DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS, filed 10/14/2025, with respect to of nonstatutory double patenting rejections have been fully considered and are persuasive. The nonstatutory double patenting rejections of claims 2-19 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) rejections under 102 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 2, 5,7-8, 11, 13-14, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ericsson (DL signals and channels for NR-U, November 18th – 22nd, 2019, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #99, R1- 1912086, Reno, USA).
Regarding claim 2, Ericsson teaches A base station (Proposal 9 the gNB), comprising:
at least one memory (Note: inherent in gNB); and
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory (Note: inherent in gNB)and configured to cause the base station to:
transmit a configuration that indicates a plurality of groups of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets, Proposal 9 the gNB can indicate to UEs to switch to a non-default search space set e.g. a slot-based search space set within the gNB shared COT, and gNB can indicate to the UE to switch back to default search space group e.g. mini-slot based monitoring), wherein the plurality of groups of search space sets comprises a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets); and
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) comprising a group switching flag dedicated to group switching , wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 (page 8 Summary of SSSG switching procedures switching indication is based on detection of DCI 2_0 and the value of a 1-bit flag), and wherein a value of the group switching flag indicates at least one action associated with the plurality of groups of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default).
Regarding claim 5, Ericsson teaches the base station of claim 2, wherein the value of the group switching flag indicates to stop monitoring of the second group of search space sets and start monitoring of the first group of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default or keeps monitoring non-default search space set group)).
Regarding claim 7, Ericsson teaches the base station of claim 2, wherein a second set of actions comprises stopping monitoring the second group of search space sets and starting monitoring the first group of search space sets if no physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is detected in the second group of search space sets for a predetermined time (Proposal 9 after some period, if the UE does not detect GC-PDCCH, it switches back to monitoring of default search space set group).
Regarding claim 8, Ericsson teaches A processor for wireless communication (Note: inherent in a gNB), comprising:
at least one controller coupled with at least one memory (Note: inherent in gNB) and configured to cause the processor to:
transmit a configuration that indicates a plurality of groups of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets, Proposal 9 the gNB can indicate to UEs to switch to a non-default search space set e.g. a slot-based search space set within the gNB shared COT, and gNB can indicate to the UE to switch back to default search space group e.g. mini-slot based monitoring), wherein the plurality of groups of search space sets comprises a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets); and
transmit a downlink control information (DCI) comprising a group switching flag dedicated to group switching , wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 (page 8 Summary of SSSG switching procedures switching indication is based on detection of DCI 2_0 and the value of a 1-bit flag), and wherein a value of the group switching flag indicates at least one action associated with the plurality of groups of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default).
Regarding claim 11, Ericsson teaches The processor of claim 8, wherein the value of the group switching flag indicates to stop monitoring of the second group of search space sets and start monitoring of the first group of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default or keeps monitoring non-default search space set group))..
Regarding claim 13, Ericsson teaches The processor of claim 8, wherein a second set of actions comprises stopping monitoring the second group of search space sets and starting monitoring the first group of search space sets if no physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is detected in the second group of search space sets for a predetermined time (Proposal 9 after some period, if the UE does not detect GC-PDCCH, it switches back to monitoring of default search space set group).
Regarding claim 14, Ericsson teaches A method at a base station (Proposal 9 the gNB), the method comprising:
transmiting a configuration that indicates a plurality of groups of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets, Proposal 9 the gNB can indicate to UEs to switch to a non-default search space set e.g. a slot-based search space set within the gNB shared COT, and gNB can indicate to the UE to switch back to default search space group e.g. mini-slot based monitoring), wherein the plurality of groups of search space sets comprises a first group of search space sets and a second group of search space sets (Section 3 first bullet A UE can be provided with at least two groups (FFS: more than two groups) of search space sets); and
transmitting a downlink control information (DCI) comprising a group switching flag dedicated to group switching , wherein the DCI comprises a DCI format 2_0 (page 8 Summary of SSSG switching procedures switching indication is based on detection of DCI 2_0 and the value of a 1-bit flag), and wherein a value of the group switching flag indicates at least one action associated with the plurality of groups of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default).
Regarding claim 17, Ericsson teaches The method of claim 14, wherein the value of the group switching flag indicates to stop monitoring of the second group of search space sets and start monitoring of the first group of search space sets (proposal 9 a. bit flag = 1 indicates that UE switches to non-default search space group monitoring from default or keeps monitoring non-default search space set group))..
Regarding claim 19, Ericsson teaches The method of claim 14, wherein a second set of actions comprises stopping monitoring the second group of search space sets and starting monitoring the first group of search space sets if no physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) is detected in the second group of search space sets for a predetermined time (Proposal 9 after some period, if the UE does not detect GC-PDCCH, it switches back to monitoring of default search space set group)..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 12, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ericsson in view of MEDIATEK INC (DL Signals and Channels for NR-U Operation, November 18th – 22nd, 2019, 3GPP TSG RAN WG1 #99, R1- 1912086, Reno, USA).
Regarding claim 6, Ericsson teaches the base station of claim 2, but does not teach
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag.
In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag (MEDIATEK section 2.3 fifth paragraph UE will switch from the first group to the second group at the first or second slot boundary of the indicated COT after a DCI format 2_0 is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ericsson by incorporating MEDIATEK INC slot boundary to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have defined the time for performing the switching action.
Regarding claim 12, Ericsson teaches The processor of claim 8, but does not teach
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag.
In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag (MEDIATEK section 2.3 fifth paragraph UE will switch from the first group to the second group at the first or second slot boundary of the indicated COT after a DCI format 2_0 is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ericsson by incorporating MEDIATEK INC slot boundary to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have defined the time for performing the switching action.
Regarding claim 18, Ericsson teaches The method of claim 14, but does not teach
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag.
In a similar endeavor, MEDIATEK teaches
wherein a slot boundary is at least a configured number of symbols later than a last symbol of a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH), and the slot boundary indicates a time to apply the at least one action corresponding to the value of the group switching flag (MEDIATEK section 2.3 fifth paragraph UE will switch from the first group to the second group at the first or second slot boundary of the indicated COT after a DCI format 2_0 is detected).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the examined application to have modified Ericsson by incorporating MEDIATEK INC slot boundary to arrive at the invention.
The motivation of doing so would have defined the time for performing the switching action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAID M ELNOUBI/ Examiner, Art Unit 2644