DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 08/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-13, 15-17 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 08/10/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 6) about the objection to claim 1, the objection has been overcome by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 6) about the rejection of claim 15 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejection has been overcome by the amendment.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 10-13) about amended Claim 1 is moot based on the new ground rejections.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities: " the other element " in line 14. It appears that “element” should be “elements”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation " the other element " in line 14. It is indefinite because it is not clear which one of the “other elements” mentioned in line 11 " the other element " in line 14 represents. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as "the other elements ". Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 2-17 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1 because each of dependent claims 2-17 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (WO 2022065006, hereafter Masuda) in view of Fujita et al .(US 2019 / 0269048, hereafter Fujita).
Regarding claim 1, Masuda (‘006) discloses that An electromagnetic wave absorber {page 1 abstract lines 1-2 (a laminate having a magnetic pattern for absorbing electromagnetic waves)}, comprising:
a substrate {Fig.24 item 12 (substrate); page 2 line 4 from bottom (substrate 12.)}; and
a plurality of magnetic material bodies disposed on the substrate in an array {Fig.19 items 12 (substrate), 54 (magnetic material pattern portion); Fig.24 items 12 (substrate), 62 (magnetic material pattern portion); page 9 lines 13 (The magnetic pattern portion 54 in FIG. 19), 1-5 from bottom (In the magnetic material pattern portion 62, for example, four H-shaped pattern portions 62a are arranged in the same direction, and the pattern portion 62b connecting the vertically arranged pattern portions 62a and the pattern portion 62b are connected to each other. It has a pattern portion 62c. The pattern portion 62a is composed of sub-pattern portions 62d to 62f. The pattern portion 62a, the pattern portion 62b, and the pattern portion 62c form a constituent pattern portion 62g. The magnetic pattern portion 62 has two constituent pattern portions 62g.); page 10 lines 1-2 (The magnetic pattern portion 62 has a fractal structure, and the number of combinations in which the pattern portion is repeated three times increases, and the ability to shield electromagnetic waves increases)}, so that the electromagnetic wave absorber has a plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies in addition to an electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the plurality of magnetic material bodies {page 4 lines 7-9 from bottom (the magnetic material pattern portion may be in the form of an FSS (Frequency Selective Surface) element. The FSS element shape is composed of a combination of lines and spaces that are integral multiples of the wavelength); Examiner’s note: “Frequency Selective Surface” for “the electromagnetic wave absorber has a plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies in addition to an electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the plurality of magnetic material bodies” because all frequencies other than operation frequency are not selected, therefore FSS has “a plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies”},
wherein a material of the plurality of magnetic material bodies is a magnetic element oxide or a magnetic element oxide doped with other elements, a magnetic element in the magnetic element oxide is selected from the group consisting of iron, cobalt, nickel, manganese, chromium, gadolinium, terbium, dysprosium, holmium, erbium, thulium, or a combination thereof, and the other element doped into the magnetic element oxide is selected from at least one member of the group consisting of molybdenum, zirconium, magnesium, calcium, yttrium, titanium, and silver, aluminum, barium, gallium, rhodium, nickel, iron, cobalt, nickel, manganese, chromium, gadolinium, terbium, dysprosium, holmium, erbium, and thulium {page 3 lines 3-5 from bottom (A composition containing magnetic particles and a polymerizable compound is applied onto a substrate on which an antenna is arranged to form a composition layer, and the composition layer is exposed and developed to obtain a magnetic pattern.); page 12 lines 10 from bottom (Magnetic particles contain metal atoms), 6-7 from bottom (The metal atom is an alloy containing, a magnetic oxide), 1-2 from bottom (metal atom, group consisting of Fe, Ni, and Co.); page 13 lines 6-8 (The magnetic particles may contain materials other than Fe, Ni, and Co, and specific examples thereof include Al, Si, S, Sc, Ti, V, Cu, Y, Mo, Rh, Pd, and Ag. , Sn, Sb, Te, Ba, Ta, W, Re, Au, Bi, La, Ce, Pr, Nd, P, Zn, Zr, Mn, Cr, Nb, Pb, Ca, B, C, N, and , O.)},
wherein a width of each magnetic material body of the plurality of magnetic material bodies conforms to: a= λFm*fp, where a is a width of the each magnetic material body, λFm is a wavelength of the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency Fm of the plurality of magnetic material bodies, and fp is a value in a range from 0.01 to 50 { page 3 lines 28-29 (The width of the magnetic pattern portion 20 may be an integral multiple of 1/4 of the wavelength of the electromagnetic wave); page 34 lines 3 (the attenuation of electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 60 GHz), 8-9 (The magnetic pattern portion was set to a multiple value based on a width of 1.25 mm and an interval of 1.25 mm); Examiner’s note: wavelength of 60 GHz is 5mm, therefore width of 1.25mm is obtained when fp=0.25}.
