DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-12, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al. (US 20190298987) in view of Kirson et al. (US 20200001069).
Regarding claim 1, Freeman discloses a garment 110 configured to generate an AC voltage (section 0148, 0171, The device then causes one or more therapeutic shocks, for example, defibrillating and/or pacing shocks, to be delivered to the body of the patient. each defibrillation pulse can deliver between 60 to 400 joules (J) of energy. In some implementations, the defibrillating pulse can be a biphasic truncated exponential waveform, whereby the signal can switch between a positive and a negative portion), the garment 110 comprising: a support layer configured to be worn on a subject's body (Section 0161, at least some of the components of the medical device can be configured to be affixed to the garment or in some examples, permanently secured into the garment, which can be worn about the patient's torso); an amplifier 202 for converting an input voltage to the AC voltage (Section 0183-0184, the therapy delivery circuit can include one or more power converters for controlling the charging and discharging of the one or more capacitors); control circuitry 218 communicatively coupled to the amplifier and configured to control the frequency and amplitude of the AC voltage output from the amplifier (section 0183, voltage and/or current measuring components, and other similar circuitry components arranged and connected such that the circuitry components work in concert with the therapy delivery circuit 202 and under control of one or more processors (e.g., processor 218) to provide, for example, one or more pacing or defibrillation therapeutic pulses); and at least one battery 210 coupled to the amplifier and configured to supply the input voltage to the amplifier (section 0206, the garment 110 removably couples to a rechargeable battery 210 for powering the plurality of capacitors); wherein the amplifier 202 , the control circuitry 218, and the at least one battery 210 are integrated into the garment such that the weight of the amplifier, the control circuitry, and the at least one battery is supported by the support layer (Fig. 4A-B, Sections 0205, 0207, 0214, the garment 110 may be washed or worn in shower without damaging the electrical components that are permanently disposed into the garment 110. In implementations at least one of the plurality of sensing electrodes 112, the plurality of therapy electrodes 114, and one or more components of the controller 120 e.g. capacitors 403, therapy delivery circuit 202, processor 218 are housed in one or more water resistant housings, or enclosures).
However, Freeman does not disclose the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz. Kirson discloses a garment 62 (Fig. 6A, section 0044) for generating AC voltage with the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz (section 0066, the frequency of the AC voltages is between 100 and 500 kHz, and in some preferred embodiments, the frequency is between 125 and 250 kHz). This allows for proper AC electric fields at specific frequencies to be delivered for treating tissues of a subject’s body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Freeman by adding generating AC voltage with the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz as taught by Kirson in order to facilitate proper AC electric fields at specific frequencies to be delivered for treating tissues of a subject’s body.
Regarding claim 2, Freeman in view of Kirson, specfically, Freeman discloses the garment comprises a vest (section 0014, 0034, the garment includes at least one of a vest worn about the torso of the patient).
Regarding claim 3, Freeman discloses one or more of the at least one battery 210 is disposed at a location of the support layer under an arm hole of the vest (Fig. 1-2, section 0187, the garment may include a vest portion worn about an upper torso of the patient and a separate belt portion that is detachable from the vest. In this example, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface , battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion).
Regarding claim 4, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically, Freeman discloses the garment comprises a belt or fanny pack (section 0187, the garment may include a vest portion worn about an upper torso of the patient and a separate belt portion that is detachable from the vest).
Regarding claim 5, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses the support layer comprises at least one compartment holding one or more of the at least one battery, the amplifier, and/or the control circuitry therein (Figs. 1-2, section 0187, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface , battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion).
Regarding claim 6, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses one or more of the at least one battery is removably disposed in the support layer and is replaceable with at least one other battery (Figs. 1-2, section 0187, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface , battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion).
Regarding claim 7, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses the control circuitry is coupled to the at least one battery and configured to monitor a remaining charge of the at least one battery (section 0183, voltage and/or current measuring components, and other similar circuitry components arranged and connected such that the circuitry components work in concert with the therapy delivery circuit 202 and under control of one or more processors (e.g., processor 218) to provide, for example, one or more pacing or defibrillation therapeutic pulses).
