DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 04/11/2025 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 17-19, 22-24, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2022/0150950 A1, hereinafter Islam) in view of Jung et al. (US 2024/0089970 A1, hereinafter Jung) further in view of Lin et al. (US 2024/0397546 A1, hereinafter Lin).
Regarding claim 1, Islam teaches a user equipment (UE) ([Figure 12, device 1200] hardware resources for a network device, i.e. user equipment), comprising: one or more memories ([Figure 12, 1220] memory/storage devices 1220) storing processor-executable code ([Figure 12, 1250] instructions 1250); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212 and 1214] processor 1212 and processor 1214) to cause the UE to: receive one or more first signaling messages that schedule one or more wireless messages ([Figure 13, 1302] and [0028 and 0037] receiving first signal, capable of scheduling wireless messages), the one or more first signaling messages indicating a respective priority associated with each wireless message of the one or more wireless messages ([Figure 13, 1302] first signaling message indicating a priority); and receive a second signaling message-([Figure 13, 1306]).
Islam does not specifically teach the second signaling message indicates for the UE to adjust a communication of any wireless messages. However, Jung teaches as such ([Figure 6, 604] and [0006 and 0182] a second signaling message indicating the second priority, the second PUCCH being based on a second PUCCH configuration).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam to include the ability for the second signaling message to indicate the UE to adjust a communication of any wireless messages, as taught by Jung, in order to improve the abilities of [abstract] multiplexing uplink control information of different priorities to [0055] enable serving cells.
The combination of Islam and Jung does not specifically teach the -a priority threshold and second signaling message includes a priority less than the priority threshold; and communicate at least a portion of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on the priority threshold. However, Lin teaches as such ([0065 and 0134] a second low priority, less than the priority threshold, “the UE transmits the first PUCCH if the smallest priority value of the first PUCCH is smaller than sl-Priority Threshold; otherwise, the UE transmits the second PUCCH”, i.e. if the first PUCCH priority is not less than the priority threshold, a second signaling message will be sent to the UE indicating to change the priority to be lower than the priority threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam and Jung to include the use of a priority threshold, as taught by Lin, in order to help [0034] satisfy multiplexing timing relationships and improve [0035] priority channeling.
Regarding claim 4, Islam teaches the second signaling message further indicates a region of communication resources ([0044] teaches signaling messages indicate [0061] region/ location), and the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: drop, for the region of the communication resources, ([0044] UE may drop the grant-based UL transmissions from the occasion of overlap, i.e. wireless messages is dropped, and may be dropped on [0061] region/ location issues), and wherein communication of at least the portion of the one or more wireless messages is based at least in part on the subset of wireless messages being dropped ([0044] and [Figure 13, 1306] the second wireless message may be based on the subset of wireless messages being dropped).
The combination of Islam and Jung differ from the claimed invention and do not specifically teach a subset of wireless messages of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on each wireless message of the subset of wireless messages being associated with respective priorities that are less than the priority threshold. However, Lin teaches as such ([0065 and 0134] a second low priority, less than the priority threshold, “the UE transmits the first PUCCH if the smallest priority value of the first PUCCH is smaller than sl-Priority Threshold; otherwise, the UE transmits the second PUCCH”, i.e. if the first PUCCH priority is not less than the priority threshold, a second signaling message will be sent to the UE indicating to change the priority to be lower than the priority threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam and Jung to include the use of a priority threshold, as taught by Lin, in order to help [0034] satisfy multiplexing timing relationships and improve [0035] priority channeling.
Regarding claim 5, Islam teaches the region of the communication resources comprises a set of time resources and a set of frequency resources. ([0058] one or more bits of RV indication field, and/or time domain resource assignment field and/or frequency domain indication field and/or MCS field and/or other fields can be used, i.e. time resources and frequency resources may be used with communication resources).
