DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 12-20, in the reply filed on 9/8/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1-11 have been withdrawn from consideration. Claims 21-26 are added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites “operating a motion sensor” in line 2. It is unclear whether this motion sensor is the same or different than the “motion sensor” in the preamble. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted to be the same motion sensor.
Claim 12 recites “a proof mass” in line 4. It is unclear whether this proof mass is the same or different than the “proof mass” defined in line 2 of the claim. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted to be the same.
Claim 16 recites the same limitations and thus, suffer the same indefiniteness. The same interpretation is applied.
Claim 24 recites “a portion of the conductive silicon cap wafer that has a micromachined surface within a cavity between the conductive silicon cap wafer and the MEMS wafer” in lines 2-3 of the claim. It is unclear whether the cavity is the same or different than the “cavity” defined in line 2 of claim 12. For the purpose of examination, it is interpreted to be the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Suzuki et al. (US 2009/0261430 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Suzuki teaches a method for operating a motion sensor (method of operating the sensor in Figs. 10-15 of Suzuki) comprising:
operating a motion sensor (the step of operating the motion sensor is implicit) including a proof mass (movable electrode 3) in a cavity (cavity 22aa), the cavity defined by a conductive silicon cap wafer (p conductive silicon cap substrate 22 in Fig. 10, as described in [0084] of Suzuki) having an inner cap side (lower side of cap substrate 22) bonded to a first side (top side of silicon layer 11) of a conductive silicon MEMS wafer (silicon layer 11) in a wafer stack (stack of 9, 11 and 22), the MEMS wafer including a proof mass (movable electrode 3) suspended from flexible springs and with a flexible spring (the connecting portion between the anchor 3c and the movable electrode 3d, as shown in Fig. 11A) and a frame (27 in Fig. 10), the cap wafer having a first set of cap electrical contacts (24) and a second set of cap electrical contacts (26), the first set of cap electrical contacts being connected to at least one first electrode (3d, as shown in Fig. 11B, as described in [0086] of Suzuki) in the wafer stack to sense a motion of the proof mass, the second set of cap electrical contacts (26) being connected to at least one second electrode (fixed electrode 4b) capacitively coupled to the proof mass (as shown in Fig. 11A-B and described in [0086] of Suzuki); and
conducting electrical signals (the step conducting signals is implicit by the presence of the conducting pathways defined as follow) through the frame to electrical contacts on the cap wafer with insulated conducting pathways (the pathways including the electrodes 3, 4, vias 23, and the electrodes 24-28. This pathway is insulated from the silicon substrate by an insulator, as described in [0085]-[0087] of Suzuki) that extend through the frame and the cap wafer (as shown in Fig. 10 of Suzuki), the insulated conducting pathways being in conductive contact with corresponding electrical contacts on the cap wafer (as shown in Fig. 10 of Suzuki).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki and further in view of Taheri et al. (US 2012/0142144 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Suzuki teaches all limitations of the method of claim 12 and also teaches wherein the cavity is further defined by a conductive bottom cap wafer (support substrate 9 in Fig. 10 of Suzuki) having an inner bottom cap side (upper side of the support substrate 9) attached to a second side (lower side of 11) of the MEMS wafer.
But Suzuki does not teach that the inner bottom cap side is fusion bonded to the second side of the MEMS wafer.
Taheri teaches a MEMS structure (Fig. 1H of Taheri). The MEMS structure includes: a bottom cap wafer (120), a MEMS wafer (110), and a top cap wafer (102), where each wafer is formed separately and then bonded together; wherein the bottom cap wafer is bonded to the MEMS wafer by fusion bonding (as described in [0029] of Taheri).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fusion bonded the bottom cap wafer to the MEMS wafer as disclosed by Taheri. Forming the wafers separately and then bonding them together allows the device to be made quickly and in large number, thus, reduce the manufacturing cost.
Claims 14-15, 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki, as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Nasiri et al. (US 2005/0081633 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Suzuki teaches all limitations of the method of claim 12 but does not teach further comprising driving a motion of the proof mass with the drive electrode that is connected to a drive circuit by at least one of the electrical contacts.
