Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Klinnert teaches a method comprising:
using a first transducer, emitting a first acoustic signal representing a first code [[abstract] echo-signal monitoring device having a plurality of transceiver units for transmitting signals and receiving the echoes reflected by an external object and an analyzer unit for estimating the distance from the monitoring device to the external object on the basis of the received echoes];
using the first transducer, receiving a second acoustic signal, and converting the second acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[abstract] mobile device can calculate a corrected reception time of ultrasonic bursts from the transmitters based on the counter value when the burst is detected and the relative counter offset between the mobile device and the transmitter];
generating a correlation result responsive to a correlation between the sensor signal and the first code or a second code [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
computing a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal [[0014] determine the relative position of a plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device, it is in principle sufficient in the case of a pair of transceiver units to measure the direct echo propagation times from a transceiver unit to a linear obstacle and back to the same transceiver unit and the cross-echo propagation time from one of the transceiver units via the obstacle back to the other transceiver unit of the pair in order to calculate the distance between the two units on the basis of the resulting propagation times].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches responsive to the [correlation] result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer [[0024] backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0030] backend controller must wait for the longest possible flight time to be received by the mobile device before having other emitters (e.g. 2 and 3) trigger their ranging pulses]:
determining a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal [[0024] direct the different emitters 116 to emit an ultrasonic signal burst at different times … the backend scheduler can communicate with ultrasonic transmitter 1 to cause it to transmit an ultrasonic burst at a time reserved for that transmitter. Upon receiving the burst, the device 100 can communicate with the backend controller over the communication network that it has received the burst (along with timing information), and the backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0027] ultrasonic transmitters/synchronization servers will also determine relative offsets amongst themselves in the same fashion as above. One of the servers, or even a mobile device, will be designated as the master synchronization server with the other servers being slaved to the master. The master can be chosen by the backend controller or can be chosen in an ad hoc manner. The relative counter offsets amongst the transmitters is reported to the backend controller for further use in locationing];
adjusting the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0028] pulses can be 2 ms bursts of 20 kHz sent every 800 ms, for example. The relative timing of these pulses is established between the transmitters … schedule the pulses so they do not overlap … subtracting this scheduled emission time from the measured time of reception of the pulse corrected by the relative counter offset, will have the accurate flight time of the pulse in order to accurately locate the identified mobile device … relative timing offset could be added or subtracted as needed to advance or retard the timing measurement; [0032] mobile device can measure the time when it receives the ranging pulse, add the relative timing offset to correct this time, wherein the emission item can be subtracted from the reception time to determine the flight time. This corrected time information is reported to the backend controller along with the mobile device identifier. If the controller finds that a determined a flight time shows that a ranging pulse is received by a mobile device between times tb0 and tb1, for example, this tells the backend controller that the ranging pulse came from emitter 1]; and
providing a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of-flight [[0032] using the corrected time of arrivals of the ultrasonic ranging pulses, identifying the transmitter, and using the known positions of identified transmitter, the backend controller can calculate an accurate distance to the mobile device].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 6, Klinnert teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is a first delay time, and the method further comprises: using the first transducer, emitting a fourth acoustic signal representing the first code during a third period; using the second transducer, emitting a fifth acoustic signal representing the second code during a fourth period after the third period, wherein the fourth period is separated from the third period by a second pre-determined delay time [[0012] signals may be transmitted interlaced in time; [0020] four transceiver units; [0024] four transceiver units].
Regarding claim 8, Klinnert teaches the method of claim 7, wherein a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time is based on a random value [[prior art claim 21] control unit to determine points in time for transmitting a pulse shaped signal for the transceiver units according to a stochastic model].
Regarding claim 11, Klinnert teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first transducer [[abstract] plurality of transceiver units];
a controller coupled to the first transducer and configured to [[0012] control unit according to a stochastic model]:
using the first transducer, emit a first acoustic signal representing a first code [[0014] plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device];
using the first transducer, receive a second acoustic signal, and convert the second acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[abstract]];
generate a correlation result responsive to a correlation between the sensor signal and the first code or a second code [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
compute a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal [[0014] determine the relative position of a plurality of transceiver units of an echo-signal monitoring device, it is in principle sufficient in the case of a pair of transceiver units to measure the direct echo propagation times from a transceiver unit to a linear obstacle and back to the same transceiver unit and the cross-echo propagation time from one of the transceiver units via the obstacle back to the other transceiver unit of the pair in order to calculate the distance between the two units on the basis of the resulting propagation times].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches responsive to the [correlation] result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer [[0024][0030]]:
determine a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal; adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0024]]; and
provide a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of- flight [[0028][0032]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 16, Klinnert teaches an apparatus comprising:
a first sensor module including a first transducer [[abstract]];
a second sensor module including a second transducer [[abstract]];
a controller coupled to the first and second sensor modules and configured to [[0012] control unit according to a stochastic model]:
using the first transducer, emit a first acoustic signal representing a first code during a first period [[0033] (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception];
using the second transducer, emit a second acoustic signal representing a second code during a second period, in which the first period and the second period are separated by a pre-determined delay time [[0033]];
using the first transducer, receive a third acoustic signal, and convert the third acoustic signal to a sensor signal [[0014]].
Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Calvarese teaches from the first sensor module, receive first signal representing a time-of-flight representing a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the third acoustic signal, and a second signal indicating that the third acoustic signal represents the second code [[0024] backend controller will then know that the burst came from ultrasonic transmitter 1 due to the general time it was received by the mobile device; [0030] backend controller must wait for the longest possible flight time to be received by the mobile device before having other emitters (e.g. 2 and 3) trigger their ranging pulses]; and
responsive to the second signal [[0024][0030]]:
adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time [[0024][0027][0028]]; and
provide a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of- flight [[0032]].
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine the coding of signals in order to allow quasi-parallel transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the scheduling and adding/subtracting of time offsets as taught by Calvarese so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal based on its general position in the transmission schedule and the timing may be adjusted by adding/subtracting a time offset so that the time of flight is accurate (Calvarese) [[0028]].
Regarding claim 20, Klinnert teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is a first delay time, and the controller is further configured to: using the first transducer, emit a fourth acoustic signal representing the first code during a third period; using the second transducer, emit a fifth acoustic signal representing the second code during a fourth period after the third period, in which the fourth period is separated from the third period by a second pre-determined delay time [[0012] signals may be transmitted interlaced in time; [0020] four transceiver units; [0024] four transceiver units].
Regarding claim 22, Klinnert teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein a difference between the first delay time and the second delay time is based on a random value [[prior art claim 21] control unit to determine points in time for transmitting a pulse shaped signal for the transceiver units according to a stochastic model].
Claims 2-3, 5, 7, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Herder (US 2005/0088334 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0044] For the first measurement, measuring pulse Ml2 E of a second distance sensor 4 of the emission group is radiated, offset in time, a short while later (e.g., 2 msec) and is received correspondingly later ( after cross reflection) by the first distance sensor 4 than the directly reflected measuring pulse echo ME1 of measuring pulse Ml1 of received distance sensor 4. Measuring pulse echo ME2 E of measuring pulse MI of the second distance sensor 4 is 0also received by cross reflection].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 3, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024] offset in time should therefore be selected as a function of the vehicle’s speed in such a way...do not fall into the tolerance of receiving time range for measuring pulses; [0044-0046].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 5, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each utilizes an entire bandwidth of the respective first and second ultrasonic transducers [[abstract] pulses; note: pulse inherently produces a wideband output – i.e. a pulse excites all frequencies].
It would have been obvious to implement use the full bandwidth of the transducers as taught by Klinnert, with the pulse driving as taught by Herder so that that multiple frequencies may be used for ranging.
Regarding claim 7, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the first acoustic signal is emitted in a first period, the third acoustic signal is emitted in a second period, and the second period are part of a first sensing frame; and wherein the third period and the fourth period are part of a second sensing frame, and the first delay time and the second delay time are different [[0019] using a changed offset in time compared to the first measurement; [0024]; [claim 14] first and second measuring pulses being offset in time by a first offset … third and fourth measuring pulses being offset in time by a second offset].
It would have been obvious to implement time interleaved ranging as taught by Klinnert, change in time offset as taught by Herder so that typically collisions are avoided from different ranging systems.
Regarding claim 12, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024][0044-0046]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 13, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024][0044-0046]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 15, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each utilizes an entire bandwidth of the respective first and second transducers [[abstract] pulses].
It would have been obvious to implement use the full bandwidth of the transducers as taught by Klinnert, with the pulse driving as taught by Herder so that that multiple frequencies may be used for ranging.
Regarding claim 17, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is between three milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0044]].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 18, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the delay time is between five milliseconds and ten milliseconds [[0024] offset in time should therefore be selected as a function of the vehicle’s speed in such a way...do not fall into the tolerance of receiving time range for measuring pulses; [0044-0046].
It would have been obvious to implement the stochastic (random) interleaving timing transmission as taught by Klinnert, with the millisecond delay range as taught by Heder because given the speed of sound and the distance between transceivers a millisecond delay is the smallest resolution achievable for this sensing modality.
