Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations “display control unit (claim 1)(205, see Figs. 2, 7 , Par. 27)”, “first acquisition unit (claim 1) (206, see Fig. 2, 7, 8 , Par. 29)”, and “second acquisition unit (claim 1) (208, see Figs. 2, 7, Par. 31)”, control unit (201, see Fig. 2, [0024]) invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-10, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacey et al. (US 20190362557 A1), hereinafter Lacey, in view of Connellan et al. (US 2019/0113966 A1), hereinafter Connellan .
Regarding Claim 1, Lacey teaches:
An information processing apparatus (See FIG. 2B: 200) comprising at least one memory (See paragraph [0101]) and at least one processor (FIG. 2B: 128) which function as a plurality of units (See paragraphs [0101], [0102] and FIG. 2B: the Examiner is interpreting the processors 128 and associated memory that control the various hardware components discussed below as corresponding to a respective unit) comprising:
(1) a display control unit (See paragraph [0100] and FIG. 2A: the memory and processor coupled to the display 220 function as a display control unit) configured to display a plurality of virtual objects (virtual objects 1210, 1220, 1230, 1242, and 1244) such that the virtual objects are arranged in a three-dimensional space (See paragraph [0177)) that isa visual field of a user (1250) (See FIG. 12B) (See paragraph [0172));
(2) a first acquisition unit (See paragraph [0086], [0194] and FIG. 2B: the memory and processor coupled to the camera 124 in the head mounted wearable component 58 and the IMU 102 in the hand held component 606 function as a first acquisition unit) configured to acquire information of a position of an operating body at a position of a hand of the user (See paragraph [0364], lines 15-19: the tracked controller or tracked hand targeting vector);
(3) a second acquisition unit (See paragraph [0109], lines 1-4 and FIG. 2B: the IMU in the head mounted wearable component 58 function as a second acquisition unit) configured to acquire information of a line-of-sight position of the user (See paragraph [0128], last four lines); and
(4) a control unit (See paragraphs [0101], [0102] and FIG. 2B: the processors 128in the head mounted wearable component 58 and the hand held component 606 function as a control unit) configured to (a) set a first operation mode in a case where a distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: convergence between the head and hand results in a first operation mode) is smaller than a predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0084]; See paragraph [0364], lines 1-19), (b) set a second operation mode in a case where the distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: divergence between the head and hand result in a second operation mode) is larger than the predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0373]; See paragraph [0414]).
Lacey does not explicitly teach:
(c) even when the second operation mode is set, switch to the first operation mode in a case where it is determined that the user is not in a predetermined posture in which the operating body is held in front of the user.
However,
Connellan discloses even when the second operation mode is set (e.g. 1520a in the FOV so the mode is set to a higher sensitivity) (Fig. 15, Pars. 146, 148, 153-154), switch to the first operation mode (e.g. 1520b not in the FOV so the mode is set to a lower sensitivity) in a case where it is determined that the user is not in a predetermined posture in which the operating body is held in front of the user (Fig. 15, Pars. 148, 153-154, see also Par. 155).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified Lacey with the teaching of Connellan to improve tracking in VR/AR system as suggested by Connellan (Par. 146).
Regarding Claim 9, see claim 1 rejection and motivation above. Lacey further teaches:
An information processing method (See the method depicted in FIG. 53, as well as the steps described below) comprising:
displaying a plurality of virtual objects (virtual objects 1210, 1220, 1230, 1242, and 1244) such that the virtual objects are arranged in a three-dimensional space (See paragraph [0177]) that is a visual field of a user (1250) (See FIG. 12B) (See paragraph [0172));
acquiring information of a position of an operating body at a position of a hand of the user (See paragraph [0364], lines 15-19: the tracked controller or tracked hand targeting vector);
acquiring information of a line-of-sight position of the user (See paragraph [0128], last four lines); and
setting a first operation mode in a case where a distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: convergence between the head and hand results in a first operation mode) is smaller than a predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0084]; See paragraph [0364], lines 1-19);
setting a second operation mode in a case where the distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: divergence between the head and hand result in a second operation mode) is larger than the predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0373]; See paragraph [0414]); and
and which is indicated by the item in the second operation mode (See paragraph [0428] and FIG. 53: an indicating a direction to which the operating body is directed (palm-to-fingertip ray cast) is determined, and the virtual object indicated by palm-to-fingertip raycast is selected in the second operation mode) (See also FIG. 46E, showing a selection of the virtual object in the second operation mode (Totem Projected Raycast /Hand Feature Point RayCast)).
Regarding Claim 10, see claim 1 rejection and motivation above. Lacey further teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium that stores a program for causing a computer (See paragraph [0508)]) to execute an information processing method (See the method depicted in FIG. 53, as well as the steps described below), the method comprising:
displaying a plurality of virtual objects (virtual objects 1210, 1220, 1230, 1242, and 1244) such that the virtual objects are such that the virtual objects are arranged in a three-dimensional space (See paragraph [0177]) that is a visual field of a user (1250) (See FIG. 12B) (See paragraph [0172));
acquiring information of a position of an operating body at a position of a hand of the user (See paragraph [0364], lines 15-19: the tracked controller or tracked hand targeting vector);
acquiring information of a line-of-sight position of the user (See paragraph [0128], last four lines); and
setting a first operation mode in a case where a distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: convergence between the head and hand results in a first operation mode) is smaller than a predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0084]; See paragraph [0364], lines 1-19);
setting a second operation mode in a case where the distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position (See paragraph [0082]: divergence between the head and hand result in a second operation mode) is larger than the predetermined threshold (See paragraph [0373]; See paragraph [0414]).
