points, producing weld defects at these areas (Okada col. 9 ln. 10-12).
Okada further teaches minimizing the overall length of the weld portion (including welding marks) reduces the input of weld heat and limits heat-related defects (Okada col. 11, lines 38 to 50). Furthermore, Kawata discloses that forming the first sub-surface (8) is necessary to remove electrolytic solution around injection hole 7, which otherwise causes welding defects such as holes (Kawata [0026], [0033]); consequently, one having ordinary skill in the art seeking to prevent welding defects would not extend a welding mark beyond the first sub-surface where residual electrolytic solution has been removed. Under these considerations, a maximum length of the welding marks with one end portion connected to the welding portion (10) and another end portion at the edge of the first sub-surface (8) is (L2; L3) corresponding to a leg of a right triangle alongside radius (R4) of the welding portion (10) as an adjacent leg and radius (R1) of the first sub-surface (8) as a hypotenuse (see Annotated Kawata FIG. 2 below); the maximum of length L2, L3 is therefore equal to the relation √(R12-R42) as according to the Pythagorean theorem.
Annotated Kawata FIG. 2
As such, in seeking to balance preventing effects of the unstable welding state near the end points while minimizing weld length and heat input and ensuring the weld is provided only on the first sub-surface, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length L2 and L3 within a range of 1.5 mm ≤ L2 ≤ √(R12-R42) according to considerations taught by Okada and Kawata; see MPEP 2144.05 II. While neither Kawata nor Okada explicitly indicate a minimum length of L2 and L3 with respect to these considerations, one would reasonably expect a minimum length of L2 and L3 to be on a similar scale of the welding portion (10) and first sub-surface (8) on which the welding portion is disposed; Kawata discloses a first sub-surface (8) having a radius of about several mm ([0015], FIG. 3); as such, an ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably utilize a length L2, L3 on a scale of one to several mm including the claimed range between 1.5mm to √(R12-R42).
Assuming, arguendo, that one having ordinary skill in the art optimizing with respect to the considerations discussed by Kawata and Okada would not utilize at least a portion of the claimed range, it would be further obvious to optimize a length of the welding marks under considerations taught by Fujimoto and Hazemi as discussed below.
Fujimoto teaches considerations for a length of welding marks surrounding a welding portion (“laser lap weld”) ([0025], [0086], FIG. 6e, 7h) to address a similar problem of preventing welding defects (Fujimoto [0025]), the welding marks having a first, second end portion and third, fourth end portion connected to or spaced apart from to the welding portion in a similar configuration to the welding marks as claimed (see Annotated Fujimoto FIG. 7h, below).
Annotated Fujimoto FIG. 7h
Fujimoto further teaches that the welding portion (“laser lap weld”) has a softened part 1-2 mm outside of the welding portion which is more vulnerable to strain concentration causing weld failure, formed as a result of the heat of welding and known as a Heat Affected Zone (HAZ) ([0025], [0029]). To prevent weld failure, Fujimoto teaches that the welding mark (8) should extend through the softened HAZ outside the edge of the welding portion (“laser lap weld”) ([0029]).
Although Fujimoto teaches use of the weld pattern for steel sheets (Fujimoto [0076]) while Kawata’s battery comprises a sealing cap and a top cover made of aluminum or aluminum alloy (Kawata [0011], [0021]), Hazemi indicates that welded aluminum is also subject to HAZ formation around a central weld (Hazemi pp. 11 FIG. 12). While Fujimoto and Hazemi do not explicitly teach a minimum length of 1.5mm for the welding marks, Fujimoto teaches that the welding marks should desirably extend through the HAZ on the outside of the welding portion (Fujimoto [0029]), the width of the HAZ indicated by Hazemi as dependent inter alia on the structure of the weld and the speed of welding (abstract, pp. 10 paragraph 1, pp. 11 FIG. 12) but generally in the range of a few mm wide (pp. 10 paragraph 3-pp. 11 paragraph 1, FIG. 12).
As such, in seeking to balance providing sufficient welding mark length to avoid weld defects from the unstable welding state at the start/end points taught by Okada and HAZ formation taught by Fujimoto and Hazemi, while also minimizing overall weld length to prevent weld defects from heat as taught by Okada and ensuring the weld is provided only on the first sub-surface as taught by Kawata, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a length of the first and second welding marks in modified Kawata’s end cover assembly on a scale of one to several mm including the claimed range between 1.5mm to √(R12-R42) (see MPEP § 2144.05,II).
Regarding claim 2, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata teaches that the first sub-surface 8 has a roughness ([0015] to [0017], figs. 3-5; fig. 3 in particular shows that the first sub-surface is grooved and thus has a greater roughness than the smooth surrounding second sub-surface portions of first/top surface 3c). Kawata further teaches that the roughness of the first sub-surface 8 is formed with a laser configured so as to avoid damaging the cover ([0045] to [0047]), and such that grooves are formed to collect electrolyte and thereby improve the welded seal ([0048]). Thus, Kawata desires a balance between grooves deep enough to collect electrolyte but not so deep as to penetrate the cover or otherwise compromise the cover. Roughness, Ra, as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art is a function of average deviation of surface height from a mean line, in this case the average surface depth in the grooved portion 8 of Kawata (for the definition of Ra as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art, see Section 3.2.1.1, p. 51-52 of Whitehouse and Section 4.2.1, p. 13 of BS ISO 4287).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized the roughness Ra of the first sub-surface 8 of Kawata, which is the average deviation of surface height/depth from a mean line, so as to obtain the desired balance between electrolyte collection (which requires a higher roughness) and integrity of the cover (which requires less roughness) for optimal battery performance. See MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Regarding claim 3, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata teaches that the first sub-surface 8 is annular ([0015], [0016]; figs. 2 and 4).
