DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remark, see pages 7-8, filed 12/16/2025, with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot, because the new ground of rejection incorporates a new interpretation of the claims that rely on different combination of prior art that now includes Griffin, and is considered to teach the newly amended language specifically challenged in the remarks/interview. Note, newly presented amendment to independent claims 1, 13 and 20 are not sufficient in overcoming Silvanto in view of Griffin in its current form. Please see revised rejection of the claims below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 13-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvanto 2018/0113493 in view of Griffin 2017/0060180.
Regarding claim 1, Silvanto discloses a device (Figs 1-35), comprising: a first
portion (304 for example, Fig 3B; note similar structure in Fig 5B, 5C however
not labeled) including first (305, Fig 3A) and second spaced-apart surfaces (328,
Fig 3A) extending from a first hinge end (320, Fig 3B) to a first distal end (334, Fig
3B); a second portion (end opposite where 320 is disposed on the first portion —
not shown, Fig 3B) including third (331, Fig 3B) and fourth spaced-apart surfaces
(other 331, Fig 3B) extending from a second hinge end (end closer to 306, Fig 3B) to a second distal end (end opposite where 306 is disposed on the first portion —not shown, Fig 3B); a biasing assembly (310, 314, 512 or 514, Figs 3B 5B, 5C) positioned in the first portion between the first and second spaced-apart surfaces (see Figs 5B, 5C); and, a flexible hinge (322, Fig 3B) that rotatably secures the first and second portions through a range of angular orientations (see Fig 3A with respect to Fig 3B, for example), the flexible hinge secured to the biasing assembly between the first and second spaced-apart surfaces (as depicted Fig 3B, for example) and extending out of the first hinge end to a coupler (307, Fig 3B) that removably couples to the hinge end of the second portion (untethered, par 0080; as depicted Fig 3B), the biasing assembly creating a biasing force on the flexible hinge from the first hinge end toward the first distal end (spring/coil portion 512/514 inherently exudes biasing force, Figs 5B, 5C) and an extent of the flexible hinge exposed at the first hinge end (portion of 322/502 disposed between 306 and 320, for example, Figs 3A-5C) is determined by an angular orientation of the first and second portions (as in Fig 3B, for example).
Silvanto discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the second hinge end including a first magnet; the coupler including a second magnet that creates a retention force with the first magnet between the hinge end of the second portion and the coupler.
Griffin, however, teaches a similar structure (Figs 10, 11) including a second hinge end (end near 618, Fig 10) including a first magnet (622, Fig 10); a coupler (610, Fig 10) including a second magnet (612, Fig 10) that creates a retention force with the first magnet between the hinge end of a second portion (‘object’ retained in 610-not shown, par 0061) and the coupler (Figs 10, 11).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Silvanto to include a first magnet and a second magnet in the manner claimed, and, as taught by Griffin, in order to store components of the device through retaining feature hidden from view with recessed region of the second portion so that the stored component does not protrude in an undesirable manner, thereby improving functionality and aesthetics.
Regarding claim 13, Silvanto discloses a device (Figs 1-35), comprising: a
first portion (304 for example, Fig 3B; note similar structure in Fig 5B, 5C
however not labeled) including a first input/output device (see par 0164) and a second portion (302, Fig 3B) including a second input/output device (see par 0164); and, a hinge assembly (301, Fig 3B) comprising a flexible hinge (322, Fig 3B) that is biased into the first portion (see Fig 3B with respect to Fig 3A) and terminates in a coupler (at 307, Fig 3B) that removably couples the first and second portions (untethered, par 0080; as depicted Fig 3B; Fig 3B) and allows relative rotation between the first and second portions (see Figs 3A, 3B), the flexible hinge biased into the first portion to reduce a percentage of the flexible hinge exposed between the first and second portions at a given angular orientation of the first and second portions (percentage reduced for example in closed angular orientation, see slack on 310, Fig 3A).
Silvanto discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the first input/output device including a first magnet, the second input/output device including a second magnet; the coupler includes a third magnet that operates cooperatively with the first magnet to stabilize the coupler relative to the first portion and a fourth magnet that operates cooperatively with the second magnet to stabilize the coupler relative to the second portion.