Regarding claim 21, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Herder teaches the apparatus of claim 20, wherein the first period and the second period are part of a first sensing frame, the third period and the fourth period are part of a second sensing frame, and the first delay time and the second delay time are different [[0019] using a changed offset in time compared to the first measurement; [0024]; [claim 14] first and second measuring pulses being offset in time by a first offset … third and fourth measuring pulses being offset in time by a second offset].
It would have been obvious to implement time interleaved ranging as taught by Klinnert, change in time offset as taught by Herder so that typically collisions are avoided from different ranging systems.
Claims 4, 14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Horsky (US 2011/0267924 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015] modulation used is generally phase modulation, and more particularly digital phase modulation. In some applications both amplitude and phase modulation can be used.; [0017] modulation pattern].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Regarding claim 14, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015][0017]].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Regarding claim 19, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the apparatus of claim 16, wherein the first, second, and third acoustic signals each includes a frequency-modulation coded signal or a phase-modulation coded signal [[0015][0017]].
It would have been obvious to implement coding as taught by Klinnert, with the amplitude/phase modulation as taught by Horsky transmitted signals can be uniquely identified (Horsky) [[0017]].
Claims 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klinnert (US 2005/0052950 A1) and Calvarese (US 2015/0043309 A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Horsky (US 2011/0267924 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 6, wherein: the time-of-flight is a first time-of-flight [[0014] echoes travel back to the acoustic distance measurement system which "hears" the echo, and based on echo parameters, such as echo return time, determines the distance between the vehicle 102 and the object 110]; the sensor signal is a first sensor signal [[0022] plurality of correlators]; the time difference is a first time difference [[0014] echoes travel back to the acoustic distance measurement system which "hears" the echo]; the distance measurement is a first distance measurement [[0014] distance between the vehicle and the object]; the correlation result is a first correlation result generated responsive to the correlation between the first sensor signal and the second code [[0022] plurality of correlators]; and the method further comprises: using the second transducer, receiving a sixth acoustic signal, and converting the sixth acoustic signal to a second sensor signal; generating a second correlation result responsive to a correlation between the second sensor signal and the first code or the second code; responsive to determining, based on the second correlation result, that the sixth acoustic signal is a reflection of the fifth acoustic signal: computing a second time-of-flight for the fifth acoustic signal based on a second time difference between when the second transducer emits the fifth acoustic signal and when the second transducer receives the sixth acoustic signal; and providing a second distance measurement based on the second time- of-flight [[0018] systems which use multiple transmitters and multiple receivers, where each transmitter uses a unique modulation pattern, the time of arrival of each transmitted modulation pattern at each receiver can be used in triangulation to determine distance as well as direction of an object; [0022] plurality of correlators … plurality of transmitters; [0024] plurality of modulation patterns].
It would have been obvious to modify the multiple transmitters/receivers as taught by Klinnert, with the plurality of correlators as taught by Horsky so that multiple unique modulation patterns may be identified (Horsky) [[0018]].
Regarding claim 10, Klinnert does not explicitly teach and yet Horsky teaches the method of claim 1, wherein: the time-of-flight is a first time-of-flight; the sensor signal is a first sensor signal; the time difference is a first time difference; the first and second transducers are part of a first sensor module; and the method further comprises: using a third transducer of a second sensor module, receiving a third acoustic signal, and converting the third acoustic signal to a second sensor signal; using a fourth transducer of the second sensor module, receiving a fourth acoustic signal, and converting the fourth acoustic signal to a third sensor signal; generating a third correlation result responsive to a correlation between the second sensor signal and the first code or the second code; generating a fourth correlation result responsive to a correlation between the third sensor signal and the first code or the second code; determining, based on the third correlation result, that the third acoustic signal is a reflection of the first acoustic signal; determining, based on the fourth correlation result, that the fourth acoustic signal is a reflection of the second acoustic signal; computing a second time-of-flight for the first acoustic signal based on a second time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the third transducer receives the third acoustic signal; computing a third time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a third time difference between when the second transducer emits the second acoustic signal and when the fourth transducer receives the fourth acoustic signal; providing a second distance measurement based on the second time-of-flight; and providing a third distance measurement based on the third time-of-flight [[0014][0018][0022]].
It would have been obvious to modify the multiple transmitters/receivers as taught by Klinnert, with the plurality of correlators as taught by Horsky so that multiple unique modulation patterns may be identified (Horsky) [[0018]].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. (see below).
