DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/07/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasekhar (US 2024/0022900 A1, hereinafter Somasekhar) in view of Kang et al. (US 2022/0159448 A1, hereinafter Kang).
Regarding claim 1, Somasekhar teaches a user equipment (UE) ([Figure 1, device 102] and [0022] eSIM-capable device 102 can be any wireless device, i.e. a UE), comprising: an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) ([Figure 1, device 102] includes eUICC 108); a local profile assistant (LPA) coupled with the eUICC ([Figure 1, device 102] LPA 110 coupled with eUICC 108), the LPA configured to support a local management interface toward a user ([Figure 1, device 102] includes communication circuitry 112, configured to support local management toward a user via peripheral device 104); and a processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502) configured to cause the UE to, receive, via a local management interface, an attention (AT) command from a UE peripheral device ([0018] the eSIM profile and eUICC management commands are wirelessly pushed to or from the target device, target device read as UE, by the other device, other device read as UE peripheral device, using come-to-attention (AT) commands); determine that the AT command is for the eUICC ([0029] FIG. 2 illustrates example exchanges of AT messages and device actions 200. Message exchanges and device actions 200 involve eSIM-capable device 102 and UE peripheral device 104 and SMDP server 106, which engage in activating an eSIM for the eUICC, i.e. the AT command is determined to be for the eUICC via messages mentioned in figure 2), provide a request to the eUICC according to the AT command ([0031] At block 210 in FIG. 2, proxy LPA 114 conveys the AT commands to eUICC 108. The eUICC commands are extracted from the AT commands by eUICC 108 at block 212) and [Figure 3, message 1 and 2]; and provide an AT command response to the UE peripheral device via the local management interface (Figure 1, 102, 124, and 104] the UE 102 communicating with the UE peripheral device 104 via AT commands 124 and [Figure 3, message 22 and 23]).
Somasekhar differs from the claimed invention in not specifically disclosing the eUICC configured to support a plurality of embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) profiles; obtain, from the eUICC responsive the request, an indication of a status of the request; the AT command response based at least in part on the indication of the status. However, Kang teaches performing various operations for eSIM profiles within eUICCs and the eUICC configured to support a plurality of embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) profiles ([0064] plurality of profiles existing in a single eUICC is collectively referred to as a multiple enabled profile (MEP) function. [0050] The profiles may be eSIM profiles. That is, the eUICC may support multiple profiles, and said profiles may be eSIM profiles); obtain, from the eUICC responsive the request, an indication of a status of the request (([0148] in operation 940, the eUICC 910 may allow a response code (status word) if requested, i.e. the eUICC may be requested to respond with its status); the AT command response based at least in part on the indication of the status ([0154] If requested, eUICC 910 may transmit additional information to a UE framework 901 in operation 965 to provide the additional information to be utilized in the application or system of the UE. The additional information may be based on [0148] the status of the request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the eUICC be configured to support a plurality of embedded subscriber identity module (eSIM) profiles, have an indication of status for a status request, and have an AT command response based at least in part on the indication of the status, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 2, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502) is further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the AT command comprises a request to perform an activation code procedure to download and install an eSIM profile in the eUICC ([Figure 3, message 1 and 2] and [0020] message 1 from basic services set (BSS) of the wireless service provider conveys an activation code to proxy LPA 114, i.e. the proxy LPA 114 receives a request message for an activation code from the BSS and further sends said activation code to the eUICC in message 2), wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises an indication to initiate an activation code download procedure ([Figure 3, message 1, 2] and [0033] an AT command for the LPA within the UE to perform an activation code procedure to download and install an eSIM profile, i.e. the AT command indicates to initiate the activation code download procedure).
Regarding claim 5, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502).
Somasekhar does not specially teach identify a failure associated with the download or the install of the eSIM profile; and provide, via the local management interface and responsive to identifying the failure, an AT command response identifying a type of the failure. However, Kang teaches identify a failure associated with the download or the install of the eSIM profile ([Figure 6, step 660] and [0120] according to the verification result, the eUICC 610 may transmit an error message to the LPA 605 in operation 660, if there is a failure associated with the download or install of the eSIM profile); and provide, via the local management interface and responsive to identifying the failure, an AT command response identifying a type of the failure (Figure 6, step 665] and [0123] when the LPA 605 receives the error message, the LPA 605 may inform the end-user 601, via the local management interface, of the type of error regarding the profile download or install).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the ability to identify a failure associated with the download or the install of the eSIM profile and provide, via the local management interface and responsive to identifying the failure, an AT command response identifying a type of the failure, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 6, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502) is further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the AT command comprises a request to enable an eSIM profile in the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to enable the eSIM profile ([Figure 3, message 16 and 17] and [0033] AuthenticateClient API to SMDP server 106, which responds with JSON-formatted data in message 16. Proxy LPA 114 in message 17 conveys ES10B.prepareDownload API to eUICC 108, and in message 18, eUICC responds, i.e. AT command comprising a request to enable an eSIM profile in the eUICC, provided to the eUICC), and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of enabling the eSIM profile ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
Regarding claim 7, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502), and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of disabling the eSIM profile ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
Somasekhar does not specifically teach determine that the AT command comprises a request to disable a eSIM profile in the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to disable the eSIM profile. However, Kang teaches such ([Figure 15, step 1520] a request to disable an eSIM profile on the eUICC).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the ability to determine that the AT command comprises a request to disable a eSIM profile in the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to disable the eSIM profile, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 8, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502).