Kawata further teaches that the first sub-surface 8 is located in a region R1 having a radius of several mm ([0015], fig. 3), which thus establishes an upper bound of the linewidth of the first surface L1 as being about 3-4 mm. The linewidth of the first sub-surface 8 of Kawata being up to about 3-4 mm overlaps the claimed range of 1.5-8.5 mm.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges disclosed by the reference because selection of overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness (see MPEP 2144.05.I).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches that the first sub-surface 8 is annular (“a spiral shape”) and the liquid-injection hole 7 is circular ([0014] to [0016]; figs. 2 and 4).
Kawata teaches that the first sub-surface 8 has an outer radius of about several mm, and that the first sub-surface 8 is larger than the liquid injection hole 7 ([0015], [0016], figs. 2-4). The radius of the liquid injection hole 7 must be larger enough to allow the electrolyte to be injected into the battery case 3 ([0014]), but small enough so as to be contained within the first sub-surface such that the first sub-surface 8 is wide enough to collect electrolyte for improved sealing ([0048]).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized size of the liquid-injection hole, and thereby the ratio of an outer radius of the first sub-surface to a radius of the liquid-injection hole, in order to balance the function of the liquid-injection hole with the function of the first sub-surface. See MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Regarding claim 5, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Okada further teaches that the ratio of an outer radius of the welding portion (“minimum radius R”) to a length of the first welding mark (from P1 to P2 in fig. 5) is 2.3, within the claimed range of 0.4-2.8 (as calculated from the values provided in Table 1 in col. 11 of Okada; fig. 5).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the first welding mark of Kawata as modified by Okada to have a ratio of the outer radius of the welding portion to the length of the first welding mark to be 2.3 as taught by Okada. Such a person would have reasonably expected the ratio of Okada to be successful when applied to Kawata as modified by Okada. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04). See also MPEP § 2144.05,I.
Regarding claim 6, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Kawata as modified by Okada to include a first welding mark (from P1 to P2 in fig. 5 of Okada) teaches that the first welding mark is straight, and that an angle between a line connecting a center of the sealing cap and the first end portion and the first welding mark is about 90°, within the claimed range of 70-120° (figs. 3 and 5 of Okada).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches that the first sub-surface 8 is annular and the sealing cap (“lid” 9) is circular ([0015], [0021], figs. 1-3).
Kawata teaches that the first sub-surface 8 has an outer radius of about several mm, and that the first sub-surface 8 is larger than the sealing lid 9 ([0015], [0021], [0039], figs. 2-3). Further, the sealing lid 9 must be larger than the liquid-injection hole 7 in order to seal the liquid-injection hole 7 ([0021], [0042]).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have optimized size of the sealing lid, and thereby the ratio of an outer radius of the first sub-surface to a radius of the sealing lid, in order to ensure that the sealing lid is large enough to cover the liquid-injection hole and small enough to fit inside the first sub-surface 8. See MPEP § 2144.05, II.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Kawata as modified by Okada to include first and second welding marks further teaches that the first end portion (at P2, see fig. 5 of Okada) overlaps the third end portion (also at P2), and the second portion (at P1) and the fourth end portion (at P8) are respectively arranged at two opposite side of a line connecting the first end portion (P2) and a center of the liquid injection hole (at point 0,0, see fig. 5 of Okada).
Regarding claim 10, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Okada further teaches that the ratio of an outer radius of the welding portion (“minimum radius R”) to a length of the second welding mark (from P1 to P8 in fig. 5) is 2.3, within the claimed range of 0.4-2.8 (as calculated from the values provided in Table 1 in col. 11 of Okada; fig. 5).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed the second welding mark of Kawata as modified by Okada to have a ratio of the outer radius of the welding portion to the length of the second welding mark to be 2.3 as taught by Okada. Such a person would have reasonably expected the ratio of Okada to be successful when applied to Kawata as modified by Okada. The change in form or shape, without any new or unexpected results, is an obvious engineering design (see MPEP § 2144.04). See also MPEP § 2144.05,I.
