DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-14, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marathe et al (20150140924) in view of Teyeb et al (20240406915).
Regarding claim 1, Marathe et al discloses, a computerized method comprising (abstract, fig. 3):
based on an indication to initiate a distress notification (¶ 0087, From operation 304, the method 300 proceeds to operation 306. At operation 306, the user device 102 can receive an alert trigger such as the alert trigger 120. As explained herein, the alert trigger 120 can prompt the user device 102 to broadcast an alert 110 to devices at or near a proximity of the user device 102. As explained above, the alert trigger 120 can include, but is not limited to, instructions for generating an alert 110, information relating to an emergency condition at a particular location or other affected area, data for inclusion in the alert 110, combinations thereof, or the like. The alert trigger 120 can be configured to cause a device that receives the alert trigger 120 to generate an alert 110),
identifying a wireless network that is available to a tracking device and a wireless network type of the wireless network (¶ 0088-0089, user device 102 can create or activate a WiFi network and/or other connection such as a hotspot, an access point, a peer-to-peer connection, or the like. For example, the user device 102 can create or activate a WiFi hotspot or a WiFi access point and is configured to recognize transmissions via WiFi hardware using the dedicated SSID, the devices 112 and/or other devices can monitor radio signals at or near the devices 112 and/or other devices to identify transmissions occurring via WiFi hardware using the dedicated SSID. Thus, the devices 112 and/or other devices can be configured to recognize emergency transmissions based upon recognizing transmissions associated with the dedicated SSID);
determining a current level of a power supply of the tracking device (¶ 0007, 0048, a battery status indicator that indicates a current battery level and/or expected life of a battery);
the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data (¶ 0085-0086, 0132, wherein the operational data 114 includes location data, the user device 102 can obtain its geographic location, e.g., by activating a global positioning system ("GPS") receiver at the user device 102, and formatting data that indicates the geographic location of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes battery status information, the user device 102 can analyze its battery status and can format data that indicates the battery status of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes WiFi status information, the user device 102 can analyze its WiFi transceiver to determine an operating state of the WiFi transceiver, as well as current usage and/or availability for the WiFi transceiver.); and
generating and communicating, from the tracking device over the wireless network that is available, the distress notification that comprises the current location and the sensor data (¶ 0090, 0132, the user device 102 can be configured to generate the alert 110 based upon data from various sources such as, for example, the alert trigger 120. The alert 110 can include information describing an emergency condition, instructions for responding to the emergency, a location or locations associated with the emergency condition, and other information).
Marathe et al does not specifically disclose based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data.
In the same field of endeavor, Teyeb et al discloses, based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data (¶ 0200, 0206, 0211, a WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Marathe et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility and time radio access interruption due to inform the network when starting and stopping using the services of a position delegate and timing as taught by Teyeb et al.
Regarding claims 2, 10, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, BHATIA et al discloses, further comprising: scanning for a Wi-Fi wireless network type; scanning for a telecommunications wireless network type; and when the Wi-Fi wireless network type and the telecommunications wireless network type are determined to be unavailable based on the scanning, determining to use a satellite wireless network type for the distress notification (¶ 0153, 0200, 0221, consider GNSS as an alternative to cellular network-based positioning available to the WTRU 302. A plurality of positioning methods not based on mobile networks may be available as described herein. In examples, the method(s) that utilize a GNSS location e.g., to verify a location provided by a delegate may apply).
Regarding claims 3, 11, 17, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, Marathe et al discloses, further comprising: determining the current location of the tracking device by using a global positioning system that is integrated into the tracking device, wherein the current location comprises of GPS coordinates (¶ 0085, From operation 302, the method 300 proceeds to operation 304. At operation 304, the user device 102 can provide the operational data 114 to the requestor. Although not explicitly shown in FIG. 3, it should be understood that the user device 102 can generate the operational data 114. In some embodiments, wherein the operational data 114 includes location data, the user device 102 can obtain its geographic location, e.g., by activating a global positioning system ("GPS") receiver at the user device 102, and formatting data that indicates the geographic location of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114).
