DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's submission filed on April 10, 2026 was received and has been entered. Claims 1-2 and 4-5 were amended. Claims 1-6 are in the application. Claims 7-14 have been withdrawn. A replacement paragraph was submitted to amend the title.
Drawings
The previous objections to the drawings regarding “user” is withdrawn based on Applicant’s arguments.
The previous objections to the drawings regarding “profile” is maintained Applicant’s arguments are not considered convincing.
The claimed subject matter including the term “profile” admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention in order for the Applicant to understand the limitations of the claim and the meaning of this term “profile”.
The previous objections to the drawings regarding “flux” in claim 4 is withdrawn based on Applicant’s arguments based on the deletion of this term from the claims.
Specification
The previous objection of the title of the invention for not being descriptive is held in abeyance.
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: “flow rate” and “reference data”.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to claims 2 and 4 are withdrawn based on the amendments to claims 2 and 4.
Claim 1 recites “the generated profile”. A suggested revision is “ the profile that has been generated”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The previous rejection of claim 1 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) .
Regarding claim 1, Telleria teaches an apparatus for dispensing a viscous fluid (joint compound), the apparatus comprising: a dispenser module including a nozzle (1240) which dispenses a viscous fluid (joint compound) according to a profile (data from vision system);
a robot module (140) configured to move the nozzle according to the profile; a vision module (324, 364). (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 2, 9, 11-22, 25, 33, 46, 62, 69, 83-85, 114, 121, 126-127, 129, 136-138, 142-143, 147, 161, and 166.)
Telleria does not explicitly teach a vision module configured to generate an image by photographing a workpiece to which the viscous fluid is dispensed; and
a control module configured to integrally control the dispenser module and the robot module based on the image received from the vision module to dispense the viscous fluid according to the profile,
wherein, to generate the profile, the control module provides a user with an interface which enables the user to input and modify a pattern of the viscous fluid in such a way as to draw the pattern on the image.
Yoo is directed to an adhesive coating device for precision part.
Yoo teaches a vision module (camera 31) configured to generate an image by photographing a workpiece (parts M) to which the viscous fluid is dispensed; and
a control module (50) configured to integrally control the dispenser module (32) and the robot module based on the image received from the vision module to dispense the viscous fluid according to the profile ( virtual adhesive application line) ,
wherein, to generate the profile, the control module provides a user with an interface which enables the user to input a pattern ( virtual adhesive application line) of the viscous fluid in such a way as to draw the pattern on the image (photographed images). (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a vision module configured to generate an image by photographing a workpiece to which the viscous fluid is dispensed; and
a control module configured to integrally control the dispenser module and the robot module based on the image received from the vision module to dispense the viscous fluid according to the profile,
wherein, to generate the profile, the control module provides a user with an interface which enables the user to input a pattern of the viscous fluid in such a way as to draw the pattern on the image, because Yoo teaches this would enable the adhesive to applied at the correct position. (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6; page 6, paragraph 7. )
Telleria does not explicitly teach wherein the control module is configured to generate the profile by converting the pattern drawn on the image into robot motion information and dispensing control parameters, and to integrally control operation of the dispenser module and the robot module based on the generated profile .
Duro Royo is directed to an adhesive coating device for precision part.
Duro Royo teaches the control module is configured to generate the profile (time and flow mapping instructions d) by converting the pattern (curve) drawn on the image into robot motion information and dispensing control parameters (instructions for the extruder and motion system), and to integrally control operation of the dispenser module and the robot module (deposition paths) based on the generated profile. (See Duro Royo, Abstract, Figs. 5-9, 11A-D, paragraphs 27, 39, 62, 90-103, 115, 117, 151, 153, and 158. )
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the control module is configured to generate the profile by converting the pattern drawn on the image into robot motion information and dispensing control parameters, and to integrally control operation of the dispenser module and the robot module based on the generated profile, because Duro Royo teaches this would enable the user to specify the desired path and the computer provides instructions to accomplish the completion of the 3-D structure. (See Duro Royo, Abstract, Figs. 5-9, 11A-D, paragraphs 6-10, 18, 27, 39, 62, 90-103, 115, 117, 151, 153, and 158. )
The previous rejection of claim 2 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) .
Regarding claim 2, Telleria teach the interface comprises: a picture window configured to display the image (2D or 3D representation of the workspace) received from the vision module, and display the pattern drawn by the user; a motion window configured to display and input a path through which the robot module moves the nozzle along the pattern (interface can overlay paths in paragraph 151) ; and a parameter window configured to display and input parameters for adjusting an amount of the viscous fluid based on the pattern (display information… including flow rate, pressure, path speed, coverage record). (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 2, 9, 11-22, 25, 33, 46, 62, 69, 83-85, 114, 121, 126-127, 129, 136-138, 142-143, 147, 151, 154, 161, and 166.)
