DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the” is missing before “first multicore fiber cable”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 19: These claims recite the following limitations: “each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs including a first epitaxial material different from a material of the first carrier substrate, the first epitaxial material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region, a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation, and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region.” This language is unclear because it seems to use “material” in diverging ways. On one hand, it says that a first epitaxial material is different from a material of the first carrier substrate, appearing to refer to a composition. On the other hand, it says that the material comprises three distinct regions, suggesting that the material refers not to a composition but to a physical structure that comprises these different regions. Based on this, it is unclear how to interpret “a first epitaxial material different from a material of the first carrier substrate”. Are they required to have different chemical compositions or just point to different regions? For the purpose of examination, any of these possible meanings are understood to be within the scope of the claim.
Also regarding claims 1, 16, and 19: These claims include similar language with respect to the second array of micro LEDs, which is unclear for the same reasons. For the purpose of examination, any of the possible meanings described above are understood to be within the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 4: Claim 4 recites “wherein the at least one multicore fiber cable optically couples each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs with one corresponding PD of the second array of PDs, and optically couples each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs with a corresponding PD of the first array of PDs”. It is unclear due to the combination of “at least one”, “each”, and “one corresponding”. Does it require at least one multicore fiber cable per micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs? Or does it require at least one multicore fiber cable for the conne36cting to the entire first array of micro LEDs? And does a “corresponding PD” correspond to each individual micro LED or to an individual multicore fiber cable? For the purpose of examination, any of these possible meanings are understood to be within the scope of the claim.
Regarding claim 20: Claim 20 recites “wherein the first IC comprises a plurality of first ICs, and the second IC comprises a plurality of second ICs”. This is contradictory to claim 19 which requires, for example, a (singular) first IC to transmit the first electrical signals to the driver. For the purpose of examination, it is understood that the claim requires at least two additional ICs in addition to the first IC and the second IC which claim 19 requires.
Regarding claims 2-15, 17-18, and 20: These claims inherently contain all of the deficiencies of any base or intervening claims from which they depend.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-11, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0208337; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘337) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0080664; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘664), as evidenced by Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0050186; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘186).
Regarding claim 1: Pezeshki ‘337 disclosesA system with optical interconnects, comprising: a first optical transceiver (Fig. 14, Tx+Rx ASIC 1413; see paragraph 0062) comprising: a first array of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1413, see paragraph) arranged on a first carrier substrate (see paragraph 0062, they are monolithically integrated, and Fig. 15, silicon substrate), each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs including a first material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the first carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the first material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512 is an n-type region containing gallium and nitrogen), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514 is a light emitting region containing gallium and nitrogen, configured to emit electromagnetic radiation), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510);a first array of photodetectors (PDs) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors). Pezeshki ‘337 further disclosesa second optical transceiver (Fig. 14, Tx+Rx ASIC 1417) comprising: a second array of micro LEDs (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1417 form a second array of micro LEDs) arranged on a second carrier substrate, each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs including a second material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the second carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the second material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510); and a second array of PDs (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation.
As evidenced by Pezeshki ‘186, the first and second materials are known epitaxial materials (see Fig. 2A and paragraph 0029). Therefore, the first and second materials are considered to be first and second epitaxial materials.
