DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Thierry et al. (WO 2019/053002 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Thierry discloses an electrical motor stator (stator structure) comprising:
a stator assembly (FIG. 1) comprising:
an iron core (1);
a winding (52) which is wound within the iron core (1) and comprises a plurality of wires (copper winding) extending from the iron core (1);
a first insulating seat (see annotation below) mounted to one end surface of the iron core (1);
a plurality of electrically conductive first electrical contacts (40) fixed to the first insulating seat (FIG. 4), wherein the plurality of wires (copper winding) each extend to the respective first electrical contacts (40) and are electrically connected to the first electrical contacts (40; winding wire passes transversely through the cavity 53, the insertion of the connector 40 into the housing 53 through the slot 56 will cause engagement of the wire in the slot 42);
a contact plate (10; overmold; FIG. 7, 8) positioned relative to the stator assembly and comprising:
an insulated body (overmold);
a plurality of sleeve seats (70) disposed on the body (overmold; FIG. 7, 8) and comprising a first opening (opening in FIG. 7), a second opening (opening in FIG. 8), and a cavity (hole shown in FIG. 7, 8) extending between the first opening and the second opening, wherein the first opening is positioned at a first side of the body (below the overmold) and the second opening is positioned at a second side of the body (above the overmold), with the respective sleeve seats (70) being positioned to correspond to the respective first electrical contacts (40) and, through the first opening, at least partially accommodating the first electrical contacts (40) within the cavity;
a plurality of electrically conductive second electrical contacts (FIG. 2) comprising a first connecting portion (30) and a second connecting portion (21-24), wherein the first connecting portion (30) is disposed within the cavity and in contact with the first electrical contacts (40; FIG. 2) to establish an electrical connection, and the second connecting portion (21-24) is exposed on the second side of the body (above the overmold).
Regarding claim 2/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry further discloses the body (overmold) and the sleeve seats (70) are integrally injection-molded from an insulating material (overmolding from plastic material), the second electrical contacts are at least partially insert-molded within the body (overmold; FIG. 7, 8), and the first insulating seat is spaced between the winding (52) and the iron core (1; FIG. 1).
Regarding claim 5/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry further discloses the first electrical contacts (40) comprise an insertion portion and a bent portion (46, 47), wherein the insertion portion is inserted into and fixed in place within the first insulating seat (FIG. 4), and the bent portion (46, 47) extends around the wires (copper winding) and secures the wires (121; winding wire passes transversely through the cavity 53, the insertion of the connector 40 into the housing 53 through the slot 56 will cause engagement of the wire in the slot 42).
Regarding claim 6/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry further discloses a second insulating seat (see annotation below) that is mounted to another end surface of the iron core (1); wherein, the second insulating seat is spaced between the winding (52) and the iron core (1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry et al. (WO 2019/053002 A1) in view of Okita et al. (WO 2019/082665 A1).
Regarding claim 3/2, Thierry was discussed above in claim 2. Thierry further discloses at least a portion of the first electrical contacts and second electrical contacts is enveloped by gel or epoxy resin (overmold), wherein the gel or epoxy resin is electrically insulating (plastic material).
Thierry does not disclose the cavity is filled with a gel or epoxy resin, and wherein the second opening is configured such that the first electrical contacts and second electrical contacts can be welded through the second opening prior to filling the gel or epoxy resin.
Okita discloses the cavity is filled with a gel or epoxy resin (35), and wherein the second opening is configured such that the first electrical contacts (43) and coil lead (42; fixed by welding, caulking or the like) can be welded prior to filling the gel or epoxy resin (35).
The welding prior to filling of gel or epoxy resin can be used to modify Thierry so that first and second electrical contacts would be connected and the contact plate’s cavities filled with resin after the connection.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Thierry in view of Okita to disclose the cavity is filled with a gel or epoxy resin, and wherein the second opening is configured such that the first electrical contacts and second electrical contacts can be welded through the second opening prior to filling the gel or epoxy resin, for the advantages of protecting the stator and the connecting elements, while also making sure the stator components are held together.
Claims 4 and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry et al. (WO 2019/053002 A1) in view of Arcon et al. (EP 3989407 A1).
Regarding claim 4/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry further discloses opposing end surfaces of the iron core (1) are distributed along an axial direction (vertical direction), the first electrical contacts (40) extend from the first insulating seat along the axial direction, and the cavity of the sleeve seats (70) extend along the axial direction.
Thierry does not disclose wherein the electrical motor stator comprises four wires, each corresponding to a U terminal, V terminal, W terminal, and center point of a three-phase alternating current; wherein the wires corresponding to the U terminal, V terminal, and W terminal of the three-phase alternating current are located adjacent to each other.