Regarding claims 4, 12,18, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, Marathe et al discloses, further comprising: causing a sensor to measure a condition of the environment of tracking device; and encoding a measurement captured by the sensor into the distress notification (¶ 0086, 0132, wherein the operational data 114 includes battery status information, the user device 102 can analyze its battery status and can format data that indicates the battery status of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes WiFi status information, the user device 102 can analyze its WiFi transceiver to determine an operating state of the WiFi transceiver, as well as current usage and/or availability for the WiFi transceiver. The user device 102 can format data that indicates the WiFi status of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Because the operational data 114 can include additional and/or alternative information, and because the user device 102 can generate the operational data 114 in additional and/or alternative ways, it should be understood that these examples are illustrative and therefore should not be construed as being limiting in any way).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 19, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, BHATIA et al discloses, further comprising: determining that the current level of the power supply of the tracking device is above a first threshold; based on determining the current level of the power supply is above the first threshold, determining the current level of the power supply supports a plurality of distress notifications; and wherein generating and communicating the distress notification comprises periodically generating the plurality of distress notifications that comprise a plurality of current locations and a plurality of current sensor data, and communicating the plurality of distress notifications at defined time intervals (¶ 0200-0205, A WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 20, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, BHATIA et al discloses, further comprising: determining that the current level of the power supply of the tracking device is above a first threshold; based on determining the current level of the power supply is above the first threshold, determining the current level of the power supply supports a predefined quantity of distress notifications; and wherein generating and communicating the distress notification comprises periodically generating each of the predefined quantity of distress notifications that comprise a plurality of current locations and a plurality of current sensor data, and communicating each of the predefined quantity of distress notifications at defined time intervals (¶ 0200-0205, A WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.).
Regarding claim 7, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, BHATIA et al discloses, further comprising: determining that the current level of the power supply of the tracking device is below a first threshold; and based on determining the current level of the power supply is below the first threshold, determining that the current level of the power supply supports one distress notification (¶ 0200-0205, A WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.).
Regarding claim 9, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, Marathe et al discloses, one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that when executed via one or more processors perform a computerized method (fig. 3, 7, abstract, ¶ 0115), the media comprising:
based on an indication to initiate a distress notification, identify a wireless network that is available to a tracking device and a wireless network type of the wireless network (¶ 0087, From operation 304, the method 300 proceeds to operation 306. At operation 306, the user device 102 can receive an alert trigger such as the alert trigger 120. As explained herein, the alert trigger 120 can prompt the user device 102 to broadcast an alert 110 to devices at or near a proximity of the user device 102. As explained above, the alert trigger 120 can include, but is not limited to, instructions for generating an alert 110, information relating to an emergency condition at a particular location or other affected area, data for inclusion in the alert 110, combinations thereof, or the like. The alert trigger 120 can be configured to cause a device that receives the alert trigger 120 to generate an alert 110);
determine a current level of a power supply of the tracking device (¶ 0007, 0048, a battery status indicator that indicates a current battery level and/or expected life of a battery);
the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply,
capture a current location and sensor data (¶ 0085-0086, 0132, wherein the operational data 114 includes location data, the user device 102 can obtain its geographic location, e.g., by activating a global positioning system ("GPS") receiver at the user device 102, and formatting data that indicates the geographic location of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes battery status information, the user device 102 can analyze its battery status and can format data that indicates the battery status of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes WiFi status information, the user device 102 can analyze its WiFi transceiver to determine an operating state of the WiFi transceiver, as well as current usage and/or availability for the WiFi transceiver.); and
generate and communicate, from the tracking device over the wireless network that is available, the distress notification that comprises the current location and the sensor data (¶ 0090, 0132, the user device 102 can be configured to generate the alert 110 based upon data from various sources such as, for example, the alert trigger 120. The alert 110 can include information describing an emergency condition, instructions for responding to the emergency, a location or locations associated with the emergency condition, and other information).
Marathe et al does not specifically disclose based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data.
In the same field of endeavor, Teyeb et al discloses, based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data (¶ 0200, 0206, 0211, a WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Marathe et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility and time radio access interruption due to inform the network when starting and stopping using the services of a position delegate and timing as taught by Teyeb et al.
Regarding claim 16, Marathe et al and BHATIA et al disclose in claim 1, further, BHATIA et al discloses (abstract), a tracking device comprising:
a memory (704, fig. 7); a sensor (¶ 0129); a global positioning system (¶ 0085, 0132); an antenna (710, fig. 7, ¶ 0010); a power supply( ¶ 0133); and a processor configured to:
based on an indication to initiate a distress notification, identify a wireless network that is available to the tracking device and a wireless network type of the wireless network (¶ 0087, From operation 304, the method 300 proceeds to operation 306. At operation 306, the user device 102 can receive an alert trigger such as the alert trigger 120. As explained herein, the alert trigger 120 can prompt the user device 102 to broadcast an alert 110 to devices at or near a proximity of the user device 102. As explained above, the alert trigger 120 can include, but is not limited to, instructions for generating an alert 110, information relating to an emergency condition at a particular location or other affected area, data for inclusion in the alert 110, combinations thereof, or the like. The alert trigger 120 can be configured to cause a device that receives the alert trigger 120 to generate an alert 110);
determine a current level of the power supply of the tracking device (¶ 0007, 0048, a battery status indicator that indicates a current battery level and/or expected life of a battery);
the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capture a current location and sensor data (¶ 0085-0086, 0132, wherein the operational data 114 includes location data, the user device 102 can obtain its geographic location, e.g., by activating a global positioning system ("GPS") receiver at the user device 102, and formatting data that indicates the geographic location of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes battery status information, the user device 102 can analyze its battery status and can format data that indicates the battery status of the user device 102 for inclusion in the operational data 114. Similarly, in some embodiments wherein the operational data 114 includes WiFi status information, the user device 102 can analyze its WiFi transceiver to determine an operating state of the WiFi transceiver, as well as current usage and/or availability for the WiFi transceiver.); and
generate and communicate, from the tracking device over the wireless network that is available, the distress notification that comprises the current location and the sensor data.