Pezeshki ‘337 fails to disclose “a first driver integrated circuit (IC) electrically coupled to the first array of micro LEDs and configured to individually drive each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs to generate first data signals using the electromagnetic radiation” and “a second driver IC electrically coupled to the second array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs to generate second data signals using the electromagnetic radiation”, since Pezeshki ‘337 teaches that the drivers are monolithically integrated with the Tx/Rx ASICs. However, in another embodiment (see Fig. 6), the driver is shown to be a separate component driving a micro LED. Additionally, Pezeshki ‘664, also related to transceiver arrays having microLEDs and photodetector arrays (see paragraph 0040) discloses that the drivers for the microLEDs are integrated on a common substrate with integrated circuit chips that are electrically coupled to the transceiver arrays (see paragraph 0040). Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by providing the microLED drivers as first and second driver ICs, as taught by Pezeshki ‘664, wherein the first driver IC is electrically coupled to the first array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED to generate first data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, and the second driver IC is electrically coupled to the second array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED to generate second data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, in order to make the device more modular. It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Additionally, Pezeshki ‘337 fails to disclose “at least one multicore fiber cable arranged to optically couple the first array of micro LEDs with the second array of PDs so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, and to optically couple the second array of micro LEDs with the first array of PDs so that the second data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs”. Instead, Pezeshki ‘337 discloses that the first array of microLEDs are connected to the second array of PDs, so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048), and that the second array of micro LEDs are connected with the first array of PDs, so that the data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048). However, Pezeshki ‘664 teaches a similar configuration, where optical signals are sent between micoLEDs of a first chip to photodetectors of another chip via a propagation medium, which is taught to be either a coherent fiber bundle, which is a multicore fiber cable, or one or more waveguides (see paragraph 0008), showing that the two elements are equivalent structures in the art. Therefore, because these two types of propagation medium were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a multicore fiber cable for the waveguides of the Pezeshki ‘337 device. (see MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 2: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. While Pezeshki ‘337 fails to teach a wavelength range for the first and second array of micro LEDs, LEDs having wavelengths in the range of 400 to 480 were known in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Pezeshki ‘664 teaches a wavelength range of less than 500 nm for the micro LEDs of their device, overlapping the claimed range of 400 to 480 nm, and teaches that such short wavelengths are favorable for use with simple silicon photodetectors (see paragraph 0047). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by using micro LEDs in the range of 400 to 480 nm, since the short wavelength allows for usage with simple silicon photodetectors.
Regarding claim 3: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teachesThe system of claim 1 (as applied above) wherein the first carrier substrate and the second carrier substrate are each selected from a silicon wafer, a sapphire wafer, a glass wafer, a glass ceramics wafer, a quartz wafer, a high purity fused silica wafer, a silicon carbide wafer, an aluminum nitride wafer, a germanium wafer, an aluminum oxynitride wafer, a gallium arsenide wafer, a diamond wafer, a gallium nitride wafer, an indium phosphide wafer, a flexible member, a circuit board member, a silicon wafer with CMOS circuitry, silicon on insulator (SOI) wafer, or a gallium nitride on silicon wafer (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 15, silicon substrate is a silicon wafer).
Regarding claim 4: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Additionally, Pezeshki ‘337 teaches that the plurality of waveguides couple corresponding LEDs and photodetectors associated with the ASICs 1413 and 1417 (see paragraph 0062). Based on this teaching, when substituting the at least one multicore fiber cable for the waveguides, as described in the rejection of claim 1, one would obtain the feature wherein the at least one multicore fiber cable optically couples each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs with one corresponding PD of the second array of PDs, and optically couples each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs with a corresponding PD of the first array of PDs (as best understood in view of the 112(b) rejection of claim 4 noted above).
Regarding claim 6: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teachesThe system of claim 1 (as applied above) wherein the first array of micro LEDs and the first array of PDs are part of a first interdigitated array of micro LEDs and PDs (Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14 shows that the first array of micro LEDs and the first array of PDs are part of a first interdigitated array of micro LEDs and PDs), and the second array of micro LEDs and the second array of PDs are part of a second interdigitated array of micro LEDs and PDs (Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14 shows that the second array of micro LEDs and the second array of PDs are part of a second interdigitated array of micro LEDs and PDs).
Regarding claim 7: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teachesThe system of claim 1 (as applied above) further comprising a first IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 Fig. 14, FPGA 1411) electrically coupled to the first driver IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0062) and a second IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 Fig. 14, HBM stack 1419) electrically coupled to the second driver IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0062), wherein the first driver IC is configured to drive the first array of micro LEDs to generate the first data signals based on first electrical signals received from the first IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0062), and the second driver IC is configured to drive the second array of micro LEDs to generate the second data signals based on second electrical signals received from the second IC (see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0062).