Regarding Claim 3, Lacey in view of Connellan teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets the first operation mode in a case where a state where the distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position is smaller than the predetermined threshold continues fora predetermined time, and sets the second operation mode in a case where a state where the distance between the position of the operating body and the line-of-sight position is larger than the predetermined threshold continues for the predetermined time (See paragraph [0394]: transmodal input fusion techniques provide for dynamic coupling of sensor input, e.g., identifying sensor inputs that have converged temporally (e.g., for a fixation or dwell time); See paragraph [0415]).
Regarding Claim 7, Lacey in view of Connellan teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
wherein the operating body is the hand of the user (See FIG. 46C, showing examples of when the operating body is the hand of the user), and
the first acquisition unit acquires information of the position of the operating body by detecting the hand of the user from a captured image (FIG. 2B: from camera 124) of the three-dimensional space (See paragraph [0086)).
Regarding Claim 8, Lacey in view of Connellan teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
wherein the operating body isa controller (See FIG. 46C, showing examples of when the operating body isa controller), and
the first acquisition unit acquires information of a position of the controller acquired by a sensor (FIG. 2B: IMU 102) included in the controller as information of the position of the operating body (See paragraph [0194]).
Regarding Claim 12, Lacey in view of Connellan teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first operation mode is a hand operation mode that enables the user to perform an operation on a virtual object by directly touching and selecting the virtual object with the user’s hand (See paragraph [0428] and FIG. 53: the first operation mode isa hand operation mode that enables the user to perform an operation on the first virtual object by directly touching and selecting the first virtual object with the user's hand using the convergence point 5301).
Regarding Claim 13, Lacey in view of Connellan teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the second operation mode is a ray operation mode that enables the user to perform an operation on a virtual object by pointing a distal end portion of a ray to and selecting the virtual object (See paragraph [0428] and FIG. 53: the second operation mode isa ray operation mode that enables the user to perform an operation on the second virtual object by pointing a distal end portion of a ray to and selecting the second virtual object using the convergence point 5307).
Claim 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacey in view of Connellan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tang et al. (US 20200226814 A1), hereinafter Tang.
Regarding Claim 4, Lacey in view of Connellan as combined above does not explicitly teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit sets the second operation mode in a case where none of the plurality of the virtual objects are arranged within a predetermined range from the position of the operating body.
However, Tang teaches further:
A control unit (FIG. 7: 710) sets the second operation mode in a case where none of a plurality of virtual objects are arranged within a predetermined range from the position of the operating body (See paragraph [0055)]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the information processing apparatus (as taught by Lacey in view of Connellan as combined above) so the control unit sets the second operation mode in a case where none of a plurality of virtual objects are arranged within a predetermined range from the position of the operating body (as taught by Tang). Doing so would allow the user to directly target and select the virtual object using a natural interaction methodology (See Tang, paragraph [0055]).
Regarding Claim 5, see claim 4 rejection and motivation above. Lacey in view of Connellan and Tang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey in view of Connellan and Tang teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the display item is an item of a beam shape that extends from the position of the operating body (See Tang, paragraph [0015], lines 1-4).
Regarding Claim 6, see claim 4 rejection and motivation above. Lacey in view of Connellan and Tang teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention, as stated above. Furthermore, Lacey in view of Connellan and Tang teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the control unit performs control not to display the display item in a case where the operating body is not located in front of the user (See Tang, paragraph [0040] and FIG. 4B: since the targeting ray 470 is case when the operating body is located in the field of view of the head-mounted display 425, the targeting ray 470 is therefore controlled not to be displayed in a case where the operating body is not located in front of the user (e.g., at the user’s side, out of the field of view of the heard-mounted display 425)).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lacey in view of Connellan as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fan et al. (US 20220198756 A1; Previously cited in the PTO-892 dated 09/18/2024), hereinafter Fan.
Regarding Claim 11, Lacey in view of Connellan does not explicitly teach:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the predetermined threshold is determined based on at least any of (1) a size of a virtual object at the position of the operating body and (2) a distance between the virtual object and another virtual object.
However, in the same field of endeavor, systems for human interaction with an electronic device (Fan, paragraph [0001]), Fan teaches:
A predetermined threshold is determined based on at least any of (1) a size of a virtual object at the position of the operating body and (2) a distance between a virtual object and another virtual object (See FIG. 1A: the virtual objects 22, 22a) (See paragraph [0102]: the predetermined threshold is made smaller in a densely populated XR environment 20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the information processing apparatus (as taught by Lacey in view of Connellan ) so the predetermined threshold is determined based on at least any of (1) a size of the first virtual object at the position of the operating body and (2) a distance between the first virtual object and another virtual object (as taught by Fan). Doing so would avoid accidentally selecting an unwanted object, in a densely populated XR environment (See Fan, paragraph [0102]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-13 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Examiner notes that the new claim elements are now addressed by reference Connellan as necessitated by amendments. Please see above for full basis of rejection as taught by Lacey in view of Connellan .
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2019/0146222 A1 to Hiroi teaches a head-mounted display apparatus with a head movement detection unit configured to detect an amount of rotation angle of a head of a user, and a display controller configured to control a display mode of the pointer image.
/JARURAT SUTEERAWONGSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2619
/LUNYI LAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2619