Remarks
This listing of claims will replace all prior versions and listings of claims in the application. Claim 5 is amended to fix antecedent basis. No claims are added. No claims are cancelled in this response. Hence, claims 1-22 are pending. Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of claims in view of the amendments and arguments.
Rejection Under 35 U.S.C. § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 11, 16, 20, and 22 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0052950 of Klinnert (hereinafter “Klinnert”) and U.S. Patent Publication No. 2015/0043309 of Calvarese (hereinafter “Calvarese”). Office Action, p. 2, item 4.
Claims 2-3, 5, 12-13, 15, 17-18, and 21 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly unpatentable over Klinnert and Calvarese as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2005/0088334 of Herder (hereinafter “Herder”). Office Action, p. 9, item 12.
Claims 4, 14, and 19 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly unpatentable over Klinnert and Calvarese as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0267924 of Horsky et al. (hereinafter “Horsky). Office Action, p. 13, item 23.
Claims 9-10 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as allegedly unpatentable over Klinnert and Calvarese as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Horsky. Office Action, p. 14, item 27.
“All words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art.” In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385, 165 USPQ 494, 496 (CCPA 1970). M.P.E.P. § 2143.03.
Regarding independent Claim 1, the claim recites, inter alia, a method comprising "computing a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal" and "responsive to the correlation result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer: determining a delay time... adjusting the time-of-flight based on the delay time; and providing a distance measurement based on the adjusted time-of-flight."
The combination of Klinnert and Calvarese fails to teach or suggest the specific claimed sequence of computing an initial time-of-flight based on the first transducer's emission, and then conditionally adjusting it based on a determined delay time when a cross-reflection is identified. Calvarese calculates flight time directly by “subtracting the known emission time of the burst by the transmitter from the reported corrected time from the mobile device.” Calvarese, [0028], [0041]. In stark contrast to the claimed invention, Calvarese completely lacks a controller configurable to:
compute a time-of-flight for the second acoustic signal based on a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the second acoustic signal; and
responsive to the correlation result indicating that the second acoustic signal is a reflection of a third acoustic signal emitted by a second transducer:
determine a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal; and
adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time.
The Examiner disagrees because it is noted that the rejection does not contend that Calvarese teaches all of these limitations. Instead the rejection provides a granular mapping between the claimed limitations and Klinnert combined with Calvarese.
Furthermore, there is no motivation to combine these references because they operate on fundamentally different and conflicting timing principles. The office action states that the motivation is “so that the receiver will know which transmitter emitted a ranging signal.” But Klinnert and Calvarese each teach a way to identify the transmitter already, and the two ways are not compatible.
In fact, Klinnert and Calvarese are solving different problems in different applications and thus are not obvious to combine. More specifically, Klinnert uses stochastic coding and adaptive filters to identify direct echoes and cross-echoes that may be overlapping in time, and clock synchronization is not an issue in Klinnert. Specifically, Klinnert states that “[d]etection of a measured value of direct or cross-echo propagation times of a pair of transceiver units is necessarily performed over a finite interval of time—first, because the signals require a certain propagation time to reach the obstacle and return back to a transceiver unit, because not all the transceiver units are able to transmit simultaneously (quasi-parallel transmission is possible only with stochastic coding and then a plurality of pulses must be correlated) because otherwise it would be impossible or at least impractical to differentiate the individual direct echos and cross-echoes during reception.” Id (emphasis added).
The Examiner disagrees because while the argument states that Klinnert uses stochastic coding and adaptive filters to identify direct echoes and cross-echoes that may be overlapping in time, the argument does not explain how it comes to the conclusion that clock synchronization is not an issue in Klinnert. However, as to the substance of the argument, the claims also are directed to two different problems. Please read on below.
Conversely, Calvarese is related to using a controller to determine TOF of direct signals between a transmitter and a receiver that may not be synchronized and the receiver does not know the transmission time by the transmitter, where the signals transmitted by different transmitters are not overlapping. Calvarese solves a different problem (unsynchronized network clocks) and “provide[s] flight timing accuracy for an ultrasonic locationing system without requiring clock synchronization of devices or hardware modifications to mobile devices.” Calvarese, [0015] (emphasis added).
The Examiner disagrees because the claims are not directed to either synchronized nor unsynchronized clocks. Therefore, it is not clear what part of the claim would overcome the prior art of record.
Thus, it is not obvious to combine the teachings of Klinnert (synchronized, overlapping, echo signal) and Calvarese (unsynchronized, non-overlapping, direct signal) as suggested by the Office. It is also unclear how to combine the overlapping and non-overlapping transmission schemes at the same time in the same system.
