Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 03/16/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of the claims under 102/103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of the amendments.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
Claim 1: Processing means for controlling; Consumption management module configured for managing operation; limiting module configured for regulating;
Claim 6: control means configured for selecting;
Claim 7: measurement means designed for measuring;
Claim 8: consumption module configured for automatically selecting;
Claim 10: hydraulic limiting module configured to determine a maximum power; traction module configured to determine maximum power;
Claim 11: a traction modulation module and hydraulic modulation module configured to determine;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 5-8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASAKA (JP-2013203490-A) in view of Koebler (US2019283592A1).
Regarding claim 1, TASAKA discloses a self-propelled operating machine (1) comprising:
at least one motor (21, 22) ([0025]: "The motor drive device 300 drives the traveling motor M1, the cargo handling motor M2, and the steering motor M3");
- processing means for controlling at least the operation of the motor comprising a consumption management module (31) configured for managing operation of the motor (21, 22) on the basis of a plurality of general consumption levels ([0024]: "ECU (Electronic Control Controller) 110 is a processor for controlling the entire forklift 600, ECU controls the motors by means of the motor drive device 300; see [0025]: "The motor drive device 300 drives the traveling motor Mt ... based on the ... control command value S3 from the ECU 110; [0029]: "Output control unit 302'; [0029]: "Output control unit 302 ... reduces the allowable output power PTOTAL of motor drive device 300 as a whole according to the decrease of VBA T.” ; Note: modes are broadly interpreted as levels; [0030]: "output control unit 302 is configured to be able to switch between a plurality of predetermined modes (for example, an energy saving mode, a normal mode, and a power mode).")
- which correspond to various energy consumptions allowed by the motor (21, 22), each general consumption level comprising in turn one or more operational consumption levels, which correspond to respective energy consumptions allowed for the motor (21, 22) as a function of various operating conditions of the machine (1) ([0030]: "different allowable output power PTOTAL is determined for each mode. Specifically, the allowable output power is the maximum value PMAX in the power mode, the minimum value PMIN in the energy saving mode, and the value PNORM between them in the normal mode; P1, P2, P3, etc. );
- wherein the processing means comprises a limiting module (32) configured for regulating the maximum power deliverable from at least one source of electricity of the machine (1) to the motor or to the motors (21, 22) as a function of the residual charge level of the energy source ([0029] : "Output control unit 302 monitors battery voltage VBA T, and reduces the allowable output power PTOTAL of motor drive device 300 as a whole according to the decrease of VBA T.”)
However, TASAKA does not explicitly state regulating the maximum power deliverable from at least one source of electricity of the machine (1) to the motor or to the motors (21, 22) as a function of the temperature.
On the other hand, Koebler teaches regulating the maximum power deliverable from at least one source of electricity of the machine (1) to the motor or to the motors (21, 22) as a function of the temperature ([0015]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the TASAKA reference and include features from the Koebler reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so provides the advantage of reducing power consumption while suppressing reduction of an operation feeling, as disclosed in the Abstract of TASAKA.
Regarding claim 5, TASAKA discloses said consumption management module (31) is configured for managing the operation of the motor (21, 22) on the basis of three general consumption levels, of which a saving level ([0030]:" an energy saving mode") which corresponds to energy consumptions allowed for the motor lower than a first threshold, a normal level, which corresponds to energy consumptions allowed by the motor between the first threshold and a second threshold greater than the first threshold ([0030]: "a normal mode) and a performance level ([0030]: "a power mode"), which corresponds to energy consumptions allowed for the motor greater than the second threshold ([0030]: "output control unit 302 is configured to be able to switch between a plurality of predetermined modes (for example, an energy saving mode, a normal mode, and a power mode)”; See also figure 5 for the gradual threshold values corresponding to each P value, and mode).
Regarding claim 6, TASAKA discloses control means, which can be operated by an operator, connected to said processing means and configured for selecting said general consumption levels ([0039]: "The output control unit 302 switches between the normal mode, the energy saving mode, and the power mode according to the instruction of the user”).
