DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cisneros (Patent No.: US 5157654 A).
Regarding claim 1, 8, 15, Cisneros teaches A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform steps of: receiving network data associated with an optical network (e.g. “header” as in column 3 lines 31-52 and/or “interconnection topology” as in column 16 lines 17-47) ; identifying, from the network data, contention points and associated services that cross each contention point of the contention points (e.g. “contention” as in column 7 lines 42-60 and throughout); wherein each contention point corresponds to a location in the optical network where any service thereon requires non-overlapping spectrum from any other service thereon (e.g. “contention resolution unit to resolve contending requests” as in column 51 lines 27-68), identifying spectral data at each contention point of the contention points (e.g. “wavelength” as in column 50 lines 1-34); reducing the contention points and their associated spectral data to a subset of contention points (e.g. those cells having “won contention” as in column 51 lines 27-67 according to “priority field” as in column 7 lines 27-42), wherein a total number of the subset of contention points is less than a total number of the contention points (e.g. those cells of higher priority according to “priority field” as in column 7 lines 27-42 and having “won contention” being less than the total number of channels contending for output) ; and utilizing the subset of contention points and their associated spectral data for assigning spectrum in the optical network (e.g. “tunes” “tuned” as in column 51 lines 27-67) .
Regarding claim 2, 9, 16, Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein each contention point of the contention points represents a fiber (reference numeral 2070 in Figure 20) in the optical network where any service thereon requires non-overlapping spectrum from any other service thereon (e.g. “contention” as in column 7 lines 42-60 and throughout) , and wherein the fiber is one of a line fiber, an intra-node fiber in a node in the optical network, and a fiber within equipment at a corresponding node in the optical network (e.g. as illustrated in Figure 20).
Regarding claim 3, 10, 17 Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the identifying the contention points utilizes a graph (e.g. “topology” as in column 16 lines 17-46 and throughout) to represent services where each vertex in the graph represents a link in the network and each edge represents relationships between vertices in the graph and where the graph is traversed (e.g. via “test cells” as in column 13 lines 13-30) to identify locations where more than one service share a vertex (e.g. “contention” as in column 7 lines 42-60 and throughout).
Regarding claim 4, 11, 18, Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the receiving network data is from different sources (reference numeral 2010k in Figure 20) , including at least network elements and a management system (reference numeral 290 in Figure 2 and/or reference numeral 510 in Figure 20) , and wherein the identifying spectral data at each contention point includes a step of masking out spectrum for each contention point where associated spectrum shows up as in use by any of the different sources (e.g. “contention resolution unit guarantees that only one input module will attempt to transmit an ATM cell to any given output module at a time through any one star coupler” as in column 52 lines 1-9) .
Regarding claim 5, 12, 19, Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the reducing the contention points and their associated spectral data includes identifying where multiple contention points are representable by a single contention point (e.g. “contention” as in column 7 lines 42-60 and throughout and/or e.g. “contention resolution unit guarantees that only one input module will attempt to transmit an ATM cell to any given output module at a time through any one star coupler” as in column 52 lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 6, 13, 20, Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the reducing the contention points and their associated spectral data includes one or more of combining a first plurality of contention points into a first single contention point (reference numeral 317 in Figure 3A) where all of the first plurality of contention points have same services thereon (e.g. services intended for a particular output), and combining a second plurality of contention points into a second single contention point where the second single contention point includes a superset of all services on all of the second plurality of contention points.
Regarding claim 7, 14, Cisneros teaches The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1, wherein the assigning spectrum is for defragmenting the network where one or more services are recolored to change spectrum (e.g. “tunes” “tuned” as in column 51 lines 27-67).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/17/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Cisneros fails to teach the newly added limitation pertaining to a contention point corresponding to a location in the optical network where any service thereon requires non-overlapping spectrum from any other service thereon. However, examiner disagrees.
Specifically, a noted in the amended office action, Cisneros clearly discloses that a contention point corresponds to a location in the optical network, e.g. the same output module thus causing output port contention (e.g. as in column 7 lines 43-60), and further discloses that the disclosed contention resolution method and associated contention resolution apparatus is equally applicable to ATM cell switching applications and multi-wavelength switching systems. As such, Cisneros makes clear a contention point corresponds to a location in the optical network where any service thereon requires non-overlapping spectrum from any other service thereon.
Furthermore, examiner notes the ATM cell contention resolution taught by Cisneros considers contention points as points in an switching apparatus where signals are not allowed to overlap. Although the signals upon which contention resolution is performed in the ATM embodiment of Cisneros are electrical signals, said electrical signals clearly occupy a portion of the electromagnetic spectrum. As such and contrary to Applicant’s arguments, Cisneros’ contention resolution method and associated contention resolution apparatus clearly discloses a contention point corresponding to a location in the network where any service thereon requires non-overlapping spectrum from any other service thereon.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., identifying locations as contention points based on co-propagation, associating multiple photonic services traversing a location with a non-overlapping spectrum constraint, and using fiber-based contention points as constraints for "assigning spectrum in the optical network" in the RMSA/RSA sense), are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AGUSTIN BELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635