DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/11/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the references in combination fail to disclose the following limitation “..automatically accessing, by the processing resources, a performance standard associated with the network accessible service based on the request to modify the control”
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Wang, discloses the network analysis system 124, Col 9, Lines 60-67 obtain WAN Link characteristic such as location and time as input to machine learning in order to update the local policy, Col 15, Lines 25-67, Col 16, Lines 5-15. The process of updating local policy (automatically access a performance standard with the network accessible service) is scheduled periodically (e.g., based on the modify control).
In another words, teaches “..automatically accessing, by the processing resources, a performance standard associated with the network accessible service based on the request to modify the control”.
Therefore, the argument is not persuasive, and the rejection is therefore maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al hereinafter Wang (US 11,637,753) in view of Evans et al hereinafter Evans (US 2019/0036816)
Referring to Claim 1. Wang discloses a method comprising: receiving, by one or more processing resource, a request to modify a control related to a network accessible service in a software defined network (modify the policies, refer to Col 5, Lines 4-5, Col 9, Lines 18-20); automatically accessing, by the processing resources, a performance standard associated with the network accessible service based on the request to modify the control (obtain the current WAN link characteristics, refer to Col 9, Lines 20-25, characteristics includes SLA information, refer to Col 10, Lines 5-33, refer to Col 9, Lines 18-30, the network analysis system 124, Col 9, Lines 60-67 obtain WAN Link characteristic such as location and time as input to machine learning in order to update the local policy, Col 15, Lines 25-67, Col 16, Lines 5-15. The process of updating local policy (automatically access a performance standard with the network accessible service) is scheduled periodically (e.g., based on the modify control); creating, by the processing resources, a communication path performance rule for the network accessible service to govern a provider network that provides access to the network accessible service (create local policy refer to Col 9, Lines 25-30, Lines 40-45); and creating, by the processing resources, a control rule including a security rule to govern the network accessible service exclusive of the provider network (creating local policy also includes the security rules, refer to Col 11, Lines 19-40, Col 4, Lines 30-40 and refer to Col 3, Lines 6, Col 2, Lines 60-65).
Evans, in analogous art, is introduced for expedite the prosecution, which demonstrate the well in the art features such as creating path performances rules as well as the control rules that govern the network accessible service (refer to par 0025 and 0026).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Wang and Evans since Evans’ teaching would allow the system of Wang to improve reliability for network communication.
Referring to Claim 2. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 1, Wang discloses storing, by the processing resources, the control rule and the communication path performance rule as part of a control group for the network accessible service (rules such as security QoS and QoE are all part of global policies and Local Policies which are for network accessing services, refer to Col 4, Lines 35-45 and are stored, refer to Col 15, Lines 60-67, Col 19, Lines 15-20).
Referring to Claim 3. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 1, Wang discloses comparing, by the processing resources, a first performance with a communication path performance rule (compare the collected performance with the polices, refer to Col 8, Lines 50-67, Col 9, Lines 40-50, Col 19, Lines 50-67 at the first location/site/edge, refer to Col 5, Lines 10-30); and selecting, by the processing resources, a first communication path based on the comparison of the first performance with the communication path performance rule (select different paths based on policies, refer to Col 8, Lines 50- Col 9, Lines 21 Col 13, Lines 10-20 and Col 19, Lines 50-67).
Referring to Claim 4, Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 3, Wang discloses comparing, by the processing resources, a second performance with the communication path performance rule (compare the collected performance with the polices, refer to Col 8, Lines 50-67, Col 19, Lines 50-67 at the second location/site/edge, refer to Col 5, Lines 10-30); and selecting, by the processing resources, a second communication path based at least in part on the comparison of the second performance with the communication path performance rule (select different paths based on policies, refer to Col 8, Lines 50- Col 9, Lines 21, Col 13, Lines 10-20 and Col 19, Lines 50-67).
Referring to Claim 5. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the first communication path comprises a first provider network and the second communication path comprises a second provider network (different edge such as 108A-108C, refer to Col 8, Lines 15-20 and Col 7, Lines 19-50).
Referring to Claim 6. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 4, Wang discloses wherein the control rule is a security rule that is unrelated to the selected first communication path (security rules are different to path selection rules, refer to Col 4, Lines 30-50).
Referring to Claim 7. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein the performance standard comprises at least one performance metric recommended by a provider of the network accessible service (standard from at least service orchestrator, Col 9, Lines 40-50).
Referring to Claim 8. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 7, Wang discloses wherein the performance standard further comprises one or more performance parameters selected from a group comprising a communication path bandwidth level, a communication path latency level, and a communication path jitter level (refer to Col 11, Lines 19-30, Col 19, Lines 25).
Referring to Claim 9. Wang and Evans disclosed the method of claim 1, Wang discloses wherein the performance standard associated with the network accessible service is accessed from a proxy service that includes both the actual name of the network accessible service and the performance standard corresponding to the network accessible service (destination information, and SLA refer to Col 19, Lines 5-51).
Referring to Claims 10 – 20, claims are rejected under similar rational as claims 1-10.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KAREN C TANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2447