DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, Species B in the reply filed on 5/8/2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant's election with traverse of Group 2, Species Z in the reply filed on 5/8/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all claims are generic and therefore the Election of Species Requirement is improper. This is not found persuasive because claims do not define species, instead, species are disclosed in the original specification. See MPEP 809.02 and FP 8.02. The applicant must elect a single species when a group of Species is disclosed in the original specification. The Species requirement can be withdrawn at allowance if only generic claims remain, but the applicant can only pursue the elected species in future amendments.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 12/21/23, 3/28/24, 6/6/24, 3/3/25, 11/13/25, 1/14/26 and 5/11/26 were filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The first paragraph of the specification should be amended to indicate that US App. No. 18/331,109 is now US Patent No. 11,964,154.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-11, 14-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Caparso et al. (US 2021/0106824, hereinafter Caparso).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6, 11, and 20, Caparso discloses a method for treating sleep apnea (par. 0005). As seen in figures 10-16, an incision 50 is made at a submandibular point below the chin 52 in order to percutaneously insert an injection needle in an anterior-to-posterior direction, a medial-to-lateral direction and then finally a lateral-to-medial direction (par. 0041-0042). A signal delivery device 24 with an array of electrodes is attached to and carried by the injection needle and is therefore inserted using the same approach to place the electrodes 34/36 transverse to the anterior branches of the hypoglossal nerve to stimulate those branches (par. 0042 and figures 6-7). Caparso discloses one or more anterior branches of a hypoglossal nerve that are distal of a medial branch of the nerve and that enter/innervate the left and right genioglossus muscles (par. 0005, 0007, 0032 and 0039, matching what is described in par. 0045 of the applicant's specification). The lead is three dimensional, such that at least a portion of the electrodes and lead have a vector component aligned with an inferior-superior axis.
Regarding claim 8, the advancing is done using ultrasound guidance (par. 0039).
Regarding claim 9, there is a single, at least generally linear path that will exist from the sub-mandibular incision toward the anterior branches before the needle and lead changes directions (par. 0041-0042).
Regarding claim 10, the lead and electrodes are shown transverse the branches of the hypoglossal nerve (figures 6 and 7).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the lead is pushed into the genioglossus muscle (par. 0034).
Regarding claims 16-17, the lead is placed between the chin 52 and the hyoid bone and between the left and right sides of the mandible (figures 1 and 10-16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caparso in view of Ward et al. (US 2023/0414945, hereinafter Ward).
Regarding claim 13, Caparso discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to applying stimulation to determine proper location of the lead and electrodes. Ward is analogous art that also discloses electrical stimulation to treat sleep apnea (see abstract). Ward discloses that test stimulations may be delivered to the nerve to determine if the location results in optimal treatment (par. 0213 and 0238). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Caparso to apply test stimulations to the nerve to determine if the location results in optimal treatment, as taught by Ward (par. 0213 and 0238).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caparso.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Caparso is silent as to exactly how the head should be positioned before lead insertion begins. However, the head would obviously need to be positioned in a manner that exposes the insertion point. Furthermore, moving the head posteriorly would more readily expose the underside of the chin then moving the head anteriorly, which would push the chin onto the chest and make the insertion point inaccessible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Caparso to expose the insertion point by moving the head posteriorly as the operation could not be performed without exposing the insertion point.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10, 14-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,964,154 in view of Caparso. Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8-10 and 20, the patented claims disclose all limitations of the current claims with the exception of percutaneously advancing the electrodes to the hypoglossal nerve in a superior direction. Caparso also discloses a method for treating sleep apnea (par. 0005) and is thus analogous art. As seen in figures 10-16, an incision 50 is made at a submandibular point below the chin 52 in order to percutaneously insert an injection needle in an anterior-to-posterior direction, a medial-to-lateral direction and then finally a lateral-to-medial direction (par. 0041-0042). A signal delivery device 24 with an array of electrodes is attached to and carried by the injection needle and is therefore inserted using the same approach to place the electrodes 34/36 transverse to the anterior branches of the hypoglossal nerve to stimulate those branches, such that there is a single, at least generally linear path that will exist from the sub-mandibular incision toward the anterior branches before the needle and lead changes directions (par. 0041-0042). (par. 0042 and figures 6-7). Caparso discloses one or more anterior branches of a hypoglossal nerve that are distal of a medial branch of the nerve and that enter/innervate the left and right genioglossus muscles (par. 0005, 0007, 0032 and 0039, matching what is described in par. 0045 of the applicant's specification). The lead is three dimensional, such that at least a portion of the electrodes and lead have a vector component aligned with an inferior-superior axis. The advancing is done using ultrasound guidance (par. 0039). Therefore, it would have been obvious to use the insertion path of Caparso with the patented claims as Caparso teaches this path allows for individual activation of nerves for optimal desired effect (par. 0025).
Regarding claims 14 and 15, the lead is pushed into the genioglossus muscle using the insertion path described above (par. 0034).
Regarding claims 16-17, the lead is placed between the chin 52 and the hyoid bone and between the left and right sides of the mandible using the insertion path described above (figures 1 and 10-16).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Caparso is silent as to exactly how the head should be positioned before lead insertion begins. However, the head would obviously need to be positioned in a manner that exposes the insertion point. Furthermore, moving the head posteriorly would more readily expose the underside of the chin then moving the head anteriorly, which would push the chin onto the chest and make the insertion point inaccessible. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify Caparso to expose the insertion point by moving the head posteriorly as the operation could not be performed without exposing the insertion point.
Claim 13 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 8 and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,964,154 in view of Caparso in view of Ward.
Regarding claim 13, the patented claims as modified by Caparso discloses the applicant’s basic invention, but is silent as to applying stimulation to determine proper location of the lead and electrodes. Ward is analogous art that also discloses electrical stimulation to treat sleep apnea (see abstract). Ward discloses that test stimulations may be delivered to the nerve to determine if the location results in optimal treatment (par. 0213 and 0238). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the applicant’s effective filing date to modify the patented claims to apply test stimulations to the nerve to determine if the location results in optimal treatment, as taught by Ward (par. 0213 and 0238).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 7, par. 0041-0042 teach against deploying the lead from within the needle. Regarding claim 12, par. 0041 teaches against inserting the lead without dissecting tissue at a submental region.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
/Eric D. Bertram/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796