Regarding claim 6, Islam teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: receive a signaling message of the one or more first signaling messages that configures a flexible channel ([Figure 13, 1302] and [0028 and 0037] receiving first signal, which may include one or more resource configurations, including communication channels, which are logical channels, logical channels read as flexible channels), wherein the flexible channel is configurable as an uplink channel associated with a first priority or a downlink channel associated with a second priority ([0008, 0028-0029, and 0037-0042] discloses a multitude of logical channels, logical channels read as flexible channels, that may be associated with different priorities and may be configured as an uplink channel associated with a first priority or a downlink channel associated with a second priority).
The combination of Islam and Jung do not specifically teach one of the first priority and the second priority is greater than or equal to the priority threshold; and determine that the flexible channel is the uplink channel or the downlink channel in accordance with which one of the first priority and the second priority is greater than or equal to the priority threshold, wherein communication of at least the portion of the one or more wireless messages is based at least in part on the determination. However, Lin teaches as such ([0028 and 0142] the following information that may be taught in opposite order, i.e. having priorities that are greater than the priority threshold: [0065 and 0134] a second low priority, less than the priority threshold, “the UE transmits the first PUCCH if the smallest priority value of the first PUCCH is smaller than sl-Priority Threshold; otherwise, the UE transmits the second PUCCH”, i.e. if the first PUCCH priority is not less than the priority threshold, a second signaling message will be sent to the UE indicating to change the priority to be lower than the priority threshold, as stated earlier, this process may be done in alternating order with a priority greater than the threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam and Jung to include a priority threshold and with uplink or downlink channels describing threshold determinations, as taught by Lin, in order to help [0034] satisfy multiplexing timing relationships and improve [0035] priority channeling.
Regarding claim 7, Islam teaches to communicate at least the portion of the one or more wireless messages ([Figure 13, 1302 through 1316]), the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: drop a first wireless message of the one or more wireless messages that is associated with a first priority based at least in part on the first wireless message at least partially overlapping in time with a second wireless message of the one or more wireless messages that is associated with associated with a second priority greater than the first priority ([0044] as shown in FIG. 1, UE may drop the UL transmission from the occasion of overlap, [0028] transmissions may have overlap in time and/or frequency, with the resource that is used by an urgent packet, which is based on priority).
Regarding claim 8, Islam teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250).
Islam does not specifically teach receive a third signaling message that enables multiplexing across multiple wireless messages transmitted by the UE. However, Jung teaches as such ([0047] the receiver 312 receives a multiplexed transmission comprising at least part of the first UCI with the second UCI on a third PUCCH, i.e. a third signaling message indicating multiplexing across messages transmitted by the UE based on the first two signaling messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam to include receiving a third signaling message that enables multiplexing across multiple wireless messages transmitted by the UE, as taught by Jung, in order to improve the abilities of [abstract] multiplexing uplink control information of different priorities to [0055] enable serving cells.
Regarding claim 11, Islam teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: receive, as part of the one or more first signaling messages ([Figure 13, 1302]), a respective multiplexing indicator associated with each wireless message of the one or more wireless messages ([0008] based on a prioritization indication in UL grant for a PUSCH, determine whether to multiplex UCI with the PUSCH, i.e. the priority indicator from the first signaling messages may contain a multiplexing indicator), wherein the respective multiplexing indicator indicates whether an associated wireless message is configured for multiplexing with other wireless messages ([0059] as shown in FIG. 2, UE can be configured for semi-static HARQ codebook multiplexing for supporting one and two parallel DL transmissions, i.e. the indicator described above indicates multiplexing with other wireless messages).
Regarding claim 12, Islam teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) and -being associated with a respective multiplexing indicator that indicates that the second wireless message is configured for multiplexing ([0008] based on a prioritization indication in UL grant for a PUSCH, determine whether to multiplex UCI with the PUSCH, i.e. the priority indicator from the first signaling messages may contain a multiplexing indicator and [0059] as shown in FIG. 2, UE can be configured for semi-static HARQ codebook multiplexing for supporting one and two parallel DL transmissions, i.e. the indicator described above indicates multiplexing with other wireless messages).