Regarding claim 8: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 7, as applied above. In another embodiment, Pezeshki ‘337 teaches feeding the output of RX chips as inputs to the Tx-chips (see paragraph 0059 and Fig. 12). In this configuration, a first driver would be configured to convert the second data signals received at the first array of PDs to first electrical signals and to provide the first electrical signals to a first IC, and the second driver IC would be configured to convert the first data signals received at the second array of PDs to second electrical signals and to provide the second electrical signals to the second IC (see signal paths in Figs. 12-13 of Pezeshki ‘337). In order to configure the modified Pezeshki ‘337 device as a repeater, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki device to include the second data signals received at the first array of PDs as signals provided to the first IC, as well as to include the first data signals received at the second array of PDs as signals provided to the second IC, based on the alternative embodiment disclosed by Pezeshki.
Regarding claim 9: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Pezeshki ‘337 further discloses that the first array of PDs is arranged on the first carrier substrate, and the second array of PDs is arranged on the second carrier substrate (see Fig. 14, the PDs and LEDs of the first arrays are on a shared substrate, part of Tx+Rx ASIC 1413), and teaches that the photodetector structure can be the same as the microLED structure, operating in reverse bias (see paragraph 0050). Since the microLED structure includes gallium and nitrogen containing materials (gallium nitride, see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0042), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make each photodetector of the first and second arrays of photodetectors with the same structures, wherein each PD of the first array of PDs includes a first gallium and nitrogen containing material, and each PD of the second array of PDs includes a second gallium and nitrogen containing material, for more streamlined manufacturing. Furthermore, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 10: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. In another embodiment, Pezeshki ‘337 teaches that the system further comprises an interposer substrate, wherein a first micro LED is connected to a second photodetector via a waveguide (see Fig. 3, interposer 350 and paragraph 0033). The interposer allows for additional electrical connections between the chips in addition to the optical connection that the waveguide provides. In order to allow for electrical connection between the first transceiver and the second transceiver, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by including an interposer substrate, wherein the first optical transceiver and the second optical transceiver are coupled to the interposer substrate, based on combining the embodiments of Figs. 3 and 14.
Regarding claim 11: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Pezeshki ‘664 further discloses that the system further comprises a first optical interconnect configured to couple the microLEDs to the at least one multicore optical fiber (see Pezeshki ‘664, paragraph 0009), and a second optical interconnect configured to couple photodetectors to the at least one multicore fiber cable (see Pezeshki ‘664, paragraph 0010). These optical interconnects allow for the light to couple between the fibers and the micro LEDs and between the fibers and the photodetectors with low loss. In order to couple the light into fibers from micro LEDs of the first and second micro LED arrays and to couple light into the photodetectors of the first and second PD arrays, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by including a first optical interconnect configured to couple the first optical transceiver to the at least one multicore fiber cable and a second optical interconnect configured to couple the second optical transceiver to the at least one multicore fiber cable, since coupling light between the micro LEDs and the fibers and between the photodetectors and the fibers was taught by Pezeshki ‘664.
Regarding claim 14: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Pezeshki ‘664 further teaches that the system provides optical communication which can be between two ICs in a same package, in different modules, within a same rack, or within different racks. From this, it is understood that the multicore optical fiber coupling can provide optical connection between a first optical transceiver of a first server and a second optical transceiver of a second server, since it can connect chips on different racks. In order to establish optical connection between two transceivers on two different servers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the modified Pezeshki ‘337 device to provide optical connection between two transceivers on two different servers, such that the first optical transceiver is part of a first server and the second optical transceiver is part of a second server, and the multicore fiber cable optically couples the first server to the second server, based on the teaching of Pezeshki ‘664.
Regarding claim 15: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Pezeshki ‘664 further teaches that the system provides optical communication which can be between two ICs in a same package, in different modules, within a same rack, or within different racks. In order to establish optical connection between two transceivers on two different server racks, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the modified Pezeshki ‘337 device to provide optical connection between two transceivers on two different server racks, such that the first optical transceiver is part of a first server rack and the second optical transceiver is part of a second server rack, and the multicore fiber cable optically couples the first server rack to the second server rack.
