DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 3-5 are subject to examination.
Claims 2, 6-12 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 contains, processing the series of samples to determine a geolocation of the server by correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite that transmitted the SPS satellite signal; accessing a database through the server in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence; and preventing an access of the database in response to the geolocation of the server being outside of the geofence.
Since, these limitations do not indeed determine on whether or not the geolocation of the server is outside of the geofence or inside the geofence. It is not clear whether “in response” would be to prevent the access or to access the database and/or both, which is being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter.
Note: as claimed, outcome of “correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite” is always same. The claimed samples and PRN code do not change. Hence, the geolocation of the server does not change.
Further, the geofence is not limited to any particular size or static, and is can always be of a size in which the server is part of it. Hence, the preventing an access step might not ever occur. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that the geofence can be dynamically generated and as claimed the server can be always be within the dynamic geofence (virtual perimeter/fence around the server).
Claim 1 contains, at a server …. accessing a database through the server in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence. It is unclear on whether or not the server is accessing the database through itself. There is no other entity in the claim other than the server.
Claims 3-6 depend upon claim 1 and hence subject to the same rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THALER et al., 20200169400 (2018) in view of DOOLEY et al., WO 2009000842 A1, DHANAPAL et al., 20180324616 and Guim Bernet et al., 20210006972.
Referring to claim(s) 1, THALER substantially discloses, method of verifying a geolocation, comprising at a server, receiving a satellite signal from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver that is associated with the server, processing the signal to determine a geolocation of the server; performing an operation at the server in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence; and preventing an operation at the server in response to the geolocation of the server being outside of the geofence
[0026] for data center security (e.g., verify a server is inside an assigned geofence) 165, for selective access to data or operations and individualized content distribution based on, e.g., location) 170, for user authentication and authorization 175, to perform operations (e.g., run an application, run a virtual machine, access data) 180, and for selective machine configuration (e.g., a device operates at different speeds based on environmental factors, or adjustments are made to comport with regulations associated with the current location) 185.
[0043] when the computing device enters or leaves a geofence. The data for the environmental factors can be obtained from the trusted sources (e.g., external servers, GNSS, etc.)
[0045] In another exemplary implementation, a geofence is applied to a hard disk in a datacenter so that the data cannot be read when the hard disk is located outside of that data center beyond the geofence.
[0050] FIG. 13 is a flowchart of an illustrative method 1300 which is performed by a computing device, such as a server. In step 1305, a geofence is set around a geographical area. [0067] successfully decrypts when the current location of the server is inside the geofence; and do not decrypt when the current location of the server is outside of the geofence. As another example, the current location is received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
THALER does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Dooley discloses, series of samples of a satellite positioning system (SPS), wherein the series of samples are timestamped with a sampling time (abstract)
Also, asset tracking, and security applications. The invention has been described in connection with single frequency GPS, but other GNSS systems (GLONASS, Galileo etc) would be similar. Last para, page 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the SPS. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that a satellite positioning system, is a network of satellites that transmit signals to receivers on Earth, allowing them to calculate their precise location, velocity, and time. The most well-known example is the Global Positioning System (GPS). These systems work by using a technique called trilateration, where a receiver measures the distance to multiple satellites to pinpoint its exact position. Hence, the timestamp would enable when the signal was provided for the current position.