Nasiri teaches a MEMS device (Figs. 1-2 of Nasiri) that comprises: a MEMS sensor layer (36) sandwiched between two cap wafers (42 and 44 in Fig. 2); the MEMS sensor layer includes proof masses (22, 24, 26, 28, 30 in Fig. 2) suspended by the flexures (32); a plurality of driving electrodes (48A/B to 52A/B in Fig. 2) disposed on one of the two cap wafers are used to drive the motion of the proof masses (see [0055]-[0057]) at the resonant frequencies of the masses (see [0060]); the motion of the MEMS sensor is sensed with a plurality of sensing electrodes (38A-38C and 40A-40C in Fig. 5 of Nasiri); electrical pathways connecting the sensing signal to the cap that has the electrodes (46 as described in [0046] of Nasiri).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed driving electrodes of Nasiri in Suzuki’s device in order to improve the motion sensitivity (as discussed in [0060] of Nasiri).
As incorporated, the motion sensing electrodes 38B-C and 40B-C of Nasiri are analogous to sensing electrodes 4 and 3d of Suzuki.
Regarding claim 15, Suzuki teaches all limitations of the method of claim 12 but does not teach further comprising driving the proof mass at a first frequency or a second different frequency.
Nasiri teaches a MEMS device (Figs. 1-2 of Nasiri) that comprises: a MEMS sensor layer (36) sandwiched between two cap wafers (42 and 44 in Fig. 2); the MEMS sensor layer includes proof masses (22, 24, 26, 28, 30 in Fig. 2) suspended by the flexures (32); a plurality of driving electrodes (48A/B to 52A/B in Fig. 2) disposed on one of the two cap wafers are used to drive the motion of the proof masses (see [0055]-[0057]) at the resonant frequencies of the masses (see [0060]); the motion of the MEMS sensor is sensed with a plurality of sensing electrodes (38A-38C and 40A-40C in Fig. 5 of Nasiri); electrical pathways connecting the sensing signal to the cap that has the electrodes (46 as described in [0046] of Nasiri).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed driving electrodes and to have utilized resonance in sensing, as disclosed by Nasiri, in Suzuki’s device in order to improve the motion sensitivity (as discussed in [0060] of Nasiri).
As incorporated, the steps of applying a voltage driving the proof mass and measuring the proof mass’ motion using resonance are incorporated into Suzuki’s device. Thus, these steps are also used in the method of operating Suzuki’s device.
Regarding claim 21, Suzuki teaches all limitations of the method of claim 12 but does not teach that the method further comprising driving a motion of at least a portion of the proof mass with a drive electrode capacitively coupled to the proof mass, the drive electrode being electrically connected to a third cap wafer electrical contact with a conductive silicon pathway through the cap wafer.
Nasiri teaches a MEMS device (Figs. 1-2 of Nasiri) that comprises: a MEMS sensor layer (36) sandwiched between two cap wafers (42 and 44 in Fig. 2); the MEMS sensor layer includes proof masses (22, 24, 26, 28, 30 in Fig. 2) suspended by the flexures (32); a plurality of driving electrodes (48A/B to 52A/B in Fig. 2) disposed on one of the two cap wafers are used to drive the motion of the proof masses (see [0055]-[0057]) at the resonant frequencies of the masses (see [0060]); the motion of the MEMS sensor is sensed with a plurality of sensing electrodes (38A-38C and 40A-40C in Fig. 5 of Nasiri); electrical pathways connecting the sensing signal to the cap that has the electrodes (46 as described in [0046] of Nasiri).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed driving electrodes and to have utilized resonance in sensing, as disclosed by Nasiri, in Suzuki’s device in order to improve the motion sensitivity (as discussed in [0060] of Nasiri).
As incorporated, the steps of applying a voltage driving the proof mass and measuring the proof mass’s motion using resonance are incorporated into Suzuki’s device. Thus, these steps are also used in the method of operating Suzuki’s device. Since all the electrical signals/voltages are conducted through the contact pads 24-28, one of these contact pads are connected to the driving electrodes of Nasiri by the insulated conductive pathways defined in claim 12 above.
Regarding claim 22, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 21 and further comprising wherein the first sensing electrode senses a resonant motion of the proof mass (as combined in claim 21 above).
Regarding claim 23, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 21 and also teaches wherein the conductive silicon pathway is insulated from a portion of the conductive silicon cap wafer with an insulating material (as combined in claim 21 above, the insulating material is oxide film 23 in Fig. 10 of Suzuki).
Regarding claim 24, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 21 and also teaches wherein the drive electrode comprises a portion of the conductive silicon cap wafer that has a micromachined surface (top surface of concavity 22aa in Fig. 10 of Suzuki) within a cavity between the conductive silicon cap wafer and the MEMS wafer.