Regarding claim 11, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above. Kawata as modified by Okada to include a second welding mark (from P8 to P2 in fig. 5 of Okada) teaches that the first welding mark is straight, and that an angle between a line connecting a center of the sealing cap and the third end portion and the second welding mark is about 90°, within the claimed range of 70-120° (figs. 3 and 5 of Okada).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata as modified by Okada teaches first and second welding marks. Okada further teaches that the first and second welding marks are straight, and the first welding mark and the second welding mark are both tangent to the welding portion (figs. 2 and 5 of Okada; the first and second welding marks are tangent to the welding portion since they touch the welding portion at P2, see fig. 5).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata (JP 2013/127906 A) in view of Okada (US 6045944 A), Fujimoto (US20170008124A1), and NPL Hazemi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wakimoto US20230369692A1
Regarding claim 14, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches that the top cover has a second surface away from the first surface 3c, and the liquid-injection hole 7 further extend through the second surface ([0014’, fig. 3 shows that the hole 7 extends all the way through the lid 3b so as to extend through the second surface on the bottom of the lid 3b with respect to fig. 3). However, while modified Kawata is directed to methods of preventing bonding failure of the weld between the sealing cap and the top cover (Kawata [0005]), Kawata does not provide further details of the third and fourth sub-surface, such as a third sub-surface and a fourth sub-surface of the second surface such that the third sub-surface forms a protrusion.
Wakimoto, similarly directed to means of preventing failure of a welded connection between a sealing cap (16, “sealing member”) and a top cover (14 “closing plate”) ([0007], [0027], FIG. 3), discloses a top cover (14) having a second surface (14 d, “lower surface”) away from a first surface (14 u, “upper surface”) ([0029], [0034], see Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3 below), a liquid-injection hole (15, “solution injection hole”) extends through the second surface ([0029], FIG. 3), and the second surface comprises a third sub-surface and a fourth sub-surface connected to the third sub-surface (Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3), the third sub-surface is around a periphery of the liquid-injection hole, the fourth sub-surface is around a periphery of the third sub-surface, and the third sub-surface exceeds the fourth sub-surface to form a protrusion (14 a) ([0029], Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3).
Advantageously, the protrusion formed by these sub-surfaces reduces deformation of the top cover (14) around the liquid-injection hole (15), preventing damage to a weld between the top cover (14) and a sealing cap (16) and improving the reliability of the connection ([0029]).
Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3
As such, in seeking to prevent deformation of modified Kawata’s top cover, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to form the protrusion formed by the third and fourth sub-surfaces on the second surface as taught by Wakimoto. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Kawata discloses a desirability to prevent the weld between the sealing cap and the top cover from failing, and would benefit from improving the reliability of this connection.
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata (JP 2013/127906 A) in view of Okada (US 6045944 A), Fujimoto (US20170008124A1), NPL Hazemi, and Wakimoto (US20230369692A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view Wang CN214099733U
Regarding claim 15, modified Kawata discloses the end cover assembly of claim 14. While modified Kawata discloses an end cover assembly comprising the third and fourth sub-surfaces, and discloses considerations of preventing bonding failure of the weld between the sealing cap and the top cover (Kawata [0005]), Kawata does not further disclose a fifth sub-surface around a periphery of the fourth sub-surface, the third, fourth, and fifth sub-surfaces cooperatively defining a groove around the protrusion.
Wang, in a similar field of endeavor of a battery top cover defining a liquid-injection hole ([n0006]), teaches an end cover assembly wherein the second surface further comprises a fifth sub-surface (111, “first surface), the fifth surface around a periphery of a fourth sub-surface and connected to the fourth sub-surface, the fifth surface exceeds the fourth sub-surface, the third sub-surface exceeds the fifth sub-surface (see Annotated Wang FIG. 2 below, Wang [n0032]), and the third, fourth, and fifth sub-surface cooperatively define a groove (300, “feeding groove”) around a protrusion (120, “second cover body”) ([n0032], [n0045], Annotated Wang FIG. 2).
Advantageously, forming the groove (“feeding groove”) around the protrusion generates a force opposite to the force applied during processing of the liquid-injection hole, avoiding edge or corner collapse caused during processing the injection hole and improving the sealing of the sealing cap and the battery top cover ([n0003], [n0020])
As such, in seeking to prevent edge or corner collapse and improve the sealing of the sealing cap and the battery top cover, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide modified Kawata’s end cover assembly with the fifth sub-surface connected around a periphery of a fourth sub-surface, wherein the fifth surface exceeds the fourth sub-surface, the third sub-surface exceeds the fifth sub-surface and the third, fourth, and fifth sub-surface cooperatively define a groove around a protrusion as taught by Wang. Such a modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success, as Kawata discloses a desirability of preventing bonding failure of the weld between the sealing cap and the top cover.
Regarding claim 21, modified Kawata discloses the end cover assembly according to claim 15, comprising a protrusion (14a) which necessarily includes a linewidth S1 in some measure (Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3), and comprising a groove (300) which necessarily includes a linewidth S2 (“width W1”) in some measure (Annotated Wang FIG. 2); however, Kawata does not explicitly indicate that the linewidth S1 of the protrusion is in a range of 2.2 mm ≤ S1 ≤ 3.6 mm and a linewidth S2 of the groove is in a range of 1.2 mm ≤ S2 ≤ 4.6 mm.
Wakimoto, relied upon to teach the protrusion (14 a) (Wakimoto FIG. 3), further teaches a desirability that an outer diameter R1 of the protrusion (14 a) be sufficiently large in order to prevent or reduce deformation in the top cover (14) ([0030]). While Wakimoto does not explicitly recognize a linewidth S1, being a width of the protrusion (14a) around the liquid-injection hole (15) (see Annotated Wakimoto FIG. 3), the value of linewidth S1 would be understood to depend in part on the outer diameter R1.