Somasekhar does not specially teach determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile, that a profile policy disallows disabling the eSIM profile, wherein the AT command response indicates the failure of disabling the eSIM profile. However, Kang teaches determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile ([Figure 15, step 1520]), that a profile policy ([Figure 6, steps 630 and 655] and [Figure 13, step 1335] verifying profile state and policy rules) disallows disabling the eSIM profile, wherein the AT command response indicates the failure of disabling the eSIM profile ([Figure 15, step 1535] and [0252] the MEP-support eUICC 1510 may return an error code to the LPA 1505 as a processing result in operation 1535, the error code may be one of profileNotInDisabledState, disallowedByPolicy, or UndefinedError, i.e. the profile policy may disallow disabling an eSIM profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the ability to determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile, that a profile policy disallows disabling the eSIM profile, wherein the AT command response indicates the failure of disabling the eSIM profile, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 9, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502), and the AT command response indicates the success of disabling the eSIM profile ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
Somasekhar does not specially teach determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile, that the eSIM profile has been disabled. However, Kang teaches determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile ([Figure 15, step 1520), that the eSIM profile has been disabled ([Figure 15, step 1530]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the ability to determine, based at least in part on the request to disable the eSIM profile, that the eSIM profile has been disabled, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 12, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502) is further configured to cause the UE to: determine that the AT command comprises one or more of a request to add or update a nickname of an eSIM profile of the plurality of eSIM profiles, read metadata of the eSIM profile, perform a memory reset for the eUICC, or update a default subscription manager data preparation platform (SM-DP+) address, wherein the AT command response comprises a confirmation of the one or more the request to add or update the nickname of the eSIM profile, read metadata of the eSIM profile, perform the memory reset, or update the default SM-DP+ address. ([Figure 3, message 16 and 17] reading metadata of the eSIM profile)
In addition to Somasekhar teaching the limitations listed in the claim, Kang teaches ([0048] and [0057] The eUICC or eSIM profiles can be named, i.e. a request can be made to add or update a nickname of an eSIM profile, [0063] the LPA may make a command request such as “GetProfileInfo( )” which may be used to obtain eSIM profile metadata, i.e. read metadata of the eSIM profile, and [0092] a eUICC memory reset is requested, i.e. performing a memory reset).
Regarding claim 14, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502).
Somasekhar does not specially teach determine that the AT command comprises a request to provide an eUICC identifier (EID) from the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to provide the EID. However, Kang teaches determine that the AT command comprises a request to provide an eUICC identifier (EID) from the eUICC ([0055] the eUICC identifier (eUICC ID) may be a unique identifier of the eUICC embedded in the terminal, and may be referred to as an EID, and the EID may be requested within a command), wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to provide the EID ([0114] the ID (EID) for the eUICC 505 is received, i.e. a request to provide the eUICC EID has occurred).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the ability to determine that the AT command comprises a request to provide an eUICC identifier (EID) from the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to provide the EID determine, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 15, Somasekhar teaches the eUICC comprises the LPA, or a modem of the UE comprises the LPA ([Figure 1, device 102] and [0022] eSIM-capable device 102 can be any wireless device and can include all or any combination of eUICC 108, LPA 110, and communication circuitry 112, i.e. the eUICC capable device may include the LPA).
In addition to Somasekhar teaching the limitations listed in the claim, Kang teaches ([Figure 4, 405] or [Figure 9, 905] and [0055] the terminal or device, device read as the UE comprising of the eUICC, may include software or an application installed in the terminal or device to control the eUICC, the software or application may be referred to as a local profile assistant (LPA)).
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Somasekhar teaches a user equipment (UE) peripheral device ([Figure 1, device 104] and [0022] other device, other device read as UE peripheral device, 104 illustratively includes an LPA 114 and communication circuitry 112, device 104 can, but need not, include an eUICC).
