DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 121-140 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WASSERMAN ROBERT (CA 3037294 A1) in view of Da Deppo (US pub 2021/0061028).
Regarding claim 121, WASSERMAN ROBERT discloses a system comprising a tire pressure apparatus (sec 0138), a processor storing instructions in non-transitory memory that, when executed, cause the processor to:
receive a route prior to a trip (sec 0151);
retrieve, from an external database, one or more upcoming road condition, and an upcoming weather condition of the trip on the route (fig. 1; sec 0031, 0033, 0100).
WASSERMAN ROBERT teaches of sensing tire pressure, but does not determine a tire pressure scheme and send a command to a tire pressure control apparatus.
However, Da Deppo teaches of a system comprising:
retrieving, from an external database, one or more of an upcoming road condition, and an upcoming weather condition in a trip on the route (alternate routes and conditions; 0139, 0140, 0294-0295);
a tire pressure control apparatus 0139, 0140, 0294-0295),
determine a tire pressure scheme based on one or more of the upcoming road condition and the upcoming weather condition (sec 0139, 0140, 0294-0295, 0298-0303); and
send a command to the tire pressure control apparatus during the trip to adjust a current tire pressure of a tire based on the tire pressure scheme (sec 0139, 0140, 0294-0295, 0298-0303).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify WASSERMAN ROBERT as taught by Da Deppo for the purpose or adjusting tire pressure automatically based on sensed weather, road conditions to improve performance and stability of the WASSERMAN ROBERT Vehicle.
Regarding claim 122 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 121, wherein the tire pressure scheme comprises a first tire pressure for a first segment of the route, and a second tire pressure scheme for a second segment of the route (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 123 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 122, wherein the system further receives a driving mode prior to the trip (a change in road condition and a change in weather condition change a driving mode, e.g. speed, brakes, acceleration, stop, turn, etc; sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 124 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 122, wherein the processor is operable to allocate resources in the system to determine an optimal tire pressure for a predefined section of the first segment and/or the second segment (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 125 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 123, wherein the processor is operable to predict a future tire pressure scheme based on an effect of at least one of the first tire pressure scheme and the second tire pressure scheme (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 126 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 122, wherein the tire pressure scheme is an optimal tire pressure recommended based on one or more the upcoming road condition, the upcoming weather condition, a safety consideration, and a fuel efficiency consideration (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 127 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 121, wherein the processor is operable to: determine tire-specific information of the tire (sec 0298-0309); and
modify the tire pressure scheme based on the tire-specific information (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 128 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 127, wherein the tire-specific information comprises at least one of a type of tire, age of tire, tire tread depth, thread wear status, rate of change of air volume, a rate of movement of the tire, and a recommended tire-pressure level (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 129 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 121, wherein the processor is operable to adjust tire pressure of the tire in real-time based on the tire pressure scheme during the trip (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 130 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 129, wherein the processor is operable to:monitor a road condition and a weather condition during the trip; and modify the tire pressure scheme based on a change in one or more of the road condition , the weather condition, and a selected control strategy (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 131 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 130, wherein the processor is operable to recommend a driving speed and a driving pressure based on the selected control strategy (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 132 De Deppo teaches of the system of claim 130, wherein the selected control strategy comprises one or more of energy efficiency, performance, and safety (sec 0298-0303).
Regarding claim 133, WASSERMAN ROBERT discloses a method comprising:
receive a route prior to a trip (sec 0151);
retrieve, from an external database, one or more upcoming road condition, and an upcoming weather condition of the trip on the route (fig. 1; sec 0031, 0033, 0100).
WASSERMAN ROBERT teaches of sensing tire pressure, but does not determine a tire pressure scheme and send a command to a tire pressure control apparatus.
However, De Deppo teaches of a method comprising:
retrieving, from an external database one or more of an upcoming road condition of an upcoming weather condition in a trip on a route (alternate routes and conditions; 0139, 0140, 0294-0295);
determining a tire pressure scheme based on one or more of the upcoming road condition and the upcoming weather condition (0139, 0140, 0294-0295); and
sending a command to a tire pressure control apparatus to adjust a current tire pressure of a tire based on the tire pressure scheme (0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify WASSERMAN ROBERT as taught by Da Deppo for the purpose or adjusting tire pressure automatically based on sensed weather, road conditions to improve performance and stability of the WASSERMAN ROBERT Vehicle.
Regarding claim 134 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 133, wherein adjusting tire pressure comprises deflating the tire (0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 135 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 133, wherein adjusting tire pressure comprises inflating the tire (0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 136 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 133 further comprising:
determining tire-specific information of a tire (0139, 0140, 0294-0295); and
modifying the tire pressure scheme based on the tire-specific information, (0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 137 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 133 further comprising:
monitoring a road condition and a weather condition during the trip (0139, 0140, 0294-0295); and
modifying the tire pressure scheme based on a change in one or more of the road condition and the weather condition and a selected control strategy (0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 138 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 133 wherein the method further receives a driving mode prior to the trip (alternate routes and conditions; 0139, 0140, 0294-0295).
Regarding claim 139 De Deppo teaches of the method of claim 137, further comprising estimating and recording cost of travel along the route for the tire pressure scheme (0290-0295).
Regarding claim 140, WASSERMAN ROBERT disscloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium for managing tire pressure (sec 0138) of a tire associated with a vehicle, the non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executed to:
receive a route prior to a trip (sec 0151);
retrieve, from an external database, one or more upcoming road condition, and an upcoming weather condition of the trip on the route (fig. 1; sec 0031, 0033, 0100).
WASSERMAN ROBERT teaches of sensing tire pressure, but does not determine a tire pressure scheme and send a command to a tire pressure control apparatus.
However, Da Deppo teaches of a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions executed to:
determine tire-specific information of the tire (tire pressure, etc; sec 0298-0303);
retrieve, from an external database, one or more of an upcoming road condition, and an upcoming weather condition of the trip on the route (sec 0298-0303); and
determine a tire pressure scheme based on one or more of the upcoming road condition and the upcoming weather condition (sec 0298-0303); and
send a command to a tire pressure control apparatus during the trip to adjust a current tire pressure of the tire based on the tire pressure scheme (sec 0298-0303).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify WASSERMAN ROBERT as taught by Da Deppo for the purpose or adjusting tire pressure automatically based on sensed weather, road conditions to improve performance and stability of the WASSERMAN ROBERT Vehicle.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Communication
/RONNIE M MANCHO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657