DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 12/22/2023. Claims 1-17 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/22/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Appropriate correction required.
Drawing Objections
The drawings are objected to due to the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.83(a) because the drawings do not show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
Specifically, the following features are not identified in the drawings:
Claim 17 recites “a switching bridge, and a switch bank connected between the transformer and switching bridge” which structures are not identified in the drawing.
Correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer (US 20190184833) in view of Sarin (US 20240039393).
As to claim 1, Elshaer disclose a vehicle (Fig. 2) comprising: a power system including a traction battery (Fig. 2 traction battery 124), a battery current control module (power conversion module 132) , a booster module (VVC 152 and input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. VVC 152 may receive the HV DC power and boost or “step up” the voltage potential [0028]) , and a bus electrically connecting the traction battery (124), battery current control module (132), and booster module (Fig. 2); and a controller programmed to, while the battery current control module is delivering AC current to the bus from an AC source (Fig. 2-4 AC source 2/302/402), operate the booster module to alternately store energy from the bus and discharge energy to the bus ([0028] An input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. The input capacitor may reduce any voltage and current ripple).
Elshaer does not disclose/teach such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus.
Sarin teaches such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus ([0037] FIG. 1C graphically illustrates current 80 on the vertical axis in relation to time on the horizontal axis, with a first line 84 illustrating current on the system power bus 50B and [0034] The parametric setpoint 16 is dynamically set to achieve current ripple cancellation via the switching DC-DC power converter 30 such that the electric power in the system power bus 50B is at the preset voltage with minimal voltage ripple and/or current ripple)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Elshaer such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus in order to minimize voltage ripple and/or current ripple ([0034] of Sarin).
As to claim 8. Elshaer disclose a method (Fig. 2) comprising: while a battery current control module (power conversion module 132) is delivering AC current to a bus from an AC source (Fig. 2-4 AC source 2/302/402) , operating a booster module (VVC 152 and input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. VVC 152 may receive the HV DC power and boost or “step up” the voltage potential [0028]) such that a capacitor thereof alternately stores energy from the bus and discharges energy to the bus ([0028] An input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. The input capacitor may reduce any voltage and current ripple).
Elshaer does not disclose/teach resulting in a traction battery receiving DC current from the bus.
Sarin teaches resulting in a traction battery receiving DC current from the bus ([0037] FIG. 1C graphically illustrates current 80 on the vertical axis in relation to time on the horizontal axis, with a first line 84 illustrating current on the system power bus 50B and [0034] The parametric setpoint 16 is dynamically set to achieve current ripple cancellation via the switching DC-DC power converter 30 such that the electric power in the system power bus 50B is at the preset voltage with minimal voltage ripple and/or current ripple).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Elshaer resulting in a traction battery receiving DC current from the bus in order to minimize voltage ripple and/or current ripple ([0034] of Sarin).
As to claims 2 and 9, Elshaer in view of Sarin teaches the vehicle of claim 1 and method of claim 8, wherein the AC current is proportional to an instantaneous power of the AC source such that when a voltage of the AC source has a value of zero, the AC current has a value of zero (an inherent feature when the AC power source is off (i.e. zero) then it would not produce an AC current on the bus).
As to claims 3 and 10, Elshaer in view of Sarin teaches the vehicle of claim 1 and method of claim 8.
Elshaer in view of Sarin does not disclose/teach wherein current associated with operation of the booster module has an average value of zero.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to control Sarins converter controller 40 to control the current associated with operation of the booster module has an average value of zero to achieve current ripple cancellation via such that the electric power in the system power bus 50B a minimal voltage ripple and/or current ripple ([0037]).
As to claims 4 and 11, Elshaer in view of Sarin teaches the vehicle of claim 1 and method of claim 8.
Elshaer in view of Sarin does not disclose/teach wherein the battery current control module is configured to communicate information related to the AC source to the booster module
However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshaer battery current control module (132) to be configured to communicate information related to the AC source to the booster module (152) in order to determine if the will provide power to the vehicle components sources through the booster module.
Claims 5-7 and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Elshaer (US 20190184833) in view of Sarin (US 20240039393) in view of Liu (US 20210070185) in view of Iwabuki (US 20210313870).
As to claim 5, Elshaer in view of Sarin teaches the vehicle of claim 1, wherein the battery current control module includes a power factor correction circuit ([0029] [0040] Power Factor Correction (PFC) boost rectifier circuit 304/404) and an isolated DC/DC converter ([0029] and Fig. 3 d DC-DC converter 310).
Elshaer in view of Sarin does not disclose/teach power factor correction circuit is bidirectional nor teaches the DC/DC converter is isolated.
Liu teaches power factor correction circuit is bidirectional ([0061] ABC digital controller 152 control AC bi-directional converter 150 to operate as an interleaving totem pole power factor correction control).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power factor correction circuit of Elshaer in view of Sarin to be bidirectional in order to provide power to another vehicle or the grid facilitating V2V or V2G charging.
Iwabuki teaches DC/DC converter is isolated (Fig. 1 [0044] converter 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DC/DC converter of Elshaer in view of Sarin to be isolated in order to prevent or reduce stay currents and ground loops.
As to claim 6, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the vehicle of claim 5 wherein the bidirectional power factor correction circuit is a bidirectional totem pole power factor correction circuit ([0061] of Liu totem pole power factor correction control).
