DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Drawings
The subject matter of this application admits of illustration by a drawing to facilitate understanding of the invention. Applicant is required to furnish a drawing under 37 CFR 1.81(c). No new matter may be introduced in the required drawing. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). Claim 3 recites, “a focal length of the first Fresnel lens is equal to a focal length of the second Fresnel lens” where focal lengths of first and second Fresnel lenses need to be shown for the understanding of the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) in view of Claytor (US 2004/0141241 A1).
As of claim 1, Destain teaches a projector 1 [fig 1] comprising: a light source 2 (LED array) [fig 1] [0015]; a Fresnel lens group 20 (Fresnel lenses) [fig 1] [0018] that parallelizes a beam output (the first Fresnel lens may be selected to substantially collimate the beam as shown with parallel lights 25 in fig 2) [0018] from the light source 2 [fig 1]; a light-incident-side polarizer (the incident face of the second Fresnel lens may have a polarizing film or element on it, such as a reflective polarizer that transmits one polarization and reflects the other. Incorporating a polarizer on the second Fresnel lens, or otherwise mounting one between the Fresnel lenses or at another position close to the light source, provides a polarized light beam to optical elements downstream in the system) [0018] that transmits the beam that exits out of the Fresnel lens group 20 [fig 1]; a light modulator 18 [fig 1] (the pixilated panel 18, which is preferably an LCOS panel) [0022] that modulates the beam passing through the light-incident-side polarizer [0018] to form a projection image (the light from a source is collected by a condenser and directed onto a pixilated panel, such as a liquid crystal on silicon (LCOS) panel. The light reflected from the pixilated panel is then imaged onto a distant screen by a projection lens) [0014]; a light-exiting-side polarizer 28 [fig 2] (faceted side 28 of the second Fresnel lens 26 contains the features that change the collimation of the transmitted beam) [0036] that transmits the beam modulated by the light modulator 18 49 [fig 1]; and a projection lens [0014] that projects the beam passing through the light-exiting-side polarizer 28 [fig 2], the Fresnel lens group 20 [fig 2] includes a first Fresnel lens 21 [fig 2] disposed at a position closest to the light source 2 [fig 1] in the Fresnel lens group 20 [fig 1], and a second Fresnel lens 26 [fig 2] and disposed at a position shifted from the first Fresnel lens 21 [fig 2] toward the light modulator 18 [fig 1], a light incident surface 22 [fig 2] of the first Fresnel lens 21 [fig 2] does not have a Fresnel surface (non-faceted side) [fig 2] [0027], and a light exiting surface of the first Fresnel 21 [fig 2] lens has a Fresnel surface 24 (faceted face) [fig 2] [0027].
Destain does not teach a first Fresnel lens having positive power and a second Fresnel lens having positive power.
Claytor teaches two lens elements 33 and 35 [fig 3] having a first Fresnel lens 33 [fig 3] having positive power and a second Fresnel lens 35 [fig 3] having positive power (first and second plastic Fresnel lens elements that are in optical communication with each other, and wherein the first lens element has positive power and the second lens element also has positive power) [0016].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first Fresnel lens having positive power and a second Fresnel lens having positive power as taught by Claytor to the projector as disclosed by Destain to have the first and second lens elements are coaxially aligned along the imaging path of an imaging device (Claytor; [0015]).
As of claim 2, Destain teaches a light 25 [fig 2] incident surface of the second Fresnel lens 26 [fig 2] does not have a Fresnel surface (non-faceted surface) [0033], and a light exiting surface of the second Fresnel lens 26 [fig 2] has a Fresnel surface (faceted surface) [0036].
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) in view of Claytor (US 2004/0141241 A1) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2006/0291051 A1; Kim).
Destain in view of Claytor teaches the invention as cited above except for a focal length of the first Fresnel lens is equal to a focal length of the second Fresnel lens.
Kim teaches a display device [fig 1] having a focal length of the first Fresnel lens 1 [fig 1] is equal [0038] to a focal length of the second Fresnel lens 2 [fig 1].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a focal length of the first Fresnel lens is equal to a focal length of the second Fresnel lens as taught by Kim to the projector as disclosed by Destain in view of Claytor to have a large screen three-dimensional image display device using a curved type transmissive screen and a reflector such that a small projection space is needed, thereby minimizing the space for installation of the device (Kim; [0014]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) in view of Claytor (US 2004/0141241 A1) and further in view of Romano et al. (US 6,081,378 A; Romano).
