DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-2 and 4-10, in the reply filed on 05/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 13-15, 17-21, 23-26, 29, and 34-38 are withdrawn from further consideration as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Status of Claims
Receipt of Remarks/Amendments filed on 05/21/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 and 23 are amended and claims 3, 11-22, 27-28, and 30-33 are canceled. Claims 23-26, 29, and 34-38 are withdrawn as discussed above. Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
The instant application filed 12/21/2023, claims benefit to Provisional Application No. 63/476,812, filed 12/22/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
No information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed at this time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 5 and 6 recite weight percents without reciting the basis for such percents. For instance, are these amounts based on the total weight of the dispersion or are they based on the weight of a solvent?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Wu et al. (US 20140213554 A1, 07/31/2014, PTO-892), hereinafter Wu.
Wu discloses compounds active on c-kit protein kinases or mutant c-kit protein kinases as well as methods of making and using such compounds (abstract).
Regarding claim 1: An active compound is 3,4-dimethyl-N-(2-phenyl-1H-pyrrolo[2,3-b]pyridin-5-yl)-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide (P-2007) ([0211]; Example 2), which reads on instantly claimed Compound I. The compounds are complexed to form an amorphous complex via spray-drying of the compound ([0543]). Such methods may also include addition of polymer systems, including hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), that further stabilize the amorphous nature of the complex ([0543]). A “spray-dried solid dispersion,” or “spray-dried dispersion” (SDD) is defined by the instant specification as a dispersion comprising a drug and a polymer, wherein the drug is non-crystalline and is amorphous ([0072]). As such, the spray-dried composition of Wu which includes an amorphous complex of the instantly claimed drug and polymer reads on a spray-dried solid dispersion wherein Compound I is dispersed in a polymer matrix.
Regarding claim 2: The compound ([0211]; Example 2) is preferably in the form of an amorphous complex ([0543]).
Regarding claim 8: Compounds can exist in solvated forms. Some examples of solvents include, but are not limited to, methanol, N,N-dimethylformamide, tetrahydrofuran, dimethylsulfoxide, and water ([0083]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-2 and 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lindemann et al. (US 20210387946 A1, 12/16/2021, PTO-892), hereinafter Lindemann, in view of Wu et al. (US 20140213554 A1, 07/31/2014, PTO-892), hereinafter Wu.
Regarding claim 1: Lindemann discloses solid dispersions comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable polymer ([0004]; claims 1 and 6). The solid dispersion is obtained by spray drying ([0007]; [0015]; [0142]; Examples). The compound of Formula (I) is dispersed in a solid matrix that comprises the polymer(s) ([0048]; [0053]; [0081]).
Regarding claim 2: The solid dispersion is amorphous ([0006]).
Regarding claim 4: The polymer is hypromellose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), specifically HPMCAS-H (i.e., grade H) ([0004]; [0084]-[0085]; [0090]; Examples).
Regarding claim 5: The compound of Formula (I) (i.e., the active) is present in an amount of about 25% by weight of the solid dispersion ([0005]; [0093]; Examples).
Regarding claim 6: The polymer is present in an amount of about 75% by weight of the solid dispersion ([0005]; [0096]; Examples).
Regarding claim 7: The weight ratio of the compound of Formula (I) to the polymer is about 25:75 (i.e., 1:3) ([0005]; [0097]; Examples).
Regarding claim 8: The process for preparing a solid dispersion includes providing a solution of Formula (I) and a polymer in a solvent ([0015]; [0140]; claim 94).
Regarding claim 9: The solvent may comprise tetrahydrofuran, water, or a combination thereof ([0005]; [0141]).
Regarding claim 10: The solvent comprises up to 5% water ([0015]), meaning in a water and tetrahydrofuran combination the ratio would be 5:95 or 1:19.
Overall, the compositions of Lindemann have advantageous physical properties, which may provide benefits in processing, formulation, stability, bioavailability, storage, and handling, among other important pharmaceutical characteristics. The methods described allow for large-scale production compliant with good manufacturing practice (GMP) guidelines ([0041]).
The teachings of Lindemann differ from that of the instantly claimed invention in that Lindemann does not explicitly teach Compound (I) of the instant claims nor a specific embodiment wherein water and tetrahydrofuran are used at a ratio of claim 10.
Wu discloses compounds active on c-kit protein kinases or mutant c-kit protein kinases as well as methods of making and using such compounds (abstract). An active compound is 3,4-dimethyl-N-(2-phenyl-1H-pyrrolo[2,3-b]pyridin-5-yl)-1H-pyrazole-5-carboxamide (P-2007) ([0211]; Example 2), which reads on instantly claimed Compound (I). The compounds are complexed to form an amorphous complex via spray-drying of the compound ([0543]). Such methods may also include addition of polymer systems, including hydroxypropyl methyl cellulose acetate succinate (HPMCAS), that further stabilize the amorphous nature of the complex ([0543]). The compound ([0211]; Example 2) is preferably in the form of an amorphous complex ([0543]). Compounds can exist in solvated forms. Some examples of solvents include, but are not limited to, methanol, N,N-dimethylformamide, tetrahydrofuran, dimethylsulfoxide, and water ([0083]). Such amorphous complexes provide several advantages. For example, lowering of the melting temperature relative to the free base, facilitates additional processing, such as hot melt extrusion, to further improve the biopharmaceutical properties of the compound. Also, the amorphous complex is readily friable, which provides improved compression for loading of the solid into capsule or tablet form ([0543]).
It would have been prima facie obvious, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the active of Lindemann with the active of Wu (i.e., Compound (I)) since the active of Wu is a known and routine active to be incorporated in a spray-dried polymer complex. One of ordinary skill in the art could have performed simple substitution of one known active for another to predictably yield the instant invention. Moreover, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such as substitution since formulating the active of Wu according to Lindemann would have reasonably improved the processing, stability, and biopharmaceutical properties of the active in the same way described by Lindemann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in making such a modification since Wu teaches that Compound (I) can be formulated in a spray-dried amorphous complex with a polymer such as HPMCAS and that solvents such as tetrahydrofuran and water may be used. Such a combination reads on the spray-dried solid dispersion of claims 1-2 and 4-9.
Regarding the ratio of water to tetrahydrofuran in claim 10, it would have been prima facie obvious to use a combination of water and THF at a ratio of 1:19 since this is a known and routine ratio in the art as taught by Lindemann. Lindemann teaches that a combination of water and THF can be utilized as the solvent and that the solvent may comprise up to 5% water. In combination, these two teachings result in a ratio of 1:19. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the instantly claimed ratio by combining embodiments of Lindemann, which involves no more than choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
No claims allowed.
/SUSANNAH S ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 1616
/SUE X LIU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1616