Claim Objections
Claim(s) 8 and 14 is/are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, the Examiner suggests changing to “… communicated from [[a]] the first NF to from [[a]] the second NF ...” claim 14 is objected for the same reason as stated above.
Appropriate correction(s) is/are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sharma (US 20240064105).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 14, Sharma teaches A system for managing messages ([0001], “managing traffic processed by a target network function of a communication network.”) between two or more servers in a data network ([Fig.14], Network Exposure Function, NEF and Policy Control Function, PCF), the system comprising:
one or more computer processing components configured to execute operations comprising:
assigning a first priority marking to a first message ([0188], “The NEF receives a message from AF2 regarding QoS Session update for an existing session.” And [0186], “The NWDAF provides a recommendation to prioritize the traffic from AF2.” In other words, traffic originates from AF2 will have a high priority.) to be communicated from a first server to a second server ([0190 and Fig.14, step 7], “Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2.” The traffic from AF2 is transmitted from the NEF to PCF);
assigning a second priority marking to a second message ([0183], “The NEF receives a message from AF1.” And [0191], “The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.” Traffic originates from AF1 has a low priority.) to be communicated from a first server to a second server ([Fig.14], from NEF to PCF), wherein the first marking is different than the second marking (traffic from AF2 has a higher priority than traffic from AF1.); and
processing the first message and the second message based on the first priority marking and the second priority marking ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 17, Sharma teaches wherein the first priority marking indicates a higher priority than the second priority marking ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 18, Sharma teaches wherein the first server is a network function (NF) and the second server is an NF ([Fig.14], Network Exposure Function, NEF and Policy Control Function, PCF).
Regarding claim(s) 19, Sharma teaches wherein processing the first message and the second message comprises routing the first message to the second server before the second message ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 20, Sharma teaches wherein processing the first message and the second message comprises queuing the first message for transmission to the second server ahead of the second message ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma (US 20240064105) in view of Krishan (US 20230284081).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 1, Sharma teaches A method for managing messages ([0001], “managing traffic processed by a target network function of a communication network.”) between two or more network functions (NFs) ([Fig.14], Network Exposure Function, NEF and Policy Control Function, PCF) in a core network of a mobile communication network ([Fig.14 and 0194], “5G Core networks.”), the method comprising:
determining a pre-determined... threshold is exceeded on the mobile communication network ([0183], “The NEF detects that it is experiencing a congestion situation,” “Load=70%”);
based on the determination ([0183], “As part of overload control, the NEF decides to implement traffic prioritization so that low priority traffic can be delayed or discarded, so ensuring the NEF is able to provide services in a stable manner to high priority services and subscribers.”), assigning a first priority marking to a first message ([0188], “The NEF receives a message from AF2 regarding QoS Session update for an existing session.” And [0186], “The NWDAF provides a recommendation to prioritize the traffic from AF2.” In other words, traffic originates from AF2 will have a high priority.) to be communicated from a first NF to a second NF ([0190 and Fig.14, step 7], “Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2.” The traffic from AF2 is transmitted from the NEF to PCF); and
based on the determination ([0183], “As part of overload control, the NEF decides to implement traffic prioritization so that low priority traffic can be delayed or discarded, so ensuring the NEF is able to provide services in a stable manner to high priority services and subscribers.”), assigning a second priority marking to a second message ([0183], “The NEF receives a message from AF1.” And [0191], “The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.” Traffic originates from AF1 has a low priority.) to be communicated from the first NF to the second NF ([Fig.14], from NEF to PCF).
However, Sharma does not specifically disclose pre-determined traffic threshold.
In an analogous art, Krishan discloses determining a pre-determined traffic threshold is exceeded on the mobile communication network ([0017], “A network exposure function (NEF) ... may become congested or overloaded, e.g., due to large amount of messages from network/UE devices.”),
based on the determination ([0040], “during a congestion or overload condition”), assigning a first priority marking to a first message ([0040], “NF 200 (e.g., an SCEF or NEF 118) or DM 204 may receive a message ... NF 200 or DM 204 may use a context priority value associated with the NIDD context to calculate or compute an absolute priority value” for the message.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify traffic threshold as taught by Krishan. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine congestion condition.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 2, Sharma teaches wherein the pre-determined threshold of traffic is exceeded on the first NF ([0183], “The NEF detects that it is experiencing a congestion situation,” “Load=70%”).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Sharma teaches processing the first message and the second message based on the first priority marking being higher priority than the second priority marking ([0190 and Fig.14, step 7], “Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2.”).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Sharma teaches wherein processing the first message and the second message comprises routing the first message before the second message based on the first priority marking being higher priority than the second priority marking ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Sharma teaches wherein processing the first message comprises queuing the first message ahead of the second message for transmission based on the first priority marking being higher priority than the second priority marking ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 16, Sharma teaches wherein processing the first message and the second message is in response to determining that a pre-determined ... threshold is exceeded ([0183], “The NEF detects that it is experiencing a congestion situation,” “Load=70%”).
However, Sharma does not specifically disclose pre-determined traffic threshold.