Claims 16-20 and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suzuki in view of Nasiri et al. (US 2005/0081633 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Suzuki teaches a method for operating a motion sensor (method of operating the sensor in Figs. 10-15 of Suzuki) comprising:
operating a motion sensor (the step of operating the motion sensor is implicit) including a proof mass (movable electrode 3) in a cavity (cavity 22aa), the cavity defined by a conductive silicon cap wafer (p conductive silicon cap substrate 22 in Fig. 10, as described in [0084] of Suzuki) having an inner cap side (lower side of cap substrate 22) bonded to a surface (upper surface of layer 11) in a wafer stack (stack of 9, 11 and 22) on a first side (top surface of layer 11) of a conductive silicon MEMS wafer (11 is p conductive silicon layer) in the wafer stack, the MEMS wafer including a proof mass (movable electrode 3) suspended from a flexible spring (the connecting portion between the anchor 3c and the movable electrode 3d, as shown in Fig. 11A) and a frame (27 in Fig. 10), the proof mass extending in an xy plane (as shown in Fig. 11A-11B), the cap wafer having a first set of cap electrical contacts (24) and a second set of cap electrical contacts (26), the first set of cap electrical contacts being connected to a first sensing electrode (3d, as shown in Fig. 11B, as described in [0086] of Suzuki) in the wafer stack to sense a motion of at least a portion of the proof mass, the second set of cap electrical contacts being connected to at least a second sensing electrode (fixed electrode 4b) to sense the motion of the proof mass, the proof mass being positioned to form a capacitive gap with the first sensing electrode and the second sensing electrode (as shown in Fig. 11A-B and described in [0086] of Suzuki).
But Suzuki does not teach that the motion of at least a portion of the proof mass is out of the xy plane.
Nasiri teaches a MEMS device (Figs. 1-2 of Nasiri) that comprises: a MEMS sensor layer (36) sandwiched between two cap wafers (42 and 44 in Fig. 2); the MEMS sensor layer includes proof masses (22, 24, 26, 28, 30 in Fig. 2) suspended by the flexures (32); a plurality of driving electrodes (48A/B to 52A/B in Fig. 2) disposed on one of the two cap wafers are used to drive the motion of the proof masses (see [0055]-[0057]) at the resonant frequencies of the masses (see [0060]); the motion of the MEMS sensor is sensed with a plurality of sensing electrodes (38A-38C and 40A-40C in Fig. 5 of Nasiri); electrical pathways connecting the sensing signal to the cap that has the electrodes (46 as described in [0046] of Nasiri).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have formed driving electrodes and to have utilized resonance in sensing, as disclosed by Nasiri, in Suzuki’s device in order to be able to measure the angular velocity about a lateral axis and to have improve the motion sensitivity (as discussed in Abstract and [0060] of Nasiri).
Regarding claim 17, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of Claim 16 and also teaches wherein the motion above or below the xy plane is in the z-direction (as combined in claim 16 above).
Regarding claim 18, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 16 and also teaches wherein the proof mass is rotating with respect to the frame (as shown in Fig. 11A-B of Suzuki).
Regarding claim 19, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 16 and also teaches wherein the wafer stack further comprises a second cap wafer (9 in Fig. 10 of Suzuki).
Regarding claim 20, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 16 and also teaches wherein the wafer stack further comprises a poly silicon plug (as described in [0087] of Suzuki, the plugs 24 and 26 are formed by doped silicon) further extending through an oxide layer (oxide layer 23) to connect to the first sensing electrode.
Regarding claim 25, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 16 and further comprising a drive electrode (48A/B to 52A/B in Fig. 2 of Nasiri, as combined in claim 16 above) within a portion of the conductive silicon cap (22aa in Fig. 10 of Suzuki) wafer that has a micromachined surface within a hermetically sealed cavity that extends between the conductive silicon cap wafer and the MEMS wafer (as shown in Fig. 10 of Suzuki).
Regarding claim 26, Suzuki in view of Nasiri teaches all limitations of the method of claim 25 and also teaches wherein the drive electrode is defined by a conductive silicon pathway (since all the electrical signals/voltages are conducted through the contact pads 24-28 of Suzuki, one of these contact pads are connected to the driving electrodes of Nasiri by the insulated conductive pathways defined in claim 16 above) that is insulated from a portion of the conductive silicon cap wafer with an insulating material (oxide layer 23 in Fig. 10 of Suzuki), the drive electrode being connected to one of the cap electrical contacts that is electrically connected to a drive circuit (as combined in claim 25 above).
Conclusion
/Tuan A Hoang/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2898