Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klinnert teaches a method comprising:
using a first transducer, emitting a first acoustic signal representing a first code [[abstract] echo-signal monitoring device having a plurality of transceiver units for transmitting signals and receiving the echoes reflected by an external object and an analyzer unit for estimating the distance from the monitoring device to the external object on the basis of the received echoes];
using the first transducer, receiving a second acoustic signal, and converting the second acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[abstract] mobile device can calculate a corrected reception time of ultrasonic bursts from the transmitters based on the counter value when the burst is detected and the relative counter offset between the mobile device and the transmitter];
generating a correlation result responsive to a correlation between the sensor signal and the first code or a second code [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
computing a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal [[0014] determine the relative position of a plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device, it is in principle sufficient in the case of a pair of transceiver units to measure the direct echo propagation times from a transceiver unit to a linear obstacle and back to the same transceiver unit and the cross-echo propagation time from one of the transceiver units via the obstacle back to the other transceiver unit of the pair in order to calculate the distance between the two units on the basis of the resulting propagation times].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches responsive to the [correlation] result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer [[0024] backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0030] backend controller must wait for the longest possible flight time to be received by the mobile device before having other emitters (e.g. 2 and 3) trigger their ranging pulses]:
determining a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal [[0024] direct the different emitters 116 to emit an ultrasonic signal burst at different times … the backend scheduler can communicate with ultrasonic transmitter 1 to cause it to transmit an ultrasonic burst at a time reserved for that transmitter. Upon receiving the burst, the device 100 can communicate with the backend controller over the communication network that it has received the burst (along with timing information), and the backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0027] ultrasonic transmitters/synchronization servers will also determine relative offsets amongst themselves in the same fashion as above. One of the servers, or even a mobile device, will be designated as the master synchronization server with the other servers being slaved to the master. The master can be chosen by the backend controller or can be chosen in an ad hoc manner. The relative counter offsets amongst the transmitters is reported to the backend controller for further use in locationing];
adjusting the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0028] pulses can be 2 ms bursts of 20 kHz sent every 800 ms, for example. The relative timing of these pulses is established between the transmitters … schedule the pulses so they do not overlap … subtracting this scheduled emission time from the measured time of reception of the pulse corrected by the relative counter offset, will have the accurate flight time of the pulse in order to accurately locate the identified mobile device … relative timing offset could be added or subtracted as needed to advance or retard the timing measurement; [0032] mobile device can measure the time when it receives the ranging pulse, add the relative timing offset to correct this time, wherein the emission item can be subtracted from the reception time to determine the flight time. This corrected time information is reported to the backend controller along with the mobile device identifier. If the controller finds that a determined a flight time shows that a ranging pulse is received by a mobile device between times tb0 and tb1, for example, this tells the backend controller that the ranging pulse came from emitter 1]; and
providing a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of-flight [[0032] using the corrected time of arrivals of the ultrasonic ranging pulses, identifying the transmitter, and using the known positions of identified transmitter, the backend controller can calculate an accurate distance to the mobile device].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 6, Klinnert teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is a first delay time, and the method further comprises: using the first transducer, emitting a fourth acoustic signal representing the first code during a third period; using the second transducer, emitting a fifth acoustic signal representing the second code during a fourth period after the third period, wherein the fourth period is separated from the third period by a second pre-determined delay time [[0012] signals may be transmitted interlaced in time; [0020] four transceiver units; [0024] four transceiver units].
Regarding claim 8, Klinnert teaches the method of claim 7, wherein a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time is based on a random value [[prior art claim 21] control unit to determine points in time for transmitting a pulse shaped signal for the transceiver units according to a stochastic model].
