Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: optical distortion element (in claims 1, 2, 3, 7, 8, 9), image sensor (in claims 1 and 7), intelligent classifier (in claim 4), distorted image learning unit (in claims 5 and 7), image playback unit (in claim 7), and a learning database in claims 6 and 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The term “level” in claims 1, 5-7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “level” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner suggests adding a definition or limitation of specifically stating what an irregular angle is.
The term “level” in claims 1, 5-7 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “level” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner suggests adding a definition or limitation of specifically stating what distorting an image to a level that cannot be recognized by humans is.
The term “irregular angle” in claims 2 and 8 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “level” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The examiner suggests adding a definition or limitation of specifically stating what distorting an image to an irregular angle is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Niebles (US 20240021018 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Niebles discloses an optical distortion element configured to distort light reflected from an object to a level that cannot be recognized by humans and to allow the distorted light to pass therethrough ("[0027] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can preserve privacy in captured images by incorporating aberrations to an optical component to generate distorted images.
[0030] Light passes through the privacy-preserving optic and strikes image sensor 220. The image sensor passes image data to the computer vision model 230 which may have been generated in concert with the privacy preserving optic. The computer vision model can produce an output which is passed to an input/output (I/O) interface for use in other parts of the system and/or in other systems.");
an image sensor configured to receive the distorted light from the optical distortion element, to convert the distorted light into an electrical image signal, and to output the electrical image signal (Figs. 3 and 4, [0034], [0040]-[0043] where light is first distorted by an optimized phase mask such that the object cannot be recognized, then captured by a camera sensor to create the image signal, before that image signal being intelligently processed by a HAR network");
an intelligent image processor configured to learn the distorted image signal and information about the object, to process the electrical image signal output from the image sensor, and to output computational results for optical features of the object ("[0019] FIG. 3 illustrates a privacy-preserving system architecture including an adversarial optimization framework that learns a lens' phase mask to encode human action features and perform human action recognition (HAR) while obscuring privacy-related attributes in accordance with an embodiment of the invention.
[0050] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can include two HAR CNN architectures (e.g., a C3D and Rubkisnet, among others) which can provide for improved efficiency for HAR. For a set of private videos, it can be assumed that an output of a classifier C is a set of action class labels custom-character.sub.C. Then, a system can use a standard cross-entropy function custom-character as the classifier's loss.").
Regarding claim 2, Niebles discloses wherein the optical distortion element is an optical scrambling element comprising a lens with a plurality of regions, each having an incident surface that is sloped at an irregular angle ("[0027] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can preserve privacy in captured images by incorporating aberrations to an optical component to generate distorted images. Many embodiments can include an optical component that includes a camera with two thin convex lenses and a phase mask between them.
[0034] Systems in accordance with many embodiments provide for privacy-preserving human action recognition using an adversarial framework that provides robust privacy protection at different stages along a computer vision processing pipeline. An adversarial framework system with privacy-preserving human action recognition (HAR) in accordance with an embodiment of the invention is illustrated in FIG. 3. As illustrated, the privacy-preserving HAR pipeline can include an optical component that captures images. In many embodiments, an optical component can include two thin convex lenses and a phase mask between to capture distorted images." (instant applicant’s spec states in paragraph [0030] the optical distortion element 50 may be a lens barrel including a plurality of lenses disposed so as to overlap each other.)).
Regarding claim 5, Niebles discloses An object detection learning apparatus for training an intelligent image processor, the object detection learning apparatus comprising ([0006] In a further embodiment, the machine learning includes: an optical component neural network trained to learn the set of camera parameters)
a distorted image learning unit configured to ([0014] In a further embodiment, the machine learning is trained to add aberrations to a lens surface of the optical element such that an acquired video is distorted to obscure at least one privacy attribute and to preserve features for HAR.)
sequentially output distorted image data obtained by distorting an original image to a level that cannot be recognized by humans ([0040] A simulated camera can take a video V.sub.x∈custom-character={X.sub.t}.sub.t=1.sup.T as input, which have T frames, and can output a corresponding distorted video V.sub.y∈custom-character. (sequentially outputting images is the same as outputting a video since a video is multiple successive frames))
and label data mapped to the original image in order to train the intelligent image processor ("[0008] In a further embodiment, the action recognition neural network branch includes training a convolutional neural network C to predicts class labels.
