Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-13, and 17-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 5,142,717 to Everard et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0005843 to Lokhorst et al.
Claims 1 and 17, Everard discloses an air mattress system comprising an air mattress having a main chamber (10,24); a primary inflation 60 device in fluid connection with the main chamber and configured to inflate the main chamber to a first pressure; and a secondary inflation defined by a reservoir 58 device disposed within the main chamber and in fluid connection with the main chamber and the primary inflation device (fig. 6), the secondary inflation device being inflatable to a second pressure and configured to provide air from the secondary inflation device to the main chamber at least in part via a pressure differential between the second pressure and first pressure; wherein the air mattress is configured to be inflated and deflated (col. 5-7 lines 50-68, 1- 68, & 1-27). Everard also discloses a pressure sensor 26 that senses the pressure and change of pressure within the chamber (col. 5 lines 10-23), wherein the reservoir also stores a quantity of air above the operating pressures of the air chambers (col. 5-6 lines 50-68 & 1-58); and an air flow control valve 66 capable to receive air flow directly from the primary inflation device such that the air flow is configured to pass through the air flow control valve before entering the main chamber or the secondary inflation device wherein Everard explicitly states that the “electrically actuated valve 66 directs the output from the pump to either the reservoir or to the air chambers” such that the air flow control valve 66 is capable of selectively directing the air flow between the primary inflation device, the main chamber, and the secondary inflation device (col. 5 lines 64-65)(fig. 5). Everard is silent to the primary device being configured to automatically refill the secondary inflation device at a predetermined time after an initial inflation. Lokhorst discloses an automatic control system 100 including software that executes programmable data through a processor based on values of indicators such as setting desired air pressures, and increase/reduce air pressure over a length/period of time [0087]-[0106]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the automatic control system of Lokhorst with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed control of air pressure within the air chambers of Everard based on values of indicators. Everard is silent to positioning the sensor within the main chamber and reservoir. Positioning the sensor within the main chamber or adding an additional sensor within the reservoir is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add an additional sensor and position both sensors within the main chamber and reservoir of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed improved pressure management of pressures within the main chamber and pressures within the reservoir reach a pre- selected maximum level.
Claims 2 and 20, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the secondary
inflation device is an air reservoir having a substantially airtight compartment, the air
reservoir being capable of receiving, holding, and releasing pressurized air (col. 5 lines
55-58)(col. 6 lines 15-21).
Claim 3, Everard discloses the air mattress system, wherein the primary inflation device is integral with the air mattress (col. 5 lines 51-65).
Claims 4 and 18-19, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the secondary inflation device is integral with the air mattress.
Claim 6, Everard discloses the air mattress system further comprising an air flow control element 66 and in response to signals to conventional control electronics 34 that control the air pump and selectively open vent valves, but is silent to the air flow control valve in communication with the first and second pressure sensors. Placing conventional control electronics on additional elements is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add air control electronics such as the pressure sensors stated above to the air flow control valve of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed improved pressure management of pressures within the main chamber and pressures within the reservoir reach a pre- selected maximum level.
Claim 7, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the air flow control valve is operable to open such that air may be released from the secondary inflation device into the main chamber.
Claim 8, Everard, as modified, discloses the air mattress system further comprising a pressure control system that includes the primary inflation device, the secondary inflation device, air flow control valve before entering the main chamber or the secondary inflation device (fig. 5) and Lokhorst discloses an automatic control system 100 including software that executes programmable data through a processor based on values of indicators such as setting desired air pressures, and increase/reduce air pressure over a length/period of time [0087]-[0106]. Everard is silent to positioning the sensor within the main chamber and reservoir. Positioning the sensor within the main chamber or adding an additional sensor within the reservoir is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add an additional sensor and position both sensors within the main chamber and reservoir of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed improved pressure management of pressures within the main chamber and pressures within the reservoir reach a pre- selected maximum level. Everard is silent to the air flow control valve in communication with the first and second pressure sensors. Placing conventional control electronics on additional elements is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add air control electronics such as the pressure sensors stated above to the air flow control valve of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed improved pressure management of pressures within the main chamber and pressures within the reservoir reach a pre- selected maximum level.
Claim 9, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the external air source is
ambient air.
Claim 10, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the secondary inflation
device comprises an air reservoir having a substantially airtight compartment capable of
receiving, holding (col. 6 lines 15-21), and releasing pressurized air, the air flow control
valve is operable to selectively direct air flow between the air intake, the main chamber,
and/or the air reservoir, and the air flow control valve is operable to open and close
such that air may be released from the air reservoir into the main chamber (col. 6 lines
44-58).
Claim 11, Everard discloses the air mattress system of Claim 8 further comprising a
user interface defined by a controller (32,70) capable of receiving user input indicative
of the first pressure.