Regarding claim 7, TASAKA discloses measurement means designed for measuring the operational consumption levels ([0039]: " the output control unit 302 monitors the state of the forklift 600").
Regarding claim 8, TASAKA discloses the processing means comprises a setting module configured for automatically selecting said operational consumption levels as a function of the measurements performed by said measurement means ([0039]: "Alternatively, the output control unit 302 monitors the state of the forklift 600 and switches the mode autonomously according to the detected state”).
Regarding claim 16, TASAKA discloses each general consumption level comprises two or more operational consumption levels ([0030]).
Claims 2-3, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASAKA and Koebler in further view of KUNIKATA (JPH107399A; Examiner relied on English translation attached herein).
Regarding claim 2, TASAKA discloses a plurality of operating apparatuses including locomotion means (11) (Fig. 1).
However, TASAKA does not explicitly state operating boom (12), accessory (13) carried by said boom, stabilisers (14) and rotary tower (16).
On the other hand, KUNIKATA teaches operating boom (12), accessory (13) carried by said boom, stabilisers (14) and rotary tower (16) (Fig. 6).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the TASAKA reference and include features from the KUNIKATA reference with a reasonable expectation of success, and perform the functions disclosed in the TASAKA reference to the plurality of operating apparatuses in KUNIKATA. Doing so provides the advantage of reducing power consumption while suppressing reduction of an operation feeling, as disclosed in the Abstract of TASAKA.
Regarding claim 3, TASAKA discloses a first electric motor (21) to which locomotion means are functionally connected and a second electric motor (22) to which at least another operating apparatus is functionally connected (Fig. 1, M1 and M2; [0026]).
Regarding claim 10, TASAKA discloses the processing means comprise a hydraulics limiting module (33) configured to determine a maximum power which can be delivered to said second electric motor (22), as a function of said maximum power deliverable from the at least one source of electricity; and a traction limiting module (34), configured to determine a maximum power which can be delivered to the first electric motor (21), as a function of said maximum power deliverable from the at least one source of electricity ([0027]: “The second power converter 102 supplies power corresponding to the second control command value S2 to the cargo handling motor M2, and controls the rotation thereof. The elevator body 606 is connected to the hydraulic actuator 116. The hydraulic actuator 116 converts the rotational motion generated by the cargo handling motor M2 into a linear motion, and controls the lifting and lowering body 606”; [0031]: "The second power converter 102 supplies power corresponding to the second control command value S2 to the cargo handling motor M2, and controls the rotation thereof. The elevator body 606 is connected to the hydraulic actuator 116. The hydraulic actuator 116 converts the rotational motion generated by the cargo handling motor M2 into a linear motion, and controls the lifting and lowering body 606 ..... The output control unit 302 gives priority to the first power conversion device 100, the second power conversion device 102, and the third power conversion device 104, and limits power consumption in order from the power conversion devices with lower priorities. In other words, the traveling motor Mt, the cargo handling motor M2, and the steering motor M3 are ranked'').
Regarding claim 12, TASAKA does not explicitly state the operating conditions include at least two of the following: a position of a load transported on the accessory (13), a weight of the load, whether an operating surface is flat or inclined, whether the operating boom (12) is moving up or down, whether the machine (1) is stationary or moving, whether the machine is stabilized or not, type of accessory (13) mounted on the operating boom (12), an oil flow rate required to perform an operation of the operating boom (12), a translation speed, a road circulation condition, a static operating condition, a dynamic operating condition or a status of an energy source.
On the other hand, KUNIKITA teaches the operating conditions include at least two of the following: a position of a load transported on the accessory (13), a weight of the load ([0004]), whether an operating surface is flat or inclined, whether the operating boom (12) is moving up or down, whether the machine (1) is stationary or moving ([0007]; [0012]; [0016]), whether the machine is stabilized or not, type of accessory (13) mounted on the operating boom (12), an oil flow rate required to perform an operation of the operating boom (12), a translation speed, a road circulation condition, a static operating condition, a dynamic operating condition or a status of an energy source.