Islam does not specifically teach multiplex a first wireless message of the one or more wireless messages with a second wireless message of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on the second wireless message-. However, Jung teaches as such ([Figure 6, 606] and [0004] multiplexing at least part of the first UCI with the second UCI on a third PUCCH of the second priority, the third PUCCH being based on the second PUCCH configuration, i.e. multiplexing the first wireless message with a second wireless message being based at least in part on the second wireless message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam to include multiplexing a first wireless message of the one or more wireless messages with a second wireless message of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on the second wireless message, as taught by Jung, in order to improve the abilities of [abstract] multiplexing uplink control information of different priorities to [0055] enable serving cells.
Regarding claim 13, Islam teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) and -being associated with a respective multiplexing indicator that indicates that the third wireless message is configured for multiplexing ([0008] based on a prioritization indication in UL grant for a PUSCH, determine whether to multiplex UCI with the PUSCH, i.e. the priority indicator from the first signaling messages may contain a multiplexing indicator and [0059] as shown in FIG. 2, UE can be configured for semi-static HARQ codebook multiplexing for supporting one and two parallel DL transmissions, i.e. the indicator described above indicates multiplexing with other wireless messages).
Islam does not specifically teach -multiplex the first wireless message with a third wireless message of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on the third wireless message. However, Jung teaches as such ([Figure 6, 606] and [0004] multiplexing at least part of the first UCI with the second UCI on a third PUCCH, i.e. a multiplexed third message).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Islam to include multiplexing the first wireless message with a third wireless message of the one or more wireless messages based at least in part on the third wireless message., as taught by Jung, in order to improve the abilities of [abstract] multiplexing uplink control information of different priorities to [0055] enable serving cells.
Regarding claim 14, Islam teaches the second signaling message is a group common downlink control information message that is associated with a plurality of UEs comprising the UE ([Figure 13, 1304] the second signaling message, which may be associated with a plurality of UEs as shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 15, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1, further in view of Islam teaches a network entity ([Figure 3] and [0112] core network (CN) 320, may comprise a plurality of network elements 322).
Regarding claim 17, Islam teaches the second signaling message indicates for the plurality of UEs ([Figure 13, 1304] the second signaling message, which may be associated with a plurality of UEs as shown in FIG. 3) -to drop wireless messages ([0044] UE may drop the grant-based UL transmissions, i.e. the ability to drop wireless messages).
The combination of Islam and Jung differ from the claimed invention and do not specifically teach -associated with respective priorities that are less than the priority threshold. However, Lin also teaches the ability to drop wireless messages [0054-0057 and 0086] and the ability to do so based on respective priorities that are less than the priority threshold ([0054-0065]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam and Jung to include the use of a priority threshold, as taught by Lin, in order to help [0034] satisfy multiplexing timing relationships and improve [0035] priority channeling.
Regarding claim 18, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6, further in view of Islam teaches output, to the first UE of the plurality of UEs ([Figure 13, 1312] at operation 1312, a UE receives a first signal, which may be associated with a plurality of UEs as shown in FIG. 3).
Regarding claim 19, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 8.
Regarding claim 22, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 11.
Regarding claim 23, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 14.
Regarding claim 24, the claimed limitations of claim are reacted as the same reasons as set forth in claim 1.
Regarding claim 27, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 4.
Regarding claim 28, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 5.
Regarding claim 29, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 6.
Regarding claim 30, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 15.
Claims 2, 3, 16, 25, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2022/0150950 A1, hereinafter Islam), Jung et al. (US 2024/0089970 A1, hereinafter Jung) and Lin et al. (US 2024/0397546 A1, hereinafter Lin) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Eriksson et al. (US 2012/0202549 A1, hereinafter Eriksson).
Regarding claim 2, Islam teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: receive a radio resource control message that maps- in accordance with different priorities ([0207] and [Figure 9, 955] describes the functions of the RRC 955 (Radio Resource Control,) including the ability to have a connection with a UE, which may send a radio resource control message, in accordance with [0202] mapping, based on [0007] priority.
The combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin differs from the claimed invention and does not specifically teach a set of global priorities to a set of local priorities used by the UE, and are mapped from a highest local priority to a lowest local priority in accordance with a mapping between the set of global priorities and the set of local priorities. However, Eriksson teaches [abstract] a method for managing resources in a radio access network between different network access technologies, and teaches mapping a set of global priorities to a set of local priorities used by the UE ([0079] mapping each local service priority to a global service priority), and are mapped from a highest local priority to a lowest local priority ([0012 and 0079] a ranking unit arranged to rank the first local service priority in relation to the second local service priority, [0069-0070] the priorities may be mapped from a highest local priority to a lowest local priority, as shown in FIG. 6) in accordance with a mapping between the set of global priorities and the set of local priorities ([0036] ranks the different services based on the local service priorities in relation to one another based on a configured and/or standardized "global" priority scheme. The local service priority is then a reference to the global priority in the configured priority, i.e. the local priorities are mapped to the set of global priorities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin to include the ability to map local priorities in specific orders and map sets of global priorities to local priorities, as taught by Eriksson, in order to have a better ranking/mapping system for signaling messages and [0004] to increase efficiency and service quality and therefore [0072] help dynamically distribute common resources of a network.
Regarding claim 3, Eriksson teaches a first quantity of local priorities ([0075] and [Figure 7, 701]) used by the UE is less than a second quantity of global priorities configured by a network entity ([0079] The ranking of the services may be performed according to a configurable stored table mapping each local service priority to a global service priority. The global prioritization may be according to standardization and/or operator configurable. That is, a first quantity of local priorities will be mapped to a second quantity of global priorities, and may be mapped in such a way so said local priorities is less than said global priorities).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin to include the ability to map local priorities in specific orders and map sets of global priorities to local priorities, as taught by Eriksson, in order to have a better ranking/mapping system for signaling messages and [0004] to increase efficiency and service quality and therefore [0072] help dynamically distribute common resources of a network.
Regarding claim 16, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 25, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 2.
Regarding claim 26, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 3.
Claims 9, 10, 20 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Islam et al. (US 2022/0150950 A1, hereinafter Islam), Jung et al. (US 2024/0089970 A1, hereinafter Jung) and Lin et al. (US 2024/0397546 A1, hereinafter Lin 546) as applied in claims above, and further in view of Lin (US 2021/0203452 A1, hereinafter Lin 452).
Regarding claim 9, Islam teaches one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250).
The combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin 546 does not specifically teach receive a scheduling downlink control information message that schedules a first wireless message of the one or more wireless messages and indicates a multiplexing threshold for the first wireless message, wherein reception of the scheduling downlink control information message indicates for the UE to adjust the communication of the one or more wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold. However, Lin 452 teaches using (abstract) downlink transmissions in accordance with a method for multiplexing on a feedback resource and receive a scheduling downlink control information message that schedules a first wireless message of the one or more wireless messages ([0003] physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI) and indicates a multiplexing threshold for the first wireless message ([0079-0082] describes acquiring a multiplexing threshold value of a transmission resource), wherein reception of the scheduling downlink control information message indicates for the UE to adjust the communication of the one or more wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold ([0083-00888] describes indicating to the UE to adjust wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin 546 to include, a wireless message for a UE that includes scheduling information and a multiplexing threshold, as taught by Lin 452, in order to improve the performance of the system and therefore overall [0203] latency of the feedback information can be reduced, such that latency requirements can be met, which is more suitable for services sensitive to transmission latency.