THALER and Dooley do not specifically mention about, which Dhanapal discloses,
processing the series of samples to determine a geolocation of the server by correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite that transmitted the SPS satellite signal (
[0024] In a SPS, a system of transmitting devices (depicted as transmitting devices 120, 130, 140) enable devices to sense a position on or above the earth based, at least in part, on signals received from transmitting devices analogous to the transmitting devices 120, 130, 140. The transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may transmit a signal that includes a code, for example, a repeating pseudo-random noise (PRN) code. The transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may be located on ground-based control stations, user equipment and/or space vehicles. In some implementations, the transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may be located on Earth-orbiting satellite vehicles (SVs). For example, a SV in a constellation of a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) such as Global Positioning System (GPS), Galileo, Glonass or Compass may transmit a signal marked with a particular code that is distinguishable from codes transmitted by other SVs in the constellation (e.g., using different codes for each satellite as in GPS or using the same code on different frequencies as in Glonass). In accordance with certain aspects, the techniques presented herein are not restricted to global systems (e.g., GNSS) for SPS. For example, the techniques provided herein may be applied to or otherwise enabled for use in various regional systems, such as, e.g., Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS) over Japan, Indian Regional Navigational Satellite System (IRNSS) over India, Beidou over China, etc., and/or various augmentation systems (e.g., an Satellite Based Augmentation System (SBAS)) that may be associated with or otherwise enabled for use with one or more global and/or regional navigation satellite systems. By way of example but not limitation, an SBAS may include an augmentation system(s) that provides integrity information, differential corrections, etc., such as, e.g., Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), Multi-functional Satellite Augmentation System (MSAS), GPS Aided Geo Augmented Navigation or GPS and Geo Augmented Navigation system (GAGAN), and/or the like. Thus, as used herein an SPS may include any combination of one or more global and/or regional navigation satellite systems and/or augmentation systems, and SPS signals may include SPS, SPS-like, and/or other positioning signals associated with such one or more SPS.
[0074] The one or more accuracy factors may include, for example, an accuracy value associated with the SPS-based location data, a distance from a particular wireless access point at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, a density of wireless access points in a surrounding area at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, geofence data associated with the surrounding area at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, or any combination thereof. By recording the one or more accuracy factors over time, the device may be able to identify a correlation between the accuracy of the SPS-based location data and the one or more accuracy factors.
[0076] Geofence data, which indicates that the device is within a certain area (based on, for example, radio frequency identification (RFID) technology), may be used in the same manner Over time, the processor 210 and/or memory 220 may be configured to detect a correlation between a particular geofenced location and the accuracy/inaccuracy of SPS range estimates. Once the correlation is established, the device may infer that the SPS range estimates are inaccurate based on detection of the presence of the particular geofenced location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite. This would enable processing the received signals. By utilizing the one or more accuracy factors over time, the device may be able to identify a correlation between the accuracy of the SPS-based location data and the one or more accuracy factors using the pseudo-random noise (PRN) codes, para 24, 74.
THALER, Dhanapal and Dooley do not specifically mention about, which Guim Bernet discloses,
accessing a database through the server (
[0055] The edge resource node(s) 640 also communicates with the core data center 650, which may include compute servers, appliances, and/or other components located in a central location (e.g., a central office of a cellular communication network). The core data center 650 may provide a gateway to the global network cloud 660 (e.g., the Internet) for the edge cloud 110 operations formed by the edge resource node(s) 640 and the edge gateway devices 620. Additionally, in some examples, the core data center 650 may include an amount of processing and storage capabilities and, as such, some processing and/or storage of data for the client compute devices may be performed on the core data center 650 (e.g., processing of low urgency or importance, or high complexity).
[0056] The edge gateway nodes 620 or the edge resource nodes 640 may offer the use of stateful applications 632 and a geographic distributed database 634. Although the applications 632 and database 634 are illustrated as being horizontally distributed at a layer of the edge cloud 110, it will be understood that resources, services, or other components of the application may be vertically distributed throughout the edge cloud (including, part of the application executed at the client compute node 610, other parts at the edge gateway nodes 620 or the edge resource nodes 640, etc.)
in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence; preventing an access of the database in response to the geolocation of the server being outside of the geofence (
[0028] In some aspects, the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130 can be configured with GBCA management functions 111. For example, network management entities within the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130 can be configured with a GBCA manager, which uses geofence-based mechanisms to associate a geofence policy with a workload rather than with a hosting environment as well as to authenticate a connectivity node to process data and perform services with geofence-based restrictions. In some aspects, a GBCA manager can be configured as part of a connectivity node (e.g., an edge connectivity node or a non-terrestrial connectivity node such as a communication satellite) operating within the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130. decode configuration messages from a network management entity where the configuration messages include a workflow execution plan with a geofence policy (e.g., a geofence policy specifying geofence restrictions associated with the execution of services to complete an edge workload), determine whether current geolocation of the connectivity node violates a geofence restriction, generating a notification to the network management entity and seizing execution of the service when the current geolocation of the connectivity node violates the geofence restriction specified by the geofence policy.
