DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0178644 to Chang in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,662,187 to Pineda.
With regard to claim 1, Chang discloses muzzle flash simulator configured to be installed on a toy air gun, the muzzle flash simulator comprising:
a base (e.g., see Fig. 1, the housing of the muzzle flash simulator 10 defines the base);
a shooting sensor disposed on the base and communicatively connected to a controller (e.g., see paragraphs 20-21 that discuss “a first detector 16”, see also Fig. 1 that shows a first detector 16 which is equivalent to a shooting sensor), and configured to transmit a trigger signal to the controller when the toy air gun is detected in a shooting state (e.g., see at least paragraphs 20-22 that discuss “a controller 14” and more specifically in paragraph 21 that states that “detector 16 is configured to transmit a trigger signal to the controller”);
wherein the controller is preset to output at least two control signals that periodically change according to the trigger signal (e.g., see at least paragraphs 58-59 that discuss brightness control with a 3W brightness control and a 1W brightness control wherein the two brightness controls equate to the at least two control signals); and
at least one group of flash simulation light sources (e.g., see at least paragraphs 20-23 that discuss a “flash light course 18”) connected to the controller (e.g., see controller 14 as discussed in paragraph 20) and configured to periodically emit lights having different colors to a projectile launched from the toy air gun according to the control signals to form a light track (e.g., see at least Fig. 2D that shows at least two illuminating components with different colors; see also paragraph 23 that discusses that “each light source 18 may be a combination of two, or more light sources”; see also paragraph 23 that discusses a mixed color light trail and the light source “illuminates on the moving projectile 4”);
[claim 5] wherein the at least one group of flash simulation light sources includes at least one group of light-emitting elements, wherein each of the at least one group of light-emitting elements includes at least two light-emitting elements having different colors (e.g., see at least Fig. 2D that shows at least two illuminating components with different colors; see also paragraph 23 that discusses that “each light source 18 may be a combination of two, or more light sources”; see also paragraph 23 that discusses a mixed color light trail and the light source “illuminates on the moving projectile 4”); wherein the controller includes a signal generator circuit preset to output the at least two control signals that periodically change to correspondingly control turn-on, turn-off and luminous brightness of the at least two light-emitting elements having different colors (e.g., see at least paragraph 58 that discusses on/off modes of operation including a strobe mode with “rapid on off of the light”);
[claim 6] wherein a ratio of a positive voltage duration of the control signal to a period within a cycle is constant (e.g., see at least Fig. 4H that discusses constant signals over time);
[claim 7] wherein the positive voltage duration is calculated by the following formula:3T/2n where T is the period, T is less than 0.1 seconds, n is a number of colors of the light-emitting elements, and n is greater than 1 (e.g., see at least Fig. 5A that shows time periods of less than 0.1 seconds, “30ms to 100ms”);
[claim 8] wherein a phase difference between two adjacent control signals is calculated by the following formula: 360*/n where n is a number of colors of the light-emitting elements, and n is greater than 1 (e.g., see at least Fig. 2D that shows at least two illuminating components with different colors; see also paragraph 23 that discusses that “each light source 18 may be a combination of two, or more light sources”; wherein light source 18 includes red light 183, green light 184, and blue light 185.)
With regard to claim 9, Chang discloses a light track generation method applied to the muzzle flash simulator as claimed in claim 1, the light track generation method comprising the following steps: when the toy air gun is detected in the shooting state (e.g., via detector 16; see Fig. 6C), the shooting sensor is configured to generate the trigger signal and transmit the trigger signal to the controller (e.g., see paragraphs 20-21 that discuss “a first detector 16”, see also Fig. 1 that shows a first detector 16 which is equivalent to a shooting sensor); the controller is preset to generate and output the at least two control signals that periodically change according to the trigger signal (e.g., see at least paragraphs 58-59 that discuss brightness control with a 3W brightness control and a 1W brightness control wherein the two brightness controls equate to the at least two control signals); and the at least one group of flash simulation light sources (e.g., see at least paragraphs 20-23 that discuss a “flash light course 18”) is configured to receive the control signals and periodically emit lights having different colors to the projectile launched from the toy air gun according to the control signals, so as to generate a corresponding light track according to a running trajectory of the projectile e.g., see at least Fig. 2D that shows at least two illuminating components with different colors; see also paragraph 23 that discusses that “each light source 18 may be a combination of two, or more light sources”; see also paragraph 23 that discusses a mixed color light trail and the light source “illuminates on the moving projectile 4”); and
[claim 10] wherein the steps of generating the trigger signal and transmitting the trigger signal to the controller includes: determining whether or not the toy air gun launches the projectile; and if yes, generating the trigger signal and transmitting the trigger signal to the controller (e.g., see at least paragraph 29, wherein the “first detector 16, coupled to the controller 14 and configured to transmit the trigger signal to the controller 14 in response to detecting the projectile 4 passing through the internal passage 12).
With regard claims 1 and 9, Chang discloses all of the recited features but is silent regarding the use of the shooting sensor being a vibration sensor.
In the same field of endeavor, Pineda teaches a toy gun with a vibration sensor to detect playing with the toy gun to turn on a light (e.g., see at least column 7, lines 39-53.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Chang with the vibration sensor as taught by Pineda in order to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, substituting a position sensor with a vibration sensor is a simple substation that Pineda notes (e.g., see at least column 7, lines 39-53, the sensor 610 is a motion sensor, pressure sensor, a proximity sensor, a light sensor, and/or a vibration sensor), wherein a vibration sensor detects the additional data of when a user is moving.
With regard to claims 2 and 3, Chang discloses all of the recited features but fail to disclose a rail structure is provided on the base, and the muzzle flash simulator is configured to the detachably installed on the toy air gun through the rail structure, including a side of the base.
In the same field of endeavor, Pineda teaches a rail structure is provided on a bottom side of the base, which is connected to a corresponding rail structure on a top side of the toy gun (e.g., see at least column 21-57, that shows a rail 200 and mounting bracket 120 for securing toy gun attachment to a top side of the toy gun; see also Figs. 3A, 3B, and Fig. 8).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Chang with the rail structure as taught by Pineda in order to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, substituting a barrel attachment with a rail attachment may increase the speed and convenience of attaching detaching the muzzle flash assembly.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang and Pineda as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0340777 to Yoon.
Chang shows all of recited elements as set forth above including an attachment to a toy gun at the muzzle but does not expressly state how the attachment is attached to the muzzle.
In the same field of endeavor, Yoon teaches a toy gun attachment that is screw-coupled to a toy gun muzzle (e.g., see at least paragraph 41 that discusses a threaded attachment).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Chang with a threaded muzzle attachment as taught by Yoon in order to provide a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results. In this case, a threaded muzzle attachment is a quick and effective technique for attaching an attachment to a toy gun.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, includes:
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0093436 to Lander discloses a combat simulation device with a rail for connecting an attachment (e.g., see at least paragraphs 41 and 42).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0058799 to Kawawaki discusses a projectile for a toy gun with a vibration sensor (e.g., see at least paragraph 49).
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715