Claim 12, Everard discloses the air mattress system wherein the controller is capable upon receiving the first pressure, output instructions for the primary inflation device to provide air into the main chamber; upon receiving a pressure value from the pressure sensor that equals the first pressure, output instructions for the primary inflation device to cease providing air into the main chamber; and upon receiving a pressure value from the pressure sensor that is less than the first pressure, output instructions for the secondary inflation device to provide air to the main chamber (col. 6 lines 36-58). Claims 18-19, Everard discloses the method wherein the primary inflation device and the secondary inflation device are essential/integral with the inflatable object (fig. 6). Claim 21, Everard discloses the system, wherein it is well known to employ control electronics including a processer defined by a computer capable of receiving electronic signals (col. 1 lines 50-54). Adding a computer with electronic air control elements is considered an obvious modification and it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to add a computer to the air control electronics of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed improved pressure management of pressures within the main chamber and pressures within the reservoir reach a pre- selected maximum level.
Claim(s) 13-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pat. No. 5,142,717 to Everard et al. in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2009/0314354 to Chaffee, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2008/0005843 to Lokhorst et al.
Claim 13, Everard discloses the air mattress system, but is silent to the controller being in electrical communication with a source of time. Chaffee discloses a controller 661 that is in electrical communication with a source of time information, and the controller is capable during a predetermined range of times if an air pressure of the main chamber is below the first pressure, output instructions for the primary inflation device to provide air into the main chamber until the air pressure of the main chamber equals the first pressure [0255]-[0257]:[0309];[0312]-[0314]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the controller of Everard with the system of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided a means to adjust the pressurization of the system in response to a user input selected by the user [Abstract].
Claims 14-16, Everard discloses the system for controlling an air pressure of an inflatable object, the system comprising a primary inflation 60 device in fluid connection with the main chamber and configured to inflate the main chamber to a first pressure; and a secondary inflation defined by a reservoir 58 device disposed within the main chamber and in fluid connection with the main chamber and the primary inflation device (fig. 6), the secondary inflation device being inflatable to a second pressure and configured to provide air from the secondary inflation device to the main chamber at least in part via a pressure differential between the second pressure and first pressure; wherein the air mattress is inflatable configured to be inflated and deflated (col. 5-7 lines 50-68, 1-68, & 1-27), a pressure sensor 26 capable of monitoring an air pressure of the main chamber; a user input interface (32,70) capable of receiving user input indicative of a desired pressure of the main chamber; and an air flow control valve 66 capable to receive air flow directly from the primary inflation device wherein Everard explicitly states that the “electrically actuated valve 66 directs the output from the pump to either the reservoir or to the air chambers” such that the air flow control valve 66 is capable of selectively directing the air flow between the primary inflation device, the main chamber, and the secondary inflation device and configured to pass through the air flow control valve 66 before entering the main chamber or the secondary inflation device (col. 5 lines 64-65)(fig. 5), but is silent to a processor with memory. Chaffee discloses a processor with memory [0089]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the processor with memory of Everard with the system of Everard with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have provided logic and other apparatus for storing and executing instructions for operation of the pressure system of Wilkinson. Everard is silent to the primary device being configured to automatically refill the secondary inflation device at a predetermined time after an initial inflation. Lokhorst discloses an automatic control system 100 including software that executes programmable data through a processor based on values of indicators such as setting desired air pressures, and increase/reduce air pressure over a length/period of time [0087]-[0106]. It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the automatic control system of Lokhorst with a reasonable expectation of success because it would have allowed control of air pressure within the air chambers of Everard based on values of indicators.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/29/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to claims 1-4, and 6-21, claims are given the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification and limitations in the specification are not read into the claims. Therefore, the words of a claim are generally given their ordinary and customary meaning. As stated above, Everard discloses air flow control valve 66 capable of receiving air flow directly from the primary inflation device wherein Everard explicitly states that the “electrically actuated valve 66 directs the output from the pump to either the reservoir or to the air chambers”. Therefore, the air flow control valve 66 is capable of selectively directing the air flow between the primary inflation device, the main chamber, and the secondary inflation device and configured to pass through the air flow control valve 66 before entering the main chamber or the secondary inflation device (col. 5 lines 64-65)(fig. 5), and the Examiner reads the air flow control valve on the Applicant’s broad limitation since the function of controlling the airflow is met and performed by an equivalent means. It appears that the Applicant continues to rely on broad structural language that fails to clearly distinguish the present invention over the prior art of record and does not preclude the Examiner from interpreting the claims as stated above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0259433 to Nunn et al. discloses an air control system having a controller, pump, and air control valves.
U.S. Pat. No. 8,836,473 to Catala discloses an air control system having a controller, pump, and air control valves.
U.S. Pat. No. 6,047,423 to Larson discloses an air control system having adjustable firmness bladders.
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Matthew Troutman can be reached on (571) 270-3654. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FREDRICK C CONLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679