DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/21/2024, 05/15/2024, 08/07/2024, 12/06/2024, 02/27/2025, 06/25/2025, 09/26/2025, 10/31/2025 and 02/01/2026 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hassan et al. (US 2019/0319583 A1) in view of Duncan et al. (US 10,128,798 B2) and Pratt et al. (US 11,133,854 B1).
Regarding claim 1, El-Hassan et al. (figures 1 and 7) disclose a transmission circuit (figure 7, numeral reference 50; paragraph [0038]) comprising: a power amplifier circuit (56) configured to amplify a plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals each having a respective one of a plurality of time-variant power envelopes based on a modulated voltage (paragraphs [0040] and [0043]); an envelope tracking (figure 7, 70) configured to generate the modulated voltage based on a modulated target voltage (paragraph [0043]); and a transceiver circuit (figure 1, 28; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]) comprising: a signal processing circuit (figure 7, components 58, 64, 60, 66, 62, and 68 between input 52 and power amplifier 56) configured to generate the plurality of RF signals from a time-variant digital input (paragraphs [0040] and [0042]); an envelope detector circuit (inherently within the envelope tracking/power amplifier power supply path 70 of figure 7 in order to detect the input signal and apply it to the input analysis 72 based on envelope tracking, paragraphs [0041], [0043] and [0045]) configured to generate a plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes based on the time-variant digital input to each correspond to a respective one of the plurality of time-variant power envelopes (paragraphs [0043] and [0045]); and a target voltage circuit (figure 7, input analysis 72) configured to generate the modulated target voltage based on a selected time-variant amplitude envelope among the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (paragraphs [0046]-[0047]). El-Hassan et al. do not explicitly disclose the transmission circuit is a multi-antenna transmission circuit; the time-variant digital input is a time-variant digital input vector; and the envelope tracking is an envelope tracking integrated circuit (ETIC). However, Duncan et al. disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit (figure 1, column 4, lines 30-41) comprising an ETIC (figure 4, reference numeral 410; column 7, line 44-54 and column 8, lines 30-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the multi-antenna and ETIC of Duncan et al. to the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al. for providing better signal transmission and simple power management design. El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. do not explicitly disclose the time-variant digital input is a time-variant digital input vector. However, Pratt et al. (figure 1) disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit However, Pratt et al. (figure 1) disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit (200 and antenna array 140) with a time-variant digital input vector (input signal x, column 7, lines 35-60 and column 25, line 57- column 26, line 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the time-variant digital input vector of Pratt et al. to the time-variant digital input of the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. as a system design preference for serving the same function as providing time-variant digital input to the transmission circuit.
Regarding claim 2, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit of claim 1 above. In addition, Pratt et al. (figure 3) disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit further comprising an antenna circuit (340) configured to emit the plurality of RF signals simultaneously to thereby form an RF beam (column 11, lines 1-33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the antenna circuit configured to emit the plurality of RF signals simultaneously to thereby form an RF beam of Pratt et al. to the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. for beam forming arrangement.
Regarding claim 4, El-Hassn et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit of claim 1. In addition, El-Hassan et al. disclose wherein the target voltage circuit comprises: a voltage processing circuit configured to generate a digital target voltage based on the selected time-variant amplitude envelope among the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (signal from input analysis 72 to voltage supply DAC 73); a current processing circuit configured to generate a digital compensation term based on the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (signal from input analysis 72 to voltage supply DAC 73); and a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) (voltage supply DAC 73) configured to convert the digital target voltage into the modulated target voltage (paragraph [0046]). El-Hassan et al. do not explicitly disclose a combiner circuit configured to add the digital compensation term into the digital target voltage. However, El-Hassan et al. disclose current supply DAC 75 to convert the digital compensation term and apply it to the power amplifier 56 together with the modulated target voltage from the voltage supply DAC 73 (see figure 7, paragraph [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the combiner circuit configured to add the digital compensation term into the digital target voltage to the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. as a system design preference for serving the same function as to provide additional information to set the power amplify to a suitable level (see El-Hassan et al., paragraph [0046]).