Regarding claim 11, Klinnert teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first transducer [[abstract] plurality of transceiver units];
a controller coupled to the first transducer and configured to [[0012] control unit according to a stochastic model]:
using the first transducer, emit a first acoustic signal representing a first code [[0014] plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device];
using the first transducer, receive a second acoustic signal, and convert the second acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[abstract]];
generate a correlation result responsive to a correlation between the sensor signal and the first code or a second code [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
compute a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal [[0014] determine the relative position of a plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device, it is in principle sufficient in the case of a pair of transceiver units to measure the direct echo propagation times from a transceiver unit to a linear obstacle and back to the same transceiver unit and the cross-echo propagation time from one of the transceiver units via the obstacle back to the other transceiver unit of the pair in order to calculate the distance between the two units on the basis of the resulting propagation times].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches responsive to the [correlation] result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer [[0024][0030]]:
determine a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal; adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0024]]; and
provide a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of- flight [[0028][0032]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 16, Klinnert teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first sensor module including a first transducer [[abstract]];
a second sensor module including a second transducer [[abstract]];
a controller coupled to the first and second sensor modules and configured to [[0012] control unit according to a stochastic model]:
using the first transducer, emit a first acoustic signal representing a first code during a first period [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
using the second transducer, emit a second acoustic signal representing a second code during a second period, in which the first period and the second period are separated by a pre-determined delay time [[0033]];
using the first transducer, receive a third acoustic signal, and convert the third acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[0014]].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches from the first sensor module, receive first signal representing a time-of-flight representing a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the third acoustic signal, and a second signal indicating that the third acoustic signal represents the second code [[0024] backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0030] backend controller must wait for the longest possible flight time to be received by the mobile device before having other emitters (e.g. 2 and 3) trigger their ranging pulses]; and
responsive to the second signal [[0024][0030]]:
adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0024][0027][0028]]; and
provide a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of- flight [[0032]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 20, Klinnert teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is a first delay time, and the controller is further configured to: using the first transducer, emit a fourth acoustic signal representing the first code during a third period; using the second transducer, emit a fifth acoustic signal representing the second code during a fourth period after the third period, in which the fourth period is separated from the third period by a second pre-determined delay time [[0012] signals may be transmitted interlaced in time; [0020] four transceiver units; [0024] four transceiver units].
Regarding claim 22, Klinnert teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time is based on a random value [[prior art claim 21] control unit to determine points in time for transmitting a pulse shaped signal for the transceiver units according to a stochastic model].
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Herder (US 2005/0088334 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0044] For the first measurement, measuring pulse Ml2 E of a second distance sensor 4 of the emission group is radiated, offset in time, a short while later (e.g., 2 msec) and is received correspondingly later ( after cross reflection) by the first distance sensor 4 than the directly reflected measuring pulse echo ME1 of measuring pulse Ml1 of received distance sensor 4. Measuring pulse echo ME2 E of measuring pulse MI of the second distance sensor 4 is 0also received by cross reflection].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 3, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024] offset in time should therefore be selected as a function of the vehicle’s speed in such a way...do not fall into the tolerance of receiving time range for measuring pulses; [0044-0046].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 5, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each utilizes an entire bandwidth of the respective first and second ultrasonic transducers [[abstract] pulses; note: pulse inherently produces a wideband output – i.e. a pulse excites all frequencies].
It would have been obvious to implement use the full bandwidth of the transducers as taught by Klinnert, with the pulse driving as taught by Herder so that that multiple frequencies may be used for ranging.
Regarding claim 7, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first acoustic signal is emitted in a first period, the third acoustic signal is emitted in a second period, and the second period are part of a first sensing frame; and wherein the third period and the fourth period are part of a second sensing frame, and the first delay time and the second delay time are different [[0019] using a changed offset in time compared to the first measurement; [0024]; [claim 14] first and second measuring pulses being offset in time by a first offset … third and fourth measuring pulses being offset in time by a second offset].
It would have been obvious to implement time interleaved ranging as taught by Klinnert, change in time offset as taught by Herder so that typically collisions are avoided from different ranging systems.
Regarding claim 12, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024][0044-0046]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 13, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024][0044-0046]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 15, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each utilizes an entire bandwidth of the respective first and second transducers [[abstract] pulses].
It would have been obvious to implement use the full bandwidth of the transducers as taught by Klinnert, with the pulse driving as taught by Herder so that that multiple frequencies may be used for ranging.
Regarding claim 17, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0044]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 18, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024] offset in time should therefore be selected as a function of the vehicle’s speed in such a way...do not fall into the tolerance of receiving time range for measuring pulses; [0044-0046].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 21, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the first period and the second period are part of a first sensing frame, the third period and the fourth period are part of a second sensing frame, and the first delay time and the second delay time are different [[0019] using a changed offset in time compared to the first measurement; [0024]; [claim 14] first and second measuring pulses being offset in time by a first offset … third and fourth measuring pulses being offset in time by a second offset].
It would have been obvious to implement time interleaved ranging as taught by Klinnert, change in time offset as taught by Herder so that typically collisions are avoided from different ranging systems.