[0123] More specifically, the geofence validation circuit 1214 uses the latency management circuit 1216 to access the trusted partner table 1217, which can be stored in memory 1204. As illustrated in FIG. 12, trusted partner table 1217 identifies trusted connectivity nodes and corresponding access latencies which are satisfied if the edge device 1200 has kept its original geolocation and has not moved. The geofence validation circuit 1214 can communicate testing packets via the network I/O 1220 to the trusted connectivity nodes identified by the trusted partner table 1217 and determine current latencies on the communication links to such nodes. If the current latencies correspond to the latencies in the trusted partner table 1217, the geofence validation circuit 1214 uses the satellite connector 1210 to communicate with non-terrestrial connectivity nodes to obtain geolocation information or obtains the geolocation information from the GPS location circuit 1212.
[0133] In some aspects, an edge workload may be partitioned into many workloads and distributed for executing using many edge node services. The workflow may be transmitted between multiple edge connectivity points that have multiple terrestrial geolocations or may use non-terrestrial connectivity points (e.g., satellites) that either hover over a broad spectrum with a fixed set of geographies (e.g., GEO satellites) or may canvas the earth in low-earth orbits that cannot easily avoid terrestrial locations that are deemed to be unacceptable in terms of geofence policy enforcement (e.g., LEO satellites).
[0146] In some aspects, the GBCAM is further configured to perform operations to determine the current geolocation information of the edge computing device using geolocation information received from the LEO satellite or the GEO satellite. In some aspects, the GBCAM is further configured to determine the current geolocation information of the edge computing device using terrestrial location information from a subset of the plurality of edge connectivity nodes.
Note:
When the server/device/node being outside of the geofence, the access to server/device/node is restricted and hence anything that is accessed through the server/device/node such as database/storage/device/node is also restricted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the geofence. When the device/server is outside the geofence the geofence policy would enable blocking access to the device/server and its connected device such as storage/memory/database/other connected devices that are outside of the geofence. Based on the geofence based restrictions and the geolocation of the server/device, upon violation of the geofence restriction the access would be restricted, para 28, 133.
Referring to claim(s) 3, THALER discloses, receiving data from a data center at the geolocation (
[0026] The generation of the public/private key pair 145 using environmental factors can have a taxonomy of uses, as illustratively shown by numeral 150. For example, the generated key pair can be used to encrypt or decrypt data (locally or at a remote device) 155, in measured or secure boot 160, for data center security (e.g., verify a server is inside an assigned geofence) 165, for selective access to data or operations and individualized content distribution (content, language, advertisements, etc. can be tailored based on, e.g., location) 170, for user authentication and authorization 175, to perform operations (e.g., run an application, run a virtual machine, access data) 180, and for selective machine configuration (e.g., a device operates at different speeds based on environmental factors, or adjustments are made to comport with regulations associated with the current location, such as radio frequencies) 185.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THALER in view of DHANAPAL, Guim Bernet, DOOLEY, and PAUL et al., GB 2550206 A.