Regarding claim 12, El-Hassan et al. (figures 1 and 7) disclose a wireless device (10) (paragraph [0038]) comprising a transmission circuit (figure 7, reference numeral 50) comprising: a power amplifier circuit (56) configured to amplify a plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals each having a respective one of a plurality of time-variant power envelopes based on a modulated voltage (paragraphs [0040] and [0043]); an envelope tracking (figure 7, 70) configured to generate the modulated voltage based on a modulated target voltage (paragraph [0043]); and a transceiver circuit (figure 1, 28; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]) comprising: a signal processing circuit (figure 7, components 58, 64, 60, 66, 62, and 68 between input 52 and power amplifier 56) configured to generate the plurality of RF signals from a time-variant digital input (paragraphs [0040] and [0042]); an envelope detector circuit (inherently within the envelope tracking/the power amplifier power supply path 70 of figure 7 in order to detect the input signal into the input analysis 72 based on envelope tracking; paragraph [0041], [0043] and [0045]) configured to generate a plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes based on the time-variant digital input to each correspond to a respective one of the plurality of time-variant power envelopes (paragraph [0043] and [0045]); and a target voltage circuit (figure 7, input analysis 72) configured to generate the modulated target voltage based on a selected time-variant amplitude envelope among the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (paragraphs [0046]-[0047]). El-Hassn et al. do not explicitly disclose the transmission circuit is a multi-antenna transmission circuit; the time-variant digital input is a time-variant digital input vector; and the envelope tracking is an envelope tracking integrated circuit (ETIC). However, Duncan et al. disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit (figure 1, column 4, lines 30-41) comprising an ETIC (figure 4, 410; column 7, line 44-54 and column 8, lines 30-38). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the multi-antenna and ETIC of Duncan et al. to the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al. for providing better signal transmission and simple power management design. El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. do not explicitly disclose the time-variant digital input is a time-variant digital input vector. However, Pratt et al. (figure 1) disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit (200 and antenna array 140) with a time-variant digital input vector (input signal x, column 7, lines 35-60 and column 25, line 57- column 26, line 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the time-variant digital input vector of Pratt et al. to the time-variant digital input of the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. as a system design preference for serving the same function as providing time-variant digital input to the transmission circuit.
Regarding claim 14, El-Hassn et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the wireless device of claim 12. In addition, El-Hassan et al. disclose wherein the target voltage circuit comprises: a voltage processing circuit configured to generate a digital target voltage based on the selected time-variant amplitude envelope among the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (signal from input analysis 72 to voltage supply DAC 73); a current processing circuit configured to generate a digital compensation term based on the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (signal from input analysis 72 to voltage supply DAC 73); and a digital-to-analog converter (DAC) (voltage supply DAC 73) configured to convert the digital target voltage into the modulated target voltage (paragraph [0046]). El-Hassan et al. do not explicitly disclose a combiner circuit configured to add the digital compensation term into the digital target voltage. However, El-Hassan et al. disclose current supply DAC 75 to convert the digital compensation term and apply it to the power amplifier 56 together with the modulated target voltage from the voltage supply DAC 73 (see figure 7, paragraph [0046]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the combiner circuit configured to add the digital compensation term into the digital target voltage to the wireless device of El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. as a system design preference for serving the same function as to provide additional information to set the power amplify to a suitable level (see El-Hassan et al., paragraph [0046]).
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hassan et al. in view of Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. and further in view of Cheng et al. (US 2021/0399697 A1).
Regarding claim 10, El-Hassn et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit of claim 1. In addition, Pratt et al. disclose a beamformer circuit configured to preprocess the modulated RF signal based on a beamforming codeword to generate the plurality of RF signals (column 11, line 11 – column 12, line 9). El-Hassn et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. do not explicitly disclose wherein the signal processing circuit comprises: a modulator circuit configured to generate a modulated RF signal from the time-variant digital input vector. However, Cheng et al. disclose a signal processing circuit comprises: a modulator circuit (power supply modulator) configured to generate a modulated RF signal from the time-variant digital input vector (paragraph [0116]). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the modulator circuit of Cheng at al. to the transmission circuit of El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. for providing operating voltage to the power amplifier.
Claim(s) 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over El-Hassan et al. (US 2019/0319583 A1) in view of Pratt et al. (US 11,133,854 B1).
