DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to communication filed on 12/21/2023. Claims 1-8 are pending for examination.
Examiner’s Note
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
4. Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of application No. 16/905708 (reference application), hereinafter referred to as “708” in view Lee (US 2011/0206156 A1), in view of Waters (US 2007/0253499 A1).
Instant Application
Co-Pending Application 16/905708
1. A method performed by a wireless communication device for transmitting physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) in wireless local area network (WLAN), the method comprising:
transmitting a first symbol;
transmitting a second symbol following the first symbol;
transmitting a third symbol following the second symbol; and
transmitting a fourth symbol following the third symbol;
wherein the first symbol, the second symbol, and the third symbol are modulated using an identical modulation method; and
wherein a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the first symbol, a modulation method of the fourth symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third symbol.
1. A method for receiving a Physical layer Protocol Data Unit (PPDU) in a wireless local area network (WLAN), the method comprising:
receiving the PPDU, wherein the PPDU includes a first field and a second field; identifying the first field and the second field following the first field; the second field including a first symbol, a second symbol, and a third symbol,
identifying a type of the PPDU based on the identified first field and the identified second field, the second field including a first symbol, a second symbol, and a third symbol, indicating the type of the PPDU, and
5. Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of application No. 16/905708, hereinafter referred to as “708” in view of Lee (US 2011/0206156 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 5, claims 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” does not recite transmitting a fourth symbol following the third symbol; wherein the first symbol, the second symbol, and the third symbol are modulated using an identical modulation method; and
However, in an analogous art, Lee recites transmitting a fourth symbol following the third symbol ([0093], receiving terminal receives a transmitted {by transmitting terminal--abstract} packet; wherein [0092], Fig. 15- the packet includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th symbols, respectively.) (Hence it is obvious, the transmitting terminal transmits 4th symbol following the 3rd symbol.);
wherein the first symbol, the second symbol, and the third symbol are modulated using an identical modulation method (BPSK) (see Fig. 16, [0094]-[0097]; wherein the 1st, 2nd and 3rd symbol are same BPSK modulated, when format of the packet is legacy.); and
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lee and apply them in the claim 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” to improve throughput (Lee; [0116]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, claims 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” does not recite wherein the first symbol is modulated using binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) scheme.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the first symbol is modulated using binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) scheme (Fig. 16, [0094], 1st symbol is modulated using BPSK.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lee and apply them in the claim 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” to improve throughput (Lee; [0116]).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, claims 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” does not recite wherein the first symbol corresponds to Legacy-Signal (L-SIG) field.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the first symbol corresponds to Legacy-Signal (L-SIG) field ([0092], 1st symbol is legacy signal field(L-SIG).).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lee and apply them in the claim 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” to improve throughput (Lee; [0116]).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, claims 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” does not recite wherein the PPDU includes a Legacy-Short Training (Legacy-Short Training) filed, and a Legacy-Long Training (L-LTF) field before the first symbol.
However, in an analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the PPDU (packet) includes a Legacy-Short Training (Legacy-Short Training) filed, and a Legacy-Long Training (L-LTF) field before the first symbol(L-SIG) (see Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Lee and apply them in the claim 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” to improve throughput (Lee; [0116]).
6. Claims 1 and 5 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory obviousness-type double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 10 of application No. 16/905708, hereinafter referred to as “708” in view of Waters (US 2007/0253499 A1).
Regarding Claim 1 and 5, claims 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” does not recite wherein a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the fourth symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third symbol.