Destain in view of Claytor teaches the invention as cited above except for a light incident surface of the second Fresnel lens has a Fresnel surface, and a light exiting surface of the second Fresnel lens does not have a Fresnel surface.
Romano teaches a projection system 68 [fig 3] having a light incident surface of the second Fresnel lens 74 [fig 3] has a Fresnel surface (faceted surface) [fig 3], and a light exiting surface of the second Fresnel lens 74 [fig 3] does not have a Fresnel surface (non-faceted surface) [fig 3].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a light incident surface of the second Fresnel lens has a Fresnel surface, and a light exiting surface of the second Fresnel lens does not have a Fresnel surface as taught by Romano to the projector as disclosed by Destain in view of Claytor to provide a high-efficiency homogenous polarization converter for polarizing the spatial orientation of the electric field in a light beam by converting all incident light to the same polarization (Romano; col 1, lines 65-67, col 2, line 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) in view of Claytor (US 2004/0141241 A1) and further in view of Romano et al. (US 6,081,378 A; Romano) and further in view of Jang (US 2010/0254001 A1).
Destain in view of Claytor and Romano teaches the invention as cited above except for a focal length of the first Fresnel lens is shorter than a focal length of the second Fresnel lens.
Jang teaches a 3-dimensional image device [fig 7] having a focal length of the first Fresnel lens 715 [fig 7] is shorter [0024] than a focal length of the second Fresnel lens 720 [fig 7].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a focal length of the first Fresnel lens is shorter than a focal length of the second Fresnel lens as taught by Jang to the projector as disclosed by Destain in view of Claytor and Romano to provide a 3-dimensional image display device having wide viewing angles by using the double bond structure of a first Fresnel lens and a second Fresnel lens (Jang; [0020]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) in view of Claytor (US 2004/0141241 A1) and further in view of Uchiyama et al. (US 2005/0270618 A1; Uchiyama).
Destain in view of Claytor teaches the invention as cited above except for a polarization conversion optical system that is disposed between the light source and the Fresnel lens group and converts polarization directions of the beam output from the light source.
Uchiyama teaches an image display apparatus 160 [fig 16] having a polarization conversion optical system 23 [fig 16] [0047] that is disposed between the light source 10 [fig 16] and the Fresnel lens group 163 [fig 16] [0140] and converts polarization directions of the beam output from the light source 10 [fig 16] [0142].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a polarization conversion optical system that is disposed between the light source and the Fresnel lens group and converts polarization directions of the beam output from the light source as taught by Uchiyama to the projector as disclosed by Destain in view of Claytor to provide a polarization compensation system preferably used for an image display apparatus intended for expansion of brightness dynamic range (Uchiyama; [0011]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As of claim 6, the closest prior art Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) teaches an optical system 1 for a projection system. The source 2 is an LED array, which preferably has a generally rectangular outer shape with an aspect ratio that matches that of the pixilated panel 18, such as 4:3 or 16:9. Alternatively, the LED array can have a different aspect ratio than that of the pixilated panel, and anamorphic optics (discussed further below) can be used to shape the illumination beam to match the size of the pixilated panel. The LED array may have bright regions of emission, with dark regions that correspond to non-emitting structures, such as wires or electrical connections, or gaps between die or other support elements. A typical LED array may emit a luminous flux of about 20 lumens, although any suitable value may be used. Such an array may consume an electrical power of about one watt, which is much smaller than the required electrical power for a comparable arc lamp. Note that some LED arrays emit light in a fairly narrow range of wavelengths. For example, the LED array may emit in the blue region of the spectrum, so that when viewed by a human eye, its entire range of wavelengths appears to be essentially blue. Alternatively, the LED array may emit in the red, in the green, or in some other suitable portion of the spectrum. In some embodiments, white-light emitting LEDs (containing phosphors, or multiple dies emitting different colors) may be used. Light from the source 2 is collected by a multi-element condenser, which in FIG. 1 is elements 4 through 16 and 20, collectively. Each of these is described below. This condenser is merely exemplary, and any suitable condenser may be used, having one or more refractive, reflective, and/or diffractive elements. Following the encapsulant lens is a pair of Fresnel lenses 20. The first Fresnel lens may be selected to substantially collimate the beam. The incident face of the second Fresnel lens may have a polarizing film or element on it, such as a reflective polarizer that transmits one polarization and reflects the other. Incorporating a polarizer on the second Fresnel lens, or otherwise mounting one between the Fresnel lenses or at another position close to the light source, provides a polarized light beam to optical elements downstream in the system, which may be useful as described further below. The second Fresnel lens converges the beam. Destain does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, an adjustment mechanism that changes an axial distance between the first Fresnel lens and the second Fresnel lens.