Regarding claim 21, El-Hassan et al. (figures 1 and 7) disclose a method for performing window-based envelope tracking in a transmission circuit (figure 7, reference numeral 50; paragraph [0038]) comprising: amplifying a plurality of radio frequency (RF) signals each having a respective one of a plurality of time-variant power envelopes based on a modulated voltage (power amplifier 56, paragraphs [0040] and [0043]); generating the modulated voltage based on a modulated target voltage (paragraph [0043]); generating the plurality of RF signals from a time-variant digital input (input signal 52 through components 58, 64, 60, 66, 62, 68 to 56, paragraphs [0040] and [0042]); generating a plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes based on the time-variant digital input to each correspond to a respective one of the plurality of time-variant power envelopes (paragraphs [0041], [0043] and [0045]); and generating the modulated target voltage based on a selected time-variant amplitude envelope among the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes (paragraphs [0046]-[0047]). El-Hassn et al. do not explicitly disclose the transmission circuit is a multi-antenna transmission circuit and the time-variant digital input is a time-variant digital input vector. However, Pratt et al. (figure 1) disclose a multi-antenna transmission circuit (200 and antenna array 140) with a time-variant digital input vector (input signal x, column 7, lines 35-60 and column 25, line 57- column 26, line 33). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to adapt the multi-antenna transmission circuit and the time-variant digital input vector of Pratt et al. to the transmission circuit of the method of El-Hassan et al. and Duncan et al. for providing better signal transmission and as a system design preference for serving the same function as providing time-variant digital input to the transmission circuit.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5-9, 11, 13 and 15-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device of claims 1 and 12, respectively. However, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. fail to further disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device above wherein the envelope detector circuit comprises: an amplitude detector circuit configured to detect a time-variant amplitude of the time-variant digital input vector; and a plurality of scaler circuits each configured to scale the detected time-variant amplitude based on a respective one of a plurality of scaling factors to generate a respective one of the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes.
Regarding claims 5-8 and 15-18, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device of claims 4 and 14, respectively. However, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. fail to further disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device above wherein the voltage processing circuit comprises: a multiplexer configured to output a maximum one of the plurality of time- variant amplitude envelopes as the selected time-variant amplitude envelope; a windowed peak detector circuit configured to detect a set of peak amplitudes of the selected time-variant amplitude envelope; a lookup table (LUT) circuit configured to generate the digital target voltage based on the set of peak amplitudes; a current estimator configured to estimate a load current in the power amplifier circuit that is a function of the modulated voltage; an equalizer configured to generate a load current compensation term to suppress a ripple in the modulated voltage that is caused by the estimated load current; and a combiner configured to add the load current compensation term to the digital target voltage.
Regarding claims 9 and 19, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device of claims 4 and 14, respectively. However, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. fail to further disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device above wherein the current processing circuit comprises: a plurality of current lookup table (LUT) circuits configured to generate a plurality of digital current terms each corresponding to a respective one of the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes; a summing circuit configured to sum up the plurality of digital current terms to generate a time-variant digital current term; and a filter circuit configured to generate the digital compensation term based on the time-variant digital current term to compensate for a ripple in the modulated voltage that is a function of a total inductive impedance presented at the power amplifier circuit.
Regarding claims 11 and 20, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device of claims 1 and 12, respectively. However, El-Hassan et al., Duncan et al. and Pratt et al. fail to further disclose the multi-antenna transmission circuit and wireless device above wherein the target voltage circuit comprises: a plurality of digital-to-analog converters (DACs) each configured to convert a respective one of the plurality of time-variant amplitude envelopes into a respective one of a plurality of analog amplitude envelopes; a voltage processing circuit configured to generate an analog target voltage based on the plurality of analog amplitude envelopes; a current processing circuit configured to generate an analog compensation term based on the plurality of analog amplitude envelopes; and a combiner circuit configured to add the analog compensation term into the analog target voltage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Drogi et al. (US 8,718,579 B2) disclose an envelope tracking power amplifier system time-aligns a supply voltage to an input signal to a power amplifier; the power supply operates in a static mode for low amplitude input signals and operates in a dynamic mode for high amplitude input signals.
Balteanu et al (US 11,595,005 B2) teach envelope tracking systems for power amplifiers are provided comprising an envelope tracker includes a multi-level switching circuit having an output that provides an output current that changes in relation to an envelope signal indicating an envelope of the RF signal when the envelope tracker is operating in an envelope tracking mode.
/QUOCHIEN B VUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645