Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 11, 13 and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi et al. (US 2022/0174644) in view of Amerga et al. (US 2004/0043798). Examiner notes claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected herein by Shi in view of Amerga as the foundation for a rejection of claims 3, 7, 13 and 17.
Regarding claim 1, Shi discloses a communication method (fig. 5) applied to a terminal device (UE), comprising: receiving first information from an access network device (eNB) (steps 2-1 and 2-2; para. 116; note: grouping method of a WUS configuration - para. 100 and figs. 6-9); entering a first state (steps 3-4; note: monitoring WUS - para. 131) based on the received first information (step 2-1 and paras. 100 and 116); while in the first state: receiving wake-up information from the access network device (step 4; para. 131), and not monitoring for one or more pieces of the following information from the access network device: a paging message, a synchronization signal, or a system message (steps 4-5 and paras. 131-132; note: monitoring only for a WUS during WUS monitoring); and leaving the first state based on the wake-up information (steps 4-5 and paras. 131-132), and receiving the one or more pieces of information from the access network device (step 5 and para. 132)
Shi discloses a wake up signal related to power savings (para. 3) but fails to disclose entering a low-power state and not performing at least one of intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement, cell measurement or cell reselection, and leaving the first state such that the terminal device ensures a normal running of a service. Amerga discloses these features (figs. 3-5 and paras. 39-60 (especially, steps 410-420, 480, 525, 545 and 560; note: a sleep state as a low power state before receiving a wake up signal; note: while sleeping with RF circuitry turned off, no measurements or reselection takes place and may take place after a wake up signal is received; note: RF warmup to have normal cellular service of receiving pages). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have entering a low-power state and not performing at least one of intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement, cell measurement or cell reselection, and leaving the first state such that the terminal device ensures a normal running of a service in the invention of Shi. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, proving power savings as is well known in the art (Amerga, figs. 3-5 and paras. 39-60; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 3, Shi in view of Amerga teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein before the receiving first information from the access network device, the method further comprises: sending a first request message to the access network device (Shi, step 1-1; para. 94; note: ‘parameters on service’ information is related to wake up signal parameters - paras. 67 and 100; fig 1, and para. 95, first sentence, and para. 122, second sentence; note: steps 1-1 and 1-2 are performed between the UE and the CN via the eNB), wherein the first request message is used to request to configure the first state (Shi, step 1-2; para. 67), the first request message comprises the N paging occasions (Shi, para. 94 and para. 67), and the first configuration information is determined by the core network device based on the first request message (Shi, para. 94; note: the same or different parameters on service information in steps 1-1 and 1-2 is determined by the CN).
Regarding claims 6-7, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 3, respectively, from the perspective of the access network device.
Regarding claims 11 and 13, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 3, respectively. In addition, Shi discloses an apparatus (fig. 2; fig. 5, UE), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having program instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (paras. 56-58) perform the method of claims 1-3.
Regarding claims 16-17, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 6-7, respectively. In addition, Shi discloses an apparatus (fig. 3; fig. 5, gNB), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having program instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (para. 62) perform the method of claims 1-3.