Arcon discloses wherein the electrical motor stator (15) comprises four wires (FIG. 3 discloses 12 coils and three phases), each corresponding to a U terminal (24a), V terminal (24b), W terminal (24c; total of three different windings), and center point of a three-phase alternating current (windings generates alternating magnetic field); wherein the wires corresponding to the U terminal (24a), V terminal (24b), and W terminal (24c) of the three-phase alternating current are located adjacent to each other (FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Thierry in view of Arcon to disclose wherein the electrical motor stator comprises four wires, each corresponding to a U terminal, V terminal, W terminal, and center point of a three-phase alternating current; wherein the wires corresponding to the U terminal, V terminal, and W terminal of the three-phase alternating current are located adjacent to each other, as Thierry also discloses three phases and altering the number of coil per phase is a simple substitution to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 8/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry does not disclose the contact plate is fixed to the first insulating seat by positioning pins, bolts, screws, hot-riveted structures, or a combination thereof; the contact plate further comprises a plurality of pins or pin holes extending in an axial direction for positioning the electrical motor stator during assembly.
the contact plate (17) is fixed to the first insulating seat (21) by positioning pins (48), bolts, screws, hot-riveted structures, or a combination thereof; the contact plate (17) further comprises a plurality of pins (17) or pin holes (47) extending in an axial direction (20) for positioning the electrical motor stator (15) during assembly (FIG. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Thierry in view of Arcon to disclose the contact plate is fixed to the first insulating seat by positioning pins, bolts, screws, hot-riveted structures, or a combination thereof; the contact plate further comprises a plurality of pins or pin holes extending in an axial direction for positioning the electrical motor stator during assembly, for the advantages of a simple and reliable assembly of the electrical machine.
Regarding claim 9/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry does not disclose a compressor comprising:
a chamber having an opening;
an electronic control unit mounted in a space hermetically separated from the chamber;
electrical terminals electrically connected to the electronic control unit and extending into the chamber;
the electrical motor stator according to Claim 1, which is mounted within the chamber through the opening, wherein the second connecting portion of the second electrical contacts is electrically connected to the electrical terminals via a connector.
Arcon discloses a compressor (4) comprising:
a chamber (12) having an opening (lid on the bottom side in FIG. 2);
an electronic control unit (16) mounted in a space hermetically separated from the chamber (12);
electrical terminals (52) electrically connected to the electronic control unit (16) and extending into the chamber (12);
the electrical motor stator (15) according to Claim 1, which is mounted within the chamber (12) through the opening, wherein the second connecting portion of the second electrical contacts (44) is electrically connected to the electrical terminals (52) via a connector (19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Thierry in view of Arcon to disclose a compressor comprising: a chamber having an opening; an electronic control unit mounted in a space hermetically separated from the chamber; electrical terminals electrically connected to the electronic control unit and extending into the chamber; the electrical motor stator according to Claim 1, which is mounted within the chamber through the opening, wherein the second connecting portion of the second electrical contacts is electrically connected to the electrical terminals via a connector, for the advantages of providing a simplified manufacture and/or simplified assembly, with a reliable electrical connection between the busbar device and the control device.
Regarding claim 10/9, Thierry in view of Arcon was discussed above in claim 9. Arcon further discloses the connector (19) comprises:
a first insertion part (see annotation below) which is inserted into the second connecting portion of the second electrical contacts (44), wherein the electrical motor stator (15) is fitted within the chamber (12) from top to bottom through the opening (top would be on the bottom in FIG. 2, and bottom on the top), and the contact plate (17) is positioned at the bottom (top in FIG. 2) of the electrical motor stator (100);
a second insertion part (see annotation below) that is electrically connected to the first insertion part, with the electrical terminals (52) connected to the second connecting portion (through the connector), thereby establishing an electrical connection between the winding (24) and the electrical control unit (16); wherein the electrical terminals (52) pass through a bottom wall (14) of the chamber (12) and are connected to the electrical control unit (16), with the bottom wall (14) positioned on one side of the chamber (12) and opposite to the opening (FIG. 2).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thierry et al. (WO 2019/053002 A1) in view of Chung et al. (US 11,722,020 B2).
Regarding claim 7/1, Thierry was discussed above in claim 1. Thierry further discloses a connection between the first electrical contacts (40) and the wires (52) is established by brazing, resistance welding, or laser welding (embodiment of Figure 5, the connection of the winding wire is proposed according to a weld of the end 91 of said wire to the connectors 40).
Thierry does not disclose a connection between the first electrical contacts and the second electrical contacts is established by brazing, resistance welding, or laser welding.
Chung discloses a connection between the first electrical contacts (27) and the second electrical contacts (42-44) is established by soldering.
Soldering is similar to brazing, in that a filler element is heated to connect two metal objects together. Replacing soldering with brazing would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as replacing one well known method with another to obtain predictable results.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to have modified Thierry in view of Chung to disclose a connection between the first electrical contacts and the second electrical contacts is established by brazing, resistance welding, or laser welding, for the advantages of a robust connection between the first and second electrical contacts, ensuring no disconnection during operation for the electric motor.
Conclusion
/MINKI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834