DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II, Fig. 6-8, in the reply filed on 11/03/2025 is acknowledged.
Claims 18-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“child-proof securing arrangement” in claim 1. For examination purposes, “child-proof securing arrangement” has been interpretated as “a locking-pin style connection, such as those used for retail security tags for clothing, a magnetic connection, or a snap-fit connection” or any structural equivalent thereof based on the Specification (see Specification pg. 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Jang (KR 20220132125).
Regarding claim 1, Jang teaches a detachable pacifier arrangement (see Fig. 5-6) comprising: a nipple portion (42) being configured to be sucked on by a child; a handle portion (47) being configured to be connected to said nipple portion and grasped by a child or an adult; and a child-proof securing arrangement (the securing arrangement formed by elastic protrusion 48 and coupling hole 44 is considered a child-proof securing arrangement as interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112f since the arrangement is a snap fit connection, see attached translated document pg. 16) being configured and disposed to detachably connect said nipple portion to said handle portion to releasably clamp said nipple portion and said handle portion together onto opposing sides of a panel of an object (12) to be placed near a mouth of a child (the mask 12 is configured to cover the mouth and nose of an infant, see Abstract on pg. 13 of attached translated document).
Regarding claim 2, Jang teaches the detachable pacifier arrangement of claim 1, wherein: said child-proof securing arrangement comprises a securing pin (48) disposed partially in and to project out beyond said handle portion (see Fig. 5); said child-proof securing arrangement comprises a pin receptacle (44) disposed in said nipple portion and configured and disposed to receive and engage with said securing pin in a releasable, locking manner; and said securing pin is configured to be releasably locked with said pin receptacle (the protrusion 48 is detachably coupled to the coupling hole, see Abstract on pg. 13 of attached translated document).
Regarding claim 3, Jang teaches the detachable pacifier arrangement of claim 2, wherein said securing pin comprises a crosspiece (the elastic protrusion 48 is considered to be a crosspiece since it comprises a portion that extends transverse to the longitudinal direction of the protrusion, see Fig. 5) configured to engage with said pin receptacle in a releasable, locking manner.
Regarding claims 4 and 6, Jang further teaches said nipple portion comprises a shoulder (the wall around the coupling hole is considered a shoulder, see Fig. 5) disposed about said pin receptacle (44); said handle portion comprises a recess (the space between the pressing protrusion 49 and the elastic protrusion 49 forms a recess, see annotated Fig. 6 below) disposed about said securing pin and configured to receive said shoulder in a form fit or friction fit to further secure said nipple portion and said handle portion together on a panel of an object to be placed near a mouth of a child (the handle portion and nipple portion attach to each other in a snap fit connection, see attached translated document pg. 16); and said shoulder and said recess are configured and disposed to clamp and temporarily deform the panel of the object to be placed near a mouth of a child therebetween (the shoulder and recess are capable of deforming an object placed in between them).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, Jang further teaches said receptacle comprises a projection disposed to project out from said shoulder (there is a projection extending inward of the shoulder, see annotated Fig. 6); said handle portion comprises a projection receptacle (the reduced diameter portion of the elastic protrusion 48 forms a projection receptacle since it traps the projection between the larger diameter section and the plate 46, see annotated Fig. 6) disposed about said securing pin and configured to receive said projection in a form fit or friction fit to further secure said nipple portion and said handle portion together on a panel of an object to be placed near a mouth of a child (the handle portion and nipple portion attach to each other in a snap fit connection, see attached translated document pg. 16); and said projection and said projection receptacle are configured and disposed to clamp and temporarily deform the panel of the object to be placed near a mouth of a child therebetween (the shoulder and recess are capable of deforming an object placed in between them).
Regarding claims 8, 12, 14 and 16, Jang further teaches the detachable pacifier arrangement of in combination with a protective face (12, see Fig. 1 and 5) covering to form a pacifying personal protective device, which protective face covering comprises a panel configured to be positioned over at least a mouth and a nose of a child to reduce transmission of pathogens between the child and persons proximate to the child (the mask covers the mouth and nose of a user and prevents the inhalation of pathogens, see attached translated document pg. 14 and Abstract on pg. 13).
Regarding claim 9, Jang further teaches said protective face covering comprises a fastener (14) engaged to said panel and configured to removably engage said panel to a head of a child in a position over at least the mouth and the nose of the child.
Regarding claims 11, 13, 15 and 17, Jang further teaches said panel comprises a mask made of cloth or fabric (the mask is made of cloth or non-woven fabric, see attached translated document pg. 15); and said mask comprises an aperture (16, see Fig. 5) therein having a diameter similar to the outer diameter of said shoulder to permit removable attachment of said detachable pacifier arrangement to said mask with said nipple portion disposed on the interior of said mask and said handle portion disposed on the exterior of said mask (see Fig. 6).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jang in view of Wall (US 2023/0078297).
Regarding claim 10, Jang teaches the detachable pacifier arrangement in combination with said protective face covering of claim 9 , but fails to teach said panel comprises a face shield made of plastic; and said face shield comprises an aperture therein having a diameter similar to the outer diameter of said shoulder to permit removable attachment of said detachable pacifier arrangement to said face shield with said nipple portion disposed on the interior of said face shield and said handle portion disposed on the exterior of said face shield.
Wall, in the same field of art, teaches a similar arrangement (see Fig. 1-2) with a pacifier arrangement (B, D) in combination with a protective face covering (A), where the panel of the protective face covering is a face shield made of plastic (see [0010]) and said face shield comprises an aperture (E) for permitting attachment of the pacifier arrangement (see Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to substitute the protective face covering of Jang with the protective face covering of Wall since doing so would have yielded only predictable results, namely, the protective face covering of Wall in arrangement of Jang would have would have provided a user with protection against pathogens.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
All of the documents cited in the attached PTO-892 teach related pacifier and child-proof securing arrangements.
/SERENITY A MILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/ELIZABETH HOUSTON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3771