DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13, 16-17, 19-21, 24, 28 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 11-13, 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turi et al. (US 2018/0014062) in view Kopf et al. (US 2008/0052742), and further in view of Chai et al. (US 2017/0195736).
Claim 1, Turi teaches a system comprising:
programmable circuitry (p. 0020);
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed or instantiated by the programmable circuitry (p. 0020), facilitate performance of operations including:
playing a first media stream in full screen (fig. 10a; p. 0067);
determining a user has opened a visual interface (i.e. pressing a button for interactive menu + program window) (fig. 10C; p. 0068-0069);
after the user has opened the visual interface, presenting, in a first region of the visual interface (i.e. AW), a group of tabs relevant to the user (i.e. M1-M4) and a selection of a first tab within the group (i.e. selecting a content) (fig. 10C; p. 0070-0073);
after the user has opened the visual interface, playing, in a second region of the visual interface (i.e. window P), the first media stream (i.e. menu items can be selected to play in window P) (figs. 10C-D; p. 0069-0076).
Turi is not entirely clear in teaching the specific features of:
in response to determining the user has scrolled to a second tab within the group, the second tab, playing, in the second region of the visual interface, a second media stream corresponding to the second tab;
in response to determining the user has exited the visual interface, playing the second media stream in full screen without selecting the second media stream.
Kopf teaches the specific feature of:
in response to determining the user has scrolled to a second tab (i.e. selecting items on a ticker) within the group (i.e. ticker), the second tab, playing, in the second region of the visual interface, a second media stream corresponding to the second tab (i.e. automatically playing the content selected) (p. 0085-0087).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided auto play of content as taught by Kopf to the system of Turi to provide less interaction from the user (p. 0085).
Chai teaches the specific feature of:
in response to determining the user has exited the visual interface (i.e. exit button), playing the second media stream in full screen without selecting the second media stream (i.e. upon exiting the interface, full screen mode is presented) (p. 0079).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided full screen mode upon exit of an interface as taught by Chai to the system of Turi to provide less interaction from the user (p. 0079).
Claim 2, Turi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
requesting, in response to the user selecting the visual interface, data (i.e. menu items) to populate the visual interface (fig. 10C-E; p. 0068-0074); and
receiving, in response to the request, a manifest file (i.e. scheduling information for building EPG menu items) describing a set of media streams that correspond to the group of tabs (p. 0026-0028).
Claim 3, Turi teaches the system of claim 2, wherein:
the user is authorized to view each media stream in the set (i.e. setting authorized access for subscribers) (p. 0022); and
the authorization of the set of media streams occurs independently of which tab is selected within the first region of the visual interface (i.e. parental control can control access independently for each channel, the channels can be the menu items in fig. 10C) (fig. 10C; p. 0022).
Claim 11, Turi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein:
the second tab corresponds to a content provider of the second media stream (i.e. names of providers, UK news) (fig. 10C; p. 0068-0070); and
the operations further include displaying a visual icon (i.e. names of providers) indicative of the content provider on the second tab (fig. 10C; p. 0068-0070).
Claim 12, Turi teaches The system of claim 1, wherein:
the first media stream is a first linear broadcast (i.e. satellite broadcast, etc.) (p. 0020-0021); and
the second media stream is a second linear broadcast (i.e. satellite broadcast, etc.) (p. 0020-0021).
Claim 13 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 1.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 1.
Claim 24 is analyzed as a method of claim 1.
Claim(s) 4-6, 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turi et al. (US 2018/0014062) in view Kopf et al. (US 2008/0052742), and further in view of Chai et al. (US 2017/0195736), and further in view of Gonzales et al. (US 2013/0246631).
Claim 4, Turi teaches the system of claim 2, wherein to play the second media stream, the operations further include:
identifying, using the manifest file and in response to the user selecting a second tab within the group, a content provider that corresponds to the second media stream (i.e. scheduling information for building EPG menu items) (p. 0026-0028).
Turi is silent regarding The system of claim 2, wherein to play the second media stream, the operations further include:
receiving a threshold amount of second media stream data from the content provider.
Gonzales teaches The system of claim 2, wherein to play the second media stream, the operations further include:
receiving a threshold amount of second media stream data (i.e. threshold for multicast rules) from the content provider (p. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a threshold limit for content as taught by Gonzales to the system of Turi to provide channel resource limits (p. 0047).
Claim 5, Turi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
identifying the user has selected a third tab in the group (i.e. selecting any menu item M1-M4) (fig. 10C; p. 0078-0074).
Turi is silent regarding the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
requesting, in response to the user having selected the third tab, a threshold amount of third media stream data, the third media stream data corresponding to the third tab.