Regarding claim 9, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses at least a skin-facing portion of the support layer is washable (Section 0214, the garment 110 may be washed).
Regarding claim 11, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses a lead connector electrically coupled to the amplifier and configured to transmit the AC voltage to leads for a pair of transducers and to receive sensor signals from the pair of transducers, the lead connector being integrated into the garment such that the weight of the lead connector is supported by the support layer (section 0190, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are electrically connected to the controller 120 and the therapy delivery circuit 202 by one or more wires 121a, 121b. The one or more wires 121a, 121b may be woven into the garment ).
Regarding claim 12, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses leads for coupling the amplifier to a pair of transducers, the leads being located within the support layer such that the leads do not contact the subject's skin while the subject is wearing the garment (section 0190, the therapy electrodes 114 and the sensing electrodes 112 are electrically connected to the controller 120 and the therapy delivery circuit 202 by one or more wires 121a, 121b. The one or more wires 121a, 121b may be woven into the garment).
Regarding claim 16, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses a reflective material or an insulating material located between the amplifier and a skin-facing portion of the support layer (section 0191, In some implementations, the one or more wires 121a, 121b can be insulated in a cable routed discreetly in a hemline of the garment ).
Regarding claim 17, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses a cooling system configured to cool the amplifier 202, the cooling system being integrated into the garment such that the weight of the cooling system is supported by the support layer (Fig. 4B shows the sleeveless shirt and the amplifier attached to the body and open to air for cooling purposes).
Regarding claim 18, Freeman discloses a system configured to generate an AC voltage (section 0148, 0171, The device then causes one or more therapeutic shocks, for example, defibrillating and/or pacing shocks, to be delivered to the body of the patient. each defibrillation pulse can deliver between 60 to 400 joules (J) of energy. In some implementations, the defibrillating pulse can be a biphasic truncated exponential waveform, whereby the signal can switch between a positive and a negative portion), comprising: a first garment 110 comprising a vest configured to be worn on a subject's body (section 0014, 0034, the garment includes at least one of a vest worn about the torso of the patient); a second garment comprising a belt or fanny pack configured to be worn on the subject's body (section 0187, the garment may include a vest portion worn about an upper torso of the patient and a separate belt portion that is detachable from the vest); an amplifier 202 for converting an input voltage to the AC voltage (Section 0183-0184, the therapy delivery circuit can include one or more power converters for controlling the charging and discharging of the one or more capacitors); control circuitry 218 communicatively coupled to the amplifier and configured to control the frequency and amplitude of the AC voltage output from the amplifier (section 0183, voltage and/or current measuring components, and other similar circuitry components arranged and connected such that the circuitry components work in concert with the therapy delivery circuit 202 and under control of one or more processors (e.g., processor 218) to provide, for example, one or more pacing or defibrillation therapeutic pulses); and at least one battery 210 coupled to the amplifier and configured to supply the input voltage to the amplifier (section 0206, the garment 110 removably couples to a rechargeable battery 210 for powering the plurality of capacitors); wherein the amplifier 202 , the control circuitry 218, and the at least one battery 210 are integrated into the first and second garments such that the weight of the amplifier, the control circuitry, and the at least one battery is supported by the combination of the vest and the belt or fanny pack (Fig. 4A-B, Sections0187, 0205, 0207, 0214, Figs. 1-2, section 0187, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface, battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion. The garment 110 may be washed or worn in shower without damaging the electrical components that are permanently disposed into the garment 110. In implementations at least one of the plurality of sensing electrodes 112, the plurality of therapy electrodes 114, and one or more components of the controller 120 e.g. capacitors 403, therapy delivery circuit 202, processor 218 are housed in one or more water resistant housings, or enclosures).