Telleria does not explicitly teach the wherein the control module generates the profile based on the pattern input through the interface and the parameters input through the parameter window.
Nakata is directed to a coating control apparatus.
Nakata teaches the control module (4, 136) generates the profile ( operation data: association of the robot data with coating data) including the pattern inputted through the interface and the parameters. (See Nakata, Abstract, Figs. 1-11; paragraphs 55, 76, 121, 128, 133, 135, 144, 146, and 150.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the control module generates the profile based on the pattern input through the interface and the parameters input through the parameter window, because Nakata teaches this would enable the state of the adhesive to be monitored. (See Nakata, paragraphs 55, 76, 121, 128, 133, 135, 144, 146, and 150.)
Telleria does not explicitly teach a picture window configured to display the image (2D or 3D representation of the workspace) received from the vision module, and display the pattern drawn by the user.
Yoo is directed to an adhesive coating device for precision part.
Yoo teaches a picture window configured to display the pattern drawn by the user( virtual adhesive application line) (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6. ) (Examiner is considering system which includes a virtual adhesive application line to include a picture window.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a picture window configured to display the image (2D or 3D representation of the workspace) received from the vision module, and display the pattern drawn by the user, because Yoo teaches this would enable the adhesive to applied at the correct position. (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6; page 6, paragraph 7. )
The previous rejection of claim 3 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2 is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2.
Regarding claim 3, Telleria does not explicitly teach the pattern includes a straight line which is formed between a start point and an end point inputted by the user, or a curve whose shape is determined depending on positions and the number of middle points and a curvature inputted by the user in the middle of the pattern.
Yoo teaches a straight line which is formed between a start point and an end point inputted by the user, or a curve whose shape is determined depending on positions and the number of middle points and a curvature inputted by the user in the middle of the pattern (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include a straight line which is formed between a start point and an end point inputted by the user, or a curve whose shape is determined depending on positions and the number of middle points and a curvature inputted by the user in the middle of the pattern, because Yoo teaches this would enable the adhesive to applied at the correct position. (See Yoo, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 5, 9; page 4, paragraph 6; page 6, paragraph 7. )
The previous rejection of claim 4 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of KR 20200034435 to Choi Byeung Suk (hereinafter Choi) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of KR 20200034435 to Choi Byeung Suk (hereinafter Choi).
Regarding claim 4, Telleria does not explicitly teach the parameters are set for each pattern which is defined by a start point and an end point, and include at least one of a line speed of the robot module, a motor acceleration, a flow rate by which the viscous fluid is dispensed, a pressure, a set of valve on coordinates and a set of valve off coordinates.
Choi is directed to a method for controlling motions of a dispensing robot.
Choi teaches the parameters are set for each pattern which is defined by a start point and an end point, and include at least one of a line speed of the robot module, a motor acceleration, a flux by which the viscous fluid is dispensed, a pressure, valve on coordinates and valve off coordinates (See Choi, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 2, 7.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the parameters are set for each pattern which is defined by a start point and an end point, and include at least one of a line speed of the robot module, a motor acceleration, a flow rate by which the viscous fluid is dispensed, a pressure, a set of valve on coordinates and a set of valve off coordinates, because Choi teaches this would enable the coating agent to be accurately dispensed. (See Choi, Abstract, page 3, paragraphs 2, 7.)
The previous rejection of claim 5 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140046471 A1 to Bamford et al (hereinafter Bamford) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20220274259 A1 to Nakata et al (hereinafter Nakata) as applied to claim 2 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140046471 A1 to Bamford et al (hereinafter Bamford).
Regarding claim 5, Telleria does not explicitly teach the control module receives, before generating the profile, reference data from the user based on the image received from the vision module, determines, when dispensing the viscous fluid according to the profile, whether the workpiece included in the image received from the vision module meets the reference data, performs dispensing when the workpiece is within the reference data, and outputs an alarm when the workpiece is out of the reference data.
Bamford is directed to a robotic processing and scanning system.
Bamford teaches the control module receives, before generating the profile, a reference data from the user based on the image received from the vision module (captured image data), determines, when dispensing the viscous fluid according to the profile whether the workpiece included in the image received from the vision module meets the reference data (a determination is made whether the workpiece meets the standard), performs dispensing when the workpiece is within the reference data(proceeds to the line), and outputs an alarm when the workpiece is out of the reference data (determination is reported to the operator). (See Bamford, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraph 38.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the control module receives, before generating the profile, a reference from the user based on the image received from the vision module, determines, when dispensing the viscous fluid according to the profile, whether the workpiece included in the image received from the vision module meets the reference, performs dispensing when the workpiece is within the reference, and outputs an alarm when the workpiece is out of the reference, because Bamford teaches this would determine if the workpiece meets a predetermined standard. (See Bamford, Abstract, Figs. 1-9, paragraph 38.)
