DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “a lithium secondary battery” in line 1. The underlined limitation in the claim lacks antecedent bases. It should be written as “the lithium secondary battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 recites “a lithium secondary battery” in line 1. The underlined limitation in the claim lacks antecedent bases. It should be written as “the lithium secondary battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 recites “a lithium secondary battery” in line 1. The underlined limitation in the claim lacks antecedent bases. It should be written as “the lithium secondary battery”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009199934A, hereinafter 934; in view of Otaki et al. (US 2019/0148765), hereinafter Otaki.
As to claim 1, 934’ discloses in figure 1, a method for controlling a lithium secondary battery [battery 10; see ¶0015], the method comprising: detecting presence or absence of dendrite deposition on a negative electrode of the lithium secondary battery [see figure 5]; performing high-rate discharge by a discharge controller for controlling a discharge amount of the lithium secondary battery when the dendrite deposition is detected [the dendrite dissolved by applying discharge to dissolve and remove the dendrites and see ¶0016; and ¶0037].
934’ does not disclose explicitly, increasing a restraint pressure of the lithium secondary battery by a restraint pressure controller for controlling the restraint pressure of the lithium secondary battery after performing the high-rate discharge.
Otaki discloses in figure 1, increasing a restraint pressure of the lithium secondary battery by a restraint pressure controller for controlling the restraint pressure of the lithium secondary battery after performing the high-rate discharge [discharging battery and applying restraint pressure is applying after discharging the battery; see ¶0011, ¶0017, ¶0137, ¶0141].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to apply restraint pressure to the battery as taught by Otaki in 934’s apparatus in order to suppress degradation in performance of the lithium battery during usage.
As to claim 3, Otaki discloses in figure 1, wherein the restraint pressure of the lithium secondary battery after being increased by the restraint pressure controller is 1.3 MPa or more [see ¶00110; restraining pressure .1M9a to 10MPA is disclosed].
As to claim 4, 934’ discloses in figure 1, wherein the negative electrode of the lithium secondary battery includes a lithium metal layer.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP2009199934A, hereinafter 934’, in view of Otaki et al. (US 2019/0148765), hereinafter Otaki, in view of CN11354988, hereinafter 988’.
As to claim 2,, 934’ discloses all of the claim limitations except, wherein a discharge rate of the high-rate discharge performed by the discharge controller when the dendrite deposition is detected is 1.0 C or more
.988’ discloses in figure 1, wherein a discharge rate of the high-rate discharge performed by the discharge controller when the dendrite deposition is detected is 1.0 C or more [see page 2, discharge rate of .6C-1C disclosed].
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention was made to use discharge rate of 1.0C in 934’ as taught by 988’ in order to enhance the performance of the battery.
Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was made to choose appropriate charging rate in order to enhance battery pefromance, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or working ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/SAMUEL BERHANU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859