[0026] Systems can preserve temporal information in distorted images/videos using temporal similarity matrices (TSM) and can constrain the structure of the temporal embeddings from the private videos to match the TSM of the original video.
[0036] In many embodiments, a testbed can acquire distorted videos and their non-distorted version simultaneously and results in hardware can be matched with simulations.").
Regarding claim 6, Niebles discloses a learning database configured to ([0035] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can validate a training framework using one or more HAR backbone neural networks.)
store distorted image data obtained by distorting an original image to a level that cannot be recognized by humans and metadata regarding optical features of an object included in the original image in a state of being mapped to each other ("[0034] To preserve temporal information in distorted videos, systems in accordance with many embodiments can use temporal similarity matrices (TSM) and constrain the structure of the temporal embeddings from private videos to match the TSM of the original video.
[0035] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can validate a training framework using one or more HAR backbone neural networks. Systems in accordance with many embodiments can be tested using one or more available human action recognition backbone networks. In many embodiments, a testbed can acquire distorted videos and their non-distorted version simultaneously and results in hardware can be matched with simulations. (if there is a comparison between distorted and non-distorted video data, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to say that they are both stored somewhere at some point in time).
[0051] To preserve temporal information, adversarial framework systems in accordance with many embodiments can use temporal similarity matrices (TSMs). TSMs can be useful representations for human action recognition and can be robust against dynamic view changes of a camera when paired with appropriate feature representation. Systems in accordance with many embodiments can use TSMs as a proxy to keep the temporal information (e.g., features) similar after distortion. A system can build a TSM for original and private videos and compare their structures. In particular, a system can use embeddings ê from a last convolutional layer of a HAR CNN architecture and compute the TSM values using the negative of the squared Euclidean distance").
Regarding claim 7, Niebles discloses a learning database configured to store image data and metadata related to optical features of an object included in an image of the image data in a state of being mapped to each other ("[0034] To preserve temporal information in distorted videos, systems in accordance with many embodiments can use temporal similarity matrices (TSM) and constrain the structure of the temporal embeddings from private videos to match the TSM of the original video.
[0035] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can validate a training framework using one or more HAR backbone neural networks. Systems in accordance with many embodiments can be tested using one or more available human action recognition backbone networks. In many embodiments, a testbed can acquire distorted videos and their non-distorted version simultaneously and results in hardware can be matched with simulations. (if there is a comparison between distorted and non-distorted video data, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to say that they are both stored somewhere at some point in time).
[0051] To preserve temporal information, adversarial framework systems in accordance with many embodiments can use temporal similarity matrices (TSMs). TSMs can be useful representations for human action recognition and can be robust against dynamic view changes of a camera when paired with appropriate feature representation. Systems in accordance with many embodiments can use TSMs as a proxy to keep the temporal information (e.g., features) similar after distortion. A system can build a TSM for original and private videos and compare their structures. In particular, a system can use embeddings ê from a last convolutional layer of a HAR CNN architecture and compute the TSM values using the negative of the squared Euclidean distance");
an image playback unit configured to play and output the image data and to output the metadata related to the image data in a state of being synchronized at the time of output ("[0060] In many embodiments, a TSM can be built for original videos and private videos and their structures can be compared. In particular as described, a process can use embeddings e from a last convolutional layer of a HAR CNN architecture and compute the TSM values using the negative of the squared Euclidean distance, e.g., (T.sub.m′).sub.n.sub.1.sub.n.sub.2=−∥ê.sub.n.sub.1−ê.sub.n.sub.2∥.sup.2. Then, the mean square error (MSE) can be calculated between the T.sub.m′ and the TSM from the input video T.sub.m, which can be computed similarly using the last convolutional layer of the corresponding pretrained HAR CNN (non-privacy) network.