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the TASAKA reference and include features from the KUNIKATA reference with a reasonable expectation of success, and perform the functions disclosed in the TASAKA reference to the plurality of operating apparatuses in KUNIKATA. Doing so provides the advantage of reducing power consumption while suppressing reduction of an operation feeling, as disclosed in the Abstract of TASAKA.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASAKA, Koebler, KUNIKATA in further view of HUISSOON (US2018106017A1: Note: This is the US version of the CN105813874A reference cited by the applicant in the IDS dated 12/21/2023).
Regarding claim 4, TASAKA does not explicitly state a hydraulic pump actuated by said second motor (22) and one or more hydraulic actuators powered by said pump and designed to actuate one or more of said operating apparatuses ([0080]; [0091]; [0095]: " the hydraulic pump 300 in the sub-frame 2 is coupled to an electric motor 303, which in turn is coupled to a suitable battery”).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the TASAKA reference and include features from the HUISSOON reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so provides the advantage of reducing power consumption of said operating apparatus while suppressing reduction of an operation feeling, as disclosed in the Abstract of TASAKA.
Claims 11, 18—20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TASAKA, Koebler, KUNIKATA, in further view of Abbott (US-20200076337-A1).
Regarding claim 11, TASAKA discloses the consumption management module (31) is configured to determine an operating traction power and an operating hydraulic power as a function of the general consumption level selected and of the operating condition of the machine (1) and wherein the processing means include a traction modulation module (35) and a hydraulics modulation module (36) configured to determine, respectively, a limit of an instantaneous power deliverable to the first motor (21) and a limit of an instantaneous power deliverable to the second motor (22) on the basis of the above-mentioned maximum traction power and maximum hydraulic power ([0039]-[ 0041]: “The output control unit 302 switches between the normal mode, the energy saving mode, and the power mode according to the instruction of the user.”; FIG. 5: the power mode, the normal mode, and the energy saving mode can be switched in order; [0041]: “At this time, the allowable output power PTOTAL decreases in the order of PMAX, PNORM, and PMIN according to the switching of the mode”, “When the allowable output power PTOTAL decreases to the intermediate value PNORM, the power consumption P2 of the second power conversion device 102 with low priority is limited. When the allowable output power PTOTAL decreases to the minimum value PMIN, the power consumption Pt of the first power conversion apparatus 100 with the next lowest priority is limited”).
However, TASAKA does not explicitly state operating traction power and hydraulics thresholds.
On the other hand, Abbott teaches operating traction power and hydraulics thresholds ([0018]; [0023]; [0126]).
It would have been obvious for someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current application to modify the teachings of the TASAKA reference and include features from the Abbott reference with a reasonable expectation of success. Doing so provides the advantage of reducing power consumption of said operating apparatus while suppressing reduction of an operation feeling, as disclosed in the Abstract of TASAKA.
Regarding claim 18, TASAKA discloses the limit of the instantaneous power deliverable to the first motor and the limit of the instantaneous power deliverable to the second motor do not exceed the maximum power deliverable from the at least one source of electricity ([0039]-[0041]: determining a total allowable power based on battery conditions and distributes this power among multiple motors, such that the power supplied to each motor is limited in accordance with the available total power, thus constrained by a maximum power).
Regarding claim 19, TASAKA discloses a sum of an actual instantaneous power delivered to the first motor, an actual instantaneous power delivered to the second motor and an actual instantaneous power delivered to accessory user devices is less than the maximum power deliverable from the at least one source of electricity ([0039]-[0041]; Fig. 5: the sum of the power delivered to the motors does not exceed the total available power)
Regarding claim 20, TASAKA discloses the limit of the instantaneous power deliverable to the first motor and the limit of the instantaneous power deliverable to the second motor are calculated dynamically to maximize a power available to the first motor and the second motor ([0039]-[0041]: the allocation of the power among the motors is dynamically adjusted based on system conditions).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13-15 and 17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/SHAHIRA BAAJOUR/Examiner, Art Unit 3666