As of claim 7, the closest prior art Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) teaches an optical system 1 for a projection system. The source 2 is an LED array, which preferably has a generally rectangular outer shape with an aspect ratio that matches that of the pixilated panel 18, such as 4:3 or 16:9. Alternatively, the LED array can have a different aspect ratio than that of the pixilated panel, and anamorphic optics (discussed further below) can be used to shape the illumination beam to match the size of the pixilated panel. The LED array may have bright regions of emission, with dark regions that correspond to non-emitting structures, such as wires or electrical connections, or gaps between die or other support elements. A typical LED array may emit a luminous flux of about 20 lumens, although any suitable value may be used. Such an array may consume an electrical power of about one watt, which is much smaller than the required electrical power for a comparable arc lamp. Note that some LED arrays emit light in a fairly narrow range of wavelengths. For example, the LED array may emit in the blue region of the spectrum, so that when viewed by a human eye, its entire range of wavelengths appears to be essentially blue. Alternatively, the LED array may emit in the red, in the green, or in some other suitable portion of the spectrum. In some embodiments, white-light emitting LEDs (containing phosphors, or multiple dies emitting different colors) may be used. Light from the source 2 is collected by a multi-element condenser, which in FIG. 1 is elements 4 through 16 and 20, collectively. Each of these is described below. This condenser is merely exemplary, and any suitable condenser may be used, having one or more refractive, reflective, and/or diffractive elements. Following the encapsulant lens is a pair of Fresnel lenses 20. The first Fresnel lens may be selected to substantially collimate the beam. The incident face of the second Fresnel lens may have a polarizing film or element on it, such as a reflective polarizer that transmits one polarization and reflects the other. Incorporating a polarizer on the second Fresnel lens, or otherwise mounting one between the Fresnel lenses or at another position close to the light source, provides a polarized light beam to optical elements downstream in the system, which may be useful as described further below. The second Fresnel lens converges the beam. Destain does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the Fresnel lens group includes a third Fresnel lens disposed at a position shifted from the second Fresnel lens toward the light modulator, and the third Fresnel lens has positive power.
As of claim 9, the closest prior art Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) teaches an optical system 1 for a projection system. The source 2 is an LED array, which preferably has a generally rectangular outer shape with an aspect ratio that matches that of the pixilated panel 18, such as 4:3 or 16:9. Alternatively, the LED array can have a different aspect ratio than that of the pixilated panel, and anamorphic optics (discussed further below) can be used to shape the illumination beam to match the size of the pixilated panel. The LED array may have bright regions of emission, with dark regions that correspond to non-emitting structures, such as wires or electrical connections, or gaps between die or other support elements. A typical LED array may emit a luminous flux of about 20 lumens, although any suitable value may be used. Such an array may consume an electrical power of about one watt, which is much smaller than the required electrical power for a comparable arc lamp. Note that some LED arrays emit light in a fairly narrow range of wavelengths. For example, the LED array may emit in the blue region of the spectrum, so that when viewed by a human eye, its entire range of wavelengths appears to be essentially blue. Alternatively, the LED array may emit in the red, in the green, or in some other suitable portion of the spectrum. In some embodiments, white-light emitting LEDs (containing phosphors, or multiple dies emitting different colors) may be used. Light from the source 2 is collected by a multi-element condenser, which in FIG. 1 is elements 4 through 16 and 20, collectively. Each of these is described below. This condenser is merely exemplary, and any suitable condenser may be used, having one or more refractive, reflective, and/or diffractive elements. Following the encapsulant lens is a pair of Fresnel lenses 20. The first Fresnel lens may be selected to substantially collimate the beam. The incident face of the second Fresnel lens may have a polarizing film or element on it, such as a reflective polarizer that transmits one polarization and reflects the other. Incorporating a polarizer on the second Fresnel lens, or otherwise mounting one between the Fresnel lenses or at another position close to the light source, provides a polarized light beam to optical elements downstream in the system, which may be useful as described further below. The second Fresnel lens converges the beam. Destain does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, a polarization conversion optical system that is disposed between the Fresnel lens group and the light-incident-side polarizer and converts polarization directions of the beam that exits out of the Fresnel lens group.