However, Masuda (‘006) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underline) “wherein a ratio of one of the plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies to the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 6”. In the same field of endeavor, Fujita (‘048) discloses that
so that the electromagnetic wave absorber has a plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies in addition to an electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the plurality of magnetic material bodies {Fig.10};
wherein a ratio of one of the plurality of electromagnetic wave absorption frequencies to the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency is greater than 1 and less than or equal to 6 {Fig.10; Examiner’s note: ratio of any one of peaks 82-85 to peak 81 are “greater than 1 and less than or equal to 6”},
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. electromagnetic absorber has absorption peaks at multiple absorption frequencies, ranging in a certain frequency range (e.g. from 60GHz to 200GHz)) to a known device (e.g. electromagnetic absorber) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. absorb electromagnetic wave at desired frequency range) and result in an improved system (e.g. absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher (e.g. up to three terahertz ( THz)), as recognized by Fujita (‘048) {[0001] lines 3-8 (an electromagnetic - wave absorber that can absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of different frequencies in a frequency band called “ millimeter - wave band ” between several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) and several hundreds gigahertz ( GHz ) and in a still higher frequency band up to three terahertz ( THz)); [0014] lines 7-9 (absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher)}).
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
the substrate comprises a multi-layer structure {see Masuda (‘006) Fig.2 item 12}.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1 and 3, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
the substrate comprises a first substrate and a second substrate stacked on each other { see Masuda (‘006) Fig.2; Fig.3}, and
the plurality of magnetic material bodies are disposed on the second substrate { see Masuda (‘006) Fig.3; Fig.24 item 62 (magnetic pattern portion); page 4 lines 11-13 (The photomask 24 is provided with, for example, a mask portion 25 in a region where the array antenna 14 is arranged and a region corresponding to the magnetic material pattern portion 20.); page 9 line 5 from bottom (The magnetic pattern portion 62)}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1 and 3-4, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a material of the first substrate comprises a conductive material { see Masuda (‘006) page 2 lines 14-16 (a sheet-shaped electromagnetic wave absorber having a dielectric layer and a conductive layer provided on one surface of the dielectric layer) }, and
a material of the second substrate comprises resin { see Masuda (‘006) page 3 lines 3-5 from bottom (A composition containing magnetic particles and a polymerizable compound is applied onto a substrate on which an antenna is arranged to form a composition layer, and the composition layer is exposed and developed to obtain a magnetic pattern); page 12 lines 14 from bottom (a composition containing magnetic particles and a polymerizable compound); page 16 lines 17 from bottom (The composition may contain a resin), 6-7 from bottom (A resin having an acid group, a basic group or an amide group tends to exert a function as a dispersant for dispersing magnetic particles.) }.
