The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: In paragraph 21 it states that the first end is 24 and the lug ears is also referred to 24 in the same paragraph. Also, in paragraph 25 it states welch plug is 34 and the lip seal is 34 and in the last line of the paragraph the welch plug is 54. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 4-17 are being rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 8734261 B1(Line et al.)
Regarding Claim 1 Line et al. discloses
A slip yoke assembly (Figure 1, element 20), comprising:
a cylindrical portion (Figure 2 element 24) extending along an axis (Figure 2 element 26) and having a first end (Figure 2 end of element 24 at counterbore) and an inner surface defining a cavity along the axis (Figure 2 element 54);
the inner surface defining a plurality of inner teeth extending axially (Figure 3 element 58);
the first end defining a counterbore about the cavity (Figure 3 element 60), the counterbore defined by a first wall extending at a transverse angle relative to the axis (Figure 4 element 70 horizontal ledges relative to axis 26 in figure 2, also Column 3 lines 13-14 it states that it extends radially inward),
and a second wall extending substantially axially from the first wall (Figure 4 element 86 is parrel to axis 26 in figure 1, also Column 3 lines 28-29);
a plug positioned in the counterbore (Figure 3 element 84 inside element 60) and spanning across the cavity (Figure 4a element 84 fully closes element 54) in axial alignment with the second wall of the counterbore (Figure 4 and 4a element 84 is concentric with element 85, also column 5 lines 39-40) for engaging the second wall (Column 3 line 66 - column 4 lines 1-2) and providing primary sealing of the cavity (Column 5 lines 33-36;
and an annular lip seal positioned in the counterbore positioned axially between the first wall and the plug (Column 5 lines 37-39) for providing supplementary sealing of the cavity (Claim 8).
Regarding Claim 2 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke assembly as set forth in claim 1, wherein the welch plug is compressed against and sealingly engages the second wall of the counterbore (Column 5 lines 39-41).
Regarding Claim 4 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke assembly as set forth in claim 1, wherein the welch plug has a top surface that extends upwardly in a convex shape (Figure 8 element 104 shows it being convex and It states in column 4 lines 11-12 that plug can be domed shaped) and has a bottom surface with a concave shape (Figure 8 element 102 shows it being concave), and wherein an annular lip seal has a first portion having a bottom extending substantially perpendicularly to the axis over the first wall of the counterbore ( Figure 6 element 110 is the first portion of the lip and element 124 is the bottom and it states in column 4 lines 61-63 that element 124 is flat and extends radially which would be perpendicularly to the first wall) and a top extending at an angle relative to the bottom ( Figure 6 element 122 is the top which is attached to element 102 ) such that the first portion generally has a triangular shape (Figure 8 element 110 has a wide base and tapers to a point making it generally triangular ) , and wherein the first portion has a side wall on a radially inward side of the annular lip seal ( Figure 6 element 120).
Regarding Claim 5 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke assembly as set forth in claim 4, wherein the top of the annular lip seal extends in a contacting relationship with the bottom surface of the welch plug (Figure 6 element 122 which is the top of the seal shows it is attached to element 102 which is the first surface of the plug which is the bottom).
Regarding Claim 6 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke assembly as set forth in claim 5, wherein the annular lip seal further includes a second portion projecting from the top of the first portion toward the axis in a contacting relationship with the bottom surface of the welch plug ( Figure 6 element 110 being the first portion and element 112 being the second portion which is attached to the bottom of element 102) such that a step is defined between the side wall and a bottom surface of the second portion ( Figure 6 element 110 is of a thickness greater than the thickness of element 112 which would create a step transition between element 120 as stated in column 4 lines 34-37).
Regarding Claim 7 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 6, wherein the second portion radially overlies the cavity of the cylindrical portion (Figure 3 element 112 extends radially towards the axis and it is overlying element 59 which is the major diameter of element 54 which is the long bore).
Regarding Claim 8 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 6, wherein the first portion of the lip seal engages the first wall of the counterbore (Figure 6 element 110 has a sealing surface which is element 124 and hat is attached to element 70 in figure 4 as stated in column 2 lines 52-54) and the second portion of the lip seal overlies the cavity of the cylindrical portion ( Figure 3 element 112 extending radially inward to over lie element 54)
Regarding Claim 9 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 1, wherein the lip seal is positioned entirely axially beneath the plug (The seal disposed within the first diameter of the counterbore and the plug is disposed within the second diameter of the counterbore state in column 5 lines 37-40, the seal is positioned entirely axially beneath plug since the second diameter is at the second end).
Regarding Claim 10 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 10, wherein substantially an entirety of a top surface of the lip seal is bonded to the bottom of the plug ( Figure 8 element 76b is secured to element 84b and figure 6 element 122 which is the top surface of the lip is attached to element 102 which is the bottom of the plug it also states that the bonding surface which is element 122 is attached to the bottom of the plug element 102 column 5 lines 50-53 ).
Regarding Claim 11 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 10, wherein substantially an entirety of a top surface of the lip seal is bonded to the bottom of the plug ( Figure 8 element 76b is secured to element 84b and figure 6 element 122 which is the top surface of the lip is attached to element 102 which is the bottom of the plug it also states that the bonding surface which is element 122 is attached to the bottom of the plug element 102 column 5 lines 50-53 ).