Griffin, however, teaches a similar structure (Figs 20, 21) including the first input/output device (1200, Fig 20) including a first magnet (1222, Fig 20), a second input/output device (1300, Fig 20) including a second magnet (1322, Fig 20); a coupler (1213 including 1316, Fig 20) includes a third magnet (1322, Fig 20) that operates cooperatively with the first magnet to stabilize the coupler (Figs 20, 21) relative to a first portion (1212, Fig 20) and a fourth magnet (1324, Fig 20) that operates cooperatively with the second magnet (Fig 21) to stabilize the coupler relative to a second portion (connecting portion of 1300 to 1212-not labeled, Fig 20).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Silvanto to include a first, second, third and fourth magnet in the manner claimed, and, as taught by Griffin, in order to store/covered components of the device through retaining feature hidden from view with coupling region of the second portion so that the stored/covered component does not protrude or get exposed in an undesirable manner, thereby improving functionality and aesthetics.
Regarding claim 14, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 13, Silvanto teaches wherein the coupler (307, Fig 3B) electrically and mechanically couples to a receiver on the second portion (untethered, par 0080; as depicted Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 15, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 13, further comprising a biasing assembly positioned in the first portion that is configured to impart the bias on the flexible hinge into the first portion (spring/coil portion 512/514 inherently exudes biasing force, Figs 5B, 5C).
Regarding claim 16, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 13, Silvanto teaches wherein the first portion comprises first and second spaced-apart surfaces (305, 328, Fig 3A) and a hinge end (320, Fig 3B) that extends therebetween (Fig 3B), and further comprising a slot defined in the hinge end (at or near 324, Fig 3B) through which the flexible hinge extends from between the first and second spaced-apart surfaces (see Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 17, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 16, Silvanto teaches wherein an extent that the flexible hinge extends through the slot is determined by the angular orientation of the first and second portions (see Fig 3A with respect to Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 18, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 17, Silvanto teaches wherein the coupler (307, Fig 3B) is biased against the hinge end unless the bias is overcome by an external force created by the angular orientation of the first and second portions (see par 0052).
Regarding claim 19, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 13, Silvanto teaches wherein the first input/output device is a keyboard and the second input/output device is a display (see Figs 1-2) or wherein the first input/output device is a touch display and the second input/output device is a touch display (Background info).
Regarding claim 20, Silvanto discloses a device (Figs 1-35), comprising: a
first portion (304 for example, Fig 3B; note similar structure in Fig 5B, 5C however not labeled) including a first input/output device (see par 0164) and a second portion (302, Fig 3B) including a second input/output device (see par 0164); and, a flexible hinge (322, Fig 3B) biased into the first portion and extending out of a hinge end of the first portion and terminating in a coupler (307, Fig 3B) that removably couples to a hinge end of the second portion (untethered, par 0080; as depicted Fig 3B; Fig 3B) and relative proportions of the flexible hinge retracted into the first portion compared to extended out of the first portion are determined in part by an angular orientation of the first and second portions (reduced for example in closed angular orientation, see slack on 310, Fig 3A).
Silvanto discloses the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the coupler that is magnetically attracted to both the hinge end of the first portion and a hinge end of the second portion.
Griffin, however, teaches a similar structure (Figs 10, 11) including coupler (610, Fig 10) that is magnetically attracted to both a hinge end of a first portion (at 630, Fig 10) and a hinge end of a second portion (at 620, Fig 10).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the structure of Silvanto to include coupler that is magnetically attracted to both the hinge end of the first portion and a hinge end of the second portion in the manner claimed, and, as taught by Griffin, in order to store/covered components of the device through retaining feature hidden from view with coupling region of the second portion so that the stored/covered component does not protrude or get exposed in an undesirable manner, thereby improving functionality and aesthetics.
Claim(s) 2-6 and 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Silvanto 2018/0113493 in view of Griffin 2017/0060180 and further in view of Bitz 2023/0088731.
Regarding claim 2, Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the device of claim 1, Silvanto teaches wherein the range of angular orientations comprises from a zero-degree orientation to a 300-degree orientation (par 0071), and wherein the zero-degree orientation comprises the first surface against the third surface (as in Fig 3A, for example) and the 300-degree orientation comprises the second surface against the fourth surface (see par 0011 or 0075, for example).
Silvanto in view of Griffin disclose the claimed invention except for expressly teaching the range is 360 degrees.
Bitz however teaches a similar device (Title) including a range of 360
degrees (see par 0018).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art
before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the range of
angular rotation of the Silvanto in view of Griffin to reach 360 degrees, as taught by Bitz, in order to allow a fully opened orientation where there is little to no gap between surfaces, therefore ideal for compact use in the closed or open config. thereby improving functionality.
Regarding claim 3, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Bitz disclose the device of claim 2, Silvanto teaches wherein the biasing assembly is configured to cause the extent of the flexible hinge exposed between the first hinge end and the coupler at a given orientation to be generally uniform along a width of the flexible hinge (see Fig 3A with respect to Fig 3B, for example).
Regarding claim 4, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Bitz disclose the device of claim 3, Bitz already teaches 360-degree orientation capable device. While, Silvanto teaches wherein the extent of the flexible hinge exposed at the first hinge end is different at the zero-degree orientation than at the 300-degree orientation (see Fig 3A with respect to Fig 3B, for example).
Regarding claim 5, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Bitz disclose the device of claim 4, Silvanto teaches wherein the width of the flexible hinge (similar to 1410, for example, Fig 14A) is at least 75 percent of a width of the first portion (1418 for example Figs 14A, 14B), and wherein a width of the coupler (1422 for example, Figs 14A, 14B) is greater than the width of the flexible hinge (see Fig 14B).
Regarding claim 6, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Blitz disclose the device of claim 5, Silvanto teaches wherein the coupler includes third magnet that is aligned with a fourth magnet in the first hinge end of the first portion (see par 0102) when the flexible hinge is fully biased into the first portion and the coupler is positioned against the first hinge end (Figs 5A-5E, par 0102).
Regarding claim 9, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Bitz disclose the device of claim 6, Silvanto teaches wherein the flexible hinge further comprises electrical conductors that extend between electronic components in the first portion and the coupler (such as 311, Fig 3A), and the hinge end of the second portion comprises a receiver (such as 312, Fig 3A) that includes electrical conductors electrically coupled to electronic components of the second portion (see Fig 3A) and engagement of the coupler with the receiver both mechanically couples the first portion to the second portion (at 322a or 322b, Fig 3A) and electrically couples the electronic components of the first portion and the electronic components of the second portion (see Figs 3A, 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Blitz disclose the device of claim 6, Silvanto teaches the device further comprising a slot (at or near 324, Fig 3B) defined in the first hinge end through which the flexible hinge extends (see Figs 3A, 3B).
Regarding claim 11, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Blitz disclose the device of claim 10, Silvanto teaches wherein the coupler has a length that is greater than a length of the slot and/or the coupler has a thickness that is greater than a thickness of the slot (similarly see 1422 for example, Figs 14A, 14B).
Regarding claim 12, Silvanto in view of Griffin in view of Blitz disclose the device of claim 11, Silvanto teaches wherein the extent of the flexible hinge exposed at the first hinge end is at a minimum where the coupler is against the first hinge end the coupler is maintained between the first and second surfaces (see Fig 3A with respect to Fig 3B).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim,
but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the
limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The dependent claims listed below, in combination with the remaining elements of the independent claim(s) from which they directly/indirectly depend, are not taught, or adequately suggested in the prior art of record.
Claim 7. The device of claim 6, wherein when the coupler is engaging the
hinge end of the second portion and the flexible hinge is fully biased into the first
portion and the coupler is positioned against the first hinge end the third magnets and the fourth magnets provide stability that resists rotation and/or deformation
of the first portion relative to forces applied to the first surface.
Claim 8. The device of claim 6, wherein when the first and second portions
are physically separated from one another and the flexible hinge is fully biased
into the first portion and the coupler is positioned against the first hinge end the
third magnet and the fourth magnet provide stability that hold the coupler in a
fixed angular orientation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: see PTO 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RASHEN E MORRISON/Examiner, Art Unit 2841 /IMANI N HAYMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2841