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claims 1 and 3-4, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a material of the first substrate comprises a conductive material { see Masuda (‘006) page 2 lines 14-16 (a sheet-shaped electromagnetic wave absorber having a dielectric layer and a conductive layer provided on one surface of the dielectric layer) }, and
a material of the second substrate is the same as the material of the plurality of magnetic material bodies { see Masuda (‘006) page 3 lines 3-5 from bottom (A composition containing magnetic particles and a polymerizable compound is applied onto a substrate on which an antenna is arranged to form a composition layer, and the composition layer is exposed and developed to obtain a magnetic pattern)};
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claims 1 and 3, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
the substrate comprises a first substrate, a second substrate, and a third substrate that are stacked on one another, and the plurality of magnetic material bodies are disposed on the third substrate {see Masuda (‘006) Fig.3; Fig.24; page 3 lines 3-5 from bottom (A composition containing magnetic particles and a polymerizable compound is applied onto a substrate on which an antenna is arranged to form a composition layer, and the composition layer is exposed and developed to obtain a magnetic pattern); Examiner’s note: the layer with magnetic pattern is interpreted as “the third substrate”}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claims 1, 3, and 7, Masuda (‘006) does not explicitly disclose that “a material of the first substrate comprises a conductive material, a material of the second substrate comprises resin, and a material of the third substrate is the same as the material of the plurality of magnetic material bodies” as a whole. In the same field of endeavor, Fujita (‘048) discloses that
a material of the first substrate comprises a conductive material, a material of the second substrate comprises resin, and a material of the third substrate is the same as the material of the plurality of magnetic material bodies {Fig.1; [0041] lines 2-6 (an electromagnetic wave absorbing layer 1 in which five magnetic layers 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d and 1e each containing magnetic iron oxide are stacked. In the magnetic layers 1a, 1b, 1c, 1d and 1e constituting the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer 1); [0051] lines 5-8 (the electromagnetic-wave absorbing layer 1, the reflective layer 2 is disposed on a base film 3 (resin base)); [0052] line 14 (reflective layer 2 (metal layer))}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. to construct an electromagnetic wave absorber, having absorption peaks at multiple absorption frequencies, ranging in a certain frequency range (e.g. from 60GHz to 200GHz), using multiple layer substrate, including reflective layer, resin layer, magnetic iron oxide layer ) to a known device (e.g. electromagnetic absorber) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. absorb electromagnetic wave at desired frequency range) and result in an improved system (e.g. absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher (e.g. up to three terahertz ( THz)), as recognized by Fujita (‘048) {[0001] lines 3-8 (an electromagnetic - wave absorber that can absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of different frequencies in a frequency band called “ millimeter - wave band ” between several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) and several hundreds gigahertz ( GHz ) and in a still higher frequency band up to three terahertz ( THz)); [0014] lines 7-9 (absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher)}).
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a thickness of the substrate is a value in a range from 0.05 mm to 50 mm {see Masuda (‘006) page 36 line 17-18 (the thickness of the composition layer was the thickness of the magnetic material pattern portion shown in Table 1.); page 37 line 10 (thickness of the magnetic material pattern portion is 300 µm)}.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the plurality of magnetic material bodies is a value in a range from 0.1 MHz to 1 THz {see Masuda (‘006) page 34 line 3 (the attenuation of electromagnetic waves having a frequency of 60 GHz)}.
Regarding claim 13, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a thickness of the each magnetic material body is a value in a range from 0.01 mm to 50 mm {see Masuda (‘006) page 37 line 10 (thickness of the magnetic material pattern portion is 300 µm)}.
