DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because:
Line 3, replace “comprises” with “includes”
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 6, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “a controller means manually operated by a person…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “controller means” as recited in claim 5 relates to the previously recited “remote electronic device by a user” as previously recited in claim 1? I.e.., are the “controller means” and the “remote electronic device” referring to the same claim elements or different elements? Clarification is required.
Claim 6 recites “a handheld communication device…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “a handheld communication device” as recited in claim 6 relates to the previously recited “remote electronic device by a user” as previously recited in claim 1? I.e.., are the “a handheld communication device” and the “remote electronic device” referring to the same claim elements or different elements? Clarification is required.
Claim 17 recites “a controller means manually operated by a person…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “controller means” as recited in claim 17 relates to the previously recited “remote electronic device by a user” as previously recited in claim 12? I.e.., are the “controller means” and the “remote electronic device” referring to the same claim elements or different elements? Clarification is required.
Claim 18 recites “a handheld communication device…” However, it is indefinite and unclear as to how the “a handheld communication device” as recited in claim 18 relates to the previously recited “remote electronic device by a user” as previously recited in claim 12? I.e.., are the “a handheld communication device” and the “remote electronic device” referring to the same claim elements or different elements? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375604 (Kuo).
Regarding Claims 1, 10 and 11, Kuo teaches: Claim 1 - an object mounting method, comprising: receiving a control signal at a transceiver of a vacuum control device (40 – receives signal from an external electronic device D as described in at least paragraph [0056]), wherein the control signal is communicated from a remote electronic device in response to an actuation of the remote electronic device by a user (the external electronic device D is operated by a user as described in at least paragraph [0056]); generating a vacuum cup actuation signal in response to receiving the control signal at the transceiver of the vacuum control device (as described in paragraph [0056], the user sets high and low determined pressures for a vacuum module (100)); and receiving power at a vacuum pump (50) of a vacuum mounting module (100) in response to generating the vacuum cup actuation signal, wherein the vacuum pump (50) creates a vacuum in a vacuum cup (20/30) of the vacuum mounting module (100) in response to receiving the power, and wherein the vacuum in the vacuum cup (20/30) defines at least a predefined vacuum pressure between a surface of an object of interest (Q) and the vacuum cup (20/30) so that the object of interest (Q) becomes releasably secured to the vacuum mounting module (100), (Figures 1-15); Claim 10 receiving power at the vacuum pump (50) from a power source (60) in the vacuum mounting module (100), (Figures 1-15); Claim 11 – wherein the vacuum control device (40) is a component of the vacuum mounting module (100), (Figures 1-15).
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0247539 (Shoemaker, JR.).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, 10 and 11, Shoemaker, JR. teaches: Claim 1 - an object mounting method, comprising: receiving a control signal at a transceiver of a vacuum control device (8 – drone receives signal from an remote control device (6) as described in at least paragraph [0008]), wherein the control signal is communicated from a remote electronic device (6) in response to an actuation of the remote electronic device by a user (the remote controller (6) is operated by a user as described in at least paragraph [0004]); generating a vacuum cup actuation signal in response to receiving the control signal at the transceiver of the vacuum control device (remote control device (6) can be used to control relay switches (35) and (45) which are used to power on and off a vacuum pump (15)); and receiving power at a vacuum pump (15) of a vacuum mounting module in response to generating the vacuum cup actuation signal, wherein the vacuum pump (15) creates a vacuum in a vacuum cup (25) of the vacuum mounting module in response to receiving the power, and wherein the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) defines at least a predefined vacuum pressure between a surface of an object of interest (30) and the vacuum cup (25) so that the object of interest (30) becomes releasably secured to the vacuum mounting module, (Figure 1); Claim 2 – wherein the vacuum mounting module and the vacuum control device are secured to an aerial drone (seen in Figure 1), (Figure 1); Claim 4 - wherein the control signal communicated from the remote electronic device (6) is a first control signal, and further comprising: receiving a second control signal at the transceiver (8) of the vacuum control device, wherein the second control signal is communicated from the remote electronic device (6); and generating a vacuum cup release signal in response to receiving the second control signal, wherein the vacuum pump (15) is actuated to release the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) in response to generating the vacuum cup release signal (as described in at least paragraph [0010], the relay switch (45) to deactivate the pump (15)), and wherein the object of interest (30) is released after the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) is released, (Figure 1); Claim 10 receiving power at the vacuum pump (15) from a power source (at least paragraph [0009] noting the power source of the pump (15) could be part of the drone (5) or an independent power source just for the pump (15)) in the vacuum mounting module, (Figure 1); Claim 11 – wherein the vacuum control device is a component of the vacuum mounting module, (Figures 1-15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
As best understood in view of the 112 rejections above claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0247539 (Shoemaker, JR.) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375604 (Kuo).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, Shoemaker, JR. teaches the method as described above, in addition to Shoemaker, JR. teaching: Claim 5 – wherein the control signal communicated from the remote electronic device (6) is a first control signal, the method further comprising: receiving a second control signal at the transceiver (8) of the vacuum control device; and generating a vacuum cup release signal in response to receiving the second control, wherein the vacuum pump (15) is actuated to release the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) in response to generating the vacuum cup release signal (as described in at least paragraph [0010], the relay switch (45) to deactivate the pump (15)), and wherein the object of interest (30) is released after the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) is released, (Figure 1); Claim 6 – wherein the control signal communicated from the remote electronic device (6) is a first control signal, the method further comprising: receiving a second control signal at the transceiver of the vacuum control device; and generating a vacuum cup release signal in response to receiving the second control signal, wherein the vacuum pump is actuated to release the vacuum in the vacuum cup in response to generating the vacuum cup release signal (as described in at least paragraph [0010], the relay switch (45) to deactivate the pump (15)), and wherein the object of interest (30) is released after the vacuum in the vacuum cup (25) is released, (Figure 1).