Furthermore, Wang, relied upon to teach the groove (300) around the protrusion (120), further teaches a linewidth S2 of the groove (“width W1”, Wang [0041], FIG. 2), which is preferably at least 0.1mm in order to generate a sufficient force during the processing of the liquid-injection hole, inhibiting edge and corner collapse and improving sealing performance ([n0020], [n0040]), while less than 14 mm to avoid interference with other structures in the top cover (10) and increased manufacturing complexity ([n0040-n0041]), encompassing the claimed range of linewidth S2 (see MPEP 2144.05 I). While Wang does not explicitly indicate a linewidth S1 of the protrusion, the size of the protrusion (120) is necessarily constrained by the dimensions of the groove (300) formed around it; as such, the linewidth S1 is at least partly dependent on dimensions of the linewidth S2 (W1) of the surrounding groove (300) and vice versa.
As such, in seeking to sufficiently prevent or reduce deformation in the top cover according to considerations taught by Wakimoto, and in seeking to apply sufficient force to the top cover during liquid-injection hole processing to improve the sealing force without causing interference with other top cover structures and increasing the manufacturing complexity according to considerations taught by Wang, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize the linewidth S1 of protrusion and the linewidth S2 of the groove in modified Kawata’s end cover assembly; see MPEP 2144.05 II. Wang teaches optimization of S2 within a range of 0.1mm to 14 mm, which encompasses the claimed range of linewidth S2; while modified Kawata in view of Wang and Wakimoto does not discuss a specific range of S1, one having ordinary skill in the art would reasonably utilize a similar range of linewidth S1 in optimization with respect to linewidth S2, including the claimed range of 2.2mm to 3.6mm.
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata (JP 2013/127906 A) in view of Okada (US 6045944 A), Fujimoto (US20170008124A1), and NPL Hazemi as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (WO 2022/156090 A1, cited on the IDS of 12/21/2023, machine translation provided 05/20/2024).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches that the energy-storage apparatus (“battery” 1) further comprises an electrode assembly (“electrode body” 2) and the top cover 3b further has a second (bottom) surface away from the first (top) surface 3c, and the liquid-injection hole 7 further extends through the second (bottom) surface ([0009], [0011], [0014], figs. 1-2; the surfaces of the top cover 3b are identified as top and bottom with respect to the figures).
Kawata further teaches a first through hole (through which terminal 5 extends) spaced apart from the liquid-injection hole 7 and an insulator (that may be made of plastic) that is provided between the terminal 5 and the cover 3b ([0012]). The pole (“terminal” 5) extends through the second through hole (the through hole of the gasket) and the first through hole (the through hole of the cover 3b) and is insulated from the top cover (by the gasket), and the pole 5 is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode assembly 2 ([0012]).
Kawata is silent as to accommodating recesses in the top cover and a lower plastic member disposed on the second surface and comprising a body portion, abutting portions and a second through hole.
Jiang teaches an end cover assembly for an energy-storage apparatus (“power battery top cover structure”, [0008]) comprising a top cover 1 having a first (top) surface and a second (bottom) surface), and a liquid-injection hole 12 ([0052], [0059], figs. 1-2; the top and bottom surfaces of the top cover 1 are identified with respect to the figures). Specifically, Jiang teaches that the top cover 1 defines a first accommodating recess (“groove” 120) from the second surface, a first through hole 10 extending through a bottom wall of the accommodating recess and the first (top surface), and the first through hole and accommodating recess in communication with each other ([0060], fig. 4). Further, the first through hole 10 is spaced apart from the liquid-injection hole 12 (fig. 2).
Jiang further teaches a lower plastic member 6 disposed on the second (bottom) surface of the top cover 1 and comprising a body (main/central) portion, an abutting portion (“convex edge” 63) protruding from a surface of the body (main/central) portion facing the top cover such that the abutting portion 63 is located in the accommodating recess 102 and abuts against the bottom wall and a side wall of the accommodating recess 102 ([0058], [0060], figs. 2-4). Further, the lower plastic member 6 defines a second through hole corresponding to the first through hole 10 of the top cover 1 (as shown in fig. 3). The pole 2 has one part 22 located at a side of the lower plastic member 6 away from the top cover 1 and the other part which sequentially extends through the second through hole (of the plastic member 6) and the first through hole 10, is insulating from the top cover (in part by plastic part 3), and is configured to be electrically connected to the electrode assembly ([0060], [0080], figs. 2-6).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a first accommodating recess and a lower plastic member disposed on the second surface and comprising a body portion, a first abutting portion, and a second through hole as taught by Jiang to the second surface of the top cover of Kawata. Such a person would have reasonably expected the accommodating recess and lower plastic member of Jiang to be successful in the battery of Kawata. Further, such a person would have been motivated to add the portions of Jiang to the battery of Kawata in order to prevent short circuits and to improve the stability of the top cover assembly ([0058] and [0060] of Jiang). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
Kawata as modified thus far by Jiang teaches a single accommodating recess in the top surface and a single corresponding abutting portion in the lower plastic member.