Referring to claim(s) 4, THALER, Dhanapal, Guim Bernet and Dooley does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Paul discloses, encrypting and decrypting the series of samples ( encrypted SPS signal channel, 3rd last para, page 4, decrypts the received encrypted SPS signal, 3rd last para, page 4, In many of the embodiments the satellite positioning system (SPS) used in the above methods is a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the GPS system, Beidou system, Galileo system, or GLONASS system. In other embodiments, however, a regional SPS may be used, like the IRNSS or QZSS system, 3rd last para, page 5.,
Satellite Positioning Systems (SPS) are used in many areas, such as providing accurate timing, as well as accurate navigation and positioning for vehicles such as aircraft, cars, ships, and the like. Satellite Positioning systems can be classified as either a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS), such as the Global Positioning System (GPS), the Galileo system, the GLONASS system, and the Beidou system which provide global coverage, or as a regional system which just provides regional coverage, such as the Indian Regional Navigation Satellite System or IRNSS with an operational name of NAVIC (Sailor or Navigator in Hindi) |[SHi]system. In this description, however, we often use the term GNSS to refer to any satellite positioning system, whether global or regional, unless the context clearly requires otherwise, and hence the terms Satellite Positioning System (SPS) and Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) are often used herein interchangeably, 2nd para, page 2)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the encrypting and decrypting. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that a well-known encrypting and decrypting, is the process of scrambling data into an unreadable format using an algorithm and a key, while decryption is the reverse process of using the same or a related key to unscramble the data back into its original, readable form. Encryption protects data's confidentiality, while decryption makes it accessible to authorized users. Hence, protection of data's confidentiality would be accomplished.
Claim(s) 5, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over THALER in view of DHANAPAL, Guim Bernet, DOOLEY and WEN et al., CN 113721265 A.
Referring to claim(s) 5, THALER, DHANAPAL, Guim Bernet and DOOLEY disclose wherein the series of samples are timestamped with a time of receipt, wherein at a server, receiving a series of samples of a satellite positioning system (SPS) satellite signal from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver that is substantially co-located with the server wherein the series of samples are timestamped with a sampling time; processing the series of samples, processing the series of samples to determine a geolocation of the server (as per the citations of claim 1). THALER and DOOLEY do not disclose, which Wen discloses, a comparing the GNSS time to the time of receipt to determine a delay between the time of receipt and the GNSS time of transmission, wherein performing the operation at the server is further in response to the delay being less than a maximum allowable delay, and wherein preventing the operation at the server is further in response to the delay being greater than the maximum allowable delay (3rd para, page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the encrypting and decrypting. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that a well-known calculation of the delay. When the delay more that the acceptable amount then the signal would not be utilized. This would enable using data associated with signal to arrive within limited amount of delay for effective scheduling, 3rd para, page 5.
Response to Arguments
Remarks/Arguments filed 1/14/26, pages 7-10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, rejection of claims 1, 3-6 is maintained.
Regarding the remarks for the amended claims, the rejections are updated accordingly. Please refer to the updated rejections for the amended limitations.
THALER discloses, method of verifying a geolocation, comprising at a server, receiving a satellite signal from a global navigation satellite system (GNSS) receiver that is associated with the server, processing the signal to determine a geolocation of the server; performing an operation at the server in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence; and preventing an operation at the server in response to the geolocation of the server being outside of the geofence
[0026] for data center security (e.g., verify a server is inside an assigned geofence) 165, for selective access to data or operations and individualized content distribution based on, e.g., location) 170, for user authentication and authorization 175, to perform operations (e.g., run an application, run a virtual machine, access data) 180, and for selective machine configuration (e.g., a device operates at different speeds based on environmental factors, or adjustments are made to comport with regulations associated with the current location) 185.
[0043] when the computing device enters or leaves a geofence. The data for the environmental factors can be obtained from the trusted sources (e.g., external servers, GNSS, etc.)
[0045] In another exemplary implementation, a geofence is applied to a hard disk in a datacenter so that the data cannot be read when the hard disk is located outside of that data center beyond the geofence.
[0050] FIG. 13 is a flowchart of an illustrative method 1300 which is performed by a computing device, such as a server. In step 1305, a geofence is set around a geographical area. [0067] successfully decrypts when the current location of the server is inside the geofence; and do not decrypt when the current location of the server is outside of the geofence. As another example, the current location is received from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS).