However, Freeman does not disclose the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz. Kirson discloses a garment 62 (Fig. 6A, section 0044) for generating AC voltage with the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz (section 0066, the frequency of the AC voltages is between 100 and 500 kHz, and in some preferred embodiments, the frequency is between 125 and 250 kHz). This allows for proper AC electric fields at specific frequencies to be delivered for treating tissues of a subject’s body. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Freeman by adding generating AC voltage with the frequency of the AC voltage output from the amplifier is in a range of 50kHz to 1MHz as taught by Kirson in order to facilitate proper AC electric fields at specific frequencies to be delivered for treating tissues of a subject’s body.
Regarding claim 19, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses the amplifier 202 is disposed in the vest, at least a portion of the control circuitry is disposed in the vest, and one or more of the at least one battery 210 is disposed in the belt or fanny pack (Figs. 1-2, section 0187, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface, battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion)
Regarding claim 20, Freeman in view of Kirson , specfically Freeman discloses the amplifier is disposed in the belt or fanny pack, at least a portion of the control circuitry is disposed in the vest, and one or more of the at least one battery is disposed in the vest (Figs. 1-2, section 0187, the sensing electrodes and/or therapy electrodes may be a permanent portion of the vest and the various modules (e.g., the therapy delivery circuit , the sensor interface , the processor , the network interface , and the user interface, battery, described with regard to FIG. 2) may be removably or permanently attached to the belt portion).
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freeman et al. (US 20190298987) in view of Kirson (US 20200001069) in view of McIntyre (US 20220030987).
Regarding claim 13, Freeman in view of Kirson discloses the invention substantially as claimed however does not specfically discloses a charge port coupled to the amplifier, the charge port being integrated into the garment such that the weight of the charge port is supported by the support layer.
McIntyre discloses a garment 10 with a charge port 50 coupled to the amplifier, the charge port being integrated into the garment such that the weight of the charge port is supported by the support layer (Fig. 5A-B, 7, section 0063, 0070, the connector plug 258′, 258″ includes the flexible wire/cable 98 extending from the pocket 88, 88″ to connect the battery controller 50′, 50″ (along with the battery pack 22) to the glove circuit portion 256 of the glove 10′, 10″. To connect to the glove circuit portion, 256, the user opens the pocket 88, 88″ to access the plug connector 258 (FIG. 5A), and the receptacle 50′, 50″ (along with the supported battery pack 22) is connected by the connector plug. The illustrated receptacle 50 is operable separate from the glove 10 to, for example, charge the battery pack 22, power another electrical device (not shown), etc.). This allows for the battery of the control circuit to have an easy access to be properly charged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Freeman in view of Kirson by adding a charge port as taught by McIntyre in order to facilitate the battery of the control circuit to have an easy access to be properly charged.
Regarding claim 14, Freeman in view of Kirson discloses the invention substantially as claimed however does not does not specifically discloses the charge port is coupled to the at least one battery and the control circuitry, wherein the control circuitry is configured to selectively direct power from the charge port to the at least one battery for charging the at least one battery or to the amplifier for supplying the input voltage.
McIntyre discloses the charge port is coupled to the at least one battery and the control circuitry, wherein the control circuitry is configured to selectively direct power from the charge port to the at least one battery for charging the at least one battery or to the amplifier for supplying the input voltage (Fig. 5A-B, 7, section 0063, 0070, the connector plug 258′, 258″ includes the flexible wire/cable 98 extending from the pocket 88, 88″ to connect the battery controller 50′, 50″ (along with the battery pack 22) to the glove circuit portion 256 of the glove 10′, 10″. To connect to the glove circuit portion, 256, the user opens the pocket 88, 88″ to access the plug connector 258 (FIG. 5A), and the receptacle 50′, 50″ (along with the supported battery pack 22) is connected by the connector plug. The illustrated receptacle 50 is operable separate from the glove 10 to, for example, charge the battery pack 22, power another electrical device (not shown), etc.). This allows for the battery of the control circuit to have an easy access to be properly charged. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the invention, to modify the device of Freeman in view of Kirson by adding a charge port as taught by McIntyre in order to facilitate the battery of the control circuit to have an easy access to be properly charged.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 8, 10, 15 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796