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed a second accommodating recess recessed from a bottom wall of the first accommodating recess and in communication with the first through hole such that the first through hole extends through a bottom wall of the second accommodating recess, and to have formed a corresponding second abutting portion protruding from the surface of the first abutting portion facing the top cover and located in the second accommodating recess and abutting against the bottom wall of the second accommodating recess and a side wall of the second accommodating recess, such that the second through hole extends through the second abutting portion. Such a person would have reasonably expected a second accommodating recess and corresponding abutting portion to further enhance the stability of the top cover assembly ([0060] of Jiang). The mere duplication of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP § 2144.04).
Claim(s) 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata (JP 2013/127906 A) in view of Okada (US 6045944 A), Fujimoto (US20170008124A1), and NPL Hazemi as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Liu et al. (CN 211629143 U, machine translation provided 05/20/2024).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches an insulator (that may be made of plastic) provided between the terminal 5 and the cover 3b (Kawata [0012]), being similar in scope to the lower plastic member of claim 17, but fails to further specify a structure of a lower plastic member disposed on a side of the top cover 3b away from the first surface comprising a first, second, third, and fourth plastic sub-member, or indicate the specific structure or position of the first, second, third, and fourth plastic sub-members as recited in claim 17.
Liu teaches an end-cover assembly for an energy-storage apparatus (“a power battery top cover plate assembly”) comprising a top cover 4, a liquid-injection hole 6, and a lower plastic member (collectively portions 10 and 11) disposed on a side of the top cover 4 away from the first (top) surface ([0008], [0029], figs. 1-2). Specifically, Liu teaches that the lower plastic member (portions 10 and 11) comprises a first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10), a second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10), a third plastic sub-member (front portion of member 11), and a fourth plastic sub-member (back portion of member 11), such that the first plastic sub-member and the second plastic sub-member are arranged at an interval in a first (horizontal) direction on a surface of the top cover 4 away from the first (top) surface ([0029], figs. 1-2; see Annotated Liu FIG. 1 below).
Liu further teaches that the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) defines a leakage hole at a position of the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) close to the second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10), the leakage hole is in communication with the liquid-injection hole 6, the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) has a first peripheral side wall and a second peripheral side wall that are connected end-to-end and define the leakage hole, the first peripheral side wall is a cambered surface, the second peripheral side wall is a flat surface, and the second peripheral side wall is closer to the second plastic sub-member than the first peripheral side wall (Annotated Liu FIG. 1; where the indicated first and second side walls are located around the leakage hole so as to limit, i.e. define, the leakage hole, and the first side wall has curved ends such that the first side wall is cambered, i.e. curved; [0029], figs. 1-3).
Annotated Liu FIG. 1
Liu further teaches that the third plastic sub-member (front portion of member 11) and the fourth plastic sub-member (back portion of member 11) are arranged at an interval in a second direction (orthogonal to fig. 1, vertical in fig. 3), and the third plastic sub-member (front portion of member 11) is connected to both the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) and the second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10) in a snap-fit manner (via buckles 18 into holes 17); the fourth plastic sub-member (back portion of member 11) is connected to both the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) and the second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10) in a snap-fit manner (via buckles 18 into holes 17); and the third plastic sub-member (front portion of member 11) and the fourth plastic sub-member (back portion of member 11) are both partially located between the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) and the second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10), the first direction (horizontal in Annotated Liu FIG. 1) being perpendicular to the second direction (orthogonal in Annotated Liu FIG. 1), ([0029], figs. 1-3).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add a lower plastic member as taught by Liu to the end-cover assembly of Kawata. Such a person would have reasonably expected the lower plastic member of Liu be successful in the end-cover assembly of Kawata. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143). Additionally, such a person would have been motivated to add the lower plastic member of Liu to the end-cover assembly of Kawata in order to improve the safety and performance of the end-cover assembly ([0006] and [0017] of Liu).
Regarding claim 18, modified Kawata discloses all of the limitations as set forth above.
Kawata further teaches that the top cover 3b further has a second (bottom) surface away from the first (top) surface 3c and defines an explosion-proof hole 6 extending through the first (top) surface 3c and the second (bottom surface), the explosion-proof hole 6 is spaced apart from the liquid-injection hole 7, and the end-cover assembly comprises an explosion-proof sheet (thinned portion of the lid) sealing the explosion-proof hole and connected to the top cover ([0011], [0013], [0014], figs. 1-2; the surfaces of the top cover 3b are identified as top and bottom with respect to the figures).
Kawata as modified by Liu teaches a lower plastic member (portions 10 and 11 of Liu) comprising a first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10). Liu also teaches an explosion-proof hole sealed with explosion-proof sheet 2, and that the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) further defines a vent channel (curved portion on the center of the left end of the right portion of member 10) in communication with the leakage hole (via the body of the right portion of the member 10), the vent channel extends through both a surface of the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) facing the second plastic sub-member (left portion of member 10) and a surface of the first plastic sub-member (right portion of member 10) facing the top cover 3, and the vent channel is in communication with a side of the explosion-proof sheet 2 facing the a side of the explosion-proof sheet facing the first plastic sub-member ([0029], figs. 1-3 of Liu).