Applying Calvarese's non-overlapping scheduling to Klinnert would destroy Klinnert's quasi-parallel operation. Physical modification of Klinnert to incorporate Calvarese's non-overlapping scheduling would defeat Klinnert's stated purpose of stochastic overlapping transmission.
The Examiner disagrees because as representative points out Klinnert teaches quasi-parallel transmission. This means that both overlapping and non-overlapping scheduling is envisioned. The issue that Klinnert is trying to solve is aggravated by overlap, but is also present for the non-overlapping case as well.
Even if combined, Klinnert and Calvarese do not teach or suggest all features of claims 1, including but not limited to “responsive to the correlation result … : determining a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal; adjusting the time-of-flight based on the delay time.” Neither Klinnert nor Calvarese teaches determining inter-transmitter transmission delay time and adjusting TOF based on the delay time. For example, the Office Action acknowledged that Klinnert does not teach these features (neither transmission delay time determination nor TOF adjustment is discussed in Klinnert). Calvarese teaches that a backend controller determines a TOF between unsynchronized transmitter and receiver based on (1) a time stamp of transmitting a signal by a transmitter, and (2) a time stamp at reception recorded by a receiver that may have (3) an offset C0 from the time counter of the transmitter. But nowhere does Calvarese teach “determining a delay time between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the second transducer emits the third acoustic signal,” much less teaching or suggesting determining the delay time and adjusting accordingly responsive to the correlation result.
Therefore, the cited combination fails to disclose all the limitations of Claim 1 and would not be combined by a person of ordinary skill in the art. Same arguments apply to independent claim 11.
The Examiner disagrees because the explanation is omitting any particular argument against the particular teachings which were mapped in the rejection. In particular, Calverese was at least explained to teach in para. 0028 that pulses can be 2 ms bursts of 20 kHz sent every 800 ms, for example, where the relative timing of these pulses is established between the transmitters … schedule the pulses so they do not overlap … subtracting this scheduled emission time from the measured time of reception of the pulse corrected by the relative counter offset, will have the accurate flight time of the pulse in order to accurately locate the identified mobile device … relative timing offset could be added or subtracted as needed to advance or retard the timing measurement. This appears to be identical to the description in instant para. 0075 which describes subtracting of difference in burst time.
Regarding independent Claim 16, the claim recites, inter alia, an apparatus configured to "from the first sensor module, receive first signal representing a time-of-flight representing a time difference between when the first transducer emits the first acoustic signal and when the first transducer receives the third acoustic signal, and a second signal indicating that the third acoustic signal represents the second code" and "responsive to the second signal: adjust the time-of-flight based on the delay time."
The combination of Klinnert and Calvarese fails to teach the first sensor module sending a distinct second signal indicating the code identity to the controller. While Calvarese describes a backend controller that deduces the identity of the source based on centralized scheduling, it entirely lacks the claimed distinct code identity signaling architecture wherein the sensor module explicitly communicates a recognized code to the controller. As discussed above with reference to Claim 1, combining Klinnert's stochastic signal processing with Calvarese's centralized deduction introduces conflicting operational principles that would discourage a person of ordinary skill in the art from making the combination. Thus, the combination fails to teach adjusting the time-of-flight responsive to a distinct second signal as claimed.
The Examiner disagrees because the claim does not actually recite the claimed distinct code identity signaling architecture wherein the sensor module explicitly communicates a recognized code to the controller. The claimed limitation is broader than that. Indicating that the third acoustic signal represents the second code, is different than explicitly reciting a distinct code identity signaling architecture wherein the sensor module explicitly communicates a recognized code to the controller.
For the foregoing reasons, claims 1, 11, and 16, and the claims dependent thereon, are distinguished over the cited arts. “If an independent claim is nonobvious under 35 U.S.C. 103, then any claim depending therefrom is nonobvious.” M.P.E.P. § 2143.03.
Accordingly, Applicant respectfully requests reconsideration of pending claims in view of the amendments.
Note that merely because Applicant does not specifically argue that certain limitations of a claim are not in the references is not a concession that a reference or combination of references includes the limitations. That Applicant does not contradict a particular statement made in the Office action is not a concession that Applicant agrees with it. Further, merely because Applicant does not separately argue the patentability of every dependent claim is not a concession that there are not additional reasons for patentability of these dependent claims.
Based on the amendments and arguments, Applicant respectfully requests the Examiner to allow all pending claims.
Conclusion
/JONATHAN D ARMSTRONG/Examiner, Art Unit 3645