Gonzales teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include:
requesting, in response to the user having selected the third tab, a threshold amount (i.e. threshold for multicast rules) of third media stream data, the third media stream data corresponding to the third tab (p. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a threshold limit for content as taught by Gonzales to the system of Turi to provide channel resource limits (p. 0047).
Claim 6, Turi teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
playing, in the second region of the visual interface (i.e. window P), the third media stream (i.e. menu items can be selected to play in window P) (figs. 10C-D; p. 0069-0076).
Turi is silent regarding the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
receiving the threshold amount of third media stream data; and
Gonzales teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
receiving the threshold amount of third media stream data (i.e. threshold for multicast rules) (p. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a threshold limit for content as taught by Gonzales to the system of Turi to provide channel resource limits (p. 0047).
Claim 16 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 4.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 4.
Claim 17 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 5.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 5.
Claim(s) 7-10, 19-21, 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Turi et al. (US 2018/0014062) in view Kopf et al. (US 2008/0052742), and further in view of Chai et al. (US 2017/0195736), and further in view of Gonzales et al. (US 2013/0246631), and further in view of Zhou (US 2022/0095002).
Claim 7, Turi is silent regarding the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
receiving an initial amount of third media stream data, the initial amount less than the threshold amount;
determining, before receiving additional third media stream data, that the user has selected a fourth tab within the group; and
storing the initial amount of third media stream data in a cache for the third tab within the memory.
Gonzales teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
receiving an initial amount of third media stream data, the initial amount less than the threshold amount (p. 0047) (i.e. threshold for multicast rules) (p. 0047).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a threshold limit for content as taught by Gonzales to the system of Turi to provide channel resource limits (p. 0047).
Zhou teaches the system of claim 5, wherein the operations further include:
determining, before receiving additional third media stream data (i.e. switching to new media), that the user has selected a fourth tab within the group (i.e. selecting new media) (p. 0058-0059); and
storing the initial amount of third media stream data in a cache for the third tab within the memory (i.e. storing in cache upon switching) (p. 0058-0059).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a cache as taught by Zhou to the system of Turi to provide efficiently switch bit rates of streams (p. 0100).
Claim 8, Turi is silent regarding the system of claim 7, wherein the operations further include requesting, in response to a determination the user has reselected the third tab within the group, an amount of third media stream data, the requested amount to exclude the initial amount of third media stream data stored in the cache.
Zhou teaches the system of claim 7, wherein the operations further include requesting, in response to a determination the user has reselected the third tab (i.e. switching media) within the group, an amount of third media stream data, the requested amount to exclude the initial amount of third media stream data stored in the cache (i.e. caching is adaptive and choosing the bitrate will factor in the initial amount within the cache and determine bitrate switching based on current conditions) (p. 0058-0059., 0100-0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a cache as taught by Zhou to the system of Turi to provide efficiently switch bit rates of streams (p. 0100).
Claim 9, Turi is silent regarding the system of claim 1, wherein the memory includes:
a first cache for data used to present the first media stream; and
a second cache for data used to present the second media stream.
Zhou teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the memory includes:
a first cache for data used to present the first media stream (i.e. first cache volume) (p. 0058-0059., 0100-0102); and
a second cache for data used to present the second media stream (i.e. second cache volume) (p. 0058-0059., 0100-0102).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided a cache as taught by Zhou to the system of Turi to provide efficiently switch bit rates of streams (p. 0100).
Claim 10, Turi teaches the system of claim 1, wherein the operations further include presenting, after the user has selected the visual interface and in a third region of the visual interface, a set of auxiliary media corresponding to the first media stream (i.e. video can be displayed in V1, V2 regions) (figs. 10D-E; p. 0068-0076).
Claim 19 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 7.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 7.
Claim 20 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 8.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 8.
Claim 21 recites “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 9.
Turi inherently teaches “A non-transitory machine-readable storage medium comprising instructions that, when executed or instantiated by programmable circuitry, facilitate performance of operations” to perform the steps of claim 9.
Claim 28 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 8.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) -13, 16-17, 19-21, 24, 28 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Claims 1-13, 16-17, 19-21, 24, 28 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 11966561 B1 Greene; Kevin et al.
US 20230027231 A1 Smith; Nathanael
US 20210097105 A1 Al Majid; Newar Husam et al.
US 10298874 B1 Lewis; Justin et al.
US 20150347361 A1 Circlaeys; Eric M. et al.
US 20150277850 A1 Wheatley; David John
US 9071867 B1 Ray; Jonathan William et al.
US 20070136750 A1 Abanami; Thamer A. et al.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 4/2/2026