Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Korean Application KR10-2022-0190970 dated 12/30/2022 and applicant has filed a certified copy of this Korean application on 02/26/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (KR 20090027418 A) hereinafter Kim1 in view of Kim (KR 20060039332 A) hereinafter Kim2.
Regarding claim 1, Kim1 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate support apparatus comprising: a first chuck (supporting chuck which comprises support pins 120 on outer surface of housing /spin head 110) configured to support a substrate by contacting a bottom surface (back side Wb) of the substrate (W); and a second chuck (gripping chuck which comprises drive member 340 and chucking pins 330) configured to horizontally move the substrate by contacting a side surface (edge) of the substrate, wherein the second chuck comprises: a second chuck body (340 inside 110 of the first chuck) coupled to the first chuck; a plurality of protruding pins (330L) vertically protruding from an outer portion of a top surface (330L is connected to top surface of gear 352) of the second chuck body; and an alignment pin (330U) vertically protruding from a top surface of each of the plurality of protruding pins, wherein the plurality of protruding pins are located at a same horizontal distance from a center of the first chuck. However Kim1 does not teach the claimed impact absorbing pad formed over an entire surface of the alignment pin.
Kim2 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a pin/roller 310 with an impact absorbing pad (320) formed over an entire side surface of the alignment pin (310)
(as shown below, a plurality of pins/rollers 310 are attached to rotary shaft 302; outer surface of each roller is covered by pad/elastic material 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Kim2 in device of Kim1 and add impact absorbing pad on alignment pin of Kim1. Doing so would prevent damage to the gripped wafer.
Regarding claim 2, Kim1 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin is configured to move between a first point (gripping point) and a second point (releasing point) on the top surface of the protruding pin, wherein the second points on the top surfaces of the plurality of protruding pins are located at a same horizontal distance from the center of the first chuck (see location of the first points and the second points relative to axis A).
Regarding claim 3, Kim1 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin moves between the first point and the second point due to a rotation of the protruding pin (by rotation of drive gear 344 and driven gear 342).
Regarding claim 5, Kim1 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin moves the substrate by pushing a side surface (outer peripheral edge) of the substrate while moving from the first point to the second point.
Regarding claim 21, Kim1 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a movable distance of the alignment pin between the first point and the second point is equal to or less than a diameter of the top surface of the protruding pin.
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-13, 16-19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 20040047720 A1) in view of Kim2.
Claim 1 is rejected under two mutually exclusive interpretations:Under the first interpretation the second chuck body is interpreted to be gears 44, 46.Under the second interpretation the second chuck body is interpreted to be lift hoop 32.
Regarding claim 1, Under the first interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. below) a substrate support apparatus (substrate processing apparatus 30) comprising: a first chuck (par. 0028: “chuck 38 (e.g., a vacuum or electrostatic chuck, or the like)”) configured to support a substrate (substrate 10) by contacting a bottom surface of the substrate; and a second chuck (gripping chuck comprising at least 18, 14, 48, gears 44, 46 and coupling 48) configured to horizontally move the substrate by contacting a side surface of the substrate (par. 0026: “one or more of the tabs 18 may contact the substrate 10 to apply a horizontal force to the edge of the substrate 10 to move the substrate 10 to the centered position defined by the tabs 18 when positioned as shown in FIG. 1B”), wherein the second chuck comprises: a second chuck body (gears 44, 46) coupled to the first chuck (par. 0029: “The central gear 44 may be concentrically mounted with respect to the spindle 40 via a bearing 50”); a plurality of protruding pins (14) vertically protruding from an outer portion of a top surface of the second chuck body (14 protrudes from top surface of 46 and 48); and an alignment pin (18) vertically protruding from a top surface of each of the plurality of protruding pins, wherein the plurality of protruding pins are located at a same horizontal distance from a center of the first chuck. However Lerner does not teach the claimed impact absorbing pad formed over an entire surface of the alignment pin.
Kim2 teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a pin/roller 310 with an impact absorbing pad (320) formed over an entire side surface of the alignment pin (310)
(as shown above, a plurality of pins/rollers 310 are attached to rotary shaft 302; outer surface of each roller is covered by pad/elastic material 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Kim2 in device of Lerner and add impact absorbing pad on alignment pin of Lerner. Doing so would prevent damage to the gripped wafer.
Regarding claim 2, Under the first and the second interpretations Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin is configured to move between a first point and a second point (see Fogs. 1A and 1B) on the top surface of the protruding pin, wherein the second points on the top surfaces of the plurality of protruding pins are located at a same horizontal distance from the center of the first chuck.