fig. 7, ref 710 and 720");
an optical distortion element configured to distort the image played by the image playback unit to a level that cannot be recognized by humans and to allow the distorted image to pass therethrough ([0040] A simulated camera can take a video V.sub.x∈custom-character={X.sub.t}.sub.t=1.sup.T as input, which have T frames, and can output a corresponding distorted video V.sub.y∈custom-character. (sequentially outputting images is the same as outputting a video since a video is multiple successive frames));
an image sensor configured to receive the distorted image from the optical distortion element, to convert the distorted image into a distorted image signal, and to output the distorted image signal (Figs. 3 and 4, [0034], [0040]-[0043] where light is first distorted by an optimized phase mask such that the object cannot be recognized, then captured by a camera sensor to create the image signal, before that image signal being intelligently processed by a HAR network");
a distorted image learning unit configured to provide metadata related to original image data and the distorted image signal output from the image sensor to train the intelligent image processor ("[0008] In a further embodiment, the action recognition neural network branch includes training a convolutional neural network C to predicts class labels.
[0026] Systems can preserve temporal information in distorted images/videos using temporal similarity matrices (TSM) and can constrain the structure of the temporal embeddings from the private videos to match the TSM of the original video.
[0036] In many embodiments, a testbed can acquire distorted videos and their non-distorted version simultaneously and results in hardware can be matched with simulations.").
Regarding claim 8, Niebles discloses the optical distortion element is an optical scrambling element comprising a lens with a plurality of regions, each having an incident surface that is sloped at an irregular angle ("[0027] Systems in accordance with many embodiments can preserve privacy in captured images by incorporating aberrations to an optical component to generate distorted images. Many embodiments can include an optical component that includes a camera with two thin convex lenses and a phase mask between them.
[0034] Systems in accordance with many embodiments provide for privacy-preserving human action recognition using an adversarial framework that provides robust privacy protection at different stages along a computer vision processing pipeline. An adversarial framework system with privacy-preserving human action recognition (HAR) in accordance with an embodiment of the invention is illustrated in FIG. 3. As illustrated, the privacy-preserving HAR pipeline can include an optical component that captures images. In many embodiments, an optical component can include two thin convex lenses and a phase mask between to capture distorted images." (instant applicant’s spec states in paragraph [0030] the optical distortion element 50 may be a lens barrel including a plurality of lenses disposed so as to overlap each other.)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niebles (US 20240021018 A1), and further in view of Salgar (US 20100149330 A1).
Regarding claims 3 and 9, Niebles does not disclose but in a similar field of endeavor of security systems with privacy zones, Salgar teaches wherein the optical distortion element is an element having an opaque planar shape ([0003] Privacy masking involves placing an obscuring visual element, such as an opaque rectangle, over areas designated as privacy zones during video capture.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Nieble’s disclosure of distorting light with Salgar’s teaching of shape classification in order provide a better balance between protecting privacy and providing surveillance of public spaces. ([0008]).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Niebles (US 20240021018 A1), and further in view of N (US 20190130214 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Niebles discloses wherein the intelligent image processor is an intelligent classifier configured to classify ("[0006] an adversarial neural network branch that tries to predict private information from the distorted video for a plurality of privacy categories.
[0007] In a further embodiment, the privacy categories include at least one category selected from the group consisting of a person's face, skin color, gender, relationship and nudity selection.").
Niebles does not explicitly disclose but in a similar field of endeavor of image recognition, N teaches, in better detail, configured to classify a shape of the object into one of a plurality of categories ([0049] This model approach first analyzes the extracted shape to decide the product category that the item falls into (e.g., bottles, cans, packets, tetra pack cuboids, etc.).).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine Niebles’s disclosure of distorting light with N’s teaching of shape classification in order to distinguish between one or more products and one or more unknown products in the image. ([abstract]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230394637 A1: claim 1 and 7 - [0036] In some embodiments of the present principles, a transform filter to transform/distort/scramble images in accordance with the present principles can include a Walsh-Hadamard transform (WHT) that can distort image data before it is digitized. In such embodiments, the WHT can be used to protect privacy with a camera-based edge device.
[0044] Referring back to FIG. 1, in some embodiments, the distorted images can then be digitized by the A/D converter 108 of the capture device 102. The capture device 102 can output a digital video signal, to the receiver/control unit 112, that is either RGB or monochrome using the output 110 of the capture device 102.
/AHMED A NASHER/Examiner, Art Unit 2675
/ANDREW M MOYER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2675