As to claim 7, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the vehicle of claim 5, wherein the isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer (18 of Iwabuki), a switching bridge (17 of Iwabuki), and a switch bank connected between the transformer and switching bridge (16 of Iwabuki).
As to claim 12. Elshaer disclose an automotive power system (Fig. 2) comprising: a bus (124),; a battery current control module (power conversion module 132), including power factor correction circuit ([0029] [0040] Power Factor Correction (PFC) boost rectifier circuit 304/404) and a DC/DC converter connected between the bus and power factor correction circuit ([0029] and Fig. 3 d DC-DC converter 310), configured to be connected with an AC source (Fig. 2-4 AC source 2/302/402); a traction battery connected with the bus (Fig. 2 traction battery 124); and a booster module (VVC 152 and input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. VVC 152 may receive the HV DC power and boost or “step up” the voltage potential [0028]), including a capacitor connected with the bus between the battery current control module and traction battery ([0028] An input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. The input capacitor may reduce any voltage and current ripple),
Elshaer does not disclose/teach the capacitor is configured to be connected with a DC charge source.
Sarin teaches the capacitor is configured to be connected with a DC charge source ([0028] and Fig. 2 Cout connected to DC power source 10).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the capacitor of Elshaer to configured to be connected with a DC charge source in order to charge the vehicle with a DC source if an AC source is not available.
Elshaer in view of Sarin does not disclose/teach power factor correction circuit is bidirectional nor teaches the DC/DC converter is isolated.
Liu teaches power factor correction circuit is bidirectional ([0061] ABC digital controller 152 control AC bi-directional converter 150 to operate as an interleaving totem pole power factor correction control).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the power factor correction circuit of Elshaer in view of Sarin to be bidirectional in order to provide power to another vehicle or the grid facilitating V2V or V2G charging.
Iwabuki teaches DC/DC converter is isolated (Fig. 1 [0044] converter 15).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the DC/DC converter of Elshaer in view of Sarin to be isolated in order to prevent or reduce stay currents and ground loops.
As to claim 13, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the automotive power system of claim 12 further comprising a controller programmed to, while the battery current control module is delivering AC current from the AC source to the bus (Fig. 2-4 AC source 2/302/402), operating the booster module to alternately store energy from the bus to the capacitor and discharge energy from the capacitor to the bus [0028] An input capacitor may be electrically coupled in parallel to the traction battery 124. The input capacitor may reduce any voltage and current ripple
Elshaer does not disclose/teach such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus.
Sarin teaches such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus ([0037] FIG. 1C graphically illustrates current 80 on the vertical axis in relation to time on the horizontal axis, with a first line 84 illustrating current on the system power bus 50B and [0034] The parametric setpoint 16 is dynamically set to achieve current ripple cancellation via the switching DC-DC power converter 30 such that the electric power in the system power bus 50B is at the preset voltage with minimal voltage ripple and/or current ripple)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vehicle of Elshaer such that the traction battery receives direct current from the bus in order to minimize voltage ripple and/or current ripple ([0034] of Sarin).
As to claim 14, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the automotive power system of claim 13, wherein the AC current is proportional to an instantaneous power of the AC source such that when a voltage of the AC source has a value of zero, the AC current has a value of zero (an inherent feature when the AC power source is off (i.e. zero) then it would not produce an AC current on the bus)..
As to claim 15, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the automotive power system of claim 12.
Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki does not disclose/teach wherein current associated with operation of the booster module has an average value of zero.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention through routine experimentation to control Sarins converter controller 40 to control the current associated with operation of the booster module has an average value of zero to achieve current ripple cancellation via such that the electric power in the system power bus 50B a minimal voltage ripple and/or current ripple ([0037]).
As to claim 16, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the automotive power system of claim 12.
Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki does not disclose/teach wherein the battery current control module is configured to communicate information related to the AC source to the booster module.
However it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Elshaer battery current control module (132) to be configured to communicate information related to the AC source to the booster module (152) in order to determine if the will provide power to the vehicle components sources through the booster module.
As to claim 17, Elshaer in view of Sarin in view of Liu in view of Iwabuki teaches the automotive power system of claim 12, wherein the isolated DC/DC converter includes a transformer (18 of Iwabuki), a switching bridge (17 of Iwabuki), and a switch bank connected between the transformer and switching bridge (16 of Iwabuki).
Conclusion and Related Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jang et al (US 9878622) is cited for having two sources connected to a bus that charges a battery (Fig. 2).
Kobayashi (US 11097624) is cited for having (Fig. 2) a bus; a battery current control module; a traction battery connected with the bus; and a booster module, including a capacitor connected with the bus between the battery current control module and traction battery, configured to be connected with a DC charge source.
RUPPERT (US 20190275905) is cited for having a battery, a booster module, including a capacitor connected with the bus (Fig. 1).
Oh (US 20120235626) a bus; a battery current control module; a traction battery connected with the bus; and a booster module, including a capacitor connected with the bus between the battery current control module and traction battery.
Sun US 20170133857 is cited for having (Fig. 1-3) a bus; a battery current control module; a traction battery connected with the bus; and a booster module, including a capacitor connected with the bus between the battery current control module and traction battery.
BOEHME US 20250388102 is cited for having The DC link capacitor C of inverter 1 replaces the function of the bulk capacitor and reduces the current ripple on the side of the high-voltage battery 3. However BOEHME is filed after the effective filing date.
/TYNESE V MCDANIEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859