Claims 1, 4, 6, 8, 10-11, 14, 16, 18 and 20 are rejected as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2020/0092813) in view of Amerga et al. (US 2004/0043798). Examiner notes claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 are rejected herein by Kim in view of Amerga as the foundation for the rejection of claims 5, 9, 15 and 19. Examiner believes claims 5, 9, 15 and 19 cannot reasonably be rejected using the group WUS configuration (“first information”) of Shi.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a communication method (figs. 8B, 8C and 9-10) applied to a terminal device (item 811), comprising: receiving first information (steps 812 or 1001) from an access network device (item 810); entering a low-power first state (fig. 8B, WUS configuration; step 1002; para. 228, especially the second sentence) based on the received first information (para. 204, especially the last two sentences); while in the first state: receiving wake-up information from the access network device (step 832; para. 204, last sentence; step 1003; note: state of monitoring for a WUS), and not monitoring for one or more pieces of the following information from the access network device: a paging message
Kim fails to disclose entering a low-power state and not performing at least one of intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement, cell measurement or cell reselection, and leaving the first state such that the terminal device ensures a normal running of a service. Amerga discloses these features (figs. 3-5 and paras. 39-60 (especially, steps 410-420, 480, 525, 545 and 560; note: a sleep state as a low power state before receiving a wake up signal; note: while sleeping with RF circuitry turned off, no measurements or reselection takes place and may take place after a wake up signal is received; note: RF warmup to have normal cellular service of receiving pages). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have entering a low-power state and not performing at least one of intra-frequency measurement, inter-frequency measurement, cell measurement or cell reselection, and leaving the first state such that the terminal device ensures a normal running of a service in the invention of Kim. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, proving power savings as is well known in the art (Amerga, figs. 3-5 and paras. 39-60; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claim 4, Kim in view of Amerga teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: sending, by the terminal device, second information to the access network device, wherein the second information indicates one or more pieces of the following information:
Regarding claims 6 and 8, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 4, respectively, from the perspective of the access network device.
Regarding claim 10, Kim in view of Amerga teaches and makes obvious the method according to claim 6, wherein the wake-up information comprises one or more of the following: the identifier of the terminal device (Kim, para. 157; note: the sequence of the WUS determined by a UE ID)
Regarding claims 11 and 14, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 1 and 4, respectively. In addition, Kim discloses an apparatus (fig. 11), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having program instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (paras. 296-299) perform the method of claims 1 and 4.
Regarding claims 16, 18 and 20, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claims 6, 8 and 10, respectively. In addition, Kim discloses an apparatus (fig. 12), comprising: at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor and having program instructions stored thereon which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to (paras. 300-306) perform the method of claims 6, 8 and 10.
Claims 5, 9, 15 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Amerga as applied to claims 1, 6, 11 and 16 above, and in further view of Zhou et al. (US 2020/0092814).
Regarding claim 5, Kim in view of Amerga teaches and makes obvious sending a WUS configuration from a gNB via RRC (Kim, fig. 8B, step 812; para. 204) but fails to disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information further indicates one or more pieces of the following information: a cell identifier, and information about whether a cell determined by the cell identifier supports sending the wake-up information; or a frequency identifier, and information about whether a cell determined by the frequency identifier supports the terminal device in the first state. However, Zhou discloses RRC WUS configuration information from a gNB (fig. 30) comprising a cell identifier (para. 448, cell id) and information about whether a cell determined by the cell identifier supports sending wake-up information (para. 448, indicator of whether WUS is enabled/supported or not); and a frequency identifier (para. 448, frequency resource on which the WUS may be transmitted by the first cell) and information about whether a cell determined by the frequency identifier supports the terminal in the first state (para. 448, indicator of whether WUS is enabled/supported or not; note: the first state in Kim is WUS monitoring - fig. 10, step 1002). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first information further indicate one or more pieces of the following information: a cell identifier, and information about whether a cell determined by the cell identifier supports sending the wake-up information; or a frequency identifier, and information about whether a cell determined by the frequency identifier supports the terminal device in the first state in the invention of Kim in view of Amerga. The motivation to have the modification and/or well-known benefits of the modification include, but are not limited to, provide cell configurations for communication as is known in the art (Zhou, fig. 30 and para. 448; MPEP 2143(I)(A)(B)(C)(D) - note: e.g., applying known techniques having predictable results).
Regarding claims 9, 15 and 19, these limitations are rejected on the same ground as claim 5.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Yemane Mesfin, can be reached at 571-272-3927. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. For non-official communications, the examiner’s e-mail address is kevin.harper@uspto.gov (MPEP 502.03 – A copy of all received emails relating to an application including proposed amendments and excluding scheduling information for interviews will be placed informally into the application file).
/Kevin C. Harper/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462