In an analogous art, Krishan discloses determining a pre-determined traffic threshold is exceeded ([0017], “A network exposure function (NEF) ... may become congested or overloaded, e.g., due to large amount of messages from network/UE devices.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify traffic threshold as taught by Krishan. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine congestion condition.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Krishan, and further in view of Wang (US 20220377579).
Regarding claim(s) 3/13, Wang teaches wherein the pre-determined threshold of traffic is exceeded on the second NF ([0059], “The NRF device 100 may determine whether the target network function is overloaded based on the usage conditions.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify determining overload condition a target NF as taught by Wang. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to trigger an update. .
Claim(s) 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Krishan, and further in view of Hoole (US 20210119941).
With respect to independent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 8, Sharma teaches A method for managing messages ([0001], “managing traffic processed by a target network function of a communication network.”) between two or more network functions (NFs) ([Fig.14], Network Exposure Function, NEF and Policy Control Function, PCF) in a core network of a mobile communication network ([Fig.14 and 0194], “5G Core networks.”), the method comprising:
receiving a first message ([0188], “The NEF receives a message from AF2 regarding QoS Session update for an existing session.”) to be communicated from a first NF to a second NF ([0190 and Fig.14, step 7], “Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2.” The traffic from AF2 is transmitted from the NEF to PCF);
receiving a second message ([0183], “The NEF receives a message from AF1.”) to be communicated from a first NF to a second NF ([Fig.14], from NEF to PCF);
determining that a pre-determined ... threshold is exceeded ([0183], “The NEF detects that it is experiencing a congestion situation,” “Load=70%”);
inspecting the first message to determine a first priority marking ([0188], “The NEF receives a message from AF2 regarding QoS Session update for an existing session.” And [0186], “The NWDAF provides a recommendation to prioritize the traffic from AF2.” The NEF determines that traffic from AF2 has a high priority.) and inspecting the second message to determine a second priority marking ([0183], “The NEF receives a message from AF1.” And [0191], “The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.” Traffic originates from AF1 has a low priority.), the first priority marking indicates a higher priority than the second priority marking ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”); and
based on the determination ([0183], “As part of overload control, the NEF decides to implement traffic prioritization so that low priority traffic can be delayed or discarded, so ensuring the NEF is able to provide services in a stable manner to high priority services and subscribers.”) and the inspection of the first message and the second message, processing the first message and the second message ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
However, Sharma does not specifically disclose pre-determined traffic threshold.
In an analogous art, Krishan discloses determining a pre-determined traffic threshold is exceeded ([0017], “A network exposure function (NEF) ... may become congested or overloaded, e.g., due to large amount of messages from network/UE devices.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify traffic threshold as taught by Krishan. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to determine congestion condition.
However, the combination of Sharma and Krishan does not teach discover a first priority marking and ... to discover a second priority marking.
In an analogous art, Hoole teaches inspecting the first message to discover a first priority marking and inspecting the second message to discover a second priority marking ([0140], “the classifier apparatus uses the extracted DSCP markings to re-sort the data traffic into Low Latency and Normal queues.” And [0141], “a listing of DSCP values includes selected DSCP values that should receive high priority.”), the first priority marking indicates a higher priority than the second priority marking ([0141], “a listing of DSCP values includes selected DSCP values that should receive high priority.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify DSCP as taught by Hoole. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to sort traffic according to the DSCP value.
With respect to dependent claims:
Regarding claim(s) 7/11, Hoole teaches wherein the first priority marking and the second priority marking are each a differentiated service code point (DSCP) marking ([0140], “the classifier apparatus uses the extracted DSCP markings to re-sort the data traffic into Low Latency and Normal queues.” And [0141], “a listing of DSCP values includes selected DSCP values that should receive high priority.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify DSCP as taught by Hoole. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to sort traffic according to the DSCP value.
Regarding claim(s) 9, Sharma teaches processing the first message and the second message comprises routing the first message to the second NF before the second message ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 10, Sharma teaches processing the first message and the second message comprises queuing the first message for transmission to the second NF ahead of the second message ([0190] “7. Based on the recommendation received from NWDAF, the NEF processes the request from AF2 for update of QoS Sessions.” And [0191] “8. The NEF stores the requests from AF1 & AF3 to process at a later stage when CPU load reduces to normal levels.”).
Regarding claim(s) 12, Sharma teaches wherein the pre-determined traffic threshold is exceeded on the first NF ([0183], “The NEF detects that it is experiencing a congestion situation,” “Load=70%”).
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sharma in view of Hoole (US 20210119941).
Regarding claim(s) 15, Hoole teaches wherein the first priority marking and the second priority marking is a differentiated service code point (DSCP) marking ([0140], “the classifier apparatus uses the extracted DSCP markings to re-sort the data traffic into Low Latency and Normal queues.” And [0141], “a listing of DSCP values includes selected DSCP values that should receive high priority.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have modified the method of Sharma to specify DSCP as taught by Hoole. The motivation/suggestion would have been because there is a need to sort traffic according to the DSCP value.
Conclusion
/ZHIREN QIN/Examiner, Art Unit 2411