Claim(s) 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawata (JP 2013/127906 A) in view of Okada (US 6045944 A), Fujimoto (US20170008124A1), NPL Hazemi, and Wakimoto et al. US20230369692A1.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Kawata discloses an energy storage apparatus (“secondary battery”, Kawata [0009] to [0011], fig. 1) (claim 19) and an electricity-consumption device (“automobile”) comprising an electricity-consumption device body (i.e., an automobile body) and an energy-storage apparatus ([0002]) (claim 20), the energy-storage apparatus comprising an end cover assembly (3b) comprising:
a top cover 3b having a first surface 3c, wherein the top cover 3b further defines a liquid-injection hole (“port”) 7 extending through the first surface 3c ([0014], figs. 1-3);
and the first surface 3c comprises a first sub-surface (“heat input portion” 8) and a second sub-surface connected to the first sub-surface 8, the first sub-surface 8 is around the liquid-injection hole 7, the second sub-surface is around a periphery of the first sub-surface 8, and roughness of the first sub-surface 8 is greater than roughness of the second sub-surface ([0015] to [0017], figs. 3-5; fig. 3 in particular shows that the first sub-surface is grooved and thus has a greater roughness than the smooth surrounding second sub-surface portions of first/top surface 3c);
a top cover 3b having a first surface 3c, wherein the top cover 3b further defines a liquid-injection hole (“port”) 7 extending through the first surface 3c ([0014], figs. 1-3);
and the first surface 3c comprises a first sub-surface (“heat input portion” 8) and a second sub-surface connected to the first sub-surface 8, the first sub-surface 8 is around the liquid-injection hole 7, the second sub-surface is around a periphery of the first sub-surface 8, and roughness of the first sub-surface 8 is greater than roughness of the second sub-surface ([0015] to [0017], figs. 3-5; fig. 3 in particular shows that the first sub-surface is grooved and thus has a greater roughness than the smooth surrounding second sub-surface portions of first/top surface 3c);
a sealing cap 9 sealing the liquid-injection hole 7 and connected to the top cover 3b ([0021], figs. 1-3);
and an annular welding portion 10 located at a junction between the sealing cap 9 and the top cover 3b ([0022], figs. 2 and 5).
Kawata’s energy-storage apparatus comprising the end cover assembly further comprises an electrode terminal 5 which Kawata keeps electrically insulated from the top cover 3b using an insulating material ([0012]); however, Kawata does explicitly specify disclose a top patch closely attached to the first surface 3c of the top cover 3b disposed on the sealing cap 9 for this purpose.
Okada is directed to an analogous energy-storage apparatus (“battery”) comprising analogous end cover assembly comprising a top cover 3 having a first/top surface with a liquid-injection hole 11, a sealing cap 15 ([col. 3, line 56 to col. 3, line 32; figs. 1-2), and similarly insulates an electrode terminal 12 from the top cover 3 using an insulating member 13 (col. 4 ln. 63-67). Okada teaches providing a top patch 20 (“insulating sheet”) covering the first surface (“outer surface”) of the top cover 3 and disposed on (i.e., provided covering) the sealing cap 15 (col. 4 ln. 32-33, FIG. 1), and closely attaches the top patch 20 to the first surface (“surface”) of the top cover 3 by shrinking a heat-shrink outer tube 24 around the battery (col. 5 ln. 24-37). Given the close proximities of terminal 12 and top patch 20 on top cover 3 (FIG. 1), it is recognized that Okada’s top patch 20 being an insulating sheet (col. 4 ln. 32-33) functions to further insulate Okada’s terminal 12 from the top cover 3.
Thus, in seeking to further insulate Kawata’s electrical terminal 5 from the top cover 3 (Kawata FIG. 1), it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a top patch (i.e., insulating sheet) closely attached to the first surface of the top cover and disposed on the sealing cap as taught by Okada. Such a modification would be made with a reasonable expectation of success as Kawata envisions the use of insulating materials to insulate the electrical terminal from the top cover, Okada’s insulating top patch being appreciably similar in scope to this consideration.
While Kawata discloses a desirability to prevent welding defects to improve weld quality and battery reliability ([0042]) and envisions optimizing welding parameters such as weld depth and heat input during manufacture ([0022]), modified Kawata does not explicitly disclose a top cover provided with a first welding mark at the first sub-surface (8) comprising a first end portion and second end portion opposite the first, the first end portion being connected to the welding portion (10) and the second end portion located outside a periphery of the welding portion and spaced apart from the welding portion, or a top cover further provided with a second welding mark at the first sub-surface (8) with a third end portion and a fourth end portion opposite the third, the third end portion connected to the welding portion (10) and the fourth end portion located outside the periphery of the welding portion and spaced apart from the welding portion.
Okada, directed to an end cover assembly comprising a top cover 3 having a first surface with a liquid-injection hole 11, a sealing cap 15, and an annular welding portion 18 ([col. 3, line 56 to col. 3, line 32; figs. 1-2), teaches positioning the start point 16 and end point 17 of the weld portion 18 outside the closed loop of the weld portion 18 so as to form a first welding mark (from P1 to P2 in fig. 5) comprising a first end portion (at P2) connected to the welding portion and a second end portion P1 outside and apart from the welding portion, and a second welding mark (from P8 to P2) comprising a third end portion (at P2) connected to the welding portion and a fourth end portion P8 outside and apart from the welding portion (col. 4, lines 26-32, figs. 3 and 5).