Shoemaker, JR. does not teach: wherein the second control signal is communicated from a controller means manually operated by a person (Claim 5); and wherein the second control signal is communicated from a hand held communication device (Claim 6). However, Kuo teaches: Claims 5 and 6 – wherein a remote controller for a suction cup (100) could be anyone of a computer, smartphone or a laptop (described in paragraph [0056]), (Figures 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Shoemaker, JR. to have wherein the second control signal is communicated from a controller means manually operated by a person (Claim 5); and wherein the second control signal is communicated from a hand held communication device (Claim 6) as taught by Kuo for the purposes of having the ability for the suction cup to be controlled by a plurality of different remote controllers.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 10, and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,509,226 (Buttermore) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0247539 (Shoemaker, JR.) and/or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375604 (Kuo). Claims 1-16 of Buttermore teach all of the structure of the methods recited in claims 1-6, 10 and 11 of the current application, and as such are inherently capable of performing the “method” seps of claims 1-6, 10 and 11 of the current application. However, Buttermore does not specifically teach: the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. However, Shoemaker, JR. teaches: wherein a remote control device (6) is used to operate a pump (15) of a suction cup (25), (Figure 1); and Kuo teaches: wherein a remote controller for a suction cup (100) could be anyone of a computer, smartphone or a laptop (described in paragraph [0056]), (Figures 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the method of Buttermore could be modified to include the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. as taught by Shoemake, JR. and/or Kuo for the purposes of being able to remotely control the suction cups using standard electronics.
Claims 1-18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 11,845,553 (Buttermore) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0247539 (Shoemaker, JR.) and/or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375604 (Kuo). Claims 1-13 of Buttermore teach all of the structure of the methods recited in claims 1-18 of the current application, and as such are inherently capable of performing the “method” seps of claims 1-18 of the current application. However, Buttermore does not specifically teach: the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. However, Shoemaker, JR. teaches: wherein a remote control device (6) is used to operate a pump (15) of a suction cup (25), (Figure 1); and Kuo teaches: wherein a remote controller for a suction cup (100) could be anyone of a computer, smartphone or a laptop (described in paragraph [0056]), (Figures 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the method of Buttermore could be modified to include the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. as taught by Shoemake, JR. and/or Kuo for the purposes of being able to remotely control the suction cups using standard electronics.
Claims 1, 3-6, 10 and 11 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,559,906 (Buttermore) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0247539 (Shoemaker, JR.) and/or U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2019/0375604 (Kuo). Claims 1-13 of Buttermore teach all of the structure of the methods recited in claims 1, 3-6, 10 and 11 of the current application, and as such are inherently capable of performing the “method” seps of claims 1, 3-6, 10 and 11 of the current application. However, Buttermore does not specifically teach: the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. However, Shoemaker, JR. teaches: wherein a remote control device (6) is used to operate a pump (15) of a suction cup (25), (Figure 1); and Kuo teaches: wherein a remote controller for a suction cup (100) could be anyone of a computer, smartphone or a laptop (described in paragraph [0056]), (Figures 1-15). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the method of Buttermore could be modified to include the first signal being generated by a remote electronic device/controller means/handheld communication device, etc. as taught by Shoemake, JR. and/or Kuo for the purposes of being able to remotely control the suction cups using standard electronics.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, and 7-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In addition to overcoming the Double Patenting Rejections as noted above.
Claims 12-18 would be allowable barring the Double Patenting and 112 rejections as noted above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/JOSHUA E RODDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642