DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, claim 8 recites the limitation "the solar cell" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 15 and 20 are rejected due to their respective dependence on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8, 15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Davidson (US 2011/0000535).
Regarding claim 8, Davidson discloses a photovoltaic module (abstract) comprising a solar cell string group (Fig. 24), wherein the solar cell string group comprises solar cells (abstract – photovoltaic shingle; shingles depicted in Fig. 24), an edge portion of one side of a back surface of each of the solar cells in one direction is an insulating portion (back surface of each shingle of area denoted 129 in Fig. 24), the solar cells are connected to form solar cell strings (connected shingles form multiple solar cell strings in the second direction in Fig. 24), and the solar cell strings are connected to form the solar cell string group (160 and 170 in Fig. 24 connected together form a solar cell string group in the first direction); wherein, in the solar cell string group, edge portions of adjacent solar cells in one direction are arranged in an overlapping manner ([0167]); wherein, in the solar cell string group, along a first direction, the edge portion of the one side of the back surface of the solar cell is the insulating portion (back surface of each shingle of area denoted 129 in Fig. 24), and the edge portions of adjacent solar cells overlap with one another ([0167]), the first direction is a width direction of the solar cell (direction indicated by arrow 28 in Fig. 24), and along a second direction (direction perpendicular to the direction indicated by arrow 28 in Fig. 24), the edge portion of the one side of the back surface of the solar cell is the insulating portion (back surface of each shingle of area denoted 129 in Fig. 24), and the edge portions of adjacent solar cell strings overlap with one another ([0157]), and the second direction is a length direction of the solar cell (direction perpendicular to the direction indicated by arrow 28 in Fig. 24).
Regarding claim 15, Davidson discloses all the claim limitations as set forth above. Davidson further discloses along the first direction and the second direction, an outermost edge portion of an outermost solar cell is not the insulating portion (112 and 115 in Fig. 24 is not the insulating portion cited above).
Regarding claim 20, Davidson discloses all the claim limitations as set forth
above. Davidson further discloses the adjacent solar cells are connected by electrode lines (801 in Fig. 44; [0143]), and each of the electrode lines passing through a positive and negative grid line ([0143]) is coated with an insulating adhesive ([0142] – [0144], Figures 41 – 44; sealing member; it is noted that the limitation “coated” does not require direct physical contact or the absence of intermediate components); and the adjacent solar cell strings are connected by busbars (802 in Fig. 44; note: stringers achieve electrical connections through ribbons or busbars).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 8, 15, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/TAMIR AYAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1726