Regarding claim 10, Islam teaches the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([Figure 12, 1212, 1214 and 1250] processor 1212, processor 1214, and instructions 1250) to cause the UE to: drop any wireless messages that at least partially overlap in time with the first wireless message and are associated with a priority- ([0044] as shown in FIG. 1, UE may drop the UL transmission from the occasion of overlap, [0028] transmissions may have overlap in time and/or frequency, with the resource that is used by an urgent packet, which is based on priority); and multiplex wireless messages that at least partially overlap in time with the first wireless message and are associated with respective priorities- ([0008] UE is configured, based on a prioritization indication in UL grant for a PUSCH, determine whether to multiplex UCI with the PUSCH in the case of overlap, [0028] transmissions may have overlap in time and/or frequency).
The combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin 546 does not specifically teach to adjust the communication of the one or more wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold, and using a multiplexing threshold in accordance with the other limitations described above. However, Lin 452 teaches to adjust the communication of the one or more wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold ([0083-00888] describes indicating to the UE to adjust wireless messages in accordance with the multiplexing threshold), and using a multiplexing threshold in accordance with the other limitations described above ([0079-0082] describes acquiring a multiplexing threshold value of a transmission resource).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Islam, Jung, and Lin 546 to include, adjusting wireless messages in accordance with a multiplexing threshold, as taught by Lin 452, in order to improve the performance of the system and therefore overall [0203] latency of the feedback information can be reduced, such that latency requirements can be met, which is more suitable for services sensitive to transmission latency.
Regarding claim 20, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 9, further in view of Lin 452 teaching output, to the first UE ([Figure 1] and [0035] the network device 110 may be a device that communicates with terminal devices 120, terminal device read as UE), and a scheduling downlink control information message ([0003] physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) scheduled by the DCI).
Regarding claim 21, the claimed limitations of claim are rejected as the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang, Yi et al. (2024). Method for transmitting uplink control information, and device and chip (US 2024/0340907 A1). Filed 2024-06-19. Discloses transmitting uplink control information dealing with priorities and scheduling requests. (abstract)
Rastegardoost, Nazanin et al. (2024). Simultaneous uplink and unlicensed sidelink transmissions (US 2024/0137970 A1). Filed 2023-10-09. Discloses transmitting sidelink transmissions based on priorities and a listen-before-talk (LBT) procedure. (abstract)
Sarkis, Gabi et al. (2024). Transmitting resource collision indication on sidelink feedback channel (US 2024/0015701 A1). Filed 2023-07-27. Discloses the ability for a UE to identify a collision on a victim resource based on an aggressor reservation transmitted via a second UE as well as transmit this information via a sidelink feedback channel. (abstract)
Guo, Shaozhen et al. (2023). Multiplexing of uplink control information (uci) and configured grant-uci (cg-uci) of different priorities (US 20230389010 A1). Filed 2020-09-25. Discloses a method for multiplexing of uplink control information (UCI) and configured grant-UCI (CG-UCI) of different priorities are provided while dealing with resource overlaps. (abstract)
Sarkis, Gabi et al. (2023). Techniques for multiplexing sidelink feedback on a high priority physical uplink shared channel (US 20230082996 A1). Filed 2021-09-14. Discloses a method for a UE to receive scheduling information that schedules an uplink data message in accordance with priority, and overlaps in time with a physical uplink control channel. (abstract)
Lee, Seungmin et al. (2022). Method and device for transmitting pucch (US 20220141849 A1). Filed 2020-03-30. Discloses a method for a first device to transmit a PUCCH to a base station in accordance with multiplexing information. (abstract)
Hosseini, Seyedkianoush et al. (2022). Service and format indication techniques for downlink control information (US 20220116920 A1). Filed 2021-12-17. Discloses methods for downlink control information (DCI), DCI format, CRC of DCI, demodulation in accordance with DCI, and DCI indicators of operations. (abstract)
Damnjanovic, Jelena et al. (2023). Prioritization techniques between communication links (US 11558878 B2). Filed 2021-01-20. Discloses the ability for a plurality of UEs to communicate with a base station via different communication links based on priority and identify corresponding mapping for message priorities. (abstract)
/MATTHEW JAMES DWYER/Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/GEORGE ENG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2699