DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-15 are pending;
Claims 1-4 and 5-8 are currently amended; claims 3-4 and 9-15 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-2, 5, 6-8 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, no information disclosure statement has been filed on behalf of this case.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 11/26/2025 is acknowledged.
The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hsu (U.S. Pat./Pub. No. 7758217 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Hsu teaches a cable clamp, comprising: a body (10), provided with at least one threading hole (120) through which a cable passes, and at least one elastic [inherent, at least to some extent] blocking tooth (32) set inside the at least one threading hole, the at least one elastic blocking tooth comprising a root (portion attached to 30) and an outer end (end of 32 contacting 200) each, the root of the blocking tooth being fixed to an inner wall of the threading hole and extending from the inner wall towards a middle of the at least one threading hole;
if there are more than one blocking teeth in the same threading hole, a holding position for the cable to pass through and be holdered being formed between the outer ends of all the blocking teeth in the same threading hole, and if there is only one blocking tooth in the same threading hole, the holding position being formed between the inner wall opposite to the blocking tooth and the outer end of the blocking tooth [see Fig. 3 for configuration].
Regarding claim 2, Hsu teaches the sidewall of the threading hole is provided with an opening (140) that communicates with the threading hole.
Regarding claim 5, Hsu teaches the bottom of the body of the cable holder is provided with a fixing component (20) used to fix the cable holder to an external object.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (U.S. Pat./Pub. No. 7758217 B2) in view of Chen (U.S. Pat. No. 20140014787 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Hsu teaches the fixing component. However, Hsu does not explicitly teach the fixing component is an adhesive layer or a suction cup. Chen teaches the fixing component is an adhesive layer (Chen; 21).
There are a finite number of choices available to one of ordinary skill in the art for fixing the component as evidenced by Chen e.g. Fig. 1B of Chen discloses insertion anchor as the fixing component and Fig. 2A discloses the adhesive layer as the fixing component. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the invention of Hsu having the adhesive layer. The motivation would have been to facilitate the attachment of the cable clamp.
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hsu (U.S. Pat./Pub. No. 7758217 B2) in view of McMillan (U.S. Pat. No. 4267995).
Regarding claim 7, Hsu teaches in that the blocking teeth. However, Hsu is silent to disclose the blocking teeth are made of an elastic plastic material. McMillan teaches the blocking teeth (McMillan: 22) are made of an elastic plastic material (McMillan; Col. 2; lines 19-21).
Hsu and McMillan are analogous because they are from the same field of endeavor or a similar problem-solving area e.g. providing a structure for supporting an object. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the cable clamp of Hsu made of elastic plastic material. The motivation would have been to make the invention resilient to accommodate various diameter of the cables.
Regarding claim 8, Hsu as modified teaches the material of the body (10) of the cable holder is consistent with that of the blocking teeth, and the body and the blocking teeth are integrally formed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631