Regarding claim 16, which depends on claim 1, Masuda (‘006) does not explicitly disclose “a ratio of a cross-sectional area of a bottom surface to a cross-sectional area of a top surface of the plurality of magnetic material bodies is greater than or equal to 1”. In the same field of endeavor, Fujita (‘048) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a ratio of a cross-sectional area of a bottom surface to a cross-sectional area of a top surface of the plurality of magnetic material bodies is greater than or equal to 1 {Fig.1}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. electromagnetic absorber has absorption peaks at multiple absorption frequencies, ranging in a certain frequency range (e.g. from 60GHz to 200GHz) with magnetic iron oxide layers (e.g. with same width)) to a known device (e.g. electromagnetic absorber) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. absorb electromagnetic wave at desired frequency range) and result in an improved system (e.g. absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher (e.g. up to three terahertz ( THz)), as recognized by Fujita (‘048) {[0001] lines 3-8 (an electromagnetic - wave absorber that can absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of different frequencies in a frequency band called “ millimeter - wave band ” between several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) and several hundreds gigahertz ( GHz ) and in a still higher frequency band up to three terahertz ( THz)); [0014] lines 7-9 (absorb electromagnetic waves of a plurality of frequencies in a high frequency band of several tens of gigahertz ( GHz ) or higher)}).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jiang et al. (CN 114204279, hereafter Jiang).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) do not explicitly disclose that “a dielectric coefficient of the substrate is a value in a range from 1 to 50”. In the same field of endeavor, Jiang (‘279) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a dielectric coefficient of the substrate is a value in a range from 1 to 50 { Fig.2 item 4; Page 5 line 28 (substrate 4 adopts the relative dielectric constant is 4.4)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) with the teachings of Jiang (‘279) {use substrate with a certain dielectric constant greater than 1 (e.g. dielectric constant: 4.4)} to use substrate with a certain dielectric constant greater than 1 (e.g. dielectric constant: 4.4). Doing so would avoid signal interference of multiple signal emitting system similar frequency bands in the electronic device so as to provide an absorber with wide wave-absorbing frequency band and high efficiency of the wave-absorbing performance, as recognized by Jiang (‘279) {page 1 lines 1-2 from bottom (avoiding signal interference of multiple signal emitting system similar frequency bands in the electronic device); page 2 lines 20-21 (the wave-absorbing frequency band is wide and the wave-absorbing performance is high efficiency)}.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirose (US 9.263,802, hereafter Hirose).
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) do not explicitly disclose that “a shape of the each magnetic material body comprises a polygonal prism shape, a cylindrical prism shape, a polygonal cone shape, a conical shape, or a combination thereof”. In the same field of endeavor, Hirose (‘802) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a shape of the each magnetic material body comprises a polygonal prism shape, a cylindrical prism shape, a polygonal cone shape, a conical shape, or a combination thereof {Fig. 2}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) with the teachings of Hirose (‘802) {use magnetic absorbing material with a certain shape (e.g. oblong rectangular pyramidal shape, wedge shape, etc. } to use magnetic absorbing material with a certain shape (e.g. oblong rectangular pyramidal shape, wedge shape, etc. Doing so would provide an electromagnetic wave absorber excellent in absorption characteristics for oblique incidence as well as normal so as to suit for designing a small-sized and high-performance anechoic chamber, as recognized by Hirose (‘802) {col.1 lines 6-8 (small-sized electromagnetic wave absorber having excellent absorbing performance for oblique incident angles as well as normal); col.2 lines 24-27 (provide an electromagnetic wave absorber excellent in absorption characteristics for oblique incidence as well as normal and Suited for designing a small-sized and high-performance anechoic chamber)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claims 1 and 11, Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) do not explicitly disclose that “the shape of the each magnetic material body in a vertical direction comprises a trigonal shape, a quadrilateral shape, a hexagonal shape, an octagonal shape, or a dodecagonal shape”. In the same field of endeavor, Hirose (‘802) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
the shape of the each magnetic material body in a vertical direction comprises a trigonal shape, a quadrilateral shape, a hexagonal shape, an octagonal shape, or a dodecagonal shape {Fig.2}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) with the teachings of Hirose (‘802) {use magnetic absorbing material with a certain shape (e.g. oblong rectangular pyramidal shape, wedge shape, etc. } to use magnetic absorbing material with a certain shape (e.g. oblong rectangular pyramidal shape, wedge shape, etc. Doing so would provide an electromagnetic wave absorber excellent in absorption characteristics for oblique incidence as well as normal so as to suit for designing a small-sized and high-performance anechoic chamber, as recognized by Hirose (‘802) {col.1 lines 6-8 (small-sized electromagnetic wave absorber having excellent absorbing performance for oblique incident angles as well as normal); col.2 lines 24-27 (provide an electromagnetic wave absorber excellent in absorption characteristics for oblique incidence as well as normal and Suited for designing a small-sized and high-performance anechoic chamber)}.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahashi (US5,617,096, hereafter Takahashi).