Regarding claim 17, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 18, Somasekhar does not specially teach AT command comprises a request to enable, disable, or delete a eSIM profile; and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of enabling, disabling, or deleting the eSIM profile. However, Kang teaches AT command comprises a request to enable (Figure 4, step 430), disable ([Figure 15, step 1520]), or delete a eSIM profile (the system may [0207] delete the cache values for information regarding eSIM profiles); and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of enabling, disabling, or deleting the eSIM profile ([Figure 9, step 965]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include a request to enable, disable, or delete an eSIM profile, and include an AT command response indicating a success or a failure of said request, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 12.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasekhar (US 2024/0022900 A1, hereinafter Somasekhar) and Kang et al. (US 2022/0159448 A1, hereinafter Kang) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2016/0277930 A1, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 3, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502), and provide, via the local management interface and responsive to the request to perform the activation code procedure ([Figure 3, message 1 and 2] and [0020] message 1 from basic services set (BSS) of the wireless service provider conveys an activation code to proxy LPA 114, i.e. the proxy LPA 114 receives a request message for an activation code from the BSS and further sends said activation code to the eUICC in message 2).
Somasekhar does not specifically disclose an AT command response indicating a confirmation code request to the UE peripheral device. However, Kang teaches ([Figure 7] and [0130] in operation 720, the LPA having received the corresponding message may selectively inform the user of the processing result according to a returned code value, message or [0148] response code (status word)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include an AT command response indicating a confirmation code request to the UE peripheral device, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
The combination of Somasekhar and Kang does not specifically disclose the AT command comprises a first AT command; and receive, from the UE peripheral device in response to the confirmation code request, a second AT command identifying a confirmation code. However, Li teaches [abstract] authentication and verification techniques of administrative operations for eSIMs of an eUICC including options to: [0005] install, modify, delete, import, export, enable, and/or disable eSIMs for the eUICC. In order to perform a listed command, the user may need to provide ([0005] to a request and clarify passwords, personal identification number (PIN) codes, signatures, or the like, and human/machine differentiation software, i.e. a confirmation code request command with an additional command to identify said confirmation code).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Somasekhar and Kang to include a first AT command (attention command) including a code request, and a second AT command identifying said code, as taught by Li, in order to improve end-user support by including a first and second AT command for confirmation codes and [0003] the ability to receive eUICCs that enable the mobile devices to access services provided by mobile network operators (MNOs).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches the confirmation code being a personal identification number (PIN) ([0005] the user may need to provide a personal identification number (PIN) code) in order to improve end-user support.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include an AT command response indicating a confirmation personal identification number (PIN) code request to the UE peripheral device, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasekhar (US 2024/0022900 A1, hereinafter Somasekhar) and Kang et al. (US 2022/0159448 A1, hereinafter Kang) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Gandhi et al. (US 2022/0014900 A1, hereinafter Gandhi).
Regarding claim 10, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502), and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of said action ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
The combination of Somasekhar and Kang does not specifically teach determine that the AT command comprises a request to delete an eSIM profile in the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to delete the eSIM profile, and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of deleting the eSIM profile. However, Gandhi teaches determine that the AT command comprises a request to delete an eSIM profile in the eUICC, wherein the request provided to the eUICC comprises the request to delete the eSIM profile ([0038] command(s) and/or messaging to install, activate, deactivate, and/or uninstall (delete) one or more eSIM profile(s) for one or more device(s), i.e. commands requesting to delete an eSIM profile in the eUICC, and [0097] a message that indicates the UE is to delete or deactivate the at least one electronic profile), and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of deleting the eSIM profile. Gandhi does not specifically teach indicating a success or a failure of deleting the eSIM profile, but Gandhi does teach deleting the eSIM profile ([0038 and 0097]). However, as stated earlier in the claim rejection, Somasekhar teaches the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of said action ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Somasekhar and Kang to include a command used for deleting an eSIM profile, as taught by Gandhi, in order to [0020] help control management and delivery of eSIM profiles.
Regarding claim 11, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502), and the AT command response indicates a success or a failure of said action ([Figure 3, message 22] an AT command response of the result of the eSIM operation).