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a first welding mark comprising a first end portion connected to the welding portion and a second end portion opposite to the first end portion and outside of and spaced apart from the welding portion; and a second welding mark comprising a third end portion connected to the welding portion and a fourth end portion opposite to the third end portion and outside of and spaced apart from the welding portion, as taught by Okada, to the end cover assembly of Kawata. Such a person would have reasonably expected these welding marks of Okada to be compatible with the welding portion and end cover of Kawata. Further, such a person would have been motivated to add these welding portions such that the start and end points of the welding portion are located outside the closed loop for an improved seal (col. 7, lines 19-44, Okada). The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
While Kawata and Okada do not explicitly indicate a preferred range of length L2 and L3 within the claimed range of 1.5 mm ≤ L2 ≤ √(R12-R42), Okada teaches the welding marks must be long enough to be adequately located outside the closed loop of the welding portion in order to improve the seal (col. 7, lines 19-44, Okada), as the welding state tends to become unstable at the start and end points, producing weld defects at these areas (Okada col. 9 ln. 10-12).
Okada further teaches minimizing the overall length of the weld portion (including welding marks) reduces the input of weld heat and limits heat-related defects (col. 11, lines 38 to 50). Furthermore, Kawata discloses that forming the first sub-surface (8) is necessary to remove electrolytic solution around injection hole 7, which otherwise causes welding defects such as holes ([0026], [0033]); consequently, one having ordinary skill in the art seeking to prevent welding defects would not extend a welding mark beyond the first sub-surface where residual electrolytic solution has been removed. Under these considerations, a maximum length of the welding marks with one end portion connected to the welding portion (10) and another end portion at the edge of the first sub-surface (8) is (L2; L3) corresponding to a leg of a right triangle alongside radius (R4) of the welding portion (10) as an adjacent leg and radius (R1) of the first sub-surface (8) as a hypotenuse (Annotated Kawata FIG. 2); the maximum of length L2, L3 is therefore equal to the relation √(R12-R42) as according to the Pythagorean theorem.
As such, in seeking to balance preventing effects of the unstable welding state near the end points while minimizing weld length and heat input and ensuring the weld is provided only on the first sub-surface, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the length L2 and L3 within a range of 1.5 mm ≤ L2 ≤ √(R12-R42) according to considerations taught by Okada and Kawata; see MPEP 2144.05 II. While neither Kawata nor Okada explicitly indicate a minimum length of L2 and L3 with respect to these considerations, one would reasonably expect a minimum length of L2 and L3 to be on a similar scale of the welding portion (10) and first sub-surface (8) on which the welding portion is disposed; Kawata discloses a first sub-surface (8) having a radius of about several mm ([0015], FIG. 3); as such, an ordinary skilled artisan would reasonably utilize a length L2, L3 on a scale of one to several mm including the claimed range between 1.5mm to √(R12-R42).
Assuming, arguendo, that one having ordinary skill in the art optimizing with respect to the considerations discussed by Kawata and Okada would not utilize at least a portion of the claimed range, it would be further obvious to optimize a length of the welding marks under considerations taught by Fujimoto and Hazemi as discussed below.
Fujimoto teaches considerations for a length of welding marks surrounding a welding portion (“laser lap weld”) ([0025], [0086], FIG. 6e, 7h) to address a similar problem of preventing welding defects (Fujimoto [0025]), the welding marks having a first, second end portion and third, fourth end portion connected to or spaced apart from to the welding portion in a similar configuration to the welding marks as claimed (Annotated Fujimoto FIG. 7h).
Fujimoto further teaches that the welding portion (“laser lap weld”) has a softened part 1-2 mm outside of the welding portion which is more vulnerable to strain concentration causing weld failure, formed as a result of the heat of welding and known as a Heat Affected Zone (HAZ) ([0025], [0029]). To prevent weld failure, Fujimoto teaches that the welding mark (8) should extend through the softened HAZ outside the edge of the welding portion (“laser lap weld”) ([0029]).
Although Fujimoto teaches use of the weld pattern for steel sheets (Fujimoto [0076]) while Kawata’s battery comprises a sealing cap and a top cover made of aluminum or aluminum alloy (Kawata [0011], [0021]), Hazemi indicates that welded aluminum is also subject to HAZ formation around a central weld (Hazemi pp. 11 FIG. 12). While Fujimoto and Hazemi do not explicitly teach a minimum length of 1.5mm for the welding marks, Fujimoto teaches that the welding marks should desirably extend through the HAZ on the outside of the welding portion (Fujimoto [0029]), the width of the HAZ indicated by Hazemi as dependent inter alia on the structure of the weld and the speed of welding (abstract, pp. 10 paragraph 1, pp. 11 FIG. 12) but generally in the range of a few mm wide (pp. 10 paragraph 3-pp. 11 paragraph 1, FIG. 12).
