DETAILED ACTION
Status
The filing on 08/11/2026 amended claim 1. Claims 1-6, 8, and 9 are rejected on new grounds of rejections necessitated by the amendments of claim 1.
Claim Rejections - AIA 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi (US 20210247671 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wakabayashi teaches a pixel shifting device comprising: an optical member (10); a first frame (20) which is configured to hold the optical member (10), and which oscillates around a first oscillation axis (J1); a second frame (30) which is disposed on a periphery of the first frame (20), which is coupled to the first frame (20), and which oscillates around a second oscillation axis (J2) perpendicular to the first oscillation axis (J1); a base (5) which is disposed on a periphery of the second frame (30), and which is coupled to the second frame (30); a first actuator (6) configured to oscillate the first frame (20) with respect to the second frame (30) between the first frame (20) and the second frame (30); a second actuator (7) which is disposed in an area at a side at which the first actuator (6) is disposed in the second frame (30), and which oscillates the second frame (30) with respect to the base (5); and a frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) which is disposed in an area at a side at which the first actuator (6) and the second actuator (7) are disposed in the second frame (30), and which has a first surface having contact with a surface of the second frame (30; Fig. 7), wherein the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) includes a coupling shaft part (38/39) which is located on the second oscillation axis (J2) and couples the second frame (30) to the base (5; [0045], [0046]).
Wakabayashi does not explicitly teach the frame reinforcement member being formed integrally with a coupling shaft part which is located on the second oscillation axis and couples the second frame to the base.
Having the frame reinforcement member being formed integrally with the coupling shaft part is prima facie obvious. In re Larson, 340 F.2d 965, 968, 144 USPQ 347, 349 (CCPA 1965) (A claim to a fluid transporting vehicle was rejected as obvious over a prior art reference which differed from the prior art in claiming a brake drum integral with a clamping means, whereas the brake disc and clamp of the prior art comprise several parts rigidly secured together as a single unit. The court affirmed the rejection holding, among other reasons, "that the use of a one piece construction instead of the structure disclosed in [the prior art] would be merely a matter of obvious engineering choice.").
Regarding claim 2, Wakabayashi further teaches the second actuator (7) is constituted by a magnet (71) and a coil (72), one of the magnet (71) and the coil (72) is disposed at the second frame (30) side, and another of the magnet (71) and the coil (72) is disposed at the base (5) side (Fig. 7; [0057]).
Regarding claim 3, Wakabayashi further teaches the second actuator (7) is constituted by a pair of actuators (7A and 7B) disposed across the second oscillation axis (J2).
Regarding claim 4, Wakabayashi further teaches the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) has an uprise wall part (36 or 37) rising from a second surface at an opposite side to the first surface.
Regarding claim 5, Wakabayashi further teaches a part (71 and/or 73) of the second actuator (7) is disposed in the uprise wall part (36 or 37) of the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310; [0058]).
Regarding claim 6, Wakabayashi further teaches the second frame (30) has an extending part (31) which extends toward an opposite side to the first oscillation axis (J1) with respect to the first actuator (6), and toward one side in an axial direction along the second oscillation axis (J2), and which is coupled to the base (5), and the frame reinforcement member (36, 37, 38, 310) is fixed to the extending part (31; Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 9, Wakabayashi further teaches a projector (Fig. 1) comprising: an image generator (108B/G/R) configured to generate image light; a projection optical system (3) configured to project the image light; and the pixel shifting device (2) according to claim 1 which is disposed between the image generator (108B/G/R) and the projection optical system (3), and which is configured to shift a light path of the image light from the image generator.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wakabayashi in view of Kadotani (US 20170104965 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Wakabayashi further teaches the first frame (20) being formed of stainless steel ([0039]) and the base (5) being formed of aluminum ([0029]).
Kadotani teaches first, second frames (54, 55) and the rim (52) being made of aluminum ([0126], [0189]).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skills in the art at the time of the invention to combine Wakabayashi with Kadotani such that the second frame (30) formed of aluminum; because aluminum allows heat dissipation to improve service life of the device ([0126], [0189] of Kadotani).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, Virginia 22313-1450
Or faxed to:
(571) 273-8300, (for formal communications intended for entry)
Or:
(571) 273-7490, (for informal or draft communications, please label “PROPOSED” or “DRAFT”)
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
/BAO-LUAN Q LE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882