However, in an analogous art, Waters teaches wherein a version (type/format—[0006]) of the PPDU(packet) is defined using a modulation method(rotated-BPSK) of the fourth(6th--considered) symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third(5th--considered) symbol ([0024], a Mixed-Mode packet type is determined by detecting if bits in RATE field of 5th OFDM symbol are [1 1 0 1] and detecting if 6th OFDM symbol is modulated by rotated-BPSK.)(Hence a Mixed-Mode packet version is defined using rotated-BPSK modulation of the 4th symbol and bit value included in the 3rd symbol. ).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to take the teaching of Waters and apply them in the claim 1 and 10 of the “16/905708” to improve performance in terms of increased reliability, range, and capacity of data transmission (Waters; [0005]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 2011/0206156 A1) in view of Waters (US 2007/0253499 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Lee teaches a method performed by a wireless communication device (transmitting terminal) for transmitting physical layer protocol data unit (PPDU) (packet—Fig. 15; [0092]) in wireless local area network (WLAN) ([0005]), the method comprising:
transmitting a first symbol ([0093], receiving terminal receives a transmitted {by transmitting terminal--abstract} packet; wherein [0092], Fig. 15- the packet includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th symbols, respectively.) (Hence it is obvious, the transmitting terminal transmits 1st symbol.);
transmitting a second symbol following the first symbol ([0093], receiving terminal receives a transmitted {by transmitting terminal--abstract} packet; wherein [0092], Fig. 15- the packet includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th symbols, respectively.) (Hence it is obvious, the transmitting terminal transmits 2nd symbol following the 1st symbol.);
transmitting a third symbol following the second symbol ( [0093], receiving terminal receives a transmitted {by transmitting terminal--abstract} packet; wherein [0092], Fig. 15- the packet includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th symbols, respectively.) (Hence it is obvious, the transmitting terminal transmits 3rd symbol following the 2nd symbol.); and
transmitting a fourth symbol following the third symbol ([0093], receiving terminal receives a transmitted {by transmitting terminal--abstract} packet; wherein [0092], Fig. 15- the packet includes 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th symbols, respectively.) (Hence it is obvious, the transmitting terminal transmits 4th symbol following the 3rd symbol.);
wherein the first symbol, the second symbol, and the third symbol are modulated using an identical modulation method (BPSK) (see Fig. 16, [0094]-[0097]; wherein the 1st, 2nd and 3rd symbol are same BPSK modulated, when format of the packet is legacy.); and
wherein a version(format) of the PPDU (packet) is defined using a modulation method(Q-BPSK) of the first symbol ([0094], Fig. 16, When the 1st symbol is modulated through Q-BPSK, format of the packet is determined as HT green field mode (HT-GF) at step S1604.) (Hence a HT-GF packet version is defined using Q-BPSK modulation of the 1st symbol.)
Lee does not teach wherein a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the fourth symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third symbol.
However, in an analogous art, Waters teaches wherein a version (type/format—[0006]) of the PPDU(packet) is defined using a modulation method(rotated-BPSK) of the fourth(6th--considered) symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third(5th--considered) symbol ([0024], a Mixed-Mode packet type is determined by detecting if bits in RATE field of 5th OFDM symbol are [1 1 0 1] and detecting if 6th OFDM symbol is modulated by rotated-BPSK.) (Hence a Mixed-Mode packet version is defined using rotated-BPSK modulation of the 4th symbol and bit value included in the 3rd symbol. ).
Since Lee already discloses a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the first symbol (as explained by the examiner above), it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to have applied the additional functions disclosed by Waters to Lee to arrive the claimed invention. Doing so would merely involve the application of old and known features (e.g. a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the fourth symbol, and at least one bit value included in the third symbol disclosed by Waters) to another similar old and known disclosure (e.g. a version of the PPDU is defined using a modulation method of the first symbol disclosed by Lee) to achieve predictable results. One would be motivated as such in order to improve performance in terms of increased reliability, range, and capacity of data transmission (Waters; [0005]).
Specifically for Claim 5. Lee does not teach the wireless communication device comprising: at least one transceiver; at least one processor operably connected to the at least one transceiver, wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
However, in an analogous art, Waters teaches the wireless communication device ([0068]; [0073]) comprising:
at least one transceiver (892—Fig. 9; [0070]);
at least one processor (882-Fig. 9; [0068]) operably connected to the at least one transceiver (892—Fig. 9; [0070]) (see Fig. 9 that 882 and 892 are connected.), wherein the at least one processor is configured to:
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Waters and apply them on the teaching of Lee to improve performance in terms of increased reliability, range, and capacity of data transmission (Waters; [0005]).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Lee further teaches wherein the first symbol is modulated using binary phase-shift keying (BPSK) scheme (Fig. 16, [0094], 1st symbol is modulated using BPSK.).
Regarding claims 3 and 7, Lee further teaches wherein the first symbol corresponds to Legacy-Signal (L-SIG) field ([0092], 1st symbol is legacy signal field(L-SIG).).
Regarding claims 4 and 8, Lee further teaches wherein the PPDU (packet) includes a Legacy-Short Training (Legacy-Short Training) filed, and a Legacy-Long Training (L-LTF) field before the first symbol(L-SIG) (see Fig. 5).
Conclusion
9. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415