Regarding Claim 12 Line et al. discloses
A method for making a slip yoke assembly (Figure 1, element 20), comprising:
providing a cylindrical portion (Figure 2 element 24) extending along an axis (Figure 2 element 26) and having a first end (Figure 2 end of element 24 at counterbore) and an inner surface defining a cavity along the axis (Figure 2 element 54),
wherein the inner surface defines a plurality of inner teeth extending axially (Figure 3 element 58), and wherein the first end defines a counterbore about the cavity (Figure 3 element 60),
wherein the counterbore has a first wall extending in a direction that is transverse to the axis (Figure 4 element 70 horizontal ledges relative to axis 26 in figure 2, also Column 3 lines 13-14 it states that it extends radially inward ))and a second wall extending from the first wall substantially axially (Figure 4 element 86 is parrel to axis 26 in figure 1, also Column 3 lines 28-29);
positioning an annular lip seal and a plug in the counterbore (Column 5 lines 12-15),
with the plug positioned over the annular lip seal and with the plug spanning across the cavity (Column 1 lines 38-43 teaches the lip seal is disposed within the firs diameter and the plug is disposed within the second diameter effectively placing the plug over the sela and Column 3 line 66 - column 4 lines 1-2 shows it is spanning across the cavity),
wherein the plug has a top surface that extends upwardly in a convex shape and a bottom surface having a concave shape (Figure 8 element 84B shows convex top surface and element 102 shows concave surface);
and pressing the top surface of the plug downwardly ( Figure 3 element 48 is formed by staking which involves downward flattening as stated in column 3 line 44) ) such that the plug presses the annular lip seal axially against the first wall of the counterbore ( Figure 3 element 124 is pressed to element 70 in figure 4 as it states in column 4 lines 52-53) and such that the plug presses radially against the second wall of the counterbore ( Figure 4 and 4a the outer edge of element 84 faces and abuts element 86 as it is stated in Column 3 line 66 - column 4 lines 1-2) such that the lip seal and plug seal the cavity ( Column 5 lines 31-36 ).
Regarding Claim 13 Line et al. discloses
The method as set forth in claim 12 further including deforming a top of the second wall of the counterbore ( Figure 3 element 48 is formed by a staking and figure 4 element 86 is attached to element 48 as it is stated in Column 3 line 44 and Column 3 lines 30-32) over a top of the plug to further secure the plug in place ( Figure 3 element 48 is formed over the outer edge of element 84 in figure 4a as stated in column 3 lines 59-61 and the plug is secured by a lip formed stated in the abstract) .
Regarding Claim 14 Line et al. discloses
The method as set forth in claim 12 further including bonding the lip seal to a bottom of the plug prior to the step of positioning the annular lip seal and plug in the counterbore (Element 76 in figure 4a is permanently secured to the first surface element 102 in figure 8 which is the bottom of the plug using adhesive which is element 105 of figure 10 as stated in column 4 lines 18-24 and column 5 lines 12-15).
Regarding Claim 15 Line et al. discloses
The slip yoke as set forth in claim 14, wherein substantially an entirety of a top surface of the lip seal is bonded to the bottom of the plug (Figure 10 element 105 extending across the interface between element 76c and element 102 of the plug).
Regarding Claim 16 Line et al. discloses
The method as set forth in claim 12, wherein the annular lip seal has a first portion that has a bottom that extends in a direction that is transverse to the axis (Figure 6 element 110 is the first portion has the bottom portion element 124 extending transverse to the axis) and a top that extends in contact with the bottom surface of the plug (Figure 6 element 122 is the top Is attached to the surface of the plug element 102),
wherein the first portion has a side wall on a radially inward side of the annular lip seal (Figure 6a element 110 has a side wall element 120 inward of the seal),
and wherein the annular lip seal further includes a second portion projecting from the top of the first portion toward the axis in contacting relationship with the bottom surface of the welch plug ( Figure 6 element 112 defines second portion which is connected to element 102) such that a step is defined between the side wall and a bottom surface of the second portion ( Figure 6 element 110 is of a thickness greater than the thickness of element 112 which would create a step transition between element 120 as stated in column 4 lines 34-37).
Regarding Claim 17 Line et al. discloses
The method as set forth in claim 16, wherein after pressing of the top surface of the plug (As cited before, figure 3 element 48 is formed by a staking or the like of which would compress the assembly),
the first portion of the lip seal engages the first wall of the counterbore (The sealing surface 123 of the first portion 110 in figure 6 is attached to element 70 in figure 4 as stated in column 3 lines 52-54) and the second portion of the lip seal overlies the cavity of the cylindrical portion (Figure 3 shows the second portion 112 extending radially inward to overlie the major diameter 69 of the long bore 54).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is being rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over US 8734261 B1(Line et al.) in view of US 3989259 A (Lorenz et al.)
Regarding Claim 3 Line et al. discloses the slip yoke assembly as set forth in claim 1, wherein the first wall of the counterbore extends (See claim 1 citation above) but fails to disclose at an obtuse angle up to 100 degrees relative to the axis.
Lorenz et al. teaches a device (30) with a seal (10) located at an end of the device wherein an end of the seal is set on a wall (34) where the wall is at an obtuse angle relative to the axis (Figures 8 and 9).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the wall of Line et al.’s invention at an obtuse angle, as taught by Lorenz, so as to ensure sufficient clearance for installation of the seal. Further, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to make the first wall extends at an obtuse angle up to 100 degrees, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller 105 USPQ 233.
Conclusion
/A.H.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3678
/AMBER R ANDERSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3678