DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions and Status of Claims
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I, claims 1-4 in the reply filed on 7/2/26 is acknowledged.
Claim 5 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/2/26.
As such, claims 1-4 are examined in this office action below.
Drawings
Figure 5 should be designated by a legend such as --Prior Art-- because only that which is old is illustrated. See MPEP § 608.02(g). Corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The replacement sheet(s) should be labeled “Replacement Sheet” in the page header (as per 37 CFR 1.84(c)) so as not to obstruct any portion of the drawing figures. If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 3-4, the phrase "i.e." renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). Claim 2 is also rejected as it depends from claim 1 and does not solve the above issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2020/0294702 A (cited on IDS dated 7/23/26) of Ishii.
As to claim 1, it is not clear which range is applied to the coercive force, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as requiring 398 A/m or less as this is the modern SI unit for magnetic field strength.
Ishii discloses a soft magnetic powder with an amorphous structure (Ishii, paragraph [0025]), meeting the limitation of an amorphous alloy soft magnetic powder. Ishii discloses where each particle of the soft magnetic powder has a flat shape (Ishii, paragraph [0024]), meeting the limitation of the powder comprising a particle having a flat shape. Ishii discloses the diameter of the particles of the soft magnetic powder is about 50 to 5000 µm and where the coercive force of the powder is 800 A/m or weaker (Ishii, paragraphs [0024] and [0026]). Ishii discloses a specific example where the soft magnetic powder has an average particle diameter of 500 µm and a measured coercive force of 20 A/m (Ishii, paragraph [0036]), meeting the claim limitation wherein the amorphous alloy soft magnetic powder has a volume-based average particle diameter of more than 150 μm and 500 μm or less measured by a laser diffraction and scattering particle size distribution analyzer, and a coercive force of 398 A/m or less, i.e., 5.0 Oe or less.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 2020/0294702 A (cited on IDS dated 7/23/26) of Ishii.
As to claims 2-3, it is not clear which range is applied to the coercive force, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as requiring the A/m range as this is the modern SI unit for magnetic field strength.
Ishii discloses a soft magnetic powder with an amorphous structure (Ishii, paragraph [0025]), meeting the limitation of an amorphous alloy soft magnetic powder. Ishii discloses where each particle of the soft magnetic powder has a flat shape (Ishii, paragraph [0024]), meeting the limitation of the powder comprising a particle having a flat shape. Ishii discloses the diameter of the particles of the soft magnetic powder is about 50 to 5000 µm and where the coercive force of the powder is 800 A/m or weaker (Ishii, paragraphs [0024] and [0026]), overlapping the claim 2 limitation where a proportion of particles having a particle diameter of more than 300 μm and 600 μm or less classified by sieving is 15 mass% or more and 40 mass% or less and the claim 3 limitation wherein a coercive force of particles having a particle diameter of more than 300 μm and 600 μm or less classified by sieving is 398 A/m or less, i.e., 5.0 Oe or less. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”, see MPEP § 2144.05(I).
As to claim 4, it is not clear which range is applied to the coercive force, see 112(b) rejection above. For the purposes of applying prior art, this will be interpreted as requiring the A/m range as this is the modern SI unit for magnetic field strength.
Ishii discloses the diameter of the particles of the soft magnetic powder is about 50 to 5000 µm and where the coercive force of the powder is 800 A/m or weaker (Ishii, paragraphs [0024] and [0026]), overlapping where particles have a particle diameter of more than 150 μm and 212 μm or less and where these particles have a coercive force of 159 A/m or less. Ishii also discloses where the thickness of each particle of the soft magnetic powder is, for example, about 5 to 500 μm (Ishii, paragraph [0025]), meaning that the aspect ratio would be 0.1-1000, overlapping the claimed range of 4 or more and 100 or less. “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”, see MPEP § 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/JOSHUA S CARPENTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1733
/JOPHY S. KOSHY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733