Regarding claims 3, 13 and 19, Under the first and the second interpretations Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin moves between the first point and the second point due to a rotation of the protruding pin (par. 29: by rotation of gear 44).
Regarding claim 5, Under the first and the second interpretations Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the alignment pin moves horizontally between the first point and the second point in a sliding manner on the top surface of the protruding pin (par. 0034: “ then one or more of the tabs 18 contact the edge of the substrate 10 during the rotation of the substrate support pins 14 to urge the substrate 10 into the centered position”).
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Under the first interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the second chuck body has a cylindrical shape that vertically extends (gear 44 is cylindrical shaped).
Regarding claim 8, Under the first interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the second chuck body comprises a plurality of arms (three sprockets 46) that extend horizontally.
Regarding claim 11, Under the first and the second interpretations Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the first chuck is a vacuum chuck using vacuum to attach the bottom surface of the substrate (par. 0028: “chuck 38 (e.g., a vacuum or electrostatic chuck, or the like)”; also see par. 0036 and 0038).
Regarding claim 22, Under the first and the second interpretations Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) when the substrate is supported by the first chuck, at least a portion of the top surface of each of the plurality of protruding pins overlaps the substrate in a vertical direction.
Regarding claim 1, Under the second interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) a substrate support apparatus (substrate processing apparatus 30) comprising: a first chuck (par. 0028: “chuck 38 (e.g., a vacuum or electrostatic chuck, or the like)”) configured to support a substrate (substrate 10) by contacting a bottom surface of the substrate; and a second chuck (gripping chuck comprising at least 18, 14, 48, 32, gears 44, 46 and coupling 48) configured to horizontally move the substrate by contacting a side surface of the substrate (par. 0026: “one or more of the tabs 18 may contact the substrate 10 to apply a horizontal force to the edge of the substrate 10 to move the substrate 10 to the centered position defined by the tabs 18 when positioned as shown in FIG. 1B”), wherein the second chuck comprises: a second chuck body (32) coupled (via 44, 46 and 48) to the first chuck (par. 0029: “The central gear 44 may be concentrically mounted with respect to the spindle 40 via a bearing 50”); a plurality of protruding pins (14) vertically protruding from an outer portion of a top surface of the second chuck body (14 protrudes from top surface of 32); and an alignment pin (18) vertically protruding from a top surface of each of the plurality of protruding pins, wherein the plurality of protruding pins are located at a same horizontal distance from a center of the first chuck. However Lerner does not teach the claimed impact absorbing pad formed over an entire surface of the alignment pin.
(as shown above, a plurality of pins/rollers 310 are attached to rotary shaft 302; outer surface of each roller is covered by pad/elastic material 320).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings of Kim2 in device of Lerner and add impact absorbing pad on alignment pin of Lerner. Doing so would prevent damage to the gripped wafer.
Regarding claims 7 and 16, Under the second interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the second chuck body (32) has a cylindrical shape that vertically extends.
Regarding claim 9, Under the second interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) the second chuck further comprises a height adjusting unit (lift/lower mechanism 34) configured to vertically move the second chuck body (par. 0028, 0033).
Regarding claims 10 and 17, Under the second interpretation Lerner teaches (reproduced and annotated Figs. above) three protruding pins are provided, wherein the three protruding pins are located along vertices of a virtual equilateral triangle on the top surface of the second chuck body.
Claim 12 is combination of claims 1, 2, 5 and 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claim 18 is combination of claims 1, 2 and 9 and is rejected for the same reasons. Lerner further teaches the first chuck comprising a support plate (top surface of 38) configured to support the substrate and a driving unit (par. 0028: “spindle rotation mechanism 42 (e.g., a motor)”) configured to drive the support plate, the support plate contacting a bottom surface of the substrate.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments on the grounds that Kim 332 (Kim2) fails to teach the claimed pad is fully considered, but found not persuasive. Because as shown in annotated Figs. of Kim2, at least an entire outer cylindrical surface of roller 320 of Kim2 is covered by pad 320.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Takayuki (EP 1067589 A2) teaches a chuck with alignment pins/rollers (3) “in contact with the edge portion of the semiconductor substrate 9”. Takayuki teaches rubber lining on rollers “to reduce damage at the contact and to prevent a slip between both during the rotation”.
Chang (US 20160322244 A1) teaches a chuck with rubberized pin/roller 150 for rotation of the wafer 122 to increase friction between the roller and the edge of the wafer.
MAHDI H. NEJAD
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/MAHDI H NEJAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723