THALER does not specifically mention about, which is well-known in the art, which Dooley discloses, series of samples of a satellite positioning system (SPS), wherein the series of samples are timestamped with a sampling time (abstract)
Also, asset tracking, and security applications. The invention has been described in connection with single frequency GPS, but other GNSS systems (GLONASS, Galileo etc) would be similar. Last para, page 10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the SPS. One of ordinary skilled in the art would readily know that a satellite positioning system, is a network of satellites that transmit signals to receivers on Earth, allowing them to calculate their precise location, velocity, and time. The most well-known example is the Global Positioning System (GPS). These systems work by using a technique called trilateration, where a receiver measures the distance to multiple satellites to pinpoint its exact position. Hence, the timestamp would enable when the signal was provided for the current position.
THALER and Dooley do not specifically mention about, which Dhanapal discloses,
processing the series of samples to determine a geolocation of the server by correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite that transmitted the SPS satellite signal (
[0024] In a SPS, a system of transmitting devices (depicted as transmitting devices 120, 130, 140) enable devices to sense a position on or above the earth based, at least in part, on signals received from transmitting devices analogous to the transmitting devices 120, 130, 140. The transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may transmit a signal that includes a code, for example, a repeating pseudo-random noise (PRN) code. The transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may be located on ground-based control stations, user equipment and/or space vehicles. In some implementations, the transmitting devices 120, 130, 140 may be located on Earth-orbiting satellite vehicles (SVs). For example, a SV in a constellation of a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) such as Global Positioning System (GPS), Galileo, Glonass or Compass may transmit a signal marked with a particular code that is distinguishable from codes transmitted by other SVs in the constellation (e.g., using different codes for each satellite as in GPS or using the same code on different frequencies as in Glonass). In accordance with certain aspects, the techniques presented herein are not restricted to global systems (e.g., GNSS) for SPS. For example, the techniques provided herein may be applied to or otherwise enabled for use in various regional systems, such as, e.g., Quasi-Zenith Satellite System (QZSS) over Japan, Indian Regional Navigational Satellite System (IRNSS) over India, Beidou over China, etc., and/or various augmentation systems (e.g., an Satellite Based Augmentation System (SBAS)) that may be associated with or otherwise enabled for use with one or more global and/or regional navigation satellite systems. By way of example but not limitation, an SBAS may include an augmentation system(s) that provides integrity information, differential corrections, etc., such as, e.g., Wide Area Augmentation System (WAAS), European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service (EGNOS), Multi-functional Satellite Augmentation System (MSAS), GPS Aided Geo Augmented Navigation or GPS and Geo Augmented Navigation system (GAGAN), and/or the like. Thus, as used herein an SPS may include any combination of one or more global and/or regional navigation satellite systems and/or augmentation systems, and SPS signals may include SPS, SPS-like, and/or other positioning signals associated with such one or more SPS.
[0074] The one or more accuracy factors may include, for example, an accuracy value associated with the SPS-based location data, a distance from a particular wireless access point at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, a density of wireless access points in a surrounding area at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, geofence data associated with the surrounding area at the time of the generating of the first SPS-based location data, or any combination thereof. By recording the one or more accuracy factors over time, the device may be able to identify a correlation between the accuracy of the SPS-based location data and the one or more accuracy factors.
[0076] Geofence data, which indicates that the device is within a certain area (based on, for example, radio frequency identification (RFID) technology), may be used in the same manner Over time, the processor 210 and/or memory 220 may be configured to detect a correlation between a particular geofenced location and the accuracy/inaccuracy of SPS range estimates. Once the correlation is established, the device may infer that the SPS range estimates are inaccurate based on detection of the presence of the particular geofenced location.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing correlating the samples with a PRN code for an SPS satellite. This would enable processing the received signals. By utilizing the one or more accuracy factors over time, the device may be able to identify a correlation between the accuracy of the SPS-based location data and the one or more accuracy factors using the pseudo-random noise (PRN) codes, para 24, 74.