Regarding claim 16: Pezeshki ‘337 disclosesA system with optical interconnects, comprising: a first array of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1413, see paragraph) arranged on a first carrier substrate (see paragraph 0062, they are monolithically integrated, and Fig. 15, silicon substrate), each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs including a first material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the first carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the first material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512 is an n-type region containing gallium and nitrogen), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514 is a light emitting region containing gallium and nitrogen, configured to emit electromagnetic radiation), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510);a first array of photodetectors (PDs) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors). Pezeshki ‘337 further disclosesa second array of micro LEDs (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1417 form a second array of micro LEDs) arranged on a second carrier substrate, each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs including a second material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the second carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the second material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510); and a second array of PDs (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation.
Pezeshki ‘337 further discloses at least one waveguide (see Fig. 14, waveguides 1415) arranged to optically couple the first array of micro LEDs with the second array of PDs so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, and to couple the second array of micro LEDs with the first array of PDs so that the second data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs.
As evidenced by Pezeshki ‘186, the first and second materials are known epitaxial materials (see Fig. 2A and paragraph 0029). Therefore, the first and second materials are considered to be first and second epitaxial materials.
Pezeshki ‘337 fails to disclose “a first driver integrated circuit (IC) electrically coupled to the first array of micro LEDs and configured to individually drive each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs to generate first data signals using the electromagnetic radiation” and “a second driver IC electrically coupled to the second array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs to generate second data signals using the electromagnetic radiation”, since Pezeshki ‘337 teaches that the drivers are monolithically integrated with the Tx/Rx ASICs. However, in another embodiment (see Fig. 6), the driver is shown to be a separate component driving a micro LED. Additionally, Pezeshki ‘664, also related to transceiver arrays having microLEDs and photodetector arrays (see paragraph 0040) discloses that the drivers for the microLEDs are integrated on a common substrate with integrated circuit chips that are electrically coupled to the transceiver arrays (see paragraph 0040). Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by providing the microLED drivers as first and second driver ICs, as taught by Pezeshki ‘664, wherein the first driver IC is electrically coupled to the first array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED to generate first data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, and the second driver IC is electrically coupled to the second array of micro LEDs configured to individually drive each micro LED to generate second data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, in order to make the device more modular. It has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 17: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teachesThe system of claim 16 (as applied above) wherein the at least one waveguide comprises a two-dimensional (2D) planar waveguide or a three-dimensional (3D) waveguide (see Pezeshki ‘337 paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 18: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 16, as applied above. Additionally, Pezeshki ‘337 fails to disclose that the at least one waveguide comprises an optical fiber. Instead, Pezeshki ‘337 discloses that the first array of microLEDs are connected to the second array of PDs, so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048), and that the second array of micro LEDs are connected with the first array of PDs, so that the data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048). However, Pezeshki ‘664 teaches a similar configuration, where optical signals are sent between micoLEDs of a first chip to photodetectors of another chip via a propagation medium, which is taught to be either a coherent fiber bundle, which includes optical fibers, or one or more waveguides (see paragraph 0008), showing that the two elements are equivalent structures in the art. Therefore, because these two types of propagation medium were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute an optical fiber for the at least one waveguide of the Pezeshki ‘337 device. (see MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 19: Pezeshki ‘337 disclosesA system with optical interconnects, comprising: a first integrated circuit (IC) (Fig. 14, FPGA 1411);a first optical transceiver (Fig. 14, Tx+Rx ASIC 1413; see paragraph 0062) electrically coupled to the first IC (see paragraph 0062), the first optical transceiver comprising: a first array of micro light emitting diodes (LEDs) (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1413, see paragraph) arranged on a first carrier substrate (see paragraph 0062, they are monolithically integrated, and Fig. 15, silicon