DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Dependent claim 7 recites “at least one of the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the second air source from the internal compartment during the first mode; or the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the first air source from the internal compartment during the second mode” (emphasis added). These recitations render the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the two options of how the flow regulator is to be operated are recited alternatively, i.e. A or B, inclusively, i.e. A and B, or both, i.e. A and/or B.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2-8, 13, 14, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20220407135 A1 to Zagrodnik et al. (Zagrodnik).
In reference to independent claim 1, Zagrodnik discloses:
A system for an aircraft (10), comprising:
an aircraft structure (20) comprising an internal compartment;
an electrical power storage (200) housed within the internal compartment (see Fig. 5B); and
an air system (air inlet 16, air channel 21 of the battery pack, air outlet 17) configured to direct pressurized air into the internal compartment (see [0051], [0105]), the air system including a plurality of air sources (multiple air inlet openings 16 in fluid communication with the air channel 21, see [0059]) and a flow regulator (18), and the flow regulator (18) configured to fluidly couple each of the plurality of air sources (16) to the internal compartment (see Fig. 2).
In reference to dependent claim 2, Zagrodnik further discloses: the electrical power storage comprises a battery (battery cells 200, see Fig. 5B).
In reference to dependent claim 3, Zagrodnik further discloses: the air system is configured to direct the pressurized air into the internal compartment to flush off-gassing from the battery out of the internal compartment (see [0085]).
In reference to dependent claim 4, Zagrodnik further discloses: the air system is configured to direct the pressurized air into the internal compartment to condition an environment surrounding the electrical power storage (see [0105]-[0109]).
In reference to dependent claims 5 and 6, Zagrodnik further discloses: the plurality of air sources include a first air source (16) and a second air source (40); the flow regulator (18) is configured to concurrently fluidly couple the first air source and the second air source to the internal compartment; the flow regulator is configured to fluidly couple the first air source to the internal compartment during a first mode (see [0115]); and the flow regulator is configured to fluidly couple the second air source to the internal compartment during a second mode (see [0117]-[0118]).
In reference to dependent claim 7, Zagrodnik further discloses: at least one of the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the second air source from the internal compartment during the first mode; or the flow regulator is configured to fluidly decouple the first air source from the internal compartment during the second mode (see [0118]).
In reference to dependent claim 8, Zagrodnik further discloses: the aircraft structure includes an outlet (17) to an ambient external environment fluidly coupled to the internal compartment (see Figs 2-4).
In reference to dependent claims 13 and 14, Zagrodnik further discloses: a pneumatic system comprising a pneumatic actuator; one of the plurality of air sources comprising an outlet from the pneumatic system; and an air port fluidly coupled with an ambient environment external to the aircraft; one of the plurality of air sources comprising the air port (see Figs. 3-4).
In reference to dependent claim 16, Zagrodnik further discloses: a propulsor rotor (122); and an electric motor configured to drive rotation of the propulsor rotor, the electric motor electrically coupled to the electric power storage (see [0064]).
In reference to dependent claims 17 and 18, Zagrodnik further discloses: an aircraft airframe; the aircraft structure configured as part of and/or housed within the aircraft airframe; an aircraft propulsion system; the aircraft structure configured as part of and/or housed within the aircraft propulsion system (see Figs. 3-4).
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20210031934 A1 to Becker et al. (Becker).
In reference to independent claim 19, Becker discloses:
A system for an aircraft (10), comprising:
an aircraft airframe (20) including an aircraft cabin (110) and a battery compartment (103) located outside of the aircraft cabin (see Fig. 4);
a battery (102) housed within the battery compartment; and
an air system (122) configured to direct air from within the aircraft cabin into the battery compartment (see [0039]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik.
In reference to dependent claims 9-12, Zagrodnik is silent regarding the various alternative air sources. However, it would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected from different air sources for the air system in order to recover and reuse air from different areas of the aircraft.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zagrodnik in view of Becker.
In reference to dependent claim 15, Zagrodnik is silent regarding check valves fluidly coupled with and between of the plurality of air sources and the flow regulator or the flow regulator and the internal compartment.
Becker teaches check valves that can be integrated within the cabin pressurization system to perform venting (see [0039]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added check valves to the system of Zagrodnik in order to prevent return flow into the cabin as taught by Becker.
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20130175001 A1 to Cheong (Cheong) in view of US 11728532 B1 to Lohe.
In reference to independent claim 20, Cheong discloses:
A system for an aircraft, comprising:
an internal combustion engine (150) comprising a compressed air bleed (198 and 200); and
an aircraft sub-system (202, 204) operated using bleed air received from the compressed air bleed (see [0021]).
Cheong is silent regarding an aircraft structure comprising a battery compartment (battery packs); a battery housed within the battery compartment; and a flow circuit fluidly coupling an outlet of the aircraft sub-system to an inlet of the battery compartment, the flow circuit configured to direct air exhausted from the aircraft sub-system through the outlet into the battery compartment through the inlet.
Lohe teaches an aircraft having a de-icing system (116) and a battery pack temperature control system (124), in which the battery pack temperature control system (124) is thermally coupled to the de-icing system (116).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the prior before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the subsystems of Cheong with the battery pack temperature control system of Lohe in order to enhance aircraft efficiency by utilizing waste heat from sub-systems like the de-icing system of Lohe.
Conclusion
/NGOC T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799