THALER, Dhanapal and Dooley do not specifically mention about, which Guim Bernet discloses,
accessing a database through the server (
[0055] The edge resource node(s) 640 also communicates with the core data center 650, which may include compute servers, appliances, and/or other components located in a central location (e.g., a central office of a cellular communication network). The core data center 650 may provide a gateway to the global network cloud 660 (e.g., the Internet) for the edge cloud 110 operations formed by the edge resource node(s) 640 and the edge gateway devices 620. Additionally, in some examples, the core data center 650 may include an amount of processing and storage capabilities and, as such, some processing and/or storage of data for the client compute devices may be performed on the core data center 650 (e.g., processing of low urgency or importance, or high complexity).
[0056] The edge gateway nodes 620 or the edge resource nodes 640 may offer the use of stateful applications 632 and a geographic distributed database 634. Although the applications 632 and database 634 are illustrated as being horizontally distributed at a layer of the edge cloud 110, it will be understood that resources, services, or other components of the application may be vertically distributed throughout the edge cloud (including, part of the application executed at the client compute node 610, other parts at the edge gateway nodes 620 or the edge resource nodes 640, etc.)
in response to the geolocation of the server being within a geofence; preventing an access of the database in response to the geolocation of the server being outside of the geofence (
[0028] In some aspects, the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130 can be configured with GBCA management functions 111. For example, network management entities within the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130 can be configured with a GBCA manager, which uses geofence-based mechanisms to associate a geofence policy with a workload rather than with a hosting environment as well as to authenticate a connectivity node to process data and perform services with geofence-based restrictions. In some aspects, a GBCA manager can be configured as part of a connectivity node (e.g., an edge connectivity node or a non-terrestrial connectivity node such as a communication satellite) operating within the edge cloud 110 and the cloud data center 130. decode configuration messages from a network management entity where the configuration messages include a workflow execution plan with a geofence policy (e.g., a geofence policy specifying geofence restrictions associated with the execution of services to complete an edge workload), determine whether current geolocation of the connectivity node violates a geofence restriction, generating a notification to the network management entity and seizing execution of the service when the current geolocation of the connectivity node violates the geofence restriction specified by the geofence policy.
[0123] More specifically, the geofence validation circuit 1214 uses the latency management circuit 1216 to access the trusted partner table 1217, which can be stored in memory 1204. As illustrated in FIG. 12, trusted partner table 1217 identifies trusted connectivity nodes and corresponding access latencies which are satisfied if the edge device 1200 has kept its original geolocation and has not moved. The geofence validation circuit 1214 can communicate testing packets via the network I/O 1220 to the trusted connectivity nodes identified by the trusted partner table 1217 and determine current latencies on the communication links to such nodes. If the current latencies correspond to the latencies in the trusted partner table 1217, the geofence validation circuit 1214 uses the satellite connector 1210 to communicate with non-terrestrial connectivity nodes to obtain geolocation information or obtains the geolocation information from the GPS location circuit 1212.
[0133] In some aspects, an edge workload may be partitioned into many workloads and distributed for executing using many edge node services. The workflow may be transmitted between multiple edge connectivity points that have multiple terrestrial geolocations or may use non-terrestrial connectivity points (e.g., satellites) that either hover over a broad spectrum with a fixed set of geographies (e.g., GEO satellites) or may canvas the earth in low-earth orbits that cannot easily avoid terrestrial locations that are deemed to be unacceptable in terms of geofence policy enforcement (e.g., LEO satellites).
[0146] In some aspects, the GBCAM is further configured to perform operations to determine the current geolocation information of the edge computing device using geolocation information received from the LEO satellite or the GEO satellite. In some aspects, the GBCAM is further configured to determine the current geolocation information of the edge computing device using terrestrial location information from a subset of the plurality of edge connectivity nodes.
Note:
When the server/device/node being outside of the geofence, the access to server/device/node is restricted and hence anything that is accessed through the server/device/node such as database/storage/device/node is also restricted.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention disclosed by THALER to implement these limitations and also one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it could provide utilizing the geofence. When the device/server is outside the geofence the geofence policy would enable blocking access to the device/server and its connected device such as storage/memory/database/other connected devices that are outside of the geofence. Based on the geofence based restrictions and the geolocation of the server/device, upon violation of the geofence restriction the access would be restricted, para 28, 133.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HARESH N PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496