(¶ 0090, 0132, the user device 102 can be configured to generate the alert 110 based upon data from various sources such as, for example, the alert trigger 120. The alert 110 can include information describing an emergency condition, instructions for responding to the emergency, a location or locations associated with the emergency condition, and other information).
Marathe et al does not specifically disclose based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data.
In the same field of endeavor, Teyeb et al discloses, based on the wireless network type and the current level of the power supply, capturing a current location and sensor data (¶ 0200, 0206, 0211, a WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Marathe et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to improving signaling overhead of mobility and time radio access interruption due to inform the network when starting and stopping using the services of a position delegate and timing as taught by Teyeb et al.
Claim(s) 8, 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marathe et al (20150140924) in view of Teyeb et al (20240406915) and Koo (20220263590).
Regarding claims 8, 15, Marathe et al discloses, a computerized method comprising (abstract, fig. 3): ¶ 0087, Marathe et al discloses, from operation 304, the method 300 proceeds to operation 306. At operation 306, the user device 102 can receive an alert trigger such as the alert trigger 120. As explained herein, the alert trigger 120 can prompt the user device 102 to broadcast an alert 110 to devices at or near a proximity of the user device 102. As explained above, the alert trigger 120 can include, but is not limited to, instructions for generating an alert 110, information relating to an emergency condition at a particular location or other affected area, data for inclusion in the alert 110, combinations thereof, or the like. The alert trigger 120 can be configured to cause a device that receives the alert trigger 120 to generate an alert 110, and ¶ 0088-0089, user device 102 can create or activate a WiFi network and/or other connection such as a hotspot, an access point, a peer-to-peer connection, or the like. For example, the user device 102 can create or activate a WiFi hotspot or a WiFi access point and is configured to recognize transmissions via WiFi hardware using the dedicated SSID, the devices 112 and/or other devices can monitor radio signals at or near the devices 112 and/or other devices to identify transmissions occurring via WiFi hardware using the dedicated SSID. Thus, the devices 112 and/or other devices can be configured to recognize emergency transmissions based upon recognizing transmissions associated with the dedicated SSID). BHATIA et al disclose, ¶ 0200, 0206, 0211, a WTRU 302 may be configured to conditionally perform positioning related measurements and/or signaling. For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to perform location determination (e.g., its own location determination). For example, a WTRU 302 may be configured to give assistance to the network (e.g., performing GNSS measurement(s), performing DL PRS measurement(s), sending positioning SRS(s) to the network, etc.), e.g., based on threshold(s) related to a WTRU 302 battery level. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to stop measurement(s) (e.g., PRS and/or GNSS) and/or UL signaling related positioning when the WTRU 302 battery level falls below a configured threshold. For example, the WTRU 302 may be configured to start the measurement(s) or UL signaling when the WTRU 302 battery level rises above a configured threshold. Different power level thresholds may be configured for different aspects of location determination or assistance information provision (e.g., a threshold_1 related to the performance of GNSS measurement(s), a threshold_2 related to the performance of DL PRS measurement(s), and/or a threshold_3 related to the performance of UL SRS signaling, etc.
Marathe et al and Teyeb et al do not specifically disclose the output being at least one of visual, audible, or haptic output.
In the same field of endeavor, Koo discloses, the output being at least one of visual, audible, or haptic output (¶ 0021, 0045, Input component 350 includes a component that permits device 300 to receive information, such as via user input (e.g., a touch screen display, a keyboard, a keypad, a mouse, a button, a switch, and/or a microphone). Additionally, or alternatively, input component 350 may include a component for determining location (e.g., a global positioning system (GPS) component) and/or a sensor (e.g., an accelerometer, a gyroscope, an actuator, another type of positional or environmental sensor, and/or the like). Output component 360 includes a component that provides output information from device 300 (via, e.g., a display, a speaker, a haptic feedback component, an audio or visual indicator, and/or the like). Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claim invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device of Marathe et al and Teyeb et al by specifically adding feature in order to enhance system performance to the method enables providing the real-time feedback information associated with adjusting network parameters when the measure of quality associated with the coverage fails to satisfy the threshold quality level to the network station, thus providing adequate network coverage in the environment in an efficient manner as taught by Koo.
Conclusion
/KHAWAR IQBAL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643