Regarding claim 15, which depends on claim 1, Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) do not explicitly disclose that “a pitch is provided between adjacent magnetic material bodies and conforms to:
, where p is the pitch between adjacent magnetic material bodies, λFs is a wavelength of twice the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the magnetic material bodies, εs is a dielectric coefficient of the substrate, μs is a magnetic permeability coefficient of the substrate, and sp is 0.1 to 2”. In the same field of endeavor, Takahashi (‘096) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
a pitch is provided between adjacent magnetic material bodies and conforms to:
, where p is the pitch between adjacent magnetic material bodies, λFs is a wavelength of twice the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the magnetic material bodies, εs is a dielectric coefficient of the substrate, μs is a magnetic permeability coefficient of the substrate, and sp is 0.1 to 2 { Col.10 lines 7-9 (When each of the magnetic members 2 shown in FIG. 10 is constructed as summarized below, the absorption characteristics of the wave absorber is as shown in FIG. 12), 23 ((Px, Py): 20 mm), 31-32 (Apparent relative permeability: about 3.3 Apparent relative dielectric constant: about 2.6); Examiner’s note: “twice the electromagnetic wave characteristic frequency of the magnetic material bodies” is 1KMHz from Fig.12, which corresponds to λFs = 0.3m wavelength. Px=20mm satisfies
when sp=0.19, λFs = 0.3m, permeability=3.3, dielectric constant = 2.6.}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) with the teachings of Takahashi (‘096) {design structure of absorber based on operation frequency and property of materials used (e.g. permeability, dielectric constant)} to design structure of absorber based on operation frequency and property of materials used (e.g. permeability, dielectric constant). Doing so would take account of operation frequency and properties of material used (e.g. power absorption, and reflection coefficient) in the design of absorber so as to meet required standard in absorber design, as recognized by Takahashi (‘096) {col.1 lines 9-10 (undesirable radiation (noise) from electronics apparatuses), 15-26 (a conductive metal plate for reflecting a radio wave, a sintered ferrite plate in the form of a tile mounted on the metal plate M. In the meantime, when the reflection coefficient at a surface of the wave absorber is represented by "s", the power absorption coefficient thereof is given 1-|s|2, Thus, the smaller the reflection coefficient Isl, the better becomes the absorber performance. Generally, an absorber having a reflection coefficient Isl of 0.1 or less is regarded as meeting with the standard. In other words, the standard requires that the return loss (-20 log s) should be 20 dB or more and the power absorption coefficient should be 0.99 or more)}.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Nikawa et al. (US5,952,953 , hereafter Nikawa).
Regarding claim 17, which depends on claim 1, Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) do not explicitly disclose “dielectric coefficients of the plurality of magnetic material bodies range from 1 to 50”. In the same field of endeavor, Nikawa (‘953) discloses that in the electromagnetic wave absorber,
dielectric coefficients of the plurality of magnetic material bodies range from 1 to 50 {Fig.1}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Masuda (‘006) and Fujita (‘048) with the teachings of Nikawa (‘953) {use materials with dielectric coefficients within a certain range (e.g. from 2 to 20) in absorber design} to use materials with dielectric coefficients within a certain range (e.g. from 2 to 20) in absorber design. Doing so would provide a light-weight, flexible wave absorber which is used for evaluation of electromagnetic wave radiation characteristics of an electronic device so as to prevent or suppress electromagnetic interference in electronic devices, as recognized by Nikawa (‘953) {col.1 lines 4-8 (light-weight, flexible wave absorber which is used for evaluation of electromagnetic wave radiation characteristics of an electronic device or for prevention or Suppression of electromagnetic interference in the electronic device.)}.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0269048 discloses that “a material of the first substrate comprises a conductive material” {Fig.1; [0052] line 14 (reflective layer 2 (metal layer))}, which further support the rejection of claims 5-6.
US 2019/0269048 also discloses that “the substrate comprises a first substrate, a second substrate, and a third substrate that are stacked on one another, and the plurality of magnetic material bodies are disposed on the third substrate” {Fig.1}, which further support the rejection of claim 7.
US 2008/0257599 discloses that “a thickness of the substrate is a value in a range from 0.05 mm to 50 mm” { [0138] lines 6-8 from bottom (as an electromagnetic wave absorber of a 950-MHz band, a thin type having such a thickness as 4.4 mm); [0140] Table 3 (see thickness of layers)} , which further support the rejection of claim 9.
/YONGHONG LI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648