Claims 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horsky (US 2011/0267924 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015] modulation used is generally phase modulation, and more particularly digital phase modulation. In some applications both amplitude and phase modulation can be used.; [0017] modulation pattern].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Regarding claim 14, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015][0017]].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Regarding claim 19, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015][0017]].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Horsky (US 2011/0267924 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 6, wherein: the time-of-flight is a first time-of-flight [[0014] echoes travel back to the acoustic distance measurement system which "hears" the echo, and based on echo parameters, such as echo return time, determines the distance between the vehicle 102 and the object 110]; the sensor signal is a first sensor signal [[0022] plurality of correlators]; the time difference is a first time difference [[0014] echoes travel back to the acoustic distance measurement system which "hears" the echo]; the distance measurement is a first distance measurement [[0014] distance between the vehicle and the object]; the correlation result is a first correlation result generated responsive to the correlation between the first sensor signal and the second code [[0022] plurality of correlators]; and the method further comprises: using the second transducer, receiving a sixth acoustic signal, and converting the sixth acoustic signal to a second sensor signal; generating a second correlation result responsive to a correlation between the second sensor signal and the first code or the second code; responsive to determining, based on the second correlation result, that the sixth acoustic signal is a reflection of the fifth acoustic signal: computing a second time-of-flight for the fifth acoustic signal based on a second time difference between when the second transducer emits the fifth acoustic signal and when the second transducer receives the sixth acoustic signal; and providing a second distance measurement based on the second time- of-flight [[0018] systems which use multiple transmitters and multiple receivers, where each transmitter uses a unique modulation pattern, the time of arrival of each transmitted modulation pattern at each receiver can be used in triangulation to determine distance as well as direction of an object; [0022] plurality of correlators … plurality of transmitters; [0024] plurality of modulation patterns].
It would have been obvious to modify the multiple transmitters/receivers as taught by Klinnert, with the plurality of correlators as taught by Horsky so that multiple unique modulation patterns may be identified (Horsky) [[0018]].
Regarding claim 10, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the time-of-flight is a first time-of-flight; the sensor signal is a first sensor signal; the time difference is a first time difference; the first and second transducers are part of a first sensor module; and the method further comprises: using a third transducer of a second sensor module, receiving a third acoustic signal, and converting the third acoustic signal to a second sensor signal; using a fourth transducer of the second sensor module, receiving a fourth acoustic signal, and converting the fourth acoustic signal to a third sensor signal; generating a third correlation result responsive to a correlation between the second sensor signal and the first code or the second code; generating a fourth correlation result responsive to a correlation between the third sensor signal and the first code or the second code; determining, based on the third correlation result, that the third acoustic signal is a reflection of the first acoustic signal; determining, based on the fourth correlation result, that the fourth acoustic signal is a reflection of the second acoustic signal; computing a second time-of-flight for the first acoustic signal based on a second time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the third transducer receives the third acoustic signal; computing a third time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a third time difference between when the second transducer emits the second acoustic signal and when the fourth transducer receives the fourth acoustic signal; providing a second distance measurement based on the second time-of-flight; and providing a third distance measurement based on the third time-of-flight [[0014][0018][0022]].
It would have been obvious to modify the multiple transmitters/receivers as taught by Klinnert, with the plurality of correlators as taught by Horsky so that multiple unique modulation patterns may be identified (Horsky) [[0018]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Instant para. 0042 explains the problem that clocks on the central controller and individual sensor module need not be shared or in perfect synchronization. Instant para. 0075 explains that the respective device knows that Sensor2 burst 7 ms later than Sensor1, so that difference in burst time of 7 ms should be subtracted from the detected 19.5 ms Code2 ToF measured by Sensor1, to produce the adjusted 12.5 ms ToF for the Code2 signal detected by Sensor1.
Similarly, Calvarese discusses the same problem that the counters of the mobile device and server are not synchronized nor are the clocks of the mobile device and server as these clocks may be modified by other mechanisms, such as a network automatically resetting a device's clock to network time, thus adversely affecting performance [[0027]]. Calvarese then goes on to explain that the ultrasonic transmitters/synchronization servers will also determine relative offsets amongst themselves in the same fashion as above (i.e., subtracting relative counter offset) [[0026-0027]] and pulses can be 2 ms bursts of 20 kHz sent every 800 ms, for example, where the relative timing of these pulses is established between the transmitters so that scheduling the pulses so they do not overlap, and subtracting this scheduled emission time from the measured time of reception of the pulse corrected by the relative counter offset, will have the accurate flight time of the pulse in order to accurately locate the identified mobile device [[0028]]. This appears to be identical to the same problem and solution which has been recited.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/ Examiner, Art Unit 3645