substrate), each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs including a first material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the first carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the first material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512 is an n-type region containing gallium and nitrogen), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514 is a light emitting region containing gallium and nitrogen, configured to emit electromagnetic radiation), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510);a first array of photodetectors (PDs) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors);and a first driver (see paragraph 0062, driver circuitry driving each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs is considered to be a first driver) electrically coupled to the first array of micro LEDs and configured to individually drive each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs to generate first data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, the first data signals generated based on first electrical signals received from the first IC (paragraph 0062 discloses this); Pezeshki ‘337 further disclosesa second IC (Fig. 14, HBM stack 1419); a second optical transceiver (Fig. 14, Tx+Rx ASIC 1417) electrically coupled to the second IC, the second optical transceiver (see paragraph 0062) comprising: a second array of micro LEDs (Fig. 14, LEDs of ASIC 1417 form a second array of micro LEDs) arranged on a second carrier substrate, each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs including a second material (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512, p-GaN layer 1510, and intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514; see paragraph 0064) different from a material of the second carrier substrate (Fig. 15, silicon substrate), the second material comprising at least an n-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, n-GaN layer 1512), a light emitting gallium and nitrogen containing region configured to emit electromagnetic radiation (Fig. 15, intrinsic InGaN region including quantum wells 1514), and a p-type gallium and nitrogen containing region (Fig. 15, p-GaN layer 1510); and a second array of PDs (Fig. 14, PDs of ASIC 1413 form a first array of photodetectors) configured to detect the electromagnetic radiation; and a second driver IC (see paragraph 0062, driver circuitry driving each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs is considered to be a second driver) electrically coupled to the second array of micro LEDs and configured to individually drive each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs to generate second data signals using the electromagnetic radiation, the second data signals generated based on second electrical signals received from the second IC (see paragraph 0062)
As evidenced by Pezeshki ‘186, the first and second materials are known epitaxial materials (see Fig. 2A and paragraph 0029). Therefore, the first and second materials are considered to be first and second epitaxial materials.
Pezeshki ‘337 fails to disclose “at least one multicore fiber cable arranged to optically couple the first array of micro LEDs with the second array of PDs so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, and to optically couple the second array of micro LEDs with the first array of PDs so that the second data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs”. Instead, Pezeshki ‘337 discloses that the first array of microLEDs are connected to the second array of PDs, so that the first data signals generated by the first array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the second array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048), and that the second array of micro LEDs are connected with the first array of PDs, so that the data signals generated by the second array of micro LEDs are transmitted to the first array of PDs, via optical waveguides (see Pezeshki ‘337, Fig. 14, waveguides 2048). However, Pezeshki ‘664 teaches a similar configuration, where optical signals are sent between micoLEDs of a first chip to photodetectors of another chip via a propagation medium, which is taught to be either a coherent fiber bundle, which is a multicore fiber cable, or one or more waveguides (see paragraph 0008), showing that the two elements are equivalent structures in the art. Therefore, because these two types of propagation medium were art-recognized equivalents at the time the invention was filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to substitute a multicore fiber cable for the waveguides of the Pezeshki ‘337 device. (see MPEP §2144.06).
Regarding claim 20: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 19, as applied above. While the FPGA and HBM stacks of Pezeshki ‘337 Fig. 14 are not shown to be a plurality of first and second ICs, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute a plurality of first ICs for the FPGA and a plurality of second ICs for the HBM stacks of Pezeshki ‘337 Fig. 14. Since the claim does not provide limitations as to how the functions of the first and second ICs are divided, this is considered to be a mere duplication of parts. It has been held that mere duplication of essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0208337; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘337) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0080664; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘664) and further in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2023/0118326; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘326), as evidenced by Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0050186; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘186).
Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Modified Pezeshki ‘337 fails to teach that the at least one multicore fiber cable includes a first multicore fiber cable and a second multicore fiber cable, first multicore fiber cable optically coupling each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs with one corresponding PD of the second array of PDs, and the second multicore fiber cable optically coupling each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs with a corresponding PD of the first array of PDs. However, Pezeshki ‘326, also related to transceivers connected via optical fibers (see abstract and Fig. 5), teaches that data can be carried along the same fiber in two directions (Fig. 7, paragraph 0034) or data can be transmitted along one direction through one fiber, e.g. from a first LED array to a second photodetector (Pezeshki ‘326 Fig. 5, fiber 501a; Fig. 6, fiber 501a; and paragraph 0033) and along the other direction, e.g. from a second LED array to a first photodetector, through a second fiber (Pezeshki ‘326 Fig. 5, fiber 501b; Fig. 6, fiber 501b, and paragraph 0033). Based on this teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device such that the at least one multicore fiber cable includes a first multicore fiber cable and a second multicore fiber cable, the first multicore fiber cable optically coupling each micro LED of the first array of micro LEDs with one corresponding PD of the second array of PDs, and the second multicore fiber cable optically couples each micro LED of the second array of micro LEDs with a corresponding PD of the first array of PDs, since such a configuration was taught by Pezeshki and would provide higher sensitivity than fibers carrying data than bidirectional fibers (see Pezeshki ‘326, paragraph 0034).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0208337; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘337) in view of Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0080664; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘664) and further in view of Kalman et al. (US 2023/0268999; hereinafter Kalman), as evidenced by Pezeshki et al. (US 2022/0050186; hereinafter Pezeshki ‘186).
Regarding claim 12: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 1, as applied above. Pezeshki ‘337 fails to teach that the system further comprises: a first interposer electrically coupled to the first optical transceiver; a first plurality of ICs electrically coupled to the first interposer; a second interposer electrically coupled to the second optical transceiver; and a second plurality of ICs electrically coupled to the second interposer; wherein first electrical signals from the first plurality of ICs are transmitted to the first optical transceiver via the first interposer, and the first optical transceiver is configured to generate the first data signals based on the first electrical signals; and wherein second electrical signals from the second plurality of ICs are transmitted to the second optical transceiver via the second interposer, and the second optical transceiver is configured to generate the second data signals based on the second electrical signals.
However, Kalman, also related to optical transceivers having micro LED arrays and photodetectors (see title and abstract), teaches that optical transceivers can be coupled to interposers (see Fig. 3, substrate 305), and that the interposers are electrically connected to the transceivers (see paragraph 0035). Additionally, Kalman teaches that the interposer can connect to additional ICs (see paragraph 0035). Additionally, Kalman teaches two optical transceivers connected to two interposers (see Fig. 9, transceivers 501 and substrates 305), including a first interposer coupled to the first optical transceiver, and a second interposer coupled to the second optical transceiver. Based on these teachings, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device by including a first interposer electrically coupled to the first optical transceiver; a first plurality of ICs electrically coupled to the first interposer; a second interposer electrically coupled to the second optical transceiver; and a second plurality of ICs electrically coupled to the second interposer, based on the teachings of Kalman. In making the modification, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the feature wherein first electrical signals from the first plurality of ICs are transmitted to the first optical transceiver via the first interposer, and the first optical transceiver is configured to generate the first data signals based on the first electrical signals and wherein second electrical signals from the second plurality of ICs are transmitted to the second optical transceiver via the second interposer, and the second optical transceiver is configured to generate the second data signals based on the second electrical signals, since Kalman teaches “ some embodiments, other ICs 309 may also be attached to the substrate. In some embodiments, the substrate comprises electrical connections to the optical transceiver IC and other ICs in the form of solder bumps” (see paragraph 0035).
Regarding claim 13: Modified Pezeshki ‘337 teaches the system of claim 12, as applied above. Kalman further teaches that the system further comprises a printed circuit board (PCB), wherein the first interposer and the second interposer are coupled to the PCB (see Fig. 9, PCB 803). Since it was taught by Kalman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to further modify the Pezeshki ‘337 device to include a PCB, wherein the first interposer and the second interposer are coupled to the PCB, in order to allow routing of electrical signals between the first interposer and the second interposer.
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874