The previous rejection of claim 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140046471 A1 to Bamford et al (hereinafter Bamford) is withdrawn based on the amendment to claim 1.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Pat. Pub. No. 20190093373 A1 to Telleria (hereinafter Telleria) and KR 101388233 B1 to Yoo Sang Il ( hereinafter Yoo) and US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) as applied to claim 1 and further in view of US Pat. Pub. No. 20140046471 A1 to Bamford et al (hereinafter Bamford).
Regarding claim 6, Teleria teaches the dispenser module comprises: a first constituent into a mixer; a second constituent into the mixer. (See Telleria, Fig. 14, paragraphs 115-117.)
Regarding claim 6, Telleria does not explicitly teach the dispenser module comprises: a first pump configured to inject a first constituent into a mixer; a second pump configured to inject a second constituent into the mixer in the same embodiment.
Teleria teaches pump can be used in supply lines (432) in a separate embodiment. (See Teleria, paragraphs 118-119.)
The selection of something based on its known suitability for its intended use has been held to support a prima facie case of obviousness. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. lnterchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have the dispenser module comprises: a first pump configured to inject a first constituent into a mixer; a second pump configured to inject a second constituent, with a reasonableexpectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a pump as a suitable way of supplying the resin. (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 115-119.)
Regarding claim 5, Telleria does not explicitly teach a first pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the first constituent inputted to the mixer; a second pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the second constituent inputted to the mixer into the mixer in the same embodiment.
Teleria teaches a sensor can be used to monitor the pressure along a compound line 432 enabling the detection of changes in pressure, flow rate, or clogs. (See Teleria, paragraphs 118.)
Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a first pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the first constituent inputted to the mixer; a second pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the second constituent inputted to the mixer
with a reasonable expectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a pump as a suitable way of detecting clogs. (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 115-119.)
Regarding claim 5, Telleria does not explicitly teach a third pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the viscous fluid supplied to the nozzle from the mixer.
Teleria teaches filters can be used at an outlet of the mixer and directly before the nozzle. Telleria teaches the pressure can be monitored before and after the filters. (See Teleria, paragraphs 118.)
Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a third pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the viscous fluid supplied to the nozzle from the mixer,
with a reasonable expectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a pressure sensor as a suitable way for detecting pressure. (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 115-119.)
Regarding claim 5, Telleria does not explicitly teach a third pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the viscous fluid supplied to the nozzle from the mixer.
Teleria teaches filters can be used at an outlet of the mixer and directly before the nozzle. Telleria teaches the pressure can be monitored before and after the filters. (See Teleria, paragraphs 118.)
Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a third pressure sensor configured to measure a pressure of the viscous fluid supplied to the nozzle from the mixer,
with a reasonable expectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize a pressure sensor as a suitable way for detecting pressure. (See Telleria, Abstract, Figs. 1-24, paragraphs 115-119.)
Regarding claim 5, Telleria does not explicitly teach a valve configured to turn on or off output of the viscous fluid from the nozzle, wherein, based on the pressures received from the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor and the third pressure sensor, the control module controls the valve so that a pressure of the viscous fluid outputted from the nozzle is the same as a pressure included in the profile.
Telleria teaches an automated coating system to determine set path parameters such as thickness of coating applied, pressures, and sprayer settings. (See Telleria, paragraph 69.)
Telleria teaches the automated surface finish system (100) can use any suitable actuator to open and close the nozzle of the spray gun. (See Telleria, paragraph 110.)
Telleria teaches the system can tune the material flow rate, pressure to achieve a desired thickness with the tool parameters ( pressures from the first sensor, second sensor, and third sensor) updated to ensure the correction. (See Telleria, paragraph 147.)
Dufault is directed to method for pressure control in a closed system.
Dufault teaches a valve configured to turn on or off output of the fluid from the nozzle, wherein, based on the information received from the first sensor (60), the second sensor (62) and the third pressure sensor (52), the control module (50) controls the valve so that a pressure of the viscous fluid outputted from the nozzle is the same as a pressure included in the profile (target pressure). (See Dufault, Abstract, paragraphs 20-23.) Examiner is considering flow rate sensors as equivalent to pressure sensors based on Telleria paragraphs 110, 118, 147, 152, 156, and 171.)
Therefore, taking the references as a whole, it would have been obvious to have a valve configured to turn on or off output of the viscous fluid from the nozzle, wherein, based on the pressures received from the first pressure sensor, the second pressure sensor and the third pressure sensor, the control module controls the valve so that a pressure of the viscous fluid outputted from the nozzle is the same as a pressure included in the profile,
with a reasonable expectation of success because a person of ordinary skill in the art would recognize this as a way for controlling pressure in an industrial system that can cost-effectively adapt to varying operating conditions. (See Dufault, Abstract, paragraphs 2-15, 20-23, and Figs. 1-2.)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. US Pat. Pub. No. 20190217541 A1 to Duro Royo et al (hereinafter Duro Royo) is being used to address the limitations added to claim 1.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KARL KURPLE/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1717