As of claim 10, the closest prior art Destain (US 2007/0153402 A1) teaches an optical system 1 for a projection system. The source 2 is an LED array, which preferably has a generally rectangular outer shape with an aspect ratio that matches that of the pixilated panel 18, such as 4:3 or 16:9. Alternatively, the LED array can have a different aspect ratio than that of the pixilated panel, and anamorphic optics (discussed further below) can be used to shape the illumination beam to match the size of the pixilated panel. The LED array may have bright regions of emission, with dark regions that correspond to non-emitting structures, such as wires or electrical connections, or gaps between die or other support elements. A typical LED array may emit a luminous flux of about 20 lumens, although any suitable value may be used. Such an array may consume an electrical power of about one watt, which is much smaller than the required electrical power for a comparable arc lamp. Note that some LED arrays emit light in a fairly narrow range of wavelengths. For example, the LED array may emit in the blue region of the spectrum, so that when viewed by a human eye, its entire range of wavelengths appears to be essentially blue. Alternatively, the LED array may emit in the red, in the green, or in some other suitable portion of the spectrum. In some embodiments, white-light emitting LEDs (containing phosphors, or multiple dies emitting different colors) may be used. Light from the source 2 is collected by a multi-element condenser, which in FIG. 1 is elements 4 through 16 and 20, collectively. Each of these is described below. This condenser is merely exemplary, and any suitable condenser may be used, having one or more refractive, reflective, and/or diffractive elements. Following the encapsulant lens is a pair of Fresnel lenses 20. The first Fresnel lens may be selected to substantially collimate the beam. The incident face of the second Fresnel lens may have a polarizing film or element on it, such as a reflective polarizer that transmits one polarization and reflects the other. Incorporating a polarizer on the second Fresnel lens, or otherwise mounting one between the Fresnel lenses or at another position close to the light source, provides a polarized light beam to optical elements downstream in the system, which may be useful as described further below. The second Fresnel lens converges the beam. Destain does not anticipate or render obvious, alone or in combination, the polarization conversion optical system includes a polarization beam splitter that directly transmits one linearly polarized light component out of polarized light components contained in the beam incident thereon and reflects another linearly polarized light component in a direction perpendicular to an optical axis, a total reflection mirror that reflects the other linearly polarized light component reflected off the polarization beam splitter in a direction parallel to the optical axis, and a retardation film that converts the other linearly polarized light component reflected off the total reflection mirror into the one linearly polarized light component.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
- Prior Art Matsumoto (US 20070216851 A1) teaches an imaging lens device, which has a widely extended focusing range and exhibits good resolution over the entire focusing range. The imaging lens device comprises a liquid crystal lens for focusing an object at a prescribed distance, comprising a liquid crystal layer, a first transparent substrate disposed adjacent to one surface of the liquid crystal layer and having a first electrode and having Fresnel lens surface formed on the boundary with the liquid crystal layer, a second transparent substrate disposed adjacent to the other surface of the liquid crystal layer and having a second electrode; a controller for changing the refractive index of the liquid crystal layer for extraordinary ray by changing electric voltage applied between the first electrode and the second electrode; and an imaging element for taking an image of the object. The liquid crystal lens functions as a diffractive optical element for an extraordinary ray when the liquid crystal layer has a prescribed refractive index for an extraordinary ray incident upon the liquid crystal layer;
- Prior Art Karasawa (US 20040212782 A1) teaches a thin projector, such as a rear projector, formed by a less expensive projection optical system which is easy to assemble and install, and performing a highly accurate projection, projection light PL projected with a projection optical system onto a screen is linearly polarized light having a polarization azimuth along the longitudinal direction of the screen. With this arrangement, the right and left ends of the rear surface of the screen maintain a low reflectance, thereby reducing a loss in quantity of illumination light when passing through the screen, in other words, achieving high luminance of an image projected onto the screen while maintaining its. uniformity of brightness.
/SULTAN CHOWDHURY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882