As such, in seeking to balance providing sufficient welding mark length to avoid weld defects from the unstable welding state at the start/end points taught by Okada and HAZ formation taught by Fujimoto and Hazemi, while also minimizing overall weld length to prevent weld defects from heat as taught by Okada and ensuring the weld is provided only on the first sub-surface as taught by Kawata, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to optimize a length of the first and second welding marks in modified Kawata’s end cover assembly on a scale of one to several mm including the claimed range between 1.5mm to √(R12-R42) (see MPEP § 2144.05,II).
Furthermore, while modified Kawata desires to prevent bonding failure of the weld between the sealing cap and the top cover (Kawata [0005]), Kawata does not explicitly disclose a configuration wherein a surface of the sealing cap away from the liquid-injection hole is flush with the first sub-surface of the top cover.
Wakimoto, similarly directed to means of preventing breakage of a welded connection between a sealing cap (16, “sealing member”) and a top cover (14 “closing plate”) ([0007], [0027], FIG. 3), discloses an analogous configuration of an energy-storage apparatus wherein a surface of the sealing cap (16 u, “ upper surface”) away from the liquid-injection hole (15, “solution injection hole”) is flush with a first projection (14 c 1) provided in a recess (14 b) of the top cover (14) ([0033], [0036], FIG. 3). The recess (14 b) is around the liquid-injection hole (15) ([0032]), and is therefore broadly and reasonably interpreted as the first sub-surface (14 b) as claimed.
Advantageously, providing the surface of the sealing cap (16 u) flush with the first sub-surface (14 b) improves the stability ([0036]) and prevents the sealing cap (16) from protruding from the battery case and causing interference with other members ([0032]).
As such, in seeking to provide these advantages to modified Kawata’s battery, it would be obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application for one having ordinary skill in the art to provide a surface of the sealing cap away from the liquid-injection hole flush with the first sub-surface as taught by Wakimoto. Such a modification would be done with a reasonable expectation of success, as Kawata and Wakimoto share similar concerns of preventing bonding failure between a sealing cap and a top cover in a battery.
Kawata further teaches an electrode assembly 2 disposed beneath the end cover assembly ([0009], [0010], fig. 1), but does not further detail the connection of the electrode assembly and end cover assembly as including an adapter sheet disposed at a side of the top cover away from the first surface, wherein the adapter sheet has one end electrically connected to the end cover assembly; and the electrode assembly being disposed at a side of the adapter sheet away from the end cover assembly, wherein the electrode assembly is electrically connected to one end of the adapter sheet away from the end cover assembly.
Wakimoto, relied on to teach a surface of the sealing cap away from the liquid-injection hole being flush with the first sub-surface, further teaches an end-cover assembly for an energy-storage apparatus comprising a top cover (14) and an adapter sheet (50/60 “positive/negative electrode current collector”, Wakimoto [0050-0051], FIG. 2) disposed at a side of the top cover (14) away from the first surface (“attached to an inner surface of the closing plate 14”, [0050-0051]), wherein the adapter sheet (50/60) has one end (51/61, “first positive/negative electrode collector”, [0050-0051]) electrically connected to the end cover assembly ([0050-0051]), and an electrode assembly (20) disposed at a side (52/62, “second positive electrode current collector”) of the adapter sheet (50) away from the end cover assembly (14), wherein the electrode assembly (20) is electrically connected to one end of the adapter sheet away from the end cover assembly (14) ([0050-0051]),
It would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add an adapter sheet as taught by Wakimoto to the apparatus of Kawata such that the adapter sheet is disposed at a side of the top cover away from the first surface, has one end electrically connected to the end cover assembly, and the other end electrically connected to the electrode assembly. Such a person would have reasonably expected the adapter sheet of Kawata to predictably provide electrical connection between the electrode assembly and the top cover assembly of the battery of Kawata. The combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results (see MPEP § 2143).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments (pp. 12-13 of remarks filed 12/24/2025) have been fully considered but have not been found persuasive.
Applicant has amended claims 1, 19, and 20 to recite the newly added limitation of “a top patch, wherein the top patch is closely attached to the first surface of the top cover, and the top patch is disposed on the sealing cap”.
Applicant asserts that Okada, which teaches an upper insulating sheet 20 covering the top cover 3 (“lid”) (Okada FIG. 1), fails to teach the claimed top patch disposed on the sealing cap 30 which is closely attached to the first surface 11 of the top cover 10 (shown in FIG. 4 of the instant drawings) (Remarks pp. 13)
While this argument has been fully considered, it has not been found persuasive; Okada’s upper insulating sheet (i.e., the top patch) is attached to the lid (the top cover) (“the upper insulating sheet 20 is attached to the lid 3”, Okada col. 5 lines 30-31). Furthermore, Okada’s upper insulating sheet 20 is on the outer surface (i.e., the first surface) of the lid 3 (“The insulating sheet 20 is placed on the surface of the lid”, col. 5 ln. 24-25, FIG. 1); since the upper insulating sheet and outer surface of the lid are close enough to each other to be in direct contact when attached, they are necessarily at least closely attached to each other.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1751
/JONATHAN G LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1751 1/29/2026