Somasekhar does not specifically teach determine, based at least in part on the request to delete the eSIM profile, that a profile policy disallows deleting the eSIM profile. However, Kang teaches determine, based at least in part on the request to delete the eSIM profile ([Figure 15, step 1520]), that a profile policy ([Figure 6, steps 630 and 655] and [Figure 13, step 1335] verifying profile state and policy rules) disallows the eSIM profile ([Figure 15, step 1535] and [0252] the MEP-support eUICC 1510 may return an error code to the LPA 1505 as a processing result in operation 1535, the error code may be one of profileNotInDisabledState, disallowedByPolicy, or UndefinedError, i.e. the profile policy may disallow the operation for an eSIM profile).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include a profile policy verification system, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
The combination of Somasekhar and Kang teach each limitation in the claim as described above, but does not specifically teach the deleting the eSIM profile portion of the claim limitations. However, Gandhi does teach a command and an ability for deleting the eSIM profile ([0038 and 0097]), further described in claim 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Somasekhar and Kang to include a command used for deleting an eSIM profile, as taught by Gandhi, in order to [0020] help control management and delivery of eSIM profiles.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Somasekhar (US 2024/0022900 A1, hereinafter Somasekhar) and Kang et al. (US 2022/0159448 A1, hereinafter Kang) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Chaugule et al. (US 2022/0386104 A1, hereinafter Chaugule).
Regarding claim 13, Somasekhar teaches the processor ([Figure 5, 502] and [0040] processors 502).
Somasekhar does not specifically disclose to determine that the AT command comprises a notification management command. However, Kang teaches ([Figure 9, step 965] and [0154] additional information may be transmitted that is received from the eUICC 910 to a UE framework 901 in operation 965 to provide additional information to be utilized in the application or system of the UE, i.e. a status management command, read as notification management command).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Somasekhar to include the AT command comprises a notification management command, as taught by Kang, in order to improve end-user support and [0064] enable and manage a plurality of profiles in a single eUICC to help [0003] meet the demand for increased wireless data traffic.
The combination of Somasekhar and Kang does not specifically disclose the request provided to the eUICC comprises a request for a list of sequence numbers associated with one or more pending notifications, a request to send the one or more pending notifications to a subscription manager data preparation platform (SM-DP+), or a request to delete at least one of the one or more pending notifications. However, Chaugule teaches [abstract] conversion methods between physical SIM (pSIM) cards and electronic SIM (eSIM) on an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC) of a wireless device, wherein ([0043] a lookup server 802 may send a notification indicating that there is a list of pending notifications, such as commands, such as a command for a pending eSIM 208 profile to download to a mobile wireless device 102. At step 854, the mobile wireless device sends a message to the MNO SM-DP+ 712 server to retrieve the pending eSIM 208 profile. That is, a notification of a list of pending commands, commands read as notifications, and a request to send said commands to a subscription manager data preparation platform (SM-DP+)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Somasekhar and Kang to include the notification management command being capable of providing a list of pending notifications and sending said pending notifications to a subscription manager data preparation platform (SM-DP+), as taught in Chaugule, in order to [0027] provide improved user authentication and/or human intent verification commands to improve performance of administrative operations for eSIMs of an eUICC.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fan, Shunan et al. (2019). Profile download method and system, and related device (US 20190327605 A1). Filed 2016-03-03. Discloses an eSIM profile download method for an eUICC via an LPA. (abstract)
Boettger, David (2023). Minimal configuration synthetic esim profiles for wireless devices (US 2023/0247436 A1). Filed 2022-01-31. Discloses a profile download method and system for obtaining, via a user terminal’s LPA, download information regarding a target profile for an embedded universal integrated circuit card (eUICC). (abstract)
Boyapalle, Anantha K. et al. (2022). System and method of distribution of esim profiles to a plurality of enterprise endpoint devices (US 2022/0141642 A1). Filed 2020-10-30. Discloses information handling for eSIM profiles. (abstract)
Indurkar, Dhananjay (2021). Embedded subscriber identity module (esim) profile adaptation based on context (US 11140543 B1). Filed 2020-05-21. Discloses an IoT wireless communication device which includes an eUICC provisioned with a plurality of eSIM profiles. (abstract)
Li, Li et al. (2020). Methods and apparatus to manage inactive electronic subscriber identity modules (US 2020/0288298 A1). Filed 2020-03-03. Discloses managing inactive (disabled) electronic subscriber identity modules (eSIMs) on the Universal Integrated Circuit Cards (UICCs) and/or embedded UICCs (eUICCs) of a wireless device. (abstract)
Kang, Sujung et al. (2025). Method and device for processing enabled profile in closed port (US 2025/0227453 A1). Filed 2023-03-16. Discloses a method where a terminal and an eUICC support simultaneous activation (MEP) of multiple profiles by using a logical interface and control eSIM ports.
Kang, Sujung et al. (2022). Method and apparatus for installing and managing multiple esim profiles (US 2022/0046408 A1). Filed 2021-08-09. Discloses downloading and installing an eSIM profile in a terminal